Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weird phone call! "online pc doctor" - Only thread on these scam calls please

• Registered Users Posts: 404 ✭✭Antamojo

Got 3 calls over 2 weeks from these shower of *****.
    My mam answered the phone and said hold on I'll put you onto my son and they hung up each time.
    I hope I get to answer one and go along with it, then tell them to **** off

• Registered Users Posts: 760 ✭✭✭mach1982

Never let any one log in to your PC, even if they say they Certified from Microsoft. Would you let an mechanic who call at you door out of the blue and fix your car?
    Ask for phone/e-mail if they want you business they will he happy to give you their details .

I hope they ring me as i can do with a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

My parents had these phone calls last Thursday. My mum who doesn't even know how to switch on a computer knew it had to be a scam and told them to get lost. They kept ringing back but when they heard her voice they kept hanging up the phone. Idiots :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 6 shotgun

My wife got a call from these guys (001217) this morning - very persistent but she suspected a scam and hung up - they called me back later this evening (001216)- very clever !!!

First line to me was " Is your PC running slow?" The guy admitted he was calling from India and it was a very good call line with some delay and you could hear the "call centre hubub" in the backround.

He said they had MCSE's and Cisco Certfied engineers available.
    Offered a one time free online scan using Quickheal (an Indian AV product) and a "Warranty Service" - 1 yr 99 2yr 189 3 yr 289 euro.

Apart from the obvious dangers of letting anyone remote to your PC to install s/w on it AND giving out your CC details to a Indian call centre, the fact that they do the online scan means they can claim its a legit "service" - he also mentioned you will click on a disclaimer - Buyer Beware!!!

I told him my PC was running fine and he gave a Dublin number 01-442-9347 which and to ask for Henry Parker

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

thanks for that i'll pass on the advice. I think his credit card details are safe as he paid through paypal, who don't give away details . . ., but yeah i'll pass on all that.

Thanks!
    Unless they did a proper job, got and left a small program that would email them any username/password info from sites such as paypal, his login to his bank account, etc.
    shotgun wrote: »
    I told him my PC was running fine and he gave a Dublin number 01-442-9347 which and to ask for Henry Parker
    The number gave me http://www.onlinepcdoctors.com/form.php?parent_id=4&type=email in google
    We have experienced team from DELL, HP and other leading computer giants. The team collectively has more than seven to eight years of experience in customer service and PC maintenance.
    Their english is very bad :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Claire L

I got a call from this crowd last monday. They even knew my name :eek: how scary is that! Surely they can be reported to someone???

• Registered Users Posts: 42 DavidCollins

Exact problem happened to a relative of mine. The phone number ( 014429347 ) had me finding this thread.
    Problem is, she doesn't know what they did while they had access to her computer. Guess I'm the family IT support again. (fortunately when they asked her for 39.99 she stopped doing what they asked her to do).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Pelotudo

My mother who has a basic grasp of computing got caught by them yesterday. She thought they were genuine. They told her they got her contact details from windows live messenger.Also said that her computer was running slow and thats why they were calling (her pc is 5 years old and has a Celeron processor so of course it's slow!!!!!).
    I Intsalled Comodo and Avast a while back(they seem to work fine for me). They told her that Comodo was being attacked by viruses and she she should get rid of them.
    They told her go to the pcdoctors website and click on the remote access tab.They then gave her a code to enter so they could get this code.It didn't work. They gave her a couple of more codes and they didn't work either. She happened to call me in the middle of all this and mentioned that a man had called from Windows. I thought that was a bit strange, googled and ended up here.
    They had a tech on with her then and I called back just in time to stop her entering another remote access code. She asked him where he was and he said India.Then she hung up.

What I'm wondering is might they have got access with their "failed" codes?

Also, just to inform anyone that my mother is in Limerick so they've moved their calls outside Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 42 DavidCollins

From what I can tell, the first get the user to enable the built in remote control features in Windows that allow a computer to be accessed and operated from somewhere else.

They then get them to go to their website and enter a code, this allows the to get the IP address of the computer so they can begin accessing it. (you should be able to see them move the mouse cursor on the screen when they do this and everything).

In Pelotudo, it sounds like there was a technical problem with their own system (irony) so couldn't log her IP.

I would say that if anyone had an experience like this, go to Control Panel, double click on System, and go to the Remote tab (or Remote Settings if not on XP), and you can take it from there. Just make sure Remote Desktop isn't enabled as I believe (not certain) that this is what they use to access your computer.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Simply Red

My girlfriend got a call from them last week, from the number 001210, again from indian sounding person. They started by asking about her browsing habits but she knew something was strange and made an excuse to hang up. A very clever scam which will catch a lot of people out, spread the word to anyone who you think could be caught out by them

• Registered Users Posts: 10 bbrhuft

I just got a call form onlinePCdoctors about 20 minutes ago, I knew it was a scam form the start but stayed on the online as I was bored and needed a laugh.

