Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Registration plate topic

• 27-02-2010 5:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭

Taken from Skanger thread
    cantdecide wrote: »
    But where are you from?? How narcissistic do you have to be to to think the whole country is on the D plate trip? This D plate thing doesn't really exist anywhere except the east coast like.

A mate of mine from Tipp wouldnt buy a TS car. Would only buy a C only if he couldnt find a D reg.

But he did and has a D and so has his girlfriend. Says it affects the price of the car??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Short answer is it does. Which is why, regardless of my personal preferences, I would pay less for a car that didn't have a D plate on it. It's the same thing as with certain colours really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

I bought a Dublin-reg car and both my mechanic and theguy at Advance commented on what great condition it is in. 100,000 miles up and been in Dublin all its life until now....clean as a whistle underneath. Def would favour another D next time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

svSHEEP_wideweb__470x289,2.jpg

THREAD/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It does seems to affect the price of a car as you can see by the post above.
    Dubs will only be seen in D-reg, I will only drive G (unless I get a veeery good price on something else).
    Really it's down to the condition of the car but people have preferences (some more stupid than others).

The sooner they bring in UK-like registration here the better, current Irish plates are only good for the Irish dealers making money off peoples desire to keep up with the Joneses and quest for status.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

corktina wrote: »
    I bought a Dublin-reg car and both my mechanic and theguy at Advance commented on what great condition it is in. 100,000 miles up and been in Dublin all its life until now....clean as a whistle underneath. Def would favour another D next time

Are you suggesting the reason it's in good nick is because it is a D reg and that is why you would buy a D reg again?

Also, If you trust the opinion of an Advance Pitstop mechanic then you should find a different mechanic.

BTW I have had an L, LK, MN, LH, CE, KY, D, TN and currently drive a C reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

The sooner they bring in UK-like registration here the better, current Irish plates are only good for the Irish dealers making money off peoples desire to keep up with the Joneses and quest for status.

So what exactly is better in the UK than the Irish system? Changing the year twice a year? Why not change to the Italian system for instance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Any system that makes it not immediately obvious what year/county the car is works for me. Then people would start paying more attention to the condition/ engine etc rather than what's on the plate.

I would do my best to have a G reg if possible but I wouldnt be put off a car by reg except a D reg. I couldn't live with myself driving a D reg car :D.

Not even if they throw in a free sheep? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

i couldnt care less where it was reg as long as it was in great condition and well looked after. its only a letter after all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

ardmacha wrote: »
    So what exactly is better in the UK than the Irish system? Changing the year twice a year? Why not change to the Italian system for instance?

The place of reigstration is not very obvious unless you look up tables and stuff. When I lived in England I used to know local registrations, but not anything else. People with no interest in cars won't know at all. Many don't know how the years work either (especially pre-2001 reg's).

Personally I think the year/county snobbery is doing no good for no one. We should go back to something like the old system or an owner-based system. But I guess they won't change until 2087 :)

• Subscribers Posts: 16,616 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Magnus wrote: »
    Any system that makes it not immediately obvious what year/county the car is works for me. Then people would start paying more attention to the condition/ engine etc rather than what's on the plate.

the UK system does make it immeadiately obvious what year the car is?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Any system that makes it not immediately obvious what year/county the car is works for me.

Well since the UK system identifies both the year and the county, it is hardly an improvement, even if it is marginally more difficult to parse than the system here.

Registration plates identity a car so that hit and run drivers and the like can be caught. It was found when designing the Irish system that people could recall that a car was an 04D 20 something, so it fulfills its purpose. Snobbery and the like is an aside. A perfectly logical system should not be changed as an form of inverse snobbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Never thought i'd use this word... what a load of tosh. :rolleyes:

you dont think a city car wont benefit from not have cow ****e sprayed all over it or hitting potholes or travelling on boreens with sheeop in the back seat?

Berty..go back and read the post again...this was also the opinion of my mechanic.

copacetic wrote: »
    the UK system does make it immeadiately obvious what year the car is?:confused:

and where its from...the first letter tells you that...

ie C = wales
    w = west country
    R = Reabing
    B= birmingham
    S= Scotland...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭dirtydiesel

I look at the car not the reg, the only exception been a KY reg, as the roads in parts of Kerry are in a terrible state and must be tearing the arse off any car that drives on them.
    Drove from Mallow to Dingle last week and the road is in some state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Wouldnt a car from Dublin be worse with the amount of traffic especially if used in the city with the amount of stopping and starting as opposed to somewhere less quite with not as much traffic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

There is also more than a few that won't buy a DL reg. They reckon it has probably been rallied around those bad highland roads. Stereo type I know but there are many who think that way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

you dont think a city car wont benefit from not have cow ****e sprayed all over it or hitting potholes or travelling on boreens with sheeop in the back seat?

