Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smirnoff Be There, Wedding Night tickets free

• 23-02-2010 10:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28

I have won a pair of tickets to
    the Smirnoff Be There, Wedding Night at the The Wright Venue, Swords, Co.dublin any one wants them , you can have them just e mail me and i will e mail them back to you , first that e mails can have them .tickets are in a e mail form, pls also send your e mail address so i can reply to you

http://entertainment.ie/event/Music/The-Wright-Venue/The-Smirnoff-Be-There-The-Wedding-Night/2530048.htm

Mod edit : Moved to AH for more exposure

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Moved

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Do you want my bank details too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

I smell fish. If YOU won the tickets and they're in email form I'm pretty sure only YOU can print them out. Otherwise you could forward them to all your friends.

cathy48 wrote: »

Mod edit : Moved to AH for more exposure
    Ponster wrote: »
    Moved

Ahem!

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=63135899&postcount=8

Infract Him!!!! :D

Bonito wrote: »

Backseat modding. Infract him/her. :)

That_Guy wrote: »
    Backseat modding. Infract him/her. :)
    Ditto! :pac:

Ditto.. This could go on for a while. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 cathy48

look i only want someone else to have the good of the tickets , and if they are in my name ,i would have given you my name to use at the door , dont always be so untrustful ,
    lorweld can vouch for me as she is my daughter , and i only needed your email or what other way could i have posted them back to you

look i only want someone else to have the good of the tickets , and if they are in my name ,i would have given you my name to use at the door , dont always be so untrustful ,
    lorweld can vouch for me as she is my daughter , and i only needed your email or what other way could i have posted them back to you
    Well TBH with the amount of online scams you can't blame peoples vigilance. Unfortunately I do not know your daughter to ask her to vouch for you. Same thing happened when I won tickets to the Lynx beach party. I couldn't go so emailed them to a friend and guess what, him and his work colleague were told to **** off at the door. Why? Because the tickets were registered to my email address and my name. For someone else to use them they'll have to be printed from your email and you physically hand them the tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

If people wanted to get in free they could go before 11pm.

thats fair enough , and i understand about scams , but dont take it out on me , i was trying to do someone a good turn , the way the ticket is , anyone can print it out , but as its me on the invite list you would have had to give me name , which i had no bother about ,and ive no idea how to use these boards , thats why i put the message as i did ,

Kiera wrote: »
    If people wanted to get in free they could go before 11pm.
    BUSTED
    The Smirnoff Be There The Wedding Night

Put on your tiara, don your tuxedo and join them at The Wright Venue. Dress to impress. Free in before 11pm!

Venue:
    The Wright Venue
    South Quarter
    Airside
    Swords

Close thread :cool:

*high 5's Kiera for excellent detective work*

thats fair enough , and i understand about scams , but dont take it out on me , i was trying to do someone a good turn , the way the ticket is , anyone can print it out , but as its me on the invite list you would have had to give me name , which i had no bother about ,and ive no idea how to use these boards , thats why i put the message as i did ,
    Please refer to posts #11 & #13. That is all.

BUSTED

Close thread :cool:

*high 5's Kiera for excellent detective work*
    Call me Miss Fletcher :pac:

yip pls close this thread , i could not be bothered with all this , god forbid any one try to do good for someone , and if you all check it was won on a comp in facebook , but as of now im taking the offer from here , hope you all have a good day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

To be fair, thet tickets are listed as 15e on entertainment.ie.

It's a new member folks, it's not exactly your run of the mill 419 scam so take it easy on the OP(Thats you Cathy).

In saying that, I'd still not like the tickets but fair play offering them.

yip pls close this thread , i could not be bothered with all this , god forbid any one try to do good for someone , and if you all check it was won on a comp in facebook , but as of now im taking the offer from here , hope you all have a good day

You have to understand why we think it's a scam.

1) - The event is free before a certain tiime to everybody and
    2) - It's sometimes difficult to trust a poster with so few posts. It just looks bad.

Also asking for an email address makes it seem a bit weird too. Just my 2 cents.

Please refer to posts #11 & #13. That is all.

No need to act like a moron.

Naos wrote: »
    To be fair, thet tickets are listed as 15e on entertainment.ie.

It's a new member folks, it's not exactly your run of the mill 419 scam so take it easy on the OP(Thats you Cathy).

In saying that, I'd still not like the tickets but fair play offering them.
    To be fair. The link says free in before 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Bazzy

Off with his head

No need to direct a personal attack on me and make me out to be a moron. Obviously you didn't see the please?

