Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cider and Vodka gateway to alcoholism?

• 07-03-2010 6:18pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭

today after having a discussion with my father about alcohol he seems to think that of all the worst drinks there are, the ones that are a gateway to alcoholism are Vodka and Cider, however I know many people who drink Vodkas and cokes etc etc and Cider, yet they are not alcoholics, is there anyone out there who holds his belief also?

I'm not a vodka drinker nor Cider, but cant imagine it would be a gateway to alcoholism.

Pax Christi
    Stephen <3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Cider and Vodka gateway to alcoholism?

Cider is less a gateway and more a catflap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,362 ✭✭✭Sergeant

Drinking too much alcohol is the gateway to alcoholism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Cider is a gateway to a dentist.
    Vodka is a gateway to a gynecologist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I think it doesn't matter what drink it is. If you have tendencies to become an alcoholic you'll drink anything.
    Maybe alcopops would be a bigger risk because they don't even taste like booze, just taste like soft drink. Easier as a gateway drink into drinking at all.

http://www.alcoholissues.co.uk/rise-alcopop-children-drinking.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

They're a gateway to underage drinking, tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Dragons Revenge

Any alcohol is a gateway to alcoholism if you drink it often enough and eventually discover you're finding excuses to always be drinking.

I'd say vodka more so, since Cider is just apple juice by comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

Only when i find myself drinking brandy on a Tuesday afternoon while alone in my sitting room will i consider any drink being a gateway to alcoholism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

I blame it all on the head shops myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Only gateway cider leads to is Homosexuality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Only gateway cider leads to is Homosexuality.

You got that right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

today after having a discussion with my father about alcohol he seems to think that of all the worst drinks there are, the ones that are a gateway to alcoholism are Vodka and Cider, however I know many people who drink Vodkas and cokes etc etc and Cider, yet they are not alcoholics, is there anyone out there who holds his belief also?

I'm not a vodka drinker nor Cider, but cant imagine it would be a gateway to alcoholism.

Pax Christi
    Stephen <3

My mother has this view. It's a load of bollocks.

If you're taking alcohol as a recreational drug then imo vodka is the way to go. If you think you're taking it for any other reason you're either deluded or a joyless prat.

I drink vodka (mixed down with diluted squash). It tastes horrible, all alcohol tastes horrible. I decide how much I'm drinking and then get it into me quickly so I'm free to enjoy my night. I've actually found this way of drinking gives you more control than if you just keep drinking beer slowly all night. So many people I know drink too much because they associate the actual drinking of the drink with the fun of a night out, something which i think vodka drinkers are less likely to do.
    Magnus wrote: »
    I think it doesn't matter what drink it is. If you have tendencies to become an alcoholic you'll drink anything.
    Maybe alcopops would be a bigger risk because they don't even taste like booze, just taste like soft drink. Easier as a gateway drink into drinking at all.

http://www.alcoholissues.co.uk/rise-alcopop-children-drinking.html

For getting young people started on drinking you could have a point, but you have to remember that alcopops have next to no alcohol. Just thinking about ingesting all the sugar it would take to get drunk off blue wkd makes me feel sick :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Alcohol abuse is a gateway to alcholism.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Whatever about Cider if that was the case with vodka wouldnt half the Russi-.......(Ooops sorry bad example)

If that was the case wouldnt half the Polish nation be alcoholics ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Basically whatever an older person doesn't drink is, according to them, the gateway to alcoholism. What they drink is fine. Always.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Alcohol abuse is a gateway to alcholism.
    Any alcohol is a gateway to alcoholism if you drink it often enough and eventually discover you're finding excuses to always be drinking.

I'd say vodka more so, since Cider is just apple juice by comparison.
    Sergeant wrote: »
    These have been the best posts so far. Moderation is the key.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

amacachi wrote: »
    Basically whatever an older person doesn't drink is, according to them, the gateway to alcoholism. What they drink is fine. Always.

You can expand that to intoxicating substances in general

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Do what ye want kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    You can expand that to intoxicating substances in general

True, and not just older people. :pac: Just applying it to the situation. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

alcoholic drinks in gateway to alcoholism shocker

PROHIBITION FOR ALL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

haha, I'm fucked so. I remember we used to drink Jungle Juice. Order a pint of Bulmers and a double vodka and ice. Knock back a gulp of cider and pour in the vodka and ice. Something about the way they interacted made it almost tasteless, you could knock the rest back in seconds.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Saying cider and vodka is the gateway to alcoholism eh... hmmm does that make heroin the gateway to being a junkie?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Mike 1972 wrote: »
    Whatever about Cider if that was the case with vodka wouldnt half the Russi-.......(Ooops sorry bad example)

If that was the case wouldnt half the Polish nation be alcoholics ?

