Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Michael O'Leary - anyone else sick of his crap?

• 02-03-2010 10:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭

I am sitting trying to watch prime time tonight and that clown O'Leary is nearly causing me to kick the sh1te out of my new TV.

Taking aside the fact that he is undoubtedly a shrewd business man and quite successful - the man is a pompous bully of the highest order.

The tripe that he is spouting that the government can kick out AL from hanger 6 in the morning as between Ryanair and the Government they have over 50% in AerLingus. Company law restricts major share holders using their majority to the detriment of other shareholders.

And why does he need hanger six? he could get a custom built hanger? makes no sense what so ever ... he can't even fill the hanger until september.

To me it is obvious O'Leary wants to get his arse in to this hanger in order to have his own terminal down the line. Despite claims that he is prepared to sign leases that will limit the potential use of the building ........ but going by his PR and Spin campaign to date the real danger is he will use bully boy tactics to get around these conditions once his arse is in place.

The man has no integrity as far as I can make out, playing out the caring, patriotic, best interests card when underneath it all he is a megalomaniac.

As someone who is so hell bent on reducing costs and stripping his supplier margins to the bone, can he be believed that he would have been willing to pay whatever price was asked for hanger 6 ? crap. how could he have even developed an internal business plan, mgt accounts or forecasts if he has no idea what the building will cost him.

Why can't our media see through him or are they afraid of loosing out on valuable ad revenue in hard times.

How much I would love to punch the man.

Nobody can even have a discussion with him as he has usually got three or four statements that he will just repeat ad nausea until the will of the interviewer is broken .... much like a bad party political broadcast !!!!

I have avoided Ryanair for the last four years and fingerscrossed I won't need to use them in the foreseeable future

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

I hate the entire aviation industry. Legal highs man. Sher we don't even know what's in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

i think he's a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

He seems to be the only person in this country who stands up to this government without fear of retribution.

Fair play to him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I just watched the Primetime show.
    I don't like O'Leary at all but there are some serious questions to be asked about the preceding period of Feb to December the 24th last year that are conveniently been over looked by RTE! I wonder why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭boodlesdoodles

If he cared about the country he wouldn't be contributing to the decimation of Shannon airport by pulling flights on a regular basis. There's a need for jobs in the Mid-west as well so his argument about providing jobs is a total joke IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭shofukan

Completely agree with the op, can't stand the chap.
    He spews out nothing but absolute bullsh*t and people in general mare quite happy to take it with a grin just because "he stands up to the government"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

And his actions cause yet another bout of talking / posting about him and his company. He's a marketing genius and you're happy to help him out there. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

whippet wrote: »

As someone who is so hell bent on reducing costs and stripping his supplier margins to the bone, can he be believed that he would have been willing to pay whatever price was asked for hanger 6 ? crap. how could he have even developed an internal business plan, mgt accounts or forecasts if he has no idea what the building will cost him.

He has 2 billion quid laying around and 230+ jets, he can pay for it and he can fill it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

o'leary really annoys me, btu he has a sense of humour, and without ryanair introducing cheapflights all those years ago, we'd all be fúcked, paying a grand per person to fly to london each way . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Ring Ring... Ring Ring
    Hello?
    Yes, this is two weeks ago. I'd like my news back please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Keep buying the most expensive flights you can then. Ill have the cheap ones.

The man introduced the concept of 'competition' to Ireland.

He is to be applauded for that. if I don't like a service I won't use it or pay for it.

if O'Leary introduced JD Wetherspoon style pubs, his own electricity and gas companies and sold cut price parking, I'd buy those services as well.

If he can run a company this well, he can run the country of Ireland better than the monkeys we have in office. So he can do that with my blessing as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

The Aer Lingus hangar thing is silly and he knows it. He's not getting the hangar, and if he ever somehow got it I very much doubt we would see anything like 300 jobs created because of it. This is just tons of free advertising for Ryanair.

There are a lot of things I don't like about MOL and some things I do like (like the way he stood up to Ganley in Lisbon II). As for Ryanair, I don't avoid it at all; it's extremely cheap, service is generally good and the staff are always lovely. It suits me as someone who is able to fly without a whole lot of baggage or special requirements so it makes sense for me to fly with Ryanair. That has nothing to do with whether MOL is a nice guy or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Reading the thread title I thought this was going to be someone giving out about the abundance of Michael O'Leary threads on after hours......you can imagine my disapointment...

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

connundrum wrote: »
    Ring Ring... Ring Ring
    Hello?
    Yes, this is two weeks ago. I'd like my news back please

Apparently the nineties don't want the Chandler Bing style sarcasm back so it's all yours from here on in.
    Go you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭evercloserunion

He seems to be the only person in this country who stands up to this government without fear of retribution.

Fair play to him.
    You must be joking. The queue is a mile long to take cheap swipes at the government right now.

I'd have more respect for someone whose criticisms of government policy are valid and made in the interests of Irish society as a whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

If he cared about the country he wouldn't be contributing to the decimation of Shannon airport by pulling flights on a regular basis. There's a need for jobs in the Mid-west as well so his argument about providing jobs is a total joke IMHO.

Shannon is a relic and a waste of money. It should have been closed down years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

It would take an army of Michael O'Learys to get Fianna Failure to realise what an absolute mess they're making of the running of this country, there won't be anything left here after NAMA and all the increases in taxes and levies. This government should be ordered out of office asap while there's any chance of saving the place and instead of payoffs, pensions and golden handshakes they should be prosecuted and fined for mismanagement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Haha o leary for taoiseach!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

I have heard Mr O'Leary accuse the Taoiseach of lying twice, once on TV and ones on Newstalk 106.

Surly you can't get away with calling the Taoiseach a dishonest man without fear of repercussions. Unless there is no defense to his allegations.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

O'Leary is right , this goverment are a bunch of procratinating ,incompetents who should just let the people decide.
    Letting personality differences dictate economic needs is unforgiveable. peoples futures should not be allowed to be used for point scoring.

Shannon is a relic and a waste of money. It should have been closed down years ago

What is the basis for such a damning statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭shanemort

he is 100% Right!!!! I back him all the way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

whippet wrote: »
    I have avoided Ryanair for the last four years and fingerscrossed I won't need to use them in the foreseeable future

At the same time, Ryanair have become the biggest airline in Europe, weird.

You know what it is about O'Leary he is out to make money and cares little for his customers as long as the money is coming in. But you know what, at least he never trys to portray himself as anything else and for that, I find if difficult to not like him. He's not running for Nobel Peace Prize, he's there to MAKE MONEY.

Maybe if more businesses in Ireland had learned to make tough decisions and be a bit more ruthless in their persuit of profits without making huge gambles, they Irish economy would have come out of this recession in as good a state as Ryanair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

lonad wrote: »
    What is the basis for such a damning statement?

that no major airline wants to use it
    that it loses huge sums of taxpayers money every year
    that there has never been the sustainable demandto support it operation since the removal of trans-atlantic fuel stops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

nope, people that dont like him are -
    • bitter of his success
    • jealous of said success.
    • not realistic of their expectations of ryanair. complain of "hidden charges" yet know fully well what they are paying when they click on purchase now and expect champagne service for lemonade prices.
    • just whiging wan*ers in general.

o leary maybe a coc*y twat, but when i can travel on his airline an average of 6 times a month and pay about 30euro each flight, he be as cocky as he wants...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭bladeruner

Tazz T wrote: »
    Keep buying the most expensive flights you can then. Ill have the cheap ones.

The man introduced the concept of 'competition' to Ireland.
    No he didnt , the goverment did ,by deregulating air travel.
    if he didnt fill the void , Go or easyjet would have .

Tazz T wrote: »
    If he can run a company this well, he can run the country of Ireland better than the monkeys we have in office. So he can do that with my blessing as well.
    Taz , be a good man and go try working for him for 6 months and then come back and tell me that he runs the company well and that you want him running the country.

nuff said

o leary maybe a coc*y twat, but when i can travel on his airline an average of 6 times a month and pay about 30euro each flight, he be as cocky as he wants...

Exactly, I lived in the Netherlands for a year.

Enniskillen - Dublin Airport - Bus Eireann - 22 Euro

Dublin - Eindhoven - Ryanair - 17 Euro

Whatever he does is fine with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Hands up who works for the Government?!

bladeruner wrote: »
    Taz , be a good man and go try working for him for 6 months and then come back and tell me that he runs the company well and that you want him running the country.

nuff said

He makes profits, thats the most important fact in any company. It's not a social club he runs.

I'd have more respect for someone whose criticisms of government policy are valid and made in the interests of Irish society as a whole.

Jaysus and jobs arent? Not an aircraft mechanic are ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

I'm sick of the countless threads of people bitching about him here!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

nope, people that dont like him are -
    • bitter of his success
    • jealous of said success.
    • not realistic of their expectations of ryanair. complain of "hidden charges" yet know fully well what they are paying when they click on purchase now and expect champagne service for lemonade prices.
    • just whiging wan*ers in general.
    You do know it's possible to dislike him/appreciate his business acumen without fitting into any of the above, don't you?
    Exactly - and people are free to call him a cocky twat if they so wish, without unsubstantiated accusations of "begrudgery" etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Seriously; would you trust him to run the country? A man that registered his Merc as a taxi so he could speed around in bus-lanes?!

He does stuff to make things easier for himself.. yes he's a successful business man and fair fcuks to him.. he's funny at times too, and says what people want to hear but would he be as open about things if he was the one in charge? I doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

bigeasyeah wrote: »
    Hands up who works for the Government?!

I do, the f*ckers take all my money in taxes!!!:mad:

If O'Leary ruled the place he'd probably have sold us off to the Brits by now for a euro and all our bad debts......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭EraseAndRewind

aw ive a soft spot for him i think he is hysterically funny...
    reading a book about him at the mo and im snorting with laughter at some of the quotes:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭boodlesdoodles

Yes that's easy to say from the comfort of Dublin. The other half of the country is entitled to a decent airport and if Shannon has become a relic its thanks to the government. Thanks for the sympathy by the way great to see that the Mid-West gets some from you.

It's just usual Irish begrudgery. People complaining that he cuts corners, that he's only interesting in making money and that you wouldn't fly with Ryanair. I'll bet such practices don't stop you from going to McDonalds, buying a Man U shirt or a EMI CD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

And his actions cause yet another bout of talking / posting about him and his company. He's a marketing genius and you're happy to help him out there. :)

In all fairness, it's just a few people offering an opinion. When people discuss Coronation Street or the price of turnips nobody talks about a major marketing coup for those products. Don't see why it should be different with Ryanair.

m@cc@ wrote: »
    It's just usual Irish begrudgery.
    Can this be a bannable offence along with "PC brigade"? Plz?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Odia1101

How bad was the Primetime guy ? ... pretty useless I'd say. Need a pro to deal with MOL and a pro he wasn't tonight .....

Dudess wrote: »
    Can this be a bannable offence along with "PC brigade"? Plz?

Well it is begrudgery as far as I'm concerned. Why does he bother people so much? So what if he's machiavellian? At least it's clear for all to see.

You know what it is about O'Leary he is out to make money and cares little for his customers as long as the money is coming in. But you know what, at least he never trys to portray himself as anything else and for that, I find if difficult to not like him. He's not running for Nobel Peace Prize, he's there to MAKE MONEY.

You obviously missed his 'patriot game' verbal diarrhoea in recent times so.

You can find someone repugnant without begrudging them their success though. I think O'Leary seems like an out and out bully, however that doesn't mean I'm resentful of him being so successful.

Dudess wrote: »
    You can find someone repugnant without begrudging them their success though. I think O'Leary seems like an out and out bully, however that doesn't mean I'm resentful of him being so successful.

You don't become the head of a successful company like Ryanair by being a shrinking violet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Powerhouse wrote: »
    In all fairness, it's just a few people offering an opinion. When people discuss Coronation Street or the price of turnips nobody talks about a major marketing coup for those products. Don't see why it should be different with Ryanair.

Neither of these products get themselves in the news at every single opportunity never mind create them themselves :p

Well it is begrudgery as far as I'm concerned. Why does he bother people so much? So what if he's machiavellian? At least it's clear for all to see.

If it's "clear for all to see" then it hardly qualifies as Machievellian I would have thought.

"Why does he bother people so much?" - I cannot be as prescriptive as you on that question, but what bothers me about him is all the horse manure we have to read about how great he is. It's a bit like Roy Keane, I suspect the man might be vaguely bearable if all the cheerleaders across various media were not so determined to eulogise him as some kind of working-class hero. It's all the attendant bulls*t that grates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Dublin - Eindhoven - Ryanair - 17 Euro

Does that include the train/bus fare you need to actually get from the airport to the city you're flying to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

Michael O'Leary is an absolute hero. Just goes about his business. When he's asked somethin he gives a fairly solid and truthful answer. Takes on the govt and EU Commission and of course he turned a nearly bankrupt airline into one of the most profitable in the world....

Gas man too!!

stovelid wrote: »
    Does that include the train/bus fare you need to actually get from the airport to the city you're flying to?

Dublin - Eindhoven - Ryanair - 17 Euro. Airport to Airport.

Thats a good deal no matter what way you look at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

lonad wrote: »
    Letting personality differences dictate economic needs is unforgiveable. peoples futures should not be allowed to be used for point scoring.

Whats o'leary doing so? He demanded the government step in and tell the DAA what to do because he doesnt want to deal with them .