To be fair it's not acting like a moron at all. It's called good investigative work. The OP might mean well but how are we supposed to know that?

To be fair. The link says free in before 11.

The link also states that tickets are 15e after the event. What if you wanted to go but couldn't make it before 11?
    No need to direct a personal attack on me and make me out to be a moron. Obviously you didn't see the please?

Just because you said please does not excuse you for acting ignorantly, you're not Paul Gogarty are you?

I said no need to "act" like a moron, I never called you a moron.

That_Guy wrote: »
    To be fair it's not acting like a moron at all. It's called good investigative work. The OP might mean well but how are we supposed to know that?

Good investigative work? You could hardly script a Sherlock Holmes novel around it now could you. Regardless, it was the way the message came across as opposed to the content of the mesage - he was being condesending.

thank you naos ,
    have to say the posts has upset me a bit , maybe i went about it the wrong way in offering them , but my daughter said to put them up on boards .ie and someone would be glad of them , i was willing for to allow someone to use my name , thats how trusting i am , I am a 50 year old mother and not out to scam anyone , this is the e mail i got just to prove to any one im not a scammer ,
    Congratulations! You’ve won 2 tickets to the Smirnoff Be There, Wedding
    Night.

Thanks for entering our Facebook competition to win a pair of tickets to
    the Smirnoff Be There, Wedding Night at the The Wright Venue, Swords, Co.
    Dublin. We’re delighted to tell you that you’ve won a pair of tickets for
    the night.

The big night kicks off at 10pm. So, put on your tiara, don your tuxedo and
    be sure to 'Be There' for the wedding of the year on Friday 26th February.

Remember to bring this email with you and your name will also be on the
    guest list. This event is strictly over 18’s.

Have a great night and don’t forget to tell everyone you’ll Be There!

RSVP to SmirnoffIreland@ogilvy.com by 1pm Wednesday 24th February.

The Smirnoff Team
    now if someone would like me to forward them the e mail i have no prob with that , but pls dont call me a scammer ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,126 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I hope the night goes better than this thread!

Fair play for offering the tickets, I'm sure someone will be glad of them.. never mind the haters :)

The link also states that tickets are 15e after the event. What if you wanted to go but couldn't make it before 11?
    Then I'd have a ticket, obviously :rolleyes:

Just because you said please does not excuse you for acting ignorantly, you're not Paul Gogarty are you?
    Does my username say "Paul Gogarty".
    I said no need to "act" like a moron, I never called you a moron.
    I was not acting like a moron. If I came across that way then that's your problem for making such assumptions.
    Good investigative work? You could hardly script a Sherlock Holmes novel around it now could you. Regardless, it was the way the message came across as opposed to the content of the mesage - he was being condesending.

Either report my posts or take your assumptions elsewhere and stop trying to spark an argument on thread. You are obviously not familiar with me in this particular forum and therefore do not know my attitude towards other posters.

No you wouldn't script a Sherlock Holmes novel around it.... Now that sounds condesending. If the OP means well then that's fair enough but people have the right to be made aware of certain factors before jumping right into the offer.
    It's not me sounding like a dickhead. It's about me being careful.

I'm sure you wouldn't willingly give out your email address in relation to a poster with a handful of posts claiming to have an offer.

The offer might be genuine but I certainly wouldn't be willing to give out my email due to the amount of scams going around these days.
    thank you naos ,
    have to say the posts has upset me a bit , maybe i went about it the wrong way in offering them , but my daughter said to put them up on boards .ie and someone would be glad of them , i was willing for to allow someone to use my name , thats how trusting i am , I am a 50 year old mother and not out to scam anyone , this is the e mail i got just to prove to any one im not a scammer ,
    Night.

the night.

The Smirnoff Team
    now if someone would like me to forward them the e mail i have no prob with that , but pls dont call me a scammer ,

You sound genuine enough and fair play to you for the offer but you've got to understand that people are cautious about these things.

thank you naos ,
    Night.

the night.

The Smirnoff Team
    Sorry for the upset Cathy. This post clears up all suspicions and people will be more trusting now as to it being a genuine offer. You're very kind in offering. Whoever gets the tickets hope you have a good night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,490 ✭✭✭Bazzy

I dont know what a tracker mortgage is

Bazzy wrote: »
    I dont know what a tracker mortgage is
    Google is your friend!

My friends don't spy on me about my content and then hint ad's I might like :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,003 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

My friends don't spy on me about my content and then hint ad's I might like :pac:

You need some new friends!

