Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you like your hometown or village but not a shire? Definitely not a shire.

• 25-02-2010 12:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭

I've found that people tend to either:

Love the place where they're from and its local folk. They've maintained the same friendships they've had since the first day of primary school and have no will or desire to leave.

or

Not. They greatly disliked where they come from and got out of there as swiftly as they could. Most of the friends they have now were made in college or at work and tend not to settle in one place for a long time.

Personally, I think I fall in the latter category for all intents and purposes. I still live where I grew up (the shticks) as I work here but whenever I go out it's nearly always in town* and never with the people I've known the longest, who I've pretty much lost touch with apart from the obligatory Facebook friendships. I also find hanging out with a lot of my former school chums to be boring and choc a block with gossip about other classmates I haven't spoken to in years and have no interest in hearing about. Then there are people I grew up with who are as pleased as punch to do and talk about what I just described. Funny that, I think.

What about you? What do you think? Do you belong in either category? Or are you just gonna give out to me for lumping everyone into two groups? I can't wait for someone to quote this and say "you sound like a total snob tbh" to much thanks. Well, that'll be done ironically now that I've mentioned it. Anyway, I'm rambling. Do go on...

*Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

I would be the former, mostly. Most of my friends are from secondary school. I do like the area I grew up in but I still moved out as soon as I could afford to. I personally never understood some peoples desire to never the leave the little area they grew up - not necessarily travelling the world but never wanting to leave the exact locality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I still live in the area I grew up in.. don't mind it, it's quiet and that suits me.. I lived in the US for 2 years so it's nothing to do with not wanting to see other places

Some day I'll venture further probably, but not to a city or busy town.. I prefer the laid back lifestyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,128 ✭✭✭cynder

i dont really have a home town,

i was born in cork lived in mallow for 6 months moved to west midlands uk lived near halesowen
    and then to stourbridge, then at 8 moved back to ireland.
    moved to killavullen near mallow in co cork,
    then moved to clompriest in co cork near youghal,
    then moved to redbarn near youghal,
    then moved to kinsalbeg near ardmore co waterford,
    then moved down the road to piltown co waterford,
    then moved to ballynoe near tallow co cork,
    then moved up the country and have stayed here since i was 16 but have moved 7 times in the town until i brought my own house a few years back.

my dad moved a lot and went where work took him.

if i were to think of somewhere as a home town it would be where i am now. but i would love to move back to the uk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I don't mind where I live - I'd prefer to move back to Birmingham; mainly because that's where all of my mates lived so it's always a trek to go out with them. And Lichfield's full of old people, but yeah... I prefer the peace here to the constant trouble we had in Brum. So yeah, so-so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Both.

I don't live where I grew up, left as soon as I could and wouldn't live there again, but I live only a few miles away have lots of links (parents, friends) there and so still spend a lot of time there.

I hate my hometown apart from a couple of friends and my mum's house. After the odd time I'm out, I really appreciate coming back to my life in Galway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I grew up and living in a small town of around 1500 people. I was just visiting there over the last few days, had not been there in 3 years. Not a whole lot has changed, still the same faces around the pubs and spots (and they have a headshop which some fella was giving out about at mass! :p). I liked living there but can't see myself moving back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Drogheda.

/thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I love Lucan.

The City centre is only what, 12 kilometres away, not a long journey by bus. We don't get the disadvantages of a city though, there's plenty of greens nearby. We have a lovely village.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

I've found that people tend to either:

Love the place where they're from and its local folk. They've maintained the same friendships they've had since the first day of primary school and have no will or desire to leave.

or

Not. They greatly disliked where they come from and got out of there as swiftly as they could. Most of the friends they have now were made in college or at work and tend not to settle in one place for a long time.

Personally, I think I fall in the latter category for all intents and purposes. I still live where I grew up (the shticks) as I work here but whenever I go out it's nearly always in town* and never with the people I've known the longest, who I've pretty much lost touch with apart from the obligatory Facebook friendships. I also find hanging out with a lot of my former school chums to be boring and choc a block with gossip about other classmates I haven't spoken to in years and have no interest in hearing about. Then there are people I grew up with who are as pleased as punch to do and talk about what I just described. Funny that, I think.

What about you? What do you think? Do you belong in either category? Or are you just gonna give out to me for lumping everyone into two groups? I can't wait for someone to quote this and say "you sound like a total snob tbh" to much thanks. Well, that'll be done ironically now that I've mentioned it. Anyway, I'm rambling. Do go on...

*Galway

"Shire"?

