Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

show us your inner Slogger Jogger (name change by request)

• 25-02-2010 9:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭

Following on from the other shoe thread, I'd be interested to hear people's current show fetishes (I know this was done before). I just counted them up and I've 9 pairs on the go at the moments (mostly using just 2 though)....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,151 ✭✭✭aero2k

Well, in order of most recently acquired:
    Asics Gel Hyperspeed 3 very little support but some cushioning - very fast
    Asics DS Trainer (new) - nice balance of weight vs support. I do most miles in these
    Asics Kayano - got them almost free. A bit heavy, I wear them the odd time just for a change.
    Nike Free - light, great fit, some cushioning, very little support. Great on grass.
    Asics DS Trainer (old)- a duplicate, I can't bear to throw them out yet
    Asics 2140 Starting to fall apart, but still a few miles in them.
    Asics Gel Kinsei II - too awkward and heavy, an impulse purchase
    Asics DS Racer - used for racing and some fast sessions. Great shoe.
    Brooks Adrenaline - great while they lasted, I only wear them walking now
    Saucony Grid (old shoes, not sure of the exact model) wear them now and again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Adidas Supernova Sequence - Main training shoe
    Nike Mayfly - Race shoe up to 10k
    Nike Zoom Victory - Race shoe 10k plus, some training
    Nike Vomero 3 - Retired, too soft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Can't beat that I'm afraid (or Beepbeep's rather opulent collection of unused running shoes!).
    Asics Kinsei I - recovery
    Asics Kinsei II - recovery
    Mizuno Waverider 11 - blue - recovery
    Mizuno Waverider 12 - Yellow - 9.5 - tempo runs / intervals
    Mizuno Waverider 12 - Yellow - 10 - recovery - been through a few marathons
    Mizuno Waverider 13 - Red - Long runs and upcoming marathon
    Inov-8 Flyrocs - Casual wear / trail runs
    Inov-8 Mudclaws - IMRA races / grass / snow

Most of the recovery shoes will soon be going to a better home, as soon as I can find a charity collection.
    Will soon be adding another pair of Inov-8s to the family, once I find a reasonable pair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Jaysus, and my wife thinks I'm bad with having 4 pairs ! Although I do have a large selection of non athletic shoes that more than compensates for my lack of runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭frankeee

mloc123 wrote: »
    Adidas Supernova Sequence - Main training shoe
    Nike Mayfly - Race shoe up to 10k
    Nike Zoom Victory - Race shoe 10k plus, some training
    Nike Vomero 3 - Retired, too soft.

Do you know if you can still get the mayfly anywhere?, I am almost the exact same as you except I have the vaporfly instead of mayfly but as they are nearly worn out am looking for a replacement.

Nike Vaporfly - Race:</= 10K
    Nike Zoom Marathoner- Race>10k
    Vomero 4's: training
    Nike Zoom Waffle: XC
    Nike Zoom Shift: track </=5K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭MadHatter

Just the 5 pairs at the moment ;)

Mizuno Wave Musha (the garish yellow ones) - Race <= 5k
    Mizuno Wave Elixir 4 - Race > 5k and fast training runs
    Mizuno Wave Inspire 4 (size 41) - longer runs & recovery
    Mizuno Wave Inspire 5 (size 42) - longer runs & recovery
    Mizuno Wave Harrier 2 - unused for now, bought them for Wicklow Adventure Race in April, first run out will be next week.

Bit of a Mizuno fetish going on but despite the disturbing colorways of some of the shoes (musha & harrier), I find they are perfect for my foot shape. This allows me to wear my normal size 41 so I don't have excess length in the toe-box - the size 42s were the first pair I mistakenly bought one size bigger like I always did with Asics & Nike.

Oh and 3 pairs of cycling shoes...do they count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

currently 4 Pairs
    Saucony hurricaine x1: the most recent addition.. intend to wear for longer runs.
    Mizuno wave : most used.
    Asics. rarely worn for no reason other than liking the mizunos better.
    Older asics... kept at a different house for running when I'm there.

frankeee wrote: »
    Do you know if you can still get the mayfly anywhere?, I am almost the exact same as you except I have the vaporfly instead of mayfly but as they are nearly worn out am looking for a replacement.