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

You need some new friends!
    Will you be my friend? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,003 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Will you be my friend? :pac:

If friendship is following you around and waiting outside your house, Im already your friend.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

Then I'd have a ticket, obviously :rolleyes:

What's with the :rolleyes:? What you've said does not make sense. If you want to get in free with NO ticket, go before 11pm. After 11pm you need a ticket. OP offered a ticket - presumably someone who wanted to go but couldn't make it before 11 would want it.
    Does my username say "Paul Gogarty".

Google him.
    I was not acting like a moron. If I came across that way then that's your problem for making such assumptions.

Yes, yes you were. What did you mean by "That is all" then, you know full well what you were saying with that.
    Either report my posts or take your assumptions elsewhere and stop trying to spark an argument on thread. You are obviously not familiar with me in this particular forum and therefore do not know my attitude towards other posters.

No need to report your posts, they were not abusive. Moronic yes, but not abusive. I am familiar with you here actually.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I knew this would happen when I moved a thread from my n00b-friendly forum to the pit that is AH but the tickets were going nowhere so though what the hell !

Google him.
    I know who he is.
    Yes, yes you were. What did you mean by "That is all" then, you know full well what you were saying with that.
    No. I came across to YOU personally, that way. There is a massive difference there.

I am familiar with you here actually.
    Good for you! Sorry, I'm all out of rubber medals unfortunately. You're definitely a foot in for winning one :rolleyes:

Have a nice day.

just to let you know the tickes have gone by someone on here who was a bit more trusting , I dont use boards .ie much unless for some thing like this , or if i am looking for some thing on sale i might want , but this has turned me right off , dont think anyone needs all this bull in there lives ,everyone have a good day , but before you post again , maybe ask that person in a message to prove themselves , dont just go on a thread and make them out to be bad people before you can prove it ,
    first it leaves my name on here seen as a scammer , second the world is not out to get you , there is very good people out there , dont put us all in the one boat , yes i can understand people are afraid , but it was giving you two free tickets for gods sake , all i asked for was a e mail address if you wanted them , i was not asking for your name or anything else ,as i said i was willing to give my name to be used , which i have done so to the person that was trusting enough to give me her e mail to forward the tickets on to her ,

just to let you know the tickes have gone by someone on here who was a bit more trusting , I dont use boards .ie much unless for some thing like this , or if i am looking for some thing on sale i might want , but this has turned me right off , dont think anyone needs all this bull in there lives ,everyone have a good day , but before you post again , maybe ask that person in a message to prove themselves , dont just go on a thread and make them out to be bad people before you can prove it ,
    first it leaves my name on here seen as a scammer , second the world is not out to get you , there is very good people out there , dont put us all in the one boat , yes i can understand people are afraid , but it was giving you two free tickets for gods sake , all i asked for was a e mail address if you wanted them , i was not asking for your name or anything else ,as i said i was willing to give my name to be used , which i have done so to the person that was trusting enough to give me her e mail to forward the tickets on to her ,

We understand you were genuine now but it just looked a bit dodgy.

Users have every right to ask questions and to have their suspicions. AH is probably a bad forum to offer things in and that's why you got bad replies.

I gave an old email address to someone before claiming to have free tickets to something. They seemed genuine enough and I was young and naive at the time and my account got hacked and everything. It was a nightmare and that's why I'd be cautious.

As for the bit I've highlighted, maybe if you had posted the email you had gotten from Smirnoff then we wouldn't be so suspicious of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Thank you Captain :)

Evidently Bonito, the OP felt the same. That's all I was saying - that there was no need to act that way towards her.

Cathy stick around boards it's good craic, not everyone behaves in the way you were subjected too.

Jesus Christ, Lads. Let it go. The tickets have gone to a good home!

You got them, didn't you? :pac:

I'll go get my tux :D

*extends hand of peace to Bonito*

You got the tickets didn't you? You're just trying to bring him along. :)

*shakes hand*

Honestly wasn't looking for an argument. I apologised to Cathy and thanked her for clearing things up with the email Smirnoff sent her.

You have to try not let some stuff on here get to you. My retort thread is a prime example of that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

have to say the posts has upset me a bit , maybe i went about it the wrong way in offering them , but my daughter said to put them up on boards .ie and someone would be glad of them , i was willing for to allow someone to use my name , thats how trusting i am , I am a 50 year old mother and not out to scam anyone ,
    Ah now Cathy don't let the internet people get you down, I'm sure a woman such as yourself can give as good as you get, put them in their place mammy stylee. Remember their not real people. ;)