Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Munster V Leinster Good Friday, 8pm. **Warning:Read POST #1 BEFORE posting.**

• 01-03-2010 10:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭PeteSanchez

To ask about streams, ask here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055512876

THERE ARE CURRENTLY 2 ACTIVE WARNINGS ON THIS THREAD

POST 217
    toomevara wrote: »
    OK folks time, again, for one of the greatest derby’s in the game of Rugby Union. Alas this great occasion can often be the cause of mass eejitry on a biblical scale as far as the forum is concerned. So, before we get stuck in a few gentle reminders;

1. Do not abuse/insult players/coaches.
    2. Do not abuse/insult fellow posters.
    3. Do not abuse/insult commentators/pundits.
    4. Do not engage in tribal Leinster/Munster bickering or nonsense.
    5. Debate/discuss THE GAME. Stay on topic.
    6. Don’t be a dick.

This also is the game where suddenly everyone fancies themselves as a rugby philosopher. People for whom a ruck is normally something to have outside the chipper on Saturday night and for whom a hooker is a lady of ill-repute generally encountered on the seedier side of town, will feel perfectly entitled to chip in their two cents. Ignore the more egregious examples and keep a lid on things.

I would ask regular forum users, who know the score, to use the report function to help us mods out and to stay aloof from obvious trolls and idiots.

There will be a zero-tolerance policy as far as muppetry is concerned on this thread. Leinster/Munster tribalism/trolling will be dealt with harshly. You have been warned!

Enjoy the game and may the best team win.

POST 382
    Des wrote: »
    Just to re-iterate this point.

From now until Sunday 4th April the Red/Yellow Card Ban System is suspended.

We are now in a total Zero Tolerance Lockdown situation.

Step out of line and you can expect at an absolute minimum a 2 Week Forum Ban.

That is all.

Have heard this all weekend that the game is to be played at 3pm on Good Friday

Anyone hear the same or confirm?

Cheers

PS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Rumoured to be on Good Friday, not sure why the fixture hasn't been anounced already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭PeteSanchez

Its so bloody frustrating! I mean its not like people have plans to make or anything!!!:mad: The publicans of Limerick will be crying into their tills!

Good Friday is ok with me, but 3pm.........?!!! I will be at work!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭budhabob

Its so bloody frustrating! I mean its not like people have plans to make or anything!!!:mad: The publicans of Limerick will be crying into their tills!

Good Friday is ok with me, but 3pm.........?!!! I will be at work!!! :eek:

I totally agree. Its a month to the game now, and it really does need to be confirmed.

I emailed the Munster Branch
    they say they have no control, they are awaiting confirmation from MagnersLeague themselves. They expect to hear today.
    How fukin amateurish :mad:
    if its on 3pm on a workday I will be shocked

Isn't that holy hour?!
    Surely 5pm would be more realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

buck65 wrote: »
    Isn't that holy hour?!
    Surely 5pm would be more realistic.

Because mass times should be the overriding factor in choosing the start time alright :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Fixtures for next few rounds now confirmed

Munster vs Leinster at 2005 Good Friday night

http://www.magnersleague.com/matchcentre/index.php

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,165 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I wonder if plucky Munster can overcome their European heavyweight provincial nemesis ;)

Seriously though, should be a good game. Must check to see if my rugby pub will be showing it...don't think they're closed here on Good Friday (they better not be!).

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Crazy decision imo. Pubs will lose out a good bit. As someone on LF says hipflasks will be the order of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Really looking forward to this and will try my best to get tickets.

Will be exciting because Leinster will really fancy their chances at Thomond Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

I have an inkling the bars at the ground will be able to serve beer "for members" or something like that

otherwise get the train to the game and you can buy beer there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Riskymove wrote: »
    I have an inkling the bars at the ground will be able to serve beer "for members" or something like that

otherwise get the train to the game and you can buy beer there!!
    Many Social Clubs (rugby clubs) open to members on Good Friday, + guest or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭shanagarry

According to the Indo today, the bars at the stadium will be serving, most likely from two hours before until an hour after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,980 ✭✭✭✭phog

wixfjord wrote: »
    Crazy decision imo. Pubs will lose out a good bit. As someone on LF says hipflasks will be the order of the day.

As it was probably a Setanta decision maybe it's time for the pubs to pull the plug on their Setanta subscribtion, or at least threaten to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

wixfjord wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/publicans-furious-over-good-friday-rugby-match-2085247.html

Well-known Limerick publican and former President of the Vintners Federation of Ireland (VFI), Dave Hickey, said that having the game on Good Friday was going to greatly affect business in the pubs around Limerick city.
    Mr Hickey, who runs South's pub on O'Connell Avenue, sits on the National Executive of the VFI.
    "I think this is terrible having the match on Good Friday when Limerick city is going through a terrible time business wise," Mr Hickey said.
    "Thousands of people who don't go to the match come into the pubs across Limerick, and indeed the country, to watch the game in the pubs as they might not have the channels at home."
    Mr Hickey said there was "not a hope in the world" of a district court judge granting an exemption for public houses on Good Friday. "We have done everything to get the match moved. There will be 26,000 people coming into Limerick that day. We have lobbied this issue and contacted the rugby people. There is still time to get the fixture changed," Mr Hickey added.

I can't see why pubs shouldn't open, any Catholics can just drink coke for the day, this country is living in the 60's the 1860's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

stephen_n wrote: »
    Because mass times should be the overriding factor in choosing the start time alright :D:D:D

In fairness, its because of the poxy church we wont be in the pub watching it. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

whats the obsession with drink surrounding a sporting event

if u really love rugby just go see the match!

its sport - not a drinking ritual!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

I think its quite social to go to the pub with a few mates and watch a game.
    Wouldnt be calling it an obsession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

whats the obsession with drink surrounding a sporting event

if u really love rugby just go see the match!

its sport - not a drinking ritual!

I live miles from Thomond Park, have no Setanta package and like the craic watching rugby over a few pints - especially this match!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

The magners league is a secular entity and they shouldn't let fixtures be dictated by religous events.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

The Catholic Church and the Vintners Federartion. Two organisations looking to bleed you dry at every opportunity, cant say I care much for either of them.

Feel sorrier for the taxi drivers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Don't know why the publicans are going after the Magners League, Munster, or Leinster etc. They should be going after the government to have this archaic rule abolished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

They make more money through Holy Thursday binge drinking, and attached offlicences and drink hoarding for good Friday, than they would otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭SARZY

How many publicans do you know who put some cash into rugby clubs or give any bit back. Not many. Rugby to them is entertainment for the customers and that is provided by Sky or Setanta to whom they pay for the pictures. As pro rugby is dependent on TV money then the Clubs/Provinces are in the same business as the Tv companies and the publicans, ie generate cash from the games. Setanta will change their mind on this when the publicans threaten them.

So no law change required just good old fashioned bullying.

2 f-ing days in the year lads. I go to 10 or twelve games a year, one without a pint won't kill me.
    Think of the revenue that the new Thomond has already brought to Limerick, where before there were 3 HCup sell outs now we have quarter finals , crowds of 20k plus at most Magners games. Concerts , soccer games. The Limerick publicans have done alright on the back of Munster's investment and will continue to do so.
    Anyway there is drink available in the stadium for those who might die without one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Stekelly wrote: »
    In fairness, its because of the poxy church we wont be in the pub watching it. :mad:

Contrary to the opinion of most of the people on After Hours, this country is not run by the Catholic Church and they have no legislative power. This law was passed and is enforced by the Government of Ireland. Contact your T.D. if you want the law repealed, not your local parish priest or vicar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭andrewdcs

very strange to write this but I feel for publicans of Limerick / Ireland having to board there doors when theres a cracker of a match on. Anachronisms like this are insane/hilarious part of 'modern' Ireland (though we're in good company internationally).

Yeah, I agree people should be able to enjoy a match and the banter after without drinking, but people have that choice, and take it, every day.
    Banning the sale of alcohol in some places and not others on one day as a sop to partisan religious bigotry is a poor idea, there are waaaaay bigger issues obviously, but the publicans in Limerick / Dublin / Cork are being dicked about.

On the other hand, most people get Good Friday off and booze is bad for ye,! ;)

Thought just in: Great day for Rugby clubs though, more money where it counts! I take all the above back.

Contrary to the opinion of most of the people on After Hours, this country is not run by the Catholic Church and they have no legislative power. This law was passed and is enforced by the Government of Ireland. Contact your T.D. if you want the law repealed, not your local parish priest or vicar.

Very true, though it was obv. church moral pressure that brought it about in the first place. Though the govt. in absence of church pressure can very ably screw up licensing itself (the utterly bizzare 10pm cessation of OTC booze,... will never understand that one).

/head off to complain to Dick Roche (as opposed to complaining about him)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

buck65 wrote: »
    2 f-ing days in the year lads. I go to 10 or twelve games a year, one without a pint won't kill me.
    Think of the revenue that the new Thomond has already brought to Limerick, where before there were 3 HCup sell outs now we have quarter finals , crowds of 20k plus at most Magners games. Concerts , soccer games. The Limerick publicans have done alright on the back of Munster's investment and will continue to do so.
    Anyway there is drink available in the stadium for those who might die without one.

Yeah, but a pain in the arse if you're a Leinster fan. Some of us won't be in Limerick that night and need to find somewhere to watch it. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

SARZY wrote: »
    How many publicans do you know who put some cash into rugby clubs or give any bit back. Not many. Rugby to them is entertainment for the customers and that is provided by Sky or Setanta to whom they pay for the pictures. As pro rugby is dependent on TV money then the Clubs/Provinces are in the same business as the Tv companies and the publicans, ie generate cash from the games. Setanta will change their mind on this when the publicans threaten them.

So no law change required just good old fashioned bullying.