Berty..go back and read the post again...this was also the opinion of my mechanic.

Dublin city

start

stop

start

stop

repeat until you get to advance pitstop and ask if that's better for driving than say working up the gears on a better longer journey than mostly short journeys. My LH car is running better than the oh mother's D reg car for only 1 simple reason. I look after my car, she does not. Any mech tells you it's cos of location should be sacked, end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

The reg means nothing ...

Either this guy was an oblivious german or was proud to be...ehhh.... outgoing...

took this photo in Duesseldorf :)

dus.jpg?t=1267302651

If he/she buys a new car they'll keep the reg too !!

Newsflash. Dublin city has no farms and no cows therefore no cow sh*t.

EVERYPLACE ELSE is covered in cow sh*t.

It was mad today. I paid €25 for a valet and as soon as I rounded Henry St in Limerick city I hit potholes and was surrounded by slurry spreaders.

BTW Go back and read my post. I said you should not trust the opinion of Advance pitstop.

Do you think the cows stand on the roads crapping?

More chance of a knacker/skanger in Tallaght with their horse's on the road crapping then here in Longford. I should bring my camera and take a few pics. By your logic of more farms ie more crap in country I will go the childish route of more scum in dublin = more broken bottles, glass and dumped rubbish in dublin.

Also if you think there's no potholes in Dub think again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

This is all bollix.

My car has a D reg, but yet it spends most of its time in Wexford. Why is it more desireable than a car that has a WX reg but spends most of its time in Dublin?

If the car is nice, and the price is right, then who give's a fcuk what reg is on it. Typical Irish attitude in alot of posts here.

I really don't know why ppl prefer a reg so much. As long as the damn car has been looked after, looks nice, price etc is good then who cares if it read g, mh or w/e

I had an LH reg and it only visited Louth 9 times in 12 months. :rolleyes:

Not very common for that to happen mind but consider all the ex rentals cars. They have reg's from different parts of the country / different garages in different counties but are sold all over the country.

Take Autoxchange for example. Selling D reg's all over the country and most of them were in crap condition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Of all my cars, I've two Dublin regs, one Kildare reg, and one Waterford reg (although it's in the pre-'87 format).

Who cares where it's from, once the car is in good condition, that's all that matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

A D reg can be very handy if you live down the country.
    Especially if the car's an Avensis.
    Just stick a couple of extra aerials up on the roof and spend your days driving around the local council estates watching the scum scarper.

A D reg can be very handy if you live down the country.
    Especially if the car's an Avensis.
    Just stick a couple of extra aerials up on the roof and spend your days driving around the local council estates watching the scum scarper.

Had a D reg mondeo for 3 weeks and lived in Southill(Carew Park) in Limerick City. I was "watched" everytime I drove through the estate and wore a suit for work. :eek:

When I drove the 00 Isuzu Trooper with my Hi Viz I was saluted by the guys with the horses. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Talking to contractor in work and all the cars they use (leased) are D reg and they are driven to f***

Keep that in mind when selecting your next car on the basis of what is on the plate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Mc Love wrote: »
    Talking to contractor in work and all the cars they use (leased) are D reg and they are driven to f***

Keep that in mind when selecting your next car on the basis of what is on the plate

CW FTW!

Plates mean nothin to me. If the car looks and drives tight thats all that counts. Fúck whats on the reg.

Yawns wrote: »
    Dublin city

start

stop

start

stop

repeat until you get to advance pitstop and ask if that's better for driving than say working up the gears on a better longer journey than mostly short journeys. My LH car is running better than the oh mother's D reg car for only 1 simple reason. I look after my car, she does not. Any mech tells you it's cos of location should be sacked, end of.

clutch replaceable
    gearbox repalceable
    engine repalceable
    body? all important.

Berty wrote: »
    Newsflash. Dublin city has no farms and no cows therefore no cow sh*t.

EVERYPLACE ELSE is covered in cow sh*t.

It was mad today. I paid €25 for a valet and as soon as I rounded Henry St in Limerick city I hit potholes and was surrounded by slurry spreaders.

BTW Go back and read my post. I said you should not trust the opinion of Advance pitstop.

exactly ... arent you better then to buy a car that hasnt been coated in a corrosive slurry all its life? I know what you said but you ignored the fact that my MECHANIC said this too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

exactly ... arent you better then to buy a car that hasnt been coated in a corrosive slurry all its life? I know what you said but you ignored the fact that my MECHANIC said this too..

