Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the bravest thing you have ever done?

• 07-03-2010 12:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭

As the title says!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You tell me first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭ilovebiology

Ha. Just a question for the public!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You gotta contribute a story of your own. Its the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

I somehow sense that "yore ma" is gonna be posted :)

Not sure on the bravery thing, although I did once save 2 girls from being mangled by a car, wasn't really bravery though tbh, I was walking behind them and grabbed them by the collars before they walked into the path of the car. The fecker in the motor was thundering along, still to this day dunno how the girls didn't notice it, they were both looking the other way and were literally walking right in to the path of the oncoming car, they would have been mashed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Vote Fianna Fáil - ouch!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Start a thread in AH.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

I suspect that the truly brave things which we've done can only be acknowledged in hindsight. When you have to do something, you simply have to do it. That it may be brave at the time does not properly factor into a mind which looks at something which is necessary to do and doesn't wish to give it more of an 'exceptional' quality as it will make it harder to do it.

Psychologically, a deep sense of normality and "unexceptionalism" is essential in order to do something which to the outsider appears brave.

And of course when it is truly brave, and you realise it afterwards, it is harder to talk about it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

I typed "how to find chuck norris" into google....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

I somehow sense that "yore ma" is gonna be posted :)

Not sure on the bravery thing, although I did once save 2 girls from being mangled by a car, wasn't really bravery though tbh, I was walking behind them and grabbed them by the collars before they walked into the path of the car. The fecker in the motor was thundering along, still to this day dunno how the girls didn't notice it, they were both looking the other way and were literally walking right in to the path of the oncoming car, they would have been mashed :(

blah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Farted while walking about 4 hours after a kebab. Risky business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

As the title says!

prob 2 years ago when i was outside a club looking for my husband, couldnt find him, some girl came up screaming in my face that i was "riding her fella" and that "she didnt care if i was pregnant" that she was still gonna kick the crap outta me!

so i (fulla drink and not preg obviously) started roaring at her saying i wouldnt touch her guy(who was standing behind her and looked like someone on crimecall) and she had the wrong girl and would wanna watch who she was screaming at!! She said sorry and walked off dragging her knacker fella behind her!!

Sad i know but thats the bravest thing ive ever done. i know people have jumped in fronta cars to save people but thats all my sad life has done !!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

I said "No" to a person once. It was the bravest thing I ever did.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

Talked back to a Garda, brave but stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Saved a person from getting knocked down by a car by pulling her out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

As the title says!

As the charter says!
    Think before you post.
    Pointless threads (e.g. 1,000 posts \o/), polls (e.g. Daddy or chips?) will be locked or deleted. Please contribute to your own threads. If you're asking somebody to forward an opinion put one forward yourself first.
    Pointless posts (e.g. yore ma, first!, w00t!, +1, ibtl) will be removed on sight. Persistent offenders may be banned for this.

OP, if you don't contribute I will close this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭u_c_thesecond

tech2 wrote: »

you should get an award. your god !!:D

Ok. I guess the hardest, I don't know if its brave but go through a really bad illness and overcame it. Thats all I can think of tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

I told the authorities where Bruce Banner was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Bog

tech2 wrote: »

I wish I could do that. Any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Bog wrote: »
    I wish I could do that. Any advice?

No

I told the authorities where Bruce Banner was.

He still got away though, as per.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Finishing climbing Carantoohil(sp) after having a panic attack on the way up.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Finishing climbing Carantoohil(sp) after having a panic attack on the way up.

Well done, climbed it years ago too, it was a personal accomplishment for me. To have done it after having a panic attack is amazing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I once was caught driving a milk float and if that milk float was to go over five miles per hour, a bomb would arm.
    If the float then fell below fives miles per hour, the bomb would detonate.
    There was also a terrifying incident with some cardboard boxes while I was driving, it was a scary day.
    Thankfully enough I survived, I put the brick on the accelerator.

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    I once was caught driving a milk float and if that milk float was to go over five miles per hour, a bomb would arm.
    There was also a terrifying incident with some cardboard boxes while I was driving, it was a scary day.

Now thats what I call brave!!! You should be awarded a medal for that one!! :p

Eh, Ted was driving the car when the cardboard box incident occurred :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭ham_n_mustard

one time in a subway station in rome, i saw this lad try to pickpocket a fairly elderly woman. he had his arms folded and a newspaper kind of half held over one hand. he was just getting his hand into her handbag when i gave him a bit (lot) of a nudge with my shoulder and sent him on his ar$e. he got up shouting, the ould one looks at me as if i was a thug picking on the robber fella. the robbers big buddy, who i didnt notice until now, starts walking towards me to do something horrible to me. at this stage my missus drags me on to the train that just pulled in and off we went and had a lovely day.

You totally creamed that post!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I posted in The Ladies Lounge - brave but stupid.

I was younger and a little more foolish, brave some might say - nay I say, I dare not do it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

Told Sharpshooter that Bret Hart is gay.

You so never did.:mad:

You're still posting.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Hit a knacker a fair auld jossil in a disco when things looke like getting violent with his gf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I'm sorry, I've got to link this in. :D

http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Bret_Hart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

I swam in a shark tank. Lost an arm. Makes typing hard but totally worthzc[ioa n'#;P ;oiunbpo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Drove through Cork.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

when i was 14 i stopped a big dog from fighting with a small dog.

I'm sorry, I've got to link this in. :D

http://uncyclopedia.wikia.com/wiki/Bret_Hart

Pfft!!

That has nothing on what Jerry "The King" Lawler has said about Bret and his family.

Now his sayings were innuendos and funny at the same time.

When is an innuendo NOT funny?

/folds arms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭aligator_am

mink_man wrote: »
    blah

Ummmm, what?

Dudess wrote: »
    When is an innuendo NOT funny?

/folds arms

Why, when people don't get it.:p

/unfold your arms, I don't like you like that.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Taking the OP seriously and considering life and death was involved here's mine:

Taking the OP seriously
    It's After Hours - its nature is light-hearted mixed with serious.

Dudess wrote: »
    It's After Hours - its nature is light-hearted mixed with serious.

Jesus!

David Carradine he ain't.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Disarmed an armed robber who had a gun pointed at me with a bowling ball.

Tackled an armed robber with a knife to my brothers throat

As a terrified kid, 30ft up a tree, composed myself enough to give my hysterical friend who slipped and was hanging from a branch literally by his fingernails the encouragement he needed to swing his leg up and over the branch.

Swam out to help a friend in difficulty in the sea.

One of the above is not true.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Stoolbend

Posted in AH while drunk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Jesus!

David Carradine he ain't.:eek:

I agree, indeed I hadn't the luxury of acting the 'fight' scene with some hired extras. It would have been nice though.

Edit all you want, Medicman. I saw that post - you kicked those ninjas' asses! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

was in a webcafe in temple bar, me, the girl behind the counter and about ten guys on computers [including one watching porn near me..who does that?!]
    scumbag couple enter. can't work the computer, start yelling and swearing at the girl. started to feel a bit nervous. poor girl is trying to explain about the computer, scumbag guy yanks out the keyboard and flings it across the room. i'm now wishing someone, or multiple someones would do something, but guys just sit there watching. scumbag starts making his way towards the girl saying he's going to "tear her face" or something awful like that. i just sprang out my chair and say "don't you ****ing touch her!". he turns to me and asks if i want a broken jaw too. i took a few steps toward him and just say "dont ****ing touch her" again -don't know WHAT possessed me, because i was terrified and was about ready to pee myself. but i guess being scared but doing it anyway is what makes it brave?!
    anyway he just glared at me and then left. it's not as if i think he was afraid of me [not being very menacing looking at 5'5" in a frilly skirt..] but he left anyway which is all that matters. still so disgusted that a room of ten people could just sit there when he was about to attack that girl. ugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Chased a junkie who was breaking into our old nextdoor neighbours house when I was 17,he cleared two low walls easily but when he jumped over the last wall(about 6 feet)he managed to break his ankle whatever way he landed,after that he just basically sat on the ground howlin in pain til the garda came,begging me not to hit him,felt a wee bit sorry for him in the end.

Wouldnt have the balls to do it again if I was faced with the same situation tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

im not entirely sure ive ever done anything brave