Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calling All People in Diocese of Ferns.

• 02-03-2010 8:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭

A message from your local sex abuse manager (Bishop)

"Please contribute to the defence of our Paedophiles."

Is he for real??????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Lovely.... Just what i need with my cornflakes..... another rant....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

They have some neck on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

91011 wrote: »

Is he for real??????????

did he actually say those words? or are you just extrapolating what parts you want to hear?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,383 ✭✭✭91011

Lovely.... Just what i need with my cornflakes..... another rant....

Its not a rant - its a repeat of what the bishop told his "flock" - just in a more translated way.

• Moderators Posts: 51,917 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

From rte.ie

Bishop of Ferns Dr Denis Brennan has invited the parishes of the diocese to help pay compensation and legal bills arising from clerical child sexual abuse.

He said the diocese has had to pay over €10.5m settling civil actions, paying its lawyers at the Ferns inquiry, and treating offenders.
    Dr Brennan's spokesman said that individual parishioners and priests had been asking what they could do to help.

Addressing parish representatives last night in Enniscorthy, Bishop Brennan said victims of abuse rightly had first call on the diocese's attention.
    Perpetrators' actions combined with mismanagement, poor understanding and/or a lack of resolve had caused what he called 'this tragedy'.
    He said the diocese had spent over €8m settling 48 civil actions.
    Some litigants were abused over 60 years ago. Another 13 lawsuits are pending.

Over €750,000 had been spent treating offenders, which Dr Brennan called a long-term investment in protecting children.
    Almost €1.5m had been paid recently for legal work on the State's Ferns Inquiry.

He thanked the Irish bishops' Stewardship Fund for paying over half of Ferns' total abuse bill.

His finance officer said insurance had paid another one-seventh but that, so far, the diocese had spent €3.5m partly by running down its savings and recently, by raising a €1.8m loan.

Bishop Brennan said one-fifth of 'the road to justice' remained to be travelled and that to complete it, he would have to seek funding from parishes.

So he was actually asking for help paying the compensation and not towards a defense of the priests involved in child abuse.

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

and I'm sure there are plenty of idiots who will give them money too.

koth wrote: »
    From rte.ie

So he was actually asking for help paying the compensation and not towards a defense of the priests involved in child abuse.

did you read the story - help with payment of legal bills

Considering that the church has been in denial until recently, I can only suspect that legal bills are those that came about from the hiding of materials, defence of priests and the total non acceptance of the atrocities that hundreds of priest did against innocent people.

If it were a lay person, the mob would have been burning down their house, but becasue it was priests, the attitude of people is unbelieveably muted.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

icvgja.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

He could always sell the Big House in Ferns and pay off the money. Twit.

did you read the story - help with payment of legal bills

Considering that the church has been in denial until recently, I can only suspect that legal bills are those that came about from the hiding of materials, defence of priests and the total non acceptance of the atrocities that hundreds of priest did against innocent people.

If it were a lay person, the mob would have been burning down their house, but becasue it was priests, the attitude of people is unbelieveably muted.

You can still be hit with legal bills if you go to trial and enter a plea of guilty.

You make it sound like a priest is about to go to trial and the bishop is looking for funds to fight the allegation.

Which is not what is happening. They are asking for money to pay bills from losing court cases and having to pay compensation to the victims.

Its not a rant - its a repeat of what the bishop told his "flock" - just in a more translated way.

Dream on... Its a rant. there will be no discussion it is simply a caneing. What is being discussed... Nothing.... What will be learned..... Nothing.... What will it achieve..... Nothing.....

Its rational for the church to ask for assistence. As the bills need to be paid. It does not make it right or wrong. Its rational. If the church cannot pay its bills it will be liquidated as such. What purpose does this serve to the locals... Nothing.

This does not mean anyone has to contribute.... However consider this. The money you give to any charity do you think there is not an exploitation of funds in some way along the line.... Your foolish if you do. The reason you give is your hopeing you will help someone.

The reason people WILL give here is they are hopeing they will save a community as such.

Where is the discussion in this.... None.

then again it is after hours..... Lets build a bonfire and burn all the christians.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Maybe Dr Denis Brennan should ask the Pope to sell some of the works of art in his palaces of gold in Rome to help him sort out the bill

See this is the type of comment thats of a poor standard and makes this discussion poor. Why dont we just sell of the vatican all together..... Sure who needs it. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Lets build a bonfire and burn all the christians
    Sweet, I'll bring the matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

That's not what happened. Koth tries to set you straight and you refuse to listen.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Its rational for the church to ask for assistence. As the bills need to be paid. It does not make it right or wrong. Its rational. If the church cannot pay its bills it will be liquidated as such. What purpose does this serve to the locals... Nothing.