Nike Vaporfly - Race:</= 10K
    Nike Zoom Marathoner- Race>10k
    Vomero 4's: training
    Nike Zoom Waffle: XC
    Nike Zoom Shift: track </=5K

I think mine are actually tn fly (pic)

I picked them up in a Nike outlet in Paris... so a long way to go for the next pair. I have about 80k left in them so I am also looking around for a replacement.. :o

I think mine are actually tn fly (pic)

I picked them up in a Nike outlet in Paris... so a long way to go for the next pair. I have about 80k left in them so I am also looking around for a replacement.. :o

Cheers for that!, anytime I'm away I scour the local shops on the off chance they'll have them without any luck so far. I used to do my speedwork in the vaporfly's but stopped to try and preserve them for that little bit longer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Sub430

Mizuno Waverider 13 - Red - Long runs and upcoming marathon

How are the 13s Krusty - much difference from the 12s?

Only 2 on the go at the moment. OMG sooooo embarrassing :)

Mizuno Waverider 12
    Brooks Glycerin 8 - finding it difficult to get used to them, might get 13s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

This isnt good: These still have miles left

DS trainers 13 * 2
    DS trainers 14
    New Balance 910 * 2 (similar to DS)
    DS racer
    Brooks T4 racer
    Brooks T5 racer
    Nike Lunar racer

Trail:

Saloman Speedcross 1
    Saloman Speedcross 2
    Adidas Kanadia
    Nike Zoom Trail (warriors run)
    Saucony Jazz 6000 (on and off road)(new/unused)

Mountain:

Walsh PB ultra (new/unused)
    Inov8 X talon

The DS trainers and NB trainers will be gone by my marathon.
    The rest are in good enough nick though. Bought most of these in last 2 years. Have only bought Lunaracers this year so hope to whittle this list down. I used to tell myself taht I was actually bagging training miles by buying them (I would have to cover many miles to get rid of them). What was I thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Just have a pair of Kayano 15's on the go at the moment, about 70 miles on them so far. I wish I could afford more shoes.

Sub430 wrote: »
    How are the 13s Krusty - much difference from the 12s?
    Lighter again, but otherwise, very similar. Consistent sizing too, so you can buy straight from Wiggle or other online supplier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

Down to one pair of way over used mizuno inspire4's with about 800 miles in them:mad:.......dam you water boiler,dam you washing machine..

frankeee wrote: »
    Cheers for that!, anytime I'm away I scour the local shops on the off chance they'll have them without any luck so far. I used to do my speedwork in the vaporfly's but stopped to try and preserve them for that little bit longer..

footlooker.com have them and deliver to Ireland it seems, $69.99 all in, probably cheeper to buy a few at once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭christeb

Nike Marathoners : ~5m / 10k races
    Nike Lunaracers: up to 5k
    Adidas Supernova Cushions (2) / Glide (1): the 2 x cushions are on the way out
    Pearl iZUMi Streak: for longer training runs, heavy but very plush and comfortable.

So that's 6 for me :)

Numerous pairs I don't want to throw out yet in the cupboard too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭GoHardOrGoHome

aero2k wrote: »
    Asics Gel Hyperspeed 3 very little support but some cushioning - very fast
    Asics DS Trainer (new) - nice balance of weight vs support. I do most miles in these
    Asics Kayano - got them almost free. A bit heavy, I wear them the odd time just for a change.
    Nike Free - light, great fit, some cushioning, very little support. Great on grass.
    Asics Gel Kinsei II - too awkward and heavy, an impulse purchase

Weird, I also have those shoes Aero2k.

Nike Zoom Vomero 3 (new favourite shoe, love these)
    Nike Zoom Vomero 3 (unused) will buy 4 more of them if cheap enough
    Asics Kayano 14 Gold (alternate with Vomero)
    Asics Kayano 14 Blue (unused)
    Salomon Speed Cross 2 (best off road shoe around, light and cushioned, great for Adventure Racing too)
    New Balance spikes (no idea of the name haven't done any cross country)
    Adidas Kanadia (not that grippy anymore - will do for a bit more)
    New Balance something or other (don't use these)
    Asics Kinsei 2 (to be used when I hit high mileage - hasn't been required yet!) bit of an impulse buy I have to admit (Arnotts sale)
    Asics Hyperspeed 3 - great race shoe. Have used for 5k and duathlon. Would use them for 10k. Not sure for beyond.
    Asics DS trainer - have used for up to half marathon and for triathlon
    Nike Free - got a very tight fit in these, might try them for a 5k

3 x Asics Kayano 13. On the way out. Nice to have a pair of runners in the car if you find an opportunity to run.

OMG Sub430, 2 pairs, I'm so embarrassed.... for you! :D

I think I'm okay for the next year or so. Must not buy any more runners!

