Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RAG Week 2010

• 23-02-2010 5:53pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭

What's the scéal here? Is The Gathering the only event or what? I haven't really heard much. Is Assassin not on this year? I want funtimes other than Wednesday! :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/group.php?gid=310189827521&ref=ts

My plan is to start drinking early on monday, probably at the house first. Then I'll see where the drink takes me.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

I'm allowing myself near alcohol again on Monday. I'd like pints when my lecture ends at 5, pints anyone? pints?

Rozabeez wrote: »
    I'm allowing myself near alcohol again on Monday. I'd like pints when my lecture ends at 5, pints anyone? pints?

Maayyyybeeeeee...If I'm around the SU at the time then yeah.

Cool, I'm half tempted to go see Newton Faulkner instead but I'm far too lazy for the likes of that really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Pfft, you people suck, the drinking begins Sunday :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Monday, SU, early, booze!

I like the idea of seeing where the drink will take me, I'll go with that plan.

Charity Week (formerly known as Raise and Give Week) will take place from Monday, 1st March until Friday, 5th March.

The hi-light of the week will be the Gathering but there will be plenty of other events going on in the Students' Union bar and venue and Students' Union Centre.

This years charity is The Little Way Clane, Cancer Support Centre

The Gathering is about bringing people together to raise money and help those less fortunate than our selves. With inaugural event we're raising money for The Little Way Cancer Support Centre in Clane. Co. Kildare. The Little Way Cancer Support Centre was set up in October 2003 to provide support for Cancer patients, their families and friends. The diagnosis of cancer can mark the beginning of a long and frightening journey, not just for the person who has received the diagnosis but also for their families and friends.

While medical concerns are addressed through the range of treatments available within the Health Services, many people feel that their emotional needs and those of their family and friends are not met. This can leave people feeling anxious, isolated and helpless. The Little Way Cancer Support Centre aims to meet this need by providing emotional support and practical help to people who have or have had Cancer, their families and their friends.

So lets raise as much money for The Little Way Clane.

If you have any ideas as to how to raise money for the Students' Union Charity contact Brian Murphy, Students' Union President at 01-7083669 or president@nuimsu.com

Pulled from email

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭Nision

Anyone else reckon the fundraising this year will be a complete flop? No sponsored bungee jump, no RAG cup, no people-dunking etc etc. I'd lol so hard if it snowed on The Gathering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

heard very little about these other events....

Music Soc is hosting a Chartity Concert in Logic House on the Tuesday, and a
    Grade-1-Athon over the whole week.

Dunno about anyone else tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

The RAG cup is impossible to organise without the canteen. No passing trade out that way and a lack of advertising elsewhere meant only 4 teams entered last year. Such a pity as I'd played in it every year since 2002 and won it in 2007, was a great means of raising money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭scott.s

Dunno about anyone else tbh.

The trampoline club are having a 24hr bounce-a-thon on the 9th (week after RAG week) to raise money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

There's a foam party on the Friday in the SU I think. Wet t-shirts ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭5Aces

I might wander into college for this. Whats the story with non students getting into the SU during rag week? Can I sign a few in anytime? Id imagine the SU to start the morning and when the youngsters start screeching at eachother and falling around the place then head up to the roost where the rest of us can continue with the shots until its time for a snooze in the corner. There is a bunch of 24 year old ones working in town asking me with a look of desperation in their eyes when rag week is on.

scott.s wrote: »
    The trampoline club are having a 24hr bounce-a-thon on the 9th (week after RAG week) to raise money

From the ones I have met it will be a show worth watching!

Bounce-a-thon eh? Kinky

Keep them coming guys! Events like this make RAG week! :)

5Aces wrote: »
    I might wander into college for this. Whats the story with non students getting into the SU during rag week? Can I sign a few in anytime? Id imagine the SU to start the morning and when the youngsters start screeching at eachother and falling around the place then head up to the roost where the rest of us can continue with the shots until its time for a snooze in the corner. There is a bunch of 24 year old ones working in town asking me with a look of desperation in their eyes when rag week is on.

AFAIK, you can sign 1 person in yourself but you could always sign someone in, leave and then sign another person in. Or just ask someone in the queue to sign the rest of your non-student friends in, can't imagine anyone wouldn't do it for you.

My plan for monday is to drink in the SU during the day, go home, eat, shower, drink some more and then head out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

Music Soc is hosting a Chartity Concert in Logic House on the Tuesday, and a Grade-1-Athon over the whole week.

How do you sign up for the Grade 1-athon thing? One of my friends really wants to do it, but she has no idea about what to do.

I'm not allowed drink with the stupid tablets I'm on, going to be a fun week for me!

Tell her to send her information (ie instrument, teacher etc.) to music@nuimsu.com. Plenty of room left. :)

Let's have a boardsie water balloon fight for charity. Everyone we hit has to fork out 50 quid for charity, or we'll beat them with sticks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Red_Niamh

Anyone going in the dunk tank? I did it two years in a row and this year's excuse is that I'd dye the water red & that just wouldn't do! :o

Would love to see some seriously creative ideas for fundraising.. kinda like those vodafone knitting ads but not quite so lame...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭TheeItcha

LeixlipRed wrote: »
    The RAG cup is impossible to organise without the canteen. No passing trade out that way and a lack of advertising elsewhere meant only 4 teams entered last year. Such a pity as I'd played in it every year since 2002 and won it in 2007, was a great means of raising money.

Wigan jerseys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭ScissorPaperRock

Let's have a boardsie water balloon fight for charity. Everyone we hit has to fork out 50 quid for charity, or we'll beat them with sticks.

Harsh, but fair. I like it.

You're first! *CHARGES*

No no, it's ok. I can help you collect.

THIS IS ROZAAAAAAAAAAAABEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

*Throws water balloons*

THIS IS ROZAAAAAAAAAAAABEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

*