Shire: 1. one of the counties of Great Britain.
    2. the Shires, the counties in the Midlands in which hunting is especially popular.

Dictionary:http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/shire

And yes, I like walking up the "high street" in my "shire" here in the "British Isles".

Rebelheart wrote: »
    "Shire"?

2. the Shires, the counties in the Midlands in which hunting is especially popular.

And yes, I like walking up the "high street" in my "shire" here in the "British Isles".

Sweet lantern Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

This is fairly accurate.

Darksaga87 wrote: »
    Drogheda.

/thread.

Drogheda has the potential to be one of Ireland's very best towns in historical and cultural terms. Unfortunately it is still blighted by a 19th century north of England style industrial town landscape. But in 20 years of the town working on its medieval heritage it could become a major tourist centre.

This hit me (again) the other week in the National Museum looking at a huge timber section of a sixteenth-century house from Drogheda (Bathe House). Amazing history.

There's a complete lack of vision or civic leadership in the town at the moment.

stovelid wrote: »
    Sweet lantern Jesus.

Jaaaysas; it's Jaaaysas.

I dont like hunting!!!!!!!! I even backed the ban......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I lived in Ballymun, Dublin. I live in Duleek Co Meath.... What do you think :D

Although when I am back visiting I do get nostalgic....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

"Shire"?

Unfortunately it is still blighted by a 19th century north of England style industrial town landscape.

Seriously, if you carry on like that in real life, get help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I've had kind of a love hate relationship with Tallaght. Growing up under 10 I loved it. Lots of friends and adventures, then into my early teens I hated it. Full of scumbags. People I went to primary school with associating with the scumbags and not helping out when I was bullied :(.
    Throughout secondary I couldn't wait to escape. I was a "Filthy Rocker" and not too liked. I refused to go to college there so I got a 2 hour bus to Dun Laoghaire every morning to do a course I could have done 10 minute walk away.

Then throughout college I started socialising with my local friends from my teens again and love having so many friends around at a walking distance to the local. Now I live smack bang at the Square, work smack bang behind the Square and I don't really want to live anywhere else. I'm a nerd and a "filthy rocker" at heart, but without Tallaght i'd probably be a wuss nerd rocker.

Jaaaysas; it's Jaaaysas.

Perhaps if I was joking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I'm amazed you can manage to walk anywhere with that massive chip on your shoulder weighing you down.

Dudess wrote: »

Seriously, if you carry on like that in real life, get help.

Another "right-on" comment from Miss PC herself. Like.

I'm amazed you can manage to walk anywhere with that massive chip on your shoulder weighing you down.

I'm amazed you can walk out the door without getting lost considering you evidently think this is Great Britain.

/checks comment for evidence of being "right-on"/"PC"... result: negative

Maybe learn what those expressions mean?

More likely to be a muddy potato ravaged by a cruel Brit-invoked blight really - not one of the those fancy foreign culinary derivatives.

I wonder if peoples desire to move from their local area stems from the seemingly new shame that people feel about tradition in this country.

Everyone wants to be a cosmopolitan these days, and if you're not on board with that idea then you're an obstacle holding the country back. God forbid anyone has an ounce of respect for bygone days.. you're yesterday's man :rolleyes:

Examples of how he thinks this is Great Britain?

I live in Staffordshire. Hunting is not popular here, at all. Hunting tends to be more of a Home Counties thing - and is also particularly common around Devon and Cornwall way. So it's a Southern activity, not a midland one.

I wonder if peoples desire to move from their local area stems from the seemingly new shame that people feel about tradition in this country.

Personally speaking, mine stemmed from a deep-rooted shame of being killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

"Shire"?

Jeeeeeesh.

Everyone wants to be a cosmopolitan these days, and if you're not on board with that idea then you're an obstacle holding the country back. God forbid anyone has an ounce of respect for bygone days.. you're yesterday's man :rolleyes:
    That's like something Casey would say... or a 75-year-old. :/

And also, is it even true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Drogheda has the potential to be one of Ireland's very best towns in historical and cultural terms. Unfortunately it is still blighted by a 19th century north of England style industrial town landscape. But in 20 years of the town working on its medieval heritage it could become a major tourist centre.

This hit me (again) the other week in the National Museum looking at a huge timber section of a sixteenth-century house from Drogheda (Bathe House). Amazing history.

There's a complete lack of vision or civic leadership in the town at the moment.

It would take a lot to have the town be a nice place to live.

There are only 2 colours in the town: black and grey. Even when you wake up in a good mood, take a walk into town and that happy gets sucked away, you then feel like the town looks, plus the skanger problem is unreal.