I was having a chat with a guy in work about the new shoes he had bought and we were discussing race weight - sounded like a couple of annoying girls. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Jaysus, there are some serious collections going on here...

As for me, it's:
    Asics Kayano 15 x 2
    Asics Noosa 5
    Salomon XA Pro
    Mizuno Wave Rider (rarely used)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Nike Lunarglide+ - 5k/5m/10k
    Asics 2140 - 1 for wet conditions.
    Asics 2140 - 1 for marathon/long runs/dry conditions
    Adidas Adizero Trail - mountain runs

In the car boot still lies:
    Adidas Adistar salvations - Too much support
    Adidas Supernova Sequence - More flexible of the stability shoes
    Asics 2130 x2 - Old marathon shoes, can't throw them out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

currently in my shoe cabinet:

- Nike Skylon: light trainers, about 200 miles
    - Asics Stratus: cheap heavier trainers, about 100 miles
    - Nike Lunaracer: racers, 500+ miles, heavily used, still used for speed workouts and short races
    - Nike Lunaracer: racers, ~80 miles. Supposed to be the replacement for above, but they're still in use
    - Nike Lunar Elite: light trainers, 11 miles. Pretty new, will probably see action in the Connemara Ultra
    - Asics Speedstar: light trainer, still unused so far.

That's 6. Not excessive, I'd like to think. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

but is there a correlation between numbers of shoes and numbers of toenails :-)

Asics Kinsei 2 (to be used when I hit high mileage - hasn't been required yet!) bit of an impulse buy I have to admit (Arnotts sale)
    I would go the opposite way. In fact, when you start doing high mileage, I would throw them away. My physio believes that these shoes are responsible for a significant percentage of his business over the last year or two. They are seriously heavy, and seriously large (much larger than any of my other shoes (in the same size). What you gain in cushioning, you also gain proportionally in weight. They're the only pair of shoes I will ever own that won't make it to 500 miles, and wont go into the recycle bin for fear of harming others. Horrendous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

I would go the opposite way. In fact, when you start doing high mileage, I would throw them away. My physio believes that these shoes are responsible for a significant percentage of his business over the last year or two. They are seriously heavy, and seriously large (much larger than any of my other shoes (in the same size). What you gain in cushioning, you also gain proportionally in weight. They're the only pair of shoes I will ever own that won't make it to 500 miles, and wont go into the recycle bin for fear of harming others. Horrendous.

+1, I have a pair of these (also impulse bought at "only" €100 from Arnotts:rolleyes:), and the damage they were doing to my legs... like wearing heavy weights with soles designed by a fella who had a thing for splayed frog's feet. Ended up only doing 20-30k in them: useless, ugly, abomination of a shoe, and dangerously unsteady underfoot. I will throw them away soon.

*Edit* Did I mention, they also stink to high heaven?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭surfjunky

Mostly alternating adrenalines with keyano 15s for training at the moment, but all except for New Balance are essential ;)
    Best running accessory I own is a shed a good distance from the gaff.

Brooks Adrenaline (use for general training) new favourite all-purpose trainer, won’t be buying any more Keyanos {alternate regularly with keyano 15s below)
    Assics Keyano 15 (general training), always was a favourite but feels heavy now in comparison to the adrenalines
    Assics Keyano 14 (x2) used for muddy xc long runs (should be throwing them soon as picked up injury before not doing this soon enough)
    Nike Zoom Vomero (use for general training – like these, good toe-heel transition, few miles still left in these)
    Asics DS Trainer (only use for medium distance road races), two pairs bought cheap, one used now and one saved for future use. Light and as I need a little support can’t go any lighter than this without picking up injuries.
    Asics Hyper MD (only use for track racing – not training, use one pair, and have 2 pairs for future use, got cheap as chips online, €15 each!). Like em but don’t have anything to compare them to.
    Assics Hyper XC (xc races and some light xc training) these have taken serious beating, might be on the look out for new pair, have gone though hell and serious mud with these.
    New Balance MR 1063 :tried on in shop, liked them, was talked into buying a size bigger than normal to make more room in my toe box, spent decent money on them, bad decision, ran for 10 miles in them, hated them, tried them twice again and never use them now: size 12s gathering dust; could use a new home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

