Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

C&H meetup ver 3.0?

• 23-02-2010 10:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭

well,after immense pressure from sarcasticfairy[well one text,but anywho]

I said I'd throw out the idea of another C&H day/night/party type thing again.

any thoughts on when/where/what stand-out hoodie I should wear to this one?

Where to meet up? 24 votes

Dublin
    0%
    Dublin
    41%
    banjopaulGinja NinjadegausserxoKonatabythewoodsSarcasticFairyunknown13CragulsExtrasuperveryalmostnever 10 votes
    Dublin
    12%
    AoibheannFadPigwidgeon 3 votes
    The wesht
    4%
    phlegms 1 vote
    Cork
    8%
    jefreywithonefjumpguy 2 votes
    Limerick
    16%
    KnifeWRENCHlilmissprincesspq0n1ct4ve8zf5Luno 4 votes
    Outer space[abstain]
    16%
    hitlersson666D4RK ONIONJackobyteArcade Panda 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Dublin
    Have this one down the country to keep the culchie posters happy then have a massive day out / piss up sometime in the summer in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭Ginja Ninja

Dublin
    unknown13 wrote: »
    Have this one down the country to keep the culchie posters happy then have a massive day out / piss up sometime in the summer in Dublin.
    suggestions? I'm going to say mayo,so I can get a lift to it,but that's a bit biased.I'm pretty easy with getting a bus,I do most weekends anyway so most of ireland suits me fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Jako8

Cork obviously. :)

I know that's not gonna happen. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Limerick
    Jako8 wrote: »
    Cork obviously. :)

I know that's not gonna happen. :(

Not with that attitude...personally I'd love to meet some of the lovely posters off here but I'm allergic to Dublin. Coz I live in Cork like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

I honestly could not make any non-Dublin/Wexford one. And I won't suggest Wexford because no-one could make it (well, possibly bythewoods).

Also wouldn't this be 2.0 since we've only had one, the first one fell through didn't it?

Dublin
    true,but no one ever said the first version was functional.

I'm cool with cark bai! a long ass bus journey,but still

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭hitlersson666

Outer space[abstain]
    CORK!!!!!! i would love it :) please make it happen
    (in real life im not scary)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I heard about this really quiet place called Camp Crystal Lake, I hear it's mad craic for teenagers.

Outer space[abstain]
    oooooh sounds like fun!* will we go skinnydipping :)

*I'll be wearing a mask and welding a machete but don't worry im soft and cuddley down to the core :cool:

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

*Coughs*
    Waterford anyone?

*silence*

Damn I knew it! :(

Dublin
    deise_girl wrote: »
    *Coughs*
    Waterford anyone?

*silence*

Damn I knew it! :(

Deise, I think I remember that you said before that the last meetup that there should be one in the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭Craguls

Dublin
    C&H PARTY AT GINJA NINJA'S

Actually Cork would work if we had somewhere to stay (or there was something on early enough for people to go home), keep in mind though that some of us are under 18 (including myself despite how much I like to pretend otherwise :P) and this could cause problems.

Dublin
    Craguls wrote: »
    C&H PARTY AT GINJA NINJA'S
    this sounds familiar.......

......oh well,your all welcome whenever ye want,hopefully when I'm there but whatever

actually,waterford might be a plan.we could grab soccy and deis an dit's about half way between cork and dublin

Outer space[abstain]
    Pygmalion wrote: »
    Actually Cork would work if we had somewhere to stay (or there was something on early enough for people to go home), keep in mind though that some of us are under 18 (including myself despite how much I like to pretend otherwise :P) and this could cause problems.

meh some places in cork are good for serving

Dublin
    this sounds familiar.......

......oh well,your all welcome whenever ye want,hopefully when I'm there but whatever

I'm partial to flogging a dead horse on occasion. Plus I hear you live in the fancy accommodation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

Dublin

It's always the young 'uns...

I shall try and make it wherever in Ireland it crops up. Though Dublin would be vair handy.

I meant in terms of places to stay it might be a bit of a problem, I know that some places won't give a room to a minor without a parent/guardian and I'd say there'd be too much non-Cork people to just find a spare couch or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Outer space[abstain]
    *cough* Limerick *cough* :D

Outer space[abstain]
    I love limerick its closer to me so okeys!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

Dublin
    Not Cork...please not Cork. One weekend a month is enough. Don't the majority of us happen to live in Dublin? Trek to the outback sounds expensive.

Whinge moan bitch.

Not Cork...please not Cork. One weekend a month is enough. Don't the majority of us happen to live in Dublin?

Hey, I'm from Wexford and want a Dublin meetup.

Dublin
    You live in Dublin though. (I'm from Cork)

I live in Dublin when college is on I guess, so I do have a place to stay in Dublin at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,164 ✭✭✭Konata

Dublin
    Dublin will provide alot of (free) places to crash for anyone not living here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭ohthebaby

Dublin please!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Limerick

serious note: as you all know, boards.ie does not encourage, or tolerate discussion that encourages, underage drinking. so anyone under 18 cannot go to any boards organised meetup held anywhere that serves alcohol. as for the meetup itself, id go if it was in cork and would possibly go if it was in dublin, but would probably not go anywhere else.

Dublin
    Besides that very serious point ^ places in Cork are not 'good for serving' unless they're in the middle of frickin nowhere and regularly participate in all night lock ins.

No pub in the city would knowingly serve underagers, it isn't worth their license and they don't need the trouble.

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

Outer space[abstain]
    Cork please, or Limerick would be freaking awesome. If ye want I could fit a load into my house here :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭phlegms

The wesht
    Dublin plz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Arcade Panda

Outer space[abstain]
    D4RK ONION wrote: »
    Cork please, or Limerick would be freaking awesome. If ye want I could fit a load into my house here :)

Limerick would be cool!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

I could possibly go to Limerick, from May onwards...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

Limerick pleaseeee!
    Dream scenario would be Ennis but that will never happen so Limerick is the only place I'll be able to head pour le moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

Dublin
    Considering the surprising turnout of the last meetup, I think it would be an insult to the memory of the last meetup if we dont have it in dublin.....

ie I can (maybe) go to one outside Dublin during the summer, but now? Way too busy with college :(

Dublin
    Can't afford to go places. Live in Dublin. Avoid Cork like the plague.

Dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,553 ✭✭✭soccymonster

But Dublin already had a meet-up :(

Dublin
    Currently swamped with work shant be able to leave the county. Soz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭jefreywithonef

Cork
    In order of preference: Galway / Dublin / Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,383 ✭✭✭Aoibheann

Dublin
    I'd prefer Dublin, but could possibly make it if it were on elsewhere. Last time was a lot of fun so I'll be there if possible!

Aoibheann wrote: »
    I'd prefer Dublin, but could possibly make it if it were on elsewhere. Last time was a lot of fun so I'll be there if possible!

Don't get your hopes up that she'll be there guys, I think she iz trollin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭phlegms

The wesht
    Lets be honest with ourselves guys. Anywhere outside Dublin is a bit shíte tbh..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

Dublin
    How about wicklow? No? .... I suppose I could make it to Dublin, I mean it's not like i do it every day for college or anything >_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,768 ✭✭✭almostnever

Dublin
    I'll have to try to make this one. Dundalk,anyone? S'only an hour or so north of Dublin,don't rule it out! :p

Dublin is probably best for me,too.

Dublin
    Will someone stick up a poll? Options being Dublin, Cork, Limerick and...not Mayo :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Bobalicious93

Why does there have to be only one? The forum is pretty popular now, I'd say there's enough posters to cover a Dublin, Cork and possibly a Limerick meet-up aswell.

Dublin
    Why does there have to be only one? The forum is pretty popular now, I'd say there's enough posters to cover a Dublin, Cork and possibly a Limerick meet-up aswell.

I agree with this.

Could be done, but was suggested before last meetup and never really went through. Perhaps a separate thread for Dublin/Limerick/Cork could be started?

If they're held different dates it could be possible for some people to attend more than one to keep the numbers up, but that depends whether they'd be up for two meetups in such short time.

My main concern about travelling is that it would be a lot of time travelling and I'd have no idea how much people would end up showing up.
    In addition to that places to stay (if it's late in the day) could be a problem, and any drink-related things could keep away younger members (why bother travelling if there's a chance you'd be turned away).

Dublin
    My main concern about travelling is that it would be a lot of time travelling and I'd have no idea how much people would end up showing up.
    In addition to that places to stay (if it's late in the day) could be a problem, and any drink-related things could keep away younger members (why bother travelling if there's a chance you'd be turned away).

I think the Country one would have to be a day meetup since more of the posters are under the age of 17 [deise, hitlersson and M&S for example] but with the dublin one we could have a day and night one since alot of us that live in Dublin are 18 and over.

unknown13 wrote: »
    I think the Country one would have to be a day meetup since more of the posters are under the age of 17 [deise, hitlersson and M&S for example] but with the dublin one we could have a day and night one since alot of us that live in Dublin are 18 and over.

Well the plan for the previous Dublin one was Leisureplex fairly early and then the older ones would go to the pub, it just ended up being a pub trip since none of the younger members made it in the end and it was far later than expected when everyone showed up.

I'd say this could work, just make sure to have it on late enough so that people can arrive in time and early enough for people to get home?
    Perhaps in the thread(s?) when a date is decided people could post what times they could be available, like "I can't get there until half 12 and I have to leave by half 6" in case buses/trains aren't that frequent?

Dublin
    In all fairness Stillorgan is a hard location to get to and I am saying that when live in Stillorgan and it would be a nightmare to get to for someone not from south county Dublin. I actually didn't go to that meetup because I was busy. When we say Dublin we should mean Dublin City like O' Connell street, College Green or St. Stephens Green