Why not get a government bail out? If they wouldn't let the banks go bust due to the impact on the economy... surely they can't let a diocese go bust due to the impact on morality...

oh lordy lordy lordy... :pac:

(yeah i know... Gov footed the bill initially years ago... i'm only teasing..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

See this is the type of comment thats of a poor standard and makes this discussion poor. Why dont we just sell of the vatican all together..... Sure who needs it. :rolleyes:

Well, it makes sense that the Church should surrender some of their gold and massive assets they have accumulated over the years to pay for their sins. Why should their parishoners pay? They are the ones who were betrayed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I did have a laugh when I heard this on the news this morning. I then became sad when I realised that there will be some of the flock that will help with the legal costs.

I think it is disgusting that a organisation like the catholic church is resorting to this. The church as a whole is not what I would call poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Surely the Pope could help out?
    This is how much he have to spend on his flock
    http://www.zenit.org/article-1900?l=english

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

It's not right or wrong? Are you for real? The catholic church is one of the richest organisations in the world and its asking for contributions from friends and family members of those that were abused. Let me spell it out. Its WRONG.

As far as liquidation goes, hmmmm now there's something. Maybe the closure of these 'businesses' would be the first step to people using their own moral compass instead of being lapdogs to the old men in black. Bring it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭*eadaoin

Is he for real??????????

That would be an ecumenical matter!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭Mahatma coat

the Noble and upstanding parishoners of the diocese of Ferns should pay, their silence and compliance enabled this to occur for decades, all those old biddies that would go to morning mass Every F*ckin Day, they Knew, Jaysus some of the lads went to the Percieved ''Nicer" ones and were chastised for tellin lies about the priest then made feel guilty as if it was all their fault. THEY KNEW, They knew long before the scandals started comin out in the 90's they helped cover it up for decades, their blinkered caustic view of the world their stupid superstitions and prejudices all had to be maintained, They are as Guilty as the Sick B@strd 'Men of God' they protected for so long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Didn't Martin Luther's break from the Catholic church (The nailing the proclamation to a church door thing) kind of revolve around him thinking that the catholic church was being an insane money grabbing cult who had lost it's way?

Time for another shoot off me thinks.

I vote for The Church of the One Winged Angel of Latter Day Summons..

"And Hojo said, let it be spliced."

*Warning*If you get that joke.. You may be a massive geek..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

Ian Paisley for Taoiseach.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Didn't Martin Luther's break from the Catholic church (The nailing the proclamation to a church door thing) kind of revolve around him thinking that the catholic church was being an insane money grabbing cult who had lost it's way?

Time for another shoot off me thinks.

I vote for The Church of the One Winged Angel of Latter Day Summons..

"And Hojo said, let it be spliced."

*Warning*If you get that joke.. You may be a massive geek..

i think you're my soul mate man. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

The people of Ferns will pay...adding incense to injury!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

It's not right or wrong? Are you for real? The catholic church is one of the richest organisations in the world and its asking for contributions from friends and family members of those that were abused. Let me spell it out. Its WRONG.

As far as liquidation goes, hmmmm now there's something. Maybe the closure of these 'businesses' would be the first step to people using their own moral compass instead of being lapdogs to the old men in black. Bring it on.
    Its not just wrong its disgusting.

Where else would you go into a community, rape the children(or cover up your colleagues doing that), wait till youve been caught out and the children grow up, and then expect the grown up children to pay the compensation to the rape victims. All the while the church is sitting on mountains of cash?

Pull the other one. I'm sorry if ive offended anyone but this issue really pisses me off and I think anyone that gives those paedophiles a cent needs their mental health checked or needs to be put on the sex offenders register.

Let's look at a different scenario.

Mr & Mrs Bloggs Live in ABC Estate with their 2 grown up sons. One of the sons sexually abuses children in the estate and Mr Bloggs finds out.

Mr Bloggs sends his son to his sister who lives in DEF estate, but never tells his sister why he is moving his son there.

The son then abuses children in that estate, so again Mr Bloggs looks to move him to yet another place in the hope that the problem will go away.

10 years later the children that were abused finally realise the extent of what has happened to them and accuses Master Bloggs of abuse. Mr Boggs denies it outright and goes to the ends of the earth to defend his son. When more allegations are made from children in DEF estate, it gets mores serious and than furtehr allegations get amde and finally admattance is made.

In the meantime Mr. Bloggs has racked up loads of bills for compensating some of the victims and more bills for trying to hide him and defend the actions of both himself and his son.

Mr Blogg's granfather lives in another coutry - lets say Italy - and is very very rich. In fact one of the richest people in Italy.

But instead of getting money from his grandfather, Mr Bloggs hand a box around all of his neighbours and asks them to chip in to pay his bills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

koth wrote: »
    You can still be hit with legal bills if you go to trial and enter a plea of guilty.

You make it sound like a priest is about to go to trial and the bishop is looking for funds to fight the allegation.

Which is not what is happening. They are asking for money to pay bills from losing court cases and having to pay compensation to the victims.

It still amounts to the RCC effectively asking for a voluntary "rape tax".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Pardon my igonorance on the whole matter, but how many enquiries has there been? 2 or 3??

So they want us to pay for these now, then in the next couple of years, enquiries happen in all the other dioceses, and the ask for millions more again to help them out.

I'm not sure what to say about this country, but between the bankers and the catholic church, both get themselves into deep sh*t by abusing their position, caused thousands untold damage mentally, financially, physically etc etc, and then they try to appeal to our good nature to bail them out.

F*ck right off

Rant over

It still amounts to the RCC effectively asking for a voluntary "rape tax".

No it doesn't as the parish people aren't the ones who did the raping, it was the priests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Let's look at a different scenario.

Mr & Mrs Bloggs Live in ABC Estate with their 2 grown up sons. One of the sons sexually abuses children in the estate and Mr Bloggs finds out.

Mr Bloggs sends his son to his sister who lives in DEF estate, but never tells his sister why he is moving his son there.

The son then abuses children in that estate, so again Mr Bloggs looks to move him to yet another place in the hope that the problem will go away.

10 years later the children that were abused finally realise the extent of what has happened to them and accuses Master Bloggs of abuse. Mr Boggs denies it outright and goes to the ends of the earth to defend his son. When more allegations are made from children in DEF estate, it gets mores serious and than furtehr allegations get amde and finally admattance is made.

In the meantime Mr. Bloggs has racked up loads of bills for compensating some of the victims and more bills for trying to hide him and defend the actions of both himself and his son.

Mr Blogg's granfather lives in another coutry - lets say Italy - and is very very rich. In fact one of the richest people in Italy.

But instead of getting money from his grandfather, Mr Bloggs hand a box around all of his neighbours and asks them to chip in to pay his bills.

This is the dumbest thing i've ever read.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

Here is the article http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0302/abuse.html

And yes, he is asking ("inviting") parishioners to foot the bill for abuse. Sick. But there are some people dumb enough to chip in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

This is the dumbest thing i've ever read.
    funny that

I would consider it a perfect analogy

Also: anyone that gives these rapists a cent is a idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Bishop Brennan needs a kick up the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

genericguy wrote: »
    i think you're my soul mate man. :D

*keeps back to wall and avoids eye contact*
    Ummm, yea.. Ok..
    Soooo...

*Runs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Bishop Brennan needs a kick up the arse.

Pity Fr Ted died. He had practise in that :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Never has there been such an abuse of both trust and a position of power. That anyone can even think to adhere to such a hypocritical and corrupt organisation is beyond me.

My family are always at me, trying to defend the church.

They are beyond defending. They were all party to this repugnant series of actions, from the grassroots up to the Holy See. This country suffered so much under the yoke of the Roman Catholic Church for years; it is only now that we are finally starting to wake up.

Defend the church; leads me to beg one simple question: Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

this is what the said:
    Addressing parish representatives last night in Enniscorthy, Dr Denis Brennan said a request of financial help from parishioners was not about sharing the blame, but about asking for help to fulfil a God-given responsibility.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0302/breaking32.html

Listen, Mr. Bishop ...leave God out of this.

Do not f... little children and you have no responsibility.

Simples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Colm O'Gorman from 1in4 was on the radio this morning about this.
    He pointed out that the church had fought these cases through the courts resulting in hugh legal costs.

If the church had the decency to admit their wrongdoing in the first place and avoid dragging victims through the courts, they would have had more money to pay victims rather than lawyers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

peasant wrote: »
    this is what the said:

help to fulfil a God-given responsibility

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2010/0302/breaking32.html

Help fulfill a legal responsibility more like.

As if these pricks would pay out one cent themselves if they weren't legally obliged to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Jason McCabe

Why don't they sell off their large buildings and pay their legal costs and fu_ck off to hell where they belong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Wazdakka wrote: »
    *keeps back to wall and avoids eye contact*
    Ummm, yea.. Ok..
    Soooo...

*Runs*

oh, in a totally non-gay way of course :)

i've always thought that if i hadn't discovered that game when i was a kid i'd be staring at a nobel prize by now.

anyways, on topic, anyone who pays money to the church is a cnut, including my granny. when you think about it, you're potentially eating a little wafer out of a hand that may have abused a small child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

I think I speak for many people when I say

Why not sell it ?
    Well we could start with selling some of their property here, I mean thats what you or I would hav eto do if we had legal bills, but if thats not enough sure why not sell the vatican ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,115 ✭✭✭Pal

Deport them all to Rome since they like it so much there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭OxfordComma

This request for financial assistance is so outrageous and unbelievable that it almost seems like some sort of twisted joke. The Church really know how to add salt to the wounds of their victims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

RABBLE RABBLE RABBLE!
    Another impotent rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

They should make a subforum in ranting and raving for threads like this.=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭TobyZiegler

Don't see why people are saying 'ooh another rant..' In fairness its a newsworthy story and one which involves the sexual abuse of children so obviously people have strong feelings on the matter.

I concur with all those saying that the Catholic church as a whole organisation has more than enough money to pay for its own mistakes and its pretty sickening that they are asking the people who they so badly betrayed to pay for their defence of this betrayal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the catholic cult is the richest sect on the planet.

why cant they sell off some the nazi gold they have to fund the abuse claims?