The Indian guy, the same voice as in recordings on Youtube (so it must be a small operation), got me to open the Event Viewer using very basic instructions suitable for a PC idiot. Of course the Event Viewer is always full of errors and warning e.g. if the internet is down and a virus software can't update an error is recorded. But this would scare the non-PC savvy.

Anyhow the scammer called these mundane Errors and Warnings Malware and Viruses, that my PC was infected! Such bull***t.

He then tried to get me to open Internet Explorer and open onlinePCdoctors, but just in case he was getting me to connect to a website that would install viruses, I opened Firefox instead. I have Web of Trust installed and sure enough the website is listed as a scam / phishing site - I was blocked from connecting. So I told him it was a scam and I hung up.

I tired to record the conversation but in my haste I forgot to turn on my mic :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭johnfás

I just answered the phone (cold called), was greeted by hold music and then quickly transferred to speak to some chap with a heavily accented voice. He told me that he was calling from "Online PC Care" on behalf of windows. That my computer had been downloading files which I didn't want and that he was here to help. When I began to question him on how he got my number, or what he wanted to call me about, he became increasingly agitated. He became even more agitated when he asked me what version of windows I am using and I replied that if he was ringing on behalf of windows to help me, surely he would already know what version of windows I have. Then I hung up.

It was a very similar experience to this one, outlined on a blog I found through Google.

Has anyone here experienced this? Most bizarre.... but then you are for a moment thinking what if I do have some problem!!
    First there was music. Then a heavily accented voice from a call centre in India. This minion's job was to get me to turn on my PC so they could achieve something. So, three mistakes there:

1. I don't have a PC that I use for anything except specialist purposes
    2. This was a silent call, music notwithstanding. If they had been a UK company this would have been illegal
    3. I am not the idiot they think I am

So I told the very nice and heavily accented gentleman that my PC takes ten minutes to boot. And that I would put him on hold. I explained he would hear music.

Then I turned the radio on and put the handset by the radio.

After 5 minutes I apologised that it would be another five minutes. He was still on the line!

After ten minutes I apologised that the machine had just crashed, and that it would be another ten minutes. He was still on the line!

After 20 minutes I told him that the machine had booted successfully!

Not only was he still on the line, he put me on hold then so I could speak to his supervisor. I decided to hold.

A much less accented lady came onto the line and asked me to look at my keyboard, so I did.

She told me where the Alt key was. Interestingly it is there! Bottom left hand side. Oh joy. Next to that she told me was the Windows key.

Ah yes, the windows key. That is very hard to find on a Mac. I explained that I couldn't see it.

She asked me to look at the bottom left hand corner of the screen and told me that there was a little button marked "Start". I told her there wasn't. What I have is "Finder', which has a smiley face.

When she asked what was there I told her that I had a smiley face. I believe in letting cold calling idiots hang themselves.

Instructed to click the smiley face, I did. She didn't believe me when I told her that a list of files opened.

At that point she got a bit upset and accused me of not having turned my PC on. I was waiting for the old customer service joke of being told to take the machine back to the store and to ask for a refund because I'm too stupid to own one!

Instead she actually decided to hang up!

Go me!

Another glorious way to annoy an unethical telesales company!

The thing about this lot is that I really can't see where the scam is. I suppose at some point they ask for payment for whatever it is they pretend they can do to your PC. Unless, of course, they deploy some sort of Trojan onto it and create some form of unpleasant botnet.

Whatever it is I don't want it.

This call is just like those guys who turn up in an old Ford Transit with a load old asphalt on the back and ask if you want your drive resurfaced, and then rip you off rotten by doing a bad job. You do not give access to your PC with your personal data, your bank details, on it to any old Tom, Dick or Harry. Instead you take up references.

I went to their web site at onlinepccare.com (and no, I will not dignify it with a link!):

Look! Top right. The satisfaction rating.

Of every 100 people, seven are dissatisfied! That's pretty poor!

No, that's awful!

That's apart from the silent call, and telling me that I had been contacted because I filled out a form when I bought my PC!

Scam artists!

Oh yes. Total call time was 24 minutes 51 seconds. I think that's a new record!

http://timtrent.blogspot.com/2010/04/online-pc-care-just-spam-cold-called-me.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,569 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

johnfás wrote: »
    on behalf of windows.

