Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Crappest Car Ever

• 03-03-2010 9:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭

Time for some fun. I've put together a list of what could be the top ten crapest cars of all time. They cant just be crap because of an ugly design or because it sounded awful, all of these things give a car character. No its gotta be crap because it was designed by accountants, because it was built to a budget, because it seemed like the company who made it really didnt know what they were doing....Anyway here's the list, go and pick the worst :p

Rover CityRover
    car_photo_12693_7.jpg

Hyundai Pony
    574.jpg

Yugo 45A
    Yugo.jpg

Datsun Cherry
    datcherb.jpg

Fiat Idea
    newtitel.jpg

Renault 11
    01_front.jpg

Talbot Alpine
    1981_Talbot_Alpine_1.jpg

Austin Princess
    austinprincess_420x284.jpg

Suzuki Alto
    Y768RTR.jpg

Kia Pride
    kiapride.jpg

If anybody feels they can ad to this list please feel free to do so :D

The biggest pile of crap ever is the ...... 129 votes

Rover City Rover
    0%
    Hyundai Pony
    42%
    unkeldjk1000inforfunmondeocommitedzilog_jonesThe Real B-manunkleroscoNeilwPadraig Morbad2dabonepeasantdingdingzarquonBertyFozzie BearTheAceFaceCosmo Kplisskenyknaa 55 votes
    Yugo 45A
    6%
    StokolanMax_DamagecoolbeansvincenzolorenzoW.Shakes-Beerthebigladdirtydiesel00_ghost_27 8 votes
    Datsun Cherry
    13%
    bytePlugsalad dodgerGary ITRracso1975Henry Ford IIIfurtzysundodger5djhaxmanPiqueDerMutttherewillbeznv6i3h7kqf9yskasperpeckmysterLookBehindYourbrtRuby_Woo 18 votes
    Fiat Idea
    1%
    MySelf56citroen 2 votes
    Renault 11
    3%
    road_highEvoluteGERMAN ROCKSCarstuckquestionmark? 5 votes
    Talbot Alpine
    6%
    Hal1Eric Cartmanrnteednab-elFresh Pots[Deleted User]746wattsPoly 8 votes
    Austin Princess
    1%
    Mc LoveSaab Ed 2 votes
    Suzuki Alto
    12%
    joolsveerBigEejitbusmanalias no.9Dazzycolm_mcmrebel.ranterCookie_Monsterttmrobtrino1beemerfanTea_Bagcadaliacold_aussieFor Forks Sakeproblemchimp 16 votes
    Kia Pride
    11%
    neilmthe_barfly1Brian?cantdecidedjdunnydamo86chris85Oisintarrantscottyboydonvito99Big NastyjimbojetdriverAbsurdumdebbie123VW 1 15 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Fiat 124 series

Fiat 127 series

Actually all Fiats from the 1970's..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

Tata Safari

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Good idea Ed! Too much seriousness going on here :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

lada.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Basically anything Peugeot since about 2001:

peugeot_207rc_x.jpg

peugeot-407-coupe-bellagio.jpg

Here's some prestige sh1te:

bmw-x3-1.jpg

W163_3.jpg
    These seriously suck.^^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Hyundai Pony
    My family had 2 Renault 11s :o

And a couple of Renault 14s.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

Crappest????

BMW X5, too big, too thursty, too expensive, people think your a tosser / drug dealer, 19'' Alloys are useless for a off roading which is the whole point of one.

We've one in the family, id take my 14 year old japbox over it every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I actually like the look of the Lada after they blinged one up on Top Gear with the help of Lotus :o

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGNqC_9-npY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

Talbot Alpine
    We had a Renault 11 once, 1.6 diesel. gas yoke altogether, Engine eventually blew up like any other Renault car we had at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Datsun Cherry
    I Was VB wrote: »
    We've one in the family, id take my 14 year old japbox over it every time.

I honestly read that as 'I'd take my 14 year old sister over it' and was thinking wtf?? I think I need some sleep.