On the left trainers currently in rotation, in the middle racers and spikes and on the right the virgins.
    4388260328_b4746553f5.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Is there something wrong with me? I have 4 pairs (1 old,2 being rotated and 1 unused) and they are all the same brand- Nike Air Pegasus. Should I have different types of shoe?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Nike Lunarglides. I have four pairs, one in white and green, one in white and orange, one in pink and black and one in yellow and black. I'm getting ready to purchase another colour. These beauties are my obsession. I'm in love with them. I use these for most of my runs, whichever ones are dry/I pick up first.
    Saucony Fast Twitch 3 - Good for fast paced training runs. Incredibly light and comfortable. Don't think I've done anything over 6 miles in them.
    Saucony progride guide TR 2 - nice trail shoes for the bits of trail running I do, really want to do more. They're lovely, in Leeds colours too. :D
    Asics kayano 15's - bought these in august, would have been my shoe of choice before I took the risk on lunarglides they probably only have about 250 miles or so on them. May wear them in the Conn Ultra as I'm unsure about wearing the lunarglides for that distance.
    Asics nimbus with insoles - probably have about 400 miles - if even on them. Not used really. Used to love wearing nimbus and regularly rotated between kayano and nimbus but have more or less completely gone away from nimbus now.
    Brooks ghost - lying around unused
    Mizuno wave creation - lying around unused
    another unrecognisable pair of asics - lying around unused

I haven't done any shoe shopping in a while and I'm itching to do some. There are a cracking pair of fasttwitch 4's on wiggle...

menoscemo wrote: »
    Is there something wrong with me? I have 4 pairs (1 old,2 being rotated and 1 unused) and they are all the same brand- Nike Air Pegasus. Should I have different types of shoe?

If you are running trouble free don't change, for me variety is the spice of life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,032 ✭✭✭rigal

Brooks Trance 9 - Have been rotating these with the Sauconys for about 5 months now. They're the most comfortable shoe I have but are lighter than the Sauconys and don't have the same support, anything over 13-14 miles and I start to get arch pains.

Saucony Pro Grid Triumph 7 - Favourite shoe. Not quite as hard wearing as my previous kayanos but lighter and much more comfortable.

Asics Hyperspeed 3 - Recently acquired and will be used for track sessions and shorter races. Liking them so far but it's early days.

Asics Kinsei 2 - +1 to what DOTP/KC said about these. They caused me a few initial injuries when I bought them a couple of years ago so I just use them for walking or circuits now.

Asics Kayano 14 - Decent shoe, better than the 15s but not as good as the 13s. These are a back-up pair now and have been retired to the boot of the car in case I ever forget my newer runners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭galwayspur

Nike Air Pegasus are the only pair of runners I use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Mizuno Wave for Garden work
    Brooks Adrenlanie for all my runs
    Old pair of Brooks adrenlanie for running on track in rain or in the park
    New Balance spikes
    New balance 1063 for no reason:eek:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

I only use a pair of Mizuno Wave at the moment, but they seem to have a fairly short lifespan and will be replaced shortly. There is also a pair of Asics spikes and the ressurected pair of something I cannot remember the name of right now that I put screws in to survive the snow.

I do have two pairs of ski boots though.

robinph wrote: »
    I do have two pairs of ski boots though.
    Do you not fund them quite heavy for running?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Combining elements of T-runner and Beepbeep's responses...
    Deep breath..

Road runners:
    • Asics 2140s
    • Asics 2130s x 4
    • Sauncony Racing flats
    • Asics Gel Kayanos
    • Asics 2120s x 2
    • Asics 2110

Hill & trail runners:
    • Inov8 Roclite 312s
    • Salomon Speed Cross 2
    • Adidas Swoop
    • Inov8 Mudclaw
    • Helly Hansen Trail Shoes
    • Inov8 - Roclite x 2
    • Pearl Izumis Syncho Seek III
    • Asics Gel Trabucco
    • North Face trail runners
    • Asics trail shoes
    • Walshs
    • Salomon XCRs
    • Inov8 XTalon 212s

24 pairs in total. 2 of which are fit for the bin. The rest are still in good nick.
    22DE83102FDE4B82B4931C9316A85EF6-800.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

i just have 3 pairs of kayano 15s and 2 old unwearable pairs of asics 2130 i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

SJ, do you ind yourself needing to try on trainers before 11am in the morning? Can you go a day without running?

below is editied from a "are you an alcoholic" self test
    You may have a running problem if you...
    • Can never stick to “just one” run.
    • Feel guilty or ashamed about your running.
    • Lie to others or hide your running habits.
    • Have friends or family members who are worried about your running.
    • Need to run in order to relax or feel better.
    • Ever “black out” or forget what you did while you were running.
    • Regularly run more than you intended to.

Guilty as charged. Now I'm out for my 2nd run of the day :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

I think we need to change the thread title to show us your inner Slogger Jogger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭toomuchdetail

Just 2 pairs of Kayano 14 +15 - rarely rotate .Best ever pair were Kayano13's but OH washed and tumbled dried them after Achill Roar , so that knocked them on the head.
    Might look to Brooks Adrenaline .

Some of you guys have the price of a small 2nd car or a holiday on runners alone never mind the addition of t-shirt,shorts even vaseline .

Going stop feeding the kids and buying heating oil for a month to try and add a few pair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

[*] Lie to others or hide your running habits.
    Guilty as charged. Now I'm out for my 2nd run of the day :o

2nd run done. I have to justify those pairs of runners somehow.

I think the recycling centre is going to get a visit soon so that this thread can be renamed back :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭kingQuez

Feeling very unfit reading this thread, cos I've just got the one pair :) ! (and they don't even seem to be a popular brand based on what people here have in their collections).

- New balance 1224s. (Replacing my 768s which were great, but not at all convinced on the 1224s.. they just don't feel right, but maybe im just trying to justify getting something different ;) ).

• Can never stick to “just one” run.
    • Feel guilty or ashamed about your running.
    • Lie to others or hide your running habits.
    • Have friends or family members who are worried about your running.
    • Need to run in order to relax or feel better.
    • Ever “black out” or forget what you did while you were running.
    • Regularly run more than you intended to.

That list does not just apply to SJ:
    No, Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes :eek:

I am looking to buy a new pair of lightweights, something for racing over 10k up to HM but also for training on faster sessions. I want something with a bit more support than my mayflys but without weight and a big heel... looking at:

Nike Free
    Nike Marathoners
    Asics DS Racer

Anyone point me in the right direction?

I picked up the Brooks ST4 (2010's), personally i find them great, a lot more supportive than the Brooks T5's I was using. Haven't used the others.
    http://www.forrunnersbyrunners.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=242

I am looking to buy a new pair of lightweights, something for racing over 10k up to HM but also for training on faster sessions. I want something with a bit more support than my mayflys but without weight and a big heel... looking at:

Nike Free
    Nike Marathoners
    Asics DS Racer

Personally I think the Nike Lunaracers are the perfect racing/workout shoe. I've used them from the 5k to the marathon and could not be happier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Apologies if there is a more specific shoe advice thread. Couldn't find any and thought you all seemed very knowledgable on this one!

I'd been really happy running for a couple of years in Saucony Triumphs (v.5). When they switched to v.6 and v.7 they no longer suited me (started to have achilles problems). I've tried various brands since (Nike Pegasus, Asics Kayanos, Saucony Omni, Brooks Glycerine) and none of them suited for various reasons.

Physio says I need neutral shoes (I wear orthotics), with decent cushioning that don't bend easily in the middle or at the heel. I've tried on Asics Nimbus and they seem comfy but I'm wary of making another expensive mistake.

Any help or advise greatly appreciated. I do about 40Km a week so not huge mileage. I've tried a few of the specialist shops in Dublin but none of their alternative suggestions (see above) have worked out. I'm average weight and the orthotics correct any biomechanical faults so just after a decent pair of training shoes that won't cause injury.

Nike Free
    Nike Marathoners
    Asics DS Racer

I use the Nike Marathoners for exactly that purpose. They've pretty good support and better cushioning that the lighter racers. My one gripe with them tho' is they're not the grippiest shoe in the wet, especially noticeable when trying to do a session on a wet track!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 869 ✭✭✭Daithi BC

Just read SJ's post on his shoes, and I suddenly feel very restrained. I only have 6 pairs of shoes on the go at the minute:

2 x Asics Gel Nimbus 11 (Day to day training)
    1 x Saucony Progrid Xodus (Trail running)
    1 x Saucony Kilkenny (Cross country)
    1 x Adidas adizero CS (5k to 5M Racing)
    1 x Adidas adizero adios (10k racing and above)

Having said that, I like my adios so much that I'm going to get a second pair to have one for racing and one for training. At least that's my excuse. Really it's because they're now available in blue.

Nike Free
    Nike Marathoners
    Asics DS Racer

Picked up a pair of marathoners today, tried both them and the lunaracer 2 out in runways and prefered the feel of the marathoners. Will see how they work out now.