You should have taken that as your cue to end the phone call as rudely as possible tbh. Windows is a product, not a company...
    It'd be like me saying I'm calling from Cheerios if I worked for Nestle:p

Obvious scam

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sounds like a variant of social engineering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Threads merged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 sidious smith

i just got a call a few mins ago and the same story, when i told him i would not turn on my pc he hung up[

• Registered Users Posts: 815 ✭✭✭mickeyboymel

I got one of these calls a few weeks back, and out of interest I indulged the indian guy until he revealed my number was taken from an online telephone directory! I bamboozeled him altogether when i kept repeating the word unsolicited and suggested he should use the start menu on HIS pc to open internet explorer and go to dictionary.com to find out what the word meant.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

I got a call from these guys to the house phone just now and straight off they mentioned me as a Mr. so and so and wanted to know about my PC and windows. As a guy who is on his 4th Mac my need for his product was at best minimal but I was more concerned about where the house number was sought from as I never give it out.

After several times of being asked about my windows and being told how famous they are I asked to speak to a supervisor who told me all about my number being gotten from a computer shop. I then informed him that I found it unlikely that Apple gave them my number when I didn't buy from anywhere else nor did I give them the land line only to be told that my cousins may have given them my details! I asked to be put onto a manager only to be put on what was the same guy disguising my voice. Once again I asked where they got the number and he told me off for getting angry at him!!! At this stage he hung up on me and I was pleased knowing that I hadn't coughed up whatever info that they wanted from me:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Update: These jokers are now using the name "online pc care" as well as "online pc doctor" http://www dot onlinepccare dot com

• Registered Users Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

My mother bought me a samsung laptop from littlewoods a couple of months ago, in the past 2 days she's plagued with calls from india - she managed to find out they are online PC Care.
    They knew her name and phone number and that she had bought a new computer.
    They claim that there is a problem with window and that she could be downloading illegally???
    They direct here to go to her pc and follow their instructions - on questioning them as to who they are and how they got here info etc. they hang up.

Any advice?

Seems it is but how did they get the names address and phone numbers http://timtrent.blogspot.com/2010/04/online-pc-care-just-spam-cold-called-me.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭Enigma IE

Yes it's a scam, there's a few other threads on it. Beware.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

Complete scam - http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055837564

Tell your mother to hang up on them with extreme prejudice

Thanks yeah I rang samsung saying I got this call and is there anything I can do? and they told me 'eh I donno' and 'it's not something they deal with' 'we dont give out customers details' 'we dont even know who buys our computers' 'contact who you bought it from' kthnxbi and feck off wasting our time basically!

Mods might want to merge my thread http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=66000216#post66000216

Is nobody worried about how they got our information to enable them to call us?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,568 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Pure scam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Here's a summary of their whois record :

Whois Record

Registrant Search:
    "1&1 Internet, Inc. - http://1and1.com/contact" owns about576 other domains
    Registrar History:
    3 registrars with 2 drops.
    NS History:
    12 changes on 7 unique name servers over 2 years.
    IP History:
    12 changes on 9 unique name servers over 4 years.
    Whois History:
    29 records have been archived since 2009-10-24 .
    Reverse IP:
    267 other sites hosted on this server.

DomainTools for Windows®

Now you can access domain ownership records anytime, anywhere... right from your own desktop! Download Now>
    domain: onlinepcdoctors.com
    created: 23-Oct-2009
    last-changed: 29-Mar-2010
    registration-expiration: 23-Oct-2010

nserver: ns57.1and1.com 74.208.2.9
    nserver: ns58.1and1.com 74.208.3.8

registrant-firstname: Oneandone
    registrant-lastname: Private Registration
    registrant-organization: 1&1 Internet, Inc. - http://1and1.com/contact
    registrant-street1: 701 Lee Road, Suite 300
    registrant-street2: ATTN: onlinepcdoctors.com
    registrant-pcode: 19087
    registrant-state: PA
    registrant-city: Chesterbrook
    registrant-ccode: US
    registrant-phone: +1.8772064254
    registrant-email:

Rang comreg - because it's from an irish number I can tell mam to ring eircom(the phone provider) and opt out of the national data directory list and hopefully stop the cold calls. Takes 21 days and if there are futher problems I'll get back to comreg.

Are they just guessing that people have pc's or do they actually get their info from where you purchased that's what I'd wonder?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,981 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

kerash wrote: »
    Rang comreg - because it's from an irish number I can tell mam to ring eircom(the phone provider) and opt out of the national data directory list and hopefully stop the cold calls. Takes 21 days and if there are futher problems I'll get back to comreg.

Are they just guessing that people have pc's or do they actually get their info from where you purchased that's what I'd wonder?

PC's/laptops are now a common household appliance like Tv's. The assumption is you have one.