Gotta be the Yugo for me, a neighbour of ours had one and my God it was crapper than crap. The Cherry doesn't belong on that list, Carchaeologist will be on here now to kick your ass Ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

In so far as 'crappest car evuh' poles go, I can't believe that neither the Trabant nor the Sinclair C5 are options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Hyundai Pony
    City Rover for me. Was a passenger once - Jaysus how they thought they'd get away with that:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Not quite a car, more a ****box, but there can only be one winner...

Nissan Serena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Hyundai Pony
    Anything LADA in my opinion is an insult to motoring history....Even their newest stuff is a disgrace. Was in Poland last year and saw too much of them.

In Ireland I would say that City Rover is as comical as Mickey Mouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

In so far as 'crappest car evuh' poles go, I can't believe that neither the Trabant nor the Sinclair C5 are options.

The C5 doesnt qualify as a car.

Is there a single crappest car ? It would have to be a huge combination of crapness. It would have to be ugly as hell (for the era it's from) , as unreliable as a car can be, and devoid of anything that makes life easy (again, for the era, no point bemoaning a 1970's lada for not haveing digital climate control :-) ) as well as utterly crap to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭the merchant

Where is the Metro? The C(Sh)itty Rover is like a Lexus compared to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭dizzydiesel

Hyundai Pony
    My eyes hurt after viewing that lot.

If my memory serves me right, that Rover was on Top Gear (or 5th Gear) years ago and they slated it.
    Having said that, Top Gear slates everything.

Found this (pardon the spanish lol)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L2VRTQMxkjE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Austin Princess
    Where is the Metro? The C(Sh)itty Rover is like a Lexus compared to it.

You have to remember that its about being 100% crap. Sure the Metro was a bad car but any car that can drive around with each corner at a different ride height has to be excused on character ground alone. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭trish23

I loved my old Metro!! Had to get the suspension pumped every few weeks - Ahh the good old days...:)

Talbot Alpine
    Surely the Alto shouldn't be on the list, can the Megane be added in it's place ?

I reckon the City Rover is a disgrace of a car.

RoverJames wrote: »
    , can the Megane be added in it's place ?.

Which one and on what grounds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Suzuki Alto
    Austin/Rover Maestro, without a shadow of a doubt the worst constructed cart of crap i've ever set foot into

Talbot Alpine
    Stekelly wrote: »
    Which one and on what grounds?

'twas a joke, lighthearted thread and whatnot ;)

Now that I think of it though (as you have asked) I reckon the Alto was more reliable than any Megane will be over a 10 year lifespan :) So the Megane could take the Alto's place in the poll.

'twas a joke, lighthearted thread and whatnot ;)

Now that I think of it though (as you have asked) I reckon the Alto was more reliable than any Megane will be over a 10 year lifespan :) So the Megane could take the Alto's place in the poll.

Well the megane II didnt come bottom of reliability indeses, wasnt the worst looking, wasnt bad to drive and it had plenty of creature comforts. The Megane I was grand ad the new one is new. So no, try again.

There as some non Renault related threads you could always pop in to and just add "btw, Renault are crap" if you like.

Talbot Alpine
    Well the megane II didnt come bottom of reliability indeses, wasnt the worst looking, wasnt bad to drive and it had plenty of creature comforts. The Megane I was grand ad the new one is new. So no, try again.

There as some non Renault related threads you could always pop in to and just add "btw, Renault are crap" if you like.

The Alto was as reliable as a Corolla, time will tell with the new Megane, the Meg 1 & 11 were nowhere near as reliable as the Alto. I did say over 10 years. I don't think Renault are crap, I think they have have a poor reliability record.

In all fairness you would want to remove the rose tinted specs, you said over in another thread that the Laguna 11 has proved reliable, wtf :confused: :eek:
    Also I did say I was joking with the Megane comment in this thread.