I play for Clonmel in the Munster J1 league. The pub we all pile into on match day not only sponsors us but provide free grub after every match. They also stick a few hundred euro on the bar tab if we win an important match. I know you could argue that they're just trying to keep us coming in but their blanket ban on soccer jerseys and the refusal to show any soccer other then internationals would have ensured that anyway.

They've been showing rugby in there since the 70's. Hearing some of the johnny come lately publicans winging on the radio as if its their right to revenue from rugby punters is galling.

Yeah, but a pain in the arse if you're a Leinster fan. Some of us won't be in Limerick that night and need to find somewhere to watch it. :pac:

rugby club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

andrewdcs wrote: »
    rugby club?

Not a member of one unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Is the bloody thing on Setanta 1 or Ireland?

Not a member of one unfortunately.

well, for the purposes of beating "The Man", you know what to do! :)

(TBH, is it legit for clubs to open up to 'new members' Good Friday? Every year I seem to end up in golf clubs, gaa clubs, rugby clubs, church fetes etc. where booze is sold like crazy, never stopped to check anyones papers tho...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

It's actually a crazy decision. Perhaps Setanta think people will subscribe so they can watch the match? I won't be anyway!

Very very angry about this. The ridiculous, archaic laws that are still based on religion, and a deliberate decision to hold the match on such a date :mad:

Have emailed the Magners League expressing my disgust, although I'm not expecting any reply.

I'm just disappointed that two Consecutive matches are on Friday nights. Means lots of rushing in getting down to limerick.

Crash wrote: »
    Is the bloody thing on Setanta 1 or Ireland?

Without looking it up we both know the answer to that :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

see which of your mates has the biggest tv. All chip in to get them setanta for the month. Buy a load of booze. It'll be a lot cheaper than going to pub

I presume thats it...its fixed for that date/time and no matter how much whinging Kiely and Vintners do, it wont be changed??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

I presume that Leinster playing Clermont on the friday following has some bearing on the date. I can only presume they'll want to play the frontliners for this and have a seven day turnaround for the big one the following week.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

make that mate without a wife/kids/annoying gf :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

smurphy29 wrote: »
    I presume that Leinster playing Clermont on the friday following has some bearing on the date. I can only presume they'll want to play the frontliners for this and have a seven day turnaround for the big one the following week.

Could just as easily fixed it for Holy Thursday in that case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

Anyone know if there'll be tickets available online for this?

jamieh wrote: »

Anyone know if there'll be tickets available online for this?

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

Ginger mcLoughlin was on last word talking about it yesterday. He said he reckoned Leinster wanted it played a day earlier so they would have more time to prepare for their Heineken cup game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭frankie2shoes

tickets go on sale tomorrow at 10am for all leinster season ticket holders. max of 6 tickets per STH.
    Would really have liked to go to limerick and make a night of it, but can't justify the trip without a few pints after.
    I know these derbys always have a great atmosphere, but can't help thinking that both sides will have their eye on their HC fixtures instead of a ML clash which isn't really that important as Munster and Leinster are well placed to go through to the knockouts of that competition (with relatively easier teams to beat than each other). Coming out of the game with no injuries and the team gelling back together fully after the 6N break will be win enough for me.
    Of course bragging rights are important and we'd love to go through a season unbeaten by the might of Munster but in the cold light of day, who will remember if we beat Munster and lose to Clermont.
    I'm sure there are Munster fans thinking the same thing re Northampton!!!
    Now, come may...........in Paris.............well, thats a different story!!!
    Here's hoping both sides get through!!!!:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

tickets go on sale tomorrow at 10am for all leinster season ticket holders. max of 6 tickets per STH.
    Would really have liked to go to limerick and make a night of it, but can't justify the trip without a few pints after.
    I know these derbys always have a great atmosphere, but can't help thinking that both sides will have their eye on their HC fixtures instead of a ML clash which isn't really that important as Munster and Leinster are well placed to go through to the knockouts of that competition (with relatively easier teams to beat than each other). Coming out of the game with no injuries and the team gelling back together fully after the 6N break will be win enough for me.
    Of course bragging rights are important and we'd love to go through a season unbeaten by the might of Munster but in the cold light of day, who will remember if we beat Munster and lose to Clermont.
    I'm sure there are Munster fans thinking the same thing re Northampton!!!
    Now, come may...........in Paris.............well, thats a different story!!!
    Here's hoping both sides get through!!!!:cool:
    Agreed. them pubs are going to get hammered. What were the authorities thinking. In recession times was plain crazy to fix it for that day. Dont understand the move at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭frankie2shoes

Its gonna be very hard to get an online stream for this game too........

I think Leinster will go for this, I don't think Chieka will show the disservice that he did to last year's clash (he played Horgan at 12 and Kearney on the wing which was a joke).

Leinster will fancy their chances at Thomond. If they pull it off (and they certainly can), they will have massive momentum leading up to Clermont the week after.

I really can't wait for it.