Plates mean nothing,how many D reg cars spend all their life in Dublin and never leave Dublin?Silly thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

why bother discussing this?

It was a mistake in hindsight by the legislators but there you go.

You could have a D reg is ****e condition and a country reg in great knick and visa versa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Goes to show that you don't understand the UK plate system at all!
    and where its from...the first letter tells you that...

ie C = wales
    w = west country
    R = Reabing
    B= birmingham
    S= Scotland...
    Exactly, mine is an AY58 plate, meaning it's a car from East Anglia purchased either in the last part of 2008 or the earliest part of 2009.

The plate snobbery exists over here too tbh albeit to a slightly lesser extent than in Ireland but even so, it exists with many people refusing to by cars from the North of England..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I used to have to price up future values for cars with a trader who's been in the business 40+ years. Everything was priced with a D plate for maximum resale. C Plate didn't make any difference as there is a big enough market in Cork for used cars. Everything else was worth less, varying by letter.

If you have one eye on resale of the car you are buying, it's worth considering. If you are buying used, and get a lower price for a non D or C plate to begin with, it will probably work out the same in the end.

I've had D, WX and I'm currently driving a C plate (live in LH, work in D) - doesn't really bother me as long as the car is in good condition, but I'm not originally from around these parts anyway.

Plates mean nothing,how many D reg cars spend all their life in Dublin and never leave Dublin?Silly thread

mine did...i dont advocate SOLELY buying a car on the basis of the plate, just makes Ds worth an extra look IMHO

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,858 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

My L reg cars have never been interfered with nor stolen :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

In full agreement with you on that. The brit system is not great either but at least they have the private plates that you can shift from car to car.
    On the subject, saw a new shape Civic last year and it had the reg
    08-?-9 007 with the space between the 9 and the 00. CRINGE!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭Andrew33

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Goes to show that you don't understand the UK plate system at all!

Exactly, mine is an AY58 plate, meaning it's a car from East Anglia purchased either in the last part of 2008 or the earliest part of 2009.

The plate snobbery exists over here too tbh albeit to a slightly lesser extent than in Ireland but even so, it exists with many people refusing to by cars from the North of England..

But at least the have the OPTION of doing something about the plate regardless of where the car started life.

And the Swiss model would be the way to go where the the plate is registered to the owner and has NOTHING to do with the vehicle its attached to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Well so far i've always had a D-reg and rightly or wrongly, I like it.

I might consider a CN reg, but that'd be about it :p

The French used to have a system where the car got a new reg every time it was sold and the new reg was localised to the buyers home address. Good idea in some ways but a massive admin overhead.

clutch replaceable
    gearbox repalceable
    engine repalceable
    body? all important.

By that logic then it's far better to have a country car even tho u think it rains slurry.

Wash car. ( you can even do this on a sunday in your own garden )
    Change air filter. ( If you look after your car you'd be doing this along with oil changes anyway)

So I think it's cheaper than changing what I'v quoted.

And I think almost everybody here would agree it's how the engine is treated that's more important than the body ffs. Your only interested if your car looks nice not how well it drives.

So by that I would assume you think a d reg on car is better than the same model that has a country reg.

Also could I get the name of your mech?

Just to make sure I avoid him in the future...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

mine did...i dont advocate SOLELY buying a car on the basis of the plate, just makes Ds worth an extra look IMHO

You never drove your car outside of Dublin?Or any of the previous owners? (that's if you bought it 2nd hand obviously)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭Shadow Dancer

Ì'd hate a D reg outside of Dublin. Especially a Mondeo or something. people would keep thinking it was the Cops. Or even worse! Revenue! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

The only County reg I would be relucatant to buy would be DL, but only because of the dubious reputation of clapped out BMWs on Donedeal. Seriuously, DL is like a chav car graveyard.

I generally like having the Reg Plate of the region you are in, if possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

Matt Simis wrote: »
    The only County reg I would be relucatant to buy would be DL, but only because of the dubious reputation of clapped out BMWs on Donedeal. Seriuously, DL is like a chav car graveyard.

I generally like having the Reg Plate of the region you are in, if possible.

Ya i agree with you, im livin in cork now so hav a c reg. I agree with the op`s friend in not having ts reg i came from roscommon and hate rn reg as well. I would have a d reg if livin up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ì'd hate a D reg outside of Dublin. Especially a Mondeo or something. people would keep thinking it was the Cops. Or even worse! Revenue! :eek:

As a D-reg owner outside Dublin, there's times I'd LOVE a dark blue D-reg Mondeo as the idiots tend to behave themselves a bit better on the roads when they're around...