Have a peak at the Megane 1 here and the Laguna 11, both a disgrace
    http://www.reliabilityindex.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭vw4life

Hyundai Pony
    I luvved my talbot alpine:p,it was quick:)

In all fairness you would want to remove the rose tinted specs, you said over in another thread that the Laguna 11 has proved reliable, wtf :confused: :eek:

Here's my reply from the other thread "That clearly should be Laguna III , it's a typo.Why would I say Laguna II and "thus Far", it was replaced 2 and a half years ago."

Megane 1 stats:
    Average reliability is 112, so it's better than average, how is that "a disgrace"?

Reliability Index 97.35
    Average Age 5.77

Average Mileage 51886.85
    Time off the Road 2.01

Average Repair Cost 228.62
    Air Conditioning 1.90

Axle & Suspension 25.10
    Braking System 1.14

Cooling and Heating System 6.08
    Electrical 43.35

Engine 10.27
    Fuel System 3.80

Transmission 5.70

What way do the stats work? What does Brakign system 1.14 mean for exampl. The site gives an explanations as likelyhood to fail, so is low or high good on their points system? ie is it 1.14 per 100 are likely to fail or somehting different?

and either way, a car has to be a lot more than unreliable to be on a list of crappest cars. I've never been let down by any of the family Renaults, so on that ground I'm much better off stickign with Renault than being in a less comfortable car with less toys.

Talbot Alpine
    Here's my reply from the other thread "That clearly should be Laguna III , it's a typo.Why would I say Laguna II and "thus Far", it was replaced 2 and a half years ago."

Did you have a peak at the Megane 1 on the link I posted ? Still think 'twas grand ? In a few years we can have a peak at how the current crop faired out ;)

Talbot Alpine

Megane 1 stats:
    Average reliability is 112, so it's better than average, how is that "a disgrace"?

The top 10 manufacturers range from 31 to 70, 112 is crap.

Just as well the Megane got 97.35 then isnt it :)

112 is average, the megane was better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Hyundai Pony
    Where is the Metro?

My first thought too. The Tata Indica is fine for the third world market it's aimed at (rebadging it as a Rover and selling it in the UK was the final nail in the coffin of Rover, already a rotting corpse at that stage - don't blame the Indica). I voted for it because it's by far the worst car in the poll.

Apart from the sh1te Asian crap cars that we have seen over the last four decades from Japan and Korea and the probably even worse onces from India and China that are likely to be flooding in over the next four decades, let's blame a European car here for once.

Metro. The worst European car. Ever. I can't even be bothered explaining why. I'd rather drive an Indica :D

Talbot Alpine
    Just as well the Megane got 97.35 then isnt it :)

112 is average, the megane was better.

96 to 99 Megane got 135.29
    99 to 02 got 97.35
    02 to 06 got 86.95

Corolla 02 to 07 gets 14.65
    The heap of junk CityRover got 53.71
    The Rover 400 & 45 got 46.8 & 43.04 respectively

Megane results are very poor compared to them. Is slightly better than average good enough Ste ?? Will you settle for that with the new Renault range ?

Austin Princess
    96 to 99 Megane got 135.29
    99 to 02 got 97.35
    02 to 06 got 86.95

Corolla 02 to 07 gets 14.65
    The heap of junk CityRover got 53.71
    The Rover 400 & 45 got 46.8 & 43.04 respectively

Megane results are very poor compared to them. Is slightly better than average good enough Ste ?? Will you settle for that with the new Renault range ?

Guys this is boring now!

C'mon lads :cool:

Talbot Alpine
    I only made a little joke while defending the mighty Alto :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Hyundai Pony
    Onkle wrote: »
    The Cherry doesn't belong on that list

Have to agree. The cherry was far from crappy.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

Talbot Alpine
    h3000 wrote: »
    Have to agree. The cherry was far from crappy.

