Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mick Lally Memorial/Dublin Wheelers GP 06/03/10

• 01-03-2010 12:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭

Are many of you planning on riding this next Saturday?

For any of you Orwell noobs - it's the same lap you did last saturday AFAIK, just more of them. (would I be right in saying 3 laps for 65k?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,223 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

I'm in.

(if domestics permit)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'm in too.

I'd say it's only two laps of that circuit.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

We got this email regarding it

Hi All,

Dublin Wheelers CC will be hosting the annual Mick Lally Memorial and Dublin Wheelers GP on
    Saturday 6th March 2010.

The Mick Lally Memorial is for A+/A1/A2 riders and will cover a distance of 85 kilometres (3 laps). This race will be run on a handicap basis.

Dublin Wheelers GP is for A3/A4 riders. If a sufficient number of A3/A4 competitors sign on, there will be a separate race for each category. Otherwise it will be a handicapped event. It will cover a distance of 64 kilometres (2 laps).

The course for these events will be the Summerhill Road-Culmullin-Trim Road-Dorey's Forge circuit.

SIGN ON: Dunboyne Community Centre, Dunboyne, Co Meath from 9.15am to 10am.

Roll out from community centre at 10.10am for race start at McAleese Steel. (5k out the Summerhill Road)
    This will also be the race finish.

Changing rooms and showers available.
    Tea and sandwiches at Community Centre after race finish.

Contact Ciarán @ *********

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I'm in

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Early start, nice one. More recovery time for Sunday and at the prospect of being home in time for lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭shaungil

Maybe same re domestic situation. Are we going to get a reccie of the course from our Orwell buddies. We'll do the same for DNS ones later in year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭ba

i may be marshalling, so will hopefully see you all there. best of luck if i don't tho'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Yay, Dorey's Forge!!

Tentatively in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭zzzzzzzz

niceonetom wrote: »
    Yay, Dorey's Forge!!

In!!! And sure I'll probably win the feckin thing!

FYP

niceonetom wrote: »
    Yay, Dorey's Forge!!

Tentatively in.

Cool, I'll fit an extra bottle cage. What would you like in your sandwiches?

Lumen wrote: »
    What would you like in your sandwiches?

Cake.

Which reminds me. Martin Ridge, who won the A4 race yesterday, started it with several pieces of cake taped to his top tube. He figured it was easier than pulling stuff out of his jersey pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Cool, I'll fit an extra bottle cage. What would you like in your sandwiches?

Ham and cheese. No crusts.

EDIT: also, work on your wheel swapping technique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

I plan to race this one.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Are many of you planning on riding this next Saturday?

For any of you Orwell noobs - it's the same lap you did last saturday AFAIK, just more of them. (would I be right in saying 3 laps for 65k?)

Aidan, I'm assuming Vets are allowed? Vet license OK?

Planet X wrote: »
    Aidan, I'm assuming Vets are allowed? Vet license OK?

I've nothing to do with the organisation of the race, but vets are categorised with the Seniors, and according to ability this year so you should be grand.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

I'm not sure if the IVCA licence is ok for CI open races. Will check with "The lion of Fingal" and get back.....

I've nothing to do with the organisation of the race, but vets are categorised with the Seniors, and according to ability this year so you should be grand.

Cheers.
    Got an email from Vets. today also but just the fact that it never mentioned the "Auld Lads", was wondering.
    Might give it a spin then, two laps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

Right, I will do it. Nothing better than racing to train for a race right ? ... what will happen is that I will get dropped after 10 km and go easy for rest of the race waving at the fast groups over lapping me one after the other.
    Should be fun ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

I was thinking of heading up to this one ,can anyone tell me what the circuit is like flat ,hilly ,rolling or my fav all downhill

It's relatively flat. The main obstacle is Dorey's Forge, a sharp enough drag just after you turn off the Trim Road. There is another, less severe drag shortly afterwards, before the Summerhill Road that can bite a bit if you're flaked from the previous one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭fondriest

Thanks el tonto will go up and give it a shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Anyone got a link to the route on MMR or BikeRouteToaster etc.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Well, if everyone else is going I suppose I don't have much choice. Time to suck it up and put the hammer down!

Diarmuid wrote: »
    Anyone got a link to the route on MMR or BikeRouteToaster etc.?

Here you go.

RobFowl wrote: »
    I'm not sure if the IVCA licence is ok for CI open races. Will check with "The lion of Fingal" and get back.....

Ciaran (Dublin Wheelers) replied on the Vets site. IVCA license is good for this race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Talking of licenses, is your new license sent out to you or do you have to pick it up from the club sec.?

Domestic approval granted. I'm in, deffo.

I'm so excited my toes are tingly.

Any word folks on my previous query above? Have the licenses been sent out or do you collect? Just wondering as regards turning up at an event without proof of license!

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Any word folks on my previous query above? Have the licenses been sent out or do you collect? Just wondering as regards turning up at an event without proof of license!

If paid through your club, I think you'd have to get it from the club sec. At least that's the way may club do it and others I know of.

el tonto wrote: »
    At least that's the way may club do it and others I know of.

Your club is my club and my club is your club!!

edit, so thats a journey out to Dave I presume?

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Your club is my club and my club is your club!!

edit, so thats a journey out to Dave I presume?

A message went up earlier on the twitter feed that all racing licenses & numbers are in Joe Daly's for collection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

Any reccomendations on how to get a licence asap for this?

The online thing is down and just getting an answering maching at CI :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Zipp101 wrote: »
    Any reccomendations on how to get a licence asap for this?

The online thing is down and just getting an answering maching at CI :mad:
    You could always take out a one-day license on the day for €10.

Are people making their own way out to this or is there a boards meet then roll out to Dunboyne?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

Do you need a club jersey for this race? Just joined up so I've got nothing yet...

Obvious solution (NSFW).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

@Lumen. I love pink jerseys. I need to get one of those.

Wouldn't be allowed, no helmets and their bars look wider than 50cm.

I think you would be fine with any non-team jersey.

Raam wrote: »
    I think you would be fine with any non-team jersey.
    Yes, any plain jersey is allowed.

Anyone know where Dunboyne Community Centre actually is?

Dunboyne.

Sorry. I Google mapped it a few days ago and it appears to be on the main road on the run in from Clonee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Dunboyne.

I think it's on the road out from Clonee, we would have passed it last week on the way back...I think! So, that road we were on, keep going until you meet bikes.

Anyone riding out? Sign on starts at 9:10, rollout is at 10:10. Dunboyne is around 13km from the Park, so I'd say a 9am meet up would work.

Is it where the Nationals met up last year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

Anyone riding out? Sign on starts at 9:10, rollout is at 10:10. Dunboyne is around 13km from the Park, so I'd say a 9am meet up would work.

Aye turns out i'm free tomorrow morning to get dropped doing this.

I think I'll be in the same boot. Grupetto?

What's the story with clubs and open races? Do people from the same club generally help each other out?