I was talking to two Polish delivery men one day, and they said that every year hundreds of Polish die during the Christmas period due to falling asleep in the snow or leaving doors open while they sleep inside and freeze to death. They said that this is all caused by their nature of drinking vodka.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Hi, my name is Pete,

*nods to everyone*

I'm an alcoholic, the bastards tricked me with the Shandys :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,074 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Dunno about cider, but vodka is evil stuff. One time, years ago, I thought I was being smart in buying some really good vodka to take to a party. It was too good, so smooth I hardly noticed it going down, and I didn't even feel drunk or suffer a hangover. I just walked around with yellow skin for a week, since my liver went on strike. :(

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭rgt320q

Sergeant wrote: »
    Or was it not drinking enough? Either way, more research is definitely required. Alright lads, to the lab pub!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭smiley girl

A few years ago I heard vodka being called 'The devils juice' and 'madmans medicine'!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

Pax Christi
    Stephen <3

to be truthful all alcohol in any form or shape is a gateway to alcoholism. Just make sure your controlling the gateway, once you've stepped inside it's really hard to come back.

Drink and alcohol are fine, as long as you don't let the drink take control of you.. So maybe it might not be so bad to listen to your Dad from time to time. He's older and wiser and he's trying to aim you in the right direction, so enjoy yourself and life and know when to take drink or leave it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

I'd say for an alcoholic, vodka is just the best thing ever! Concentrated alcohol straight to the brain! It would be like giving a coca-cola addict concentrated coke syrup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

kippy wrote: »
    Cider is a gateway to a dentist.
    Vodka is a gateway to a gynecologist.

For me they've been the gateway to punani, giggity giggity goo........now if I could just get and maintain an erection!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 845 ✭✭✭sturgo

Alcohol is a gateway to alcoholism. But that's a very broad way of putting it.

In other words; Alcoholism doesn't discriminate between one drink or another.

Everything is a gateway to something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

I used to know an anorexic girl who used to take a plastic bulb out with her, fill it up and go to the jacks to squirt it up her backside so as to get drunk without the calories.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Alcohol is the gateway to alcoholism. Its that simple.
    That and lack of restraint/willpower at times.

You take a drink,
    The drink takes a drink
    Then the drink takes you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I used to know an anorexic girl who used to take a plastic bulb out with her, fill it up and go to the jacks to squirt it up her backside so as to get drunk without the calories.

Pics or .. nevermind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

cider is the gateway to the jacks and vodka is the gateway to an unplanned pregnancy

or was that just me???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Everyone i know seem to think that Gin makes you depressed and eventually makes you "mad"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Thank god for that. I was worried you'd implicate my methylated spirits in alcoholism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Degag wrote: »
    Everyone i know seem to think that Gin makes you depressed and eventually makes you "mad"

At least Gin just makes you cry for no apparent reason....... Buckfast is rocket fuel, makes you (well, me at least) crazier than a bunch of coconuts:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

toilet duck does it for me.

Generally if ye find yer stuck in rounds with yourself, your an alcoholic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭smiley girl

What???? That's just not right in any way:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

that's bullsh1t, and i pity people who are stupid enough to think this

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Only when i find myself drinking brandy on a Tuesday afternoon while alone in my sitting room will i consider any drink being a gateway to alcoholism.

I've often resorted to this type of thing after a bad weekend bender abroad or something just to calm the nerves or get my head together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

yeah i would disagree with your father

cider and vodka are my preferred drinks, not together obviously and i can go for months without having a drinkk if needs be, in fact i haven't drank since the end of january

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

yeah i would disagree with your father

cider and vodka are my preferred drinks, not together obviously and i can go for months without having a drinkk if needs be, in fact i haven't drank since the end of january

are you sure????:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭plein de force

are you sure????:D:D:D
    whoops :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Thats so wrong. Wouldnt the calories still count when the alcohol gets into your blood stream or whatever??

Im a vodka drinker but i wouldnt consider myself an alcoholic. My friends seem to have a different idea...