Very true, Cherry was a great little bus. Defo room for two more Renaults, Megane and Laguna folks ? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I was expecting British Leyland to dominate this poll:

The Austin Princess:
    princess_07.jpg

Austin Allegro:
    2415179745_902184c230.jpg

Austin Montego:
    2851707610_32e3010dc7.jpg?v=1221249070

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Kia Pride
    I drove a 1997 Suzuki Alto for about 4 minutes a few months ago, it was excruciating, gets my vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭furtzy

Datsun Cherry
    Had to drive a brand new at the time 1990 Yugo 45 60 miles to Belfast once. The embarrasment of driving a new southern reg Yugo through the streets of Belfast brought shame to both me and us poor southerners.

On the way up I had to demist the side windows so opened the vents and got blasted by dirt and leaves. Turns out the demister vents were attached to a hose pipe that just ran to the back of the front wheels...no fan etc so it just blew up al the crap from the road.

It had 4 gears all with the same ratios...driving up inclines took a lot of planning

Austin Princess
    furtzy wrote: »
    Had to drive a brand new at the time 1990 Yugo 45 60 miles to Belfast once. The embarrasment of driving a new southern reg Yugo through the streets of Belfast brought shame to both me and us poor southerners.

On the way up I had to demist the side windows so opened the vents and got blasted by dirt and leaves. Turns out the demister vents were attached to a hose pipe that just ran to the back of the front wheels...no fan etc so it just blew up al the crap from the road.

It had 4 gears all with the same ratios...driving up inclines took a lot of planning

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Nobody seen this Yugo then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭plissken

Hyundai Pony

So according to your own link Renault are more reliable than Audi, Mercedes, Saab, Porsche & MG among some others.

So why then do you continually hark on about Renault being truely the worlds most unreliable brand when you've just contradicted yourself with the above.

Now whilst I'm no Renault zealot, it still annoys me when people sprout nonsense about a brand they seem to only have third or forth hand experience of at best.

Talbot Alpine
    plissken wrote: »
    So according to your own link Renault are more reliable than Audi, Mercedes, Saab, Porsche & MG among some others.

So why then do you continually hark on about Renault being truely the worlds most unreliable brand when you've just contradicted yourself with the above.

Now whilst I'm no Renault zealot, it still annoys me when people sprout nonsense about a brand they seem to only have third or forth hand experience of at best.

Because folks claim the new Renaults are bombproof etc, bla bla bla.
    I mentioned that an Alto would be more relaible than a Renault over 10 years, which it is.

Report my posts if you don't like them, it gets tedious reading all the horsesh1t about Renaults being reliable on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭plissken

Hyundai Pony
    Report my posts if you don't like them

It's a discussion forum, you make a post, others reply, it's that simple.
    it gets tedious reading all the horsesh1t about Renaults being reliable on here.

Could'nt agree more :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Shamrock-car.jpg

1960 Shamrock 2-Door Convertible Coupe

ftw

from the classic car forums
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055610163

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Trabant
    Its body was Duroplast, a stew of cotton, paper, plastic, and wool. Its engine was a two-stroke,
    so you had to pour oil in with the petrol and shake the car to mix it.

Tata Nano
    There have been 30 cases of spontaneous fires occurring inside the Nano out of the first 7,500 cars delivered.

Austin Princess
    Someone please vote for the Cherry. I wonder if I changed the Cherry to a Sentra would it get more votes :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭ttm

Suzuki Alto
    I voted Austin Princess as I actually had one for a while and it was just dreadful. Drove like a wet sponge on an ice rink.

When this one closes how about another poll where you only vote on the worst car the you actually paid money for and owned, if even for a short while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,430 ✭✭✭bladespin

Hyundai Pony
    BMW X1 :confused: why? and for what?

MasteryDarts Ireland - Master your game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

3623_01.jpg

+1 for the Austin Montego. We had one of these as a family car for 10 years, and it honestly doesn't even qualify as a car. It was truly horridious and broke down all the time. Don't ask why we kept it so long. It was identical to the one above too with the exact same colour. A 2L HL model, that did 15mpg in its latter days.