The high street is non existant anymore, Now all we have is a shopping center dedicated to women, with HMV thrown in there to give the men a reason to wander with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

I'm very much in the ''meh'' department on this. Sometimes I love the area (for the local I live in... for the sound people there etc.) and sometimes I just wanna get out (can be very boring).

It's about 60-40 in favour of liking the place.

Examples of how he thinks this is Great Britain?

Read the thread, rather than just obsess about the detail of your own posts and the nuances, implied or otherwise, of responses connected with what you've said. It's all a bit sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i lived in a small town until i was 16. i hated my parents for lumping us out in the sticks.

now i live just a few mile from my home town and tbh i kinda miss living there, still!

i love walking throught the town and seeing familiar faces.

so i guess i don't hate where i came from but jesus, most of the people i went school with are complete knob jockeys.

That's like something Casey would say... or a 75-year-old. :/

And also, is it even true?

I think you answered your own question there =p

Read the thread, rather than just obsess about the detail of your own posts and the nuances, implied or otherwise, of responses connected with what you've said. It's all a bit sad.
    Wtf?

You really DO need help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭damoz

i dont really have a home town,

i was born in cork lived in mallow for 6 months moved to west midlands uk lived near halesowen
    and then to stourbridge, then at 8 moved back to ireland.
    moved to killavullen near mallow in co cork,
    then moved to clompriest in co cork near youghal,
    then moved to redbarn near youghal,
    then moved to kinsalbeg near ardmore co waterford,
    then moved down the road to piltown co waterford,
    then moved to ballynoe near tallow co cork,
    then moved up the country and have stayed here since i was 16 but have moved 7 times in the town until i brought my own house a few years back.

my dad moved a lot and went where work took him.

if i were to think of somewhere as a home town it would be where i am now. but i would love to move back to the uk.

So he sold gates or did tarmac then?

Darksaga87 wrote: »
    It would take a lot to have the town be a nice place to live.

There are only 2 colours in the town: black and grey. Even when you wake up in a good mood, take a walk into town and that happy gets sucked away, you then feel like the town looks, plus the skanger problem is unreal.

True that it would take a load of work. On the plus side, however, there is a huge amount of archaeological research done on Drogheda so they could rebuild many aspects of the medieval town accurately. This is what has been done across Europe in the past 50 years; very, very few of these "medieval cities" are in the same walled gates or castles that existed then. Each medieval street and its layout is known in Drogheda. I don't even know if half of the industrial sites which blight the town are even now in use, but they really make the place look bad.

Skangers are everywhere, from Warsaw to Seville. If the town had more status it would much more likely reduce this because the state would pour more money into schools and so forth. I see a lot of hope for Drogheda if the town decides to make a break and aim for heritage site and conservation centre of the old section.

I think you answered your own question there =p

Werthers?

Wtf?

You really DO need help!

What a witty & mature retort: you put a "smilie" in it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

What a witty & mature retort: you put a "smilie" in it.

Rebelheart how about you read the thread, rather than try to tell other people how they should post in it? It's all a bit sad

did a bit of everything switching 1 job to the next, in the uk he made boats and was also a mechanic.

over here he did up his brothers house in youghal a 4 story building in the same street where sir walter raleigh had lived - thats what brought him to ireland the second time in 1988. after he completed that he moved from job to job, and with it us from school to school.

stovelid wrote: »
    More likely to be a muddy potato ravaged by a cruel Brit-invoked blight really - not one of the those fancy foreign culinary derivatives.

I would have thought that at 10.771 posts on Boards.ie your responses would become witty, even marginally so, over time. Alas.

Is it too soon?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Stop trolling this thread, last warning

Alas, a swift search of my posts would quickly disabuse you of that notion. All I'm good for is shop-worn puns these days. The epigram knackers-yard is all that awaits me at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

WTF?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Think I fall into the camp of the latter choice.

I was born in Limerick, but grew up in Liverpool, went to school and college in Liverpool.

Then worked/lived in Liverpool, Stuttgart, Dublin, Cork, and Galway before ending up back in Limerick again.

So Limerick is currently home and has been for a few years, but I suppose I regard Liverpool as "home" and do get back a bit for the footy.

But I tend to make new groups of friends wherever I live, and only semi keep in touch once I leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

Shire? Either I'm dreaming I'm in middle Earth again or the tans have taken over the place while I was asleep.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Do you like your hometown/village/shire?

Do you like your hometown/village/shire/halting site/refugee camp/concentration camp/parish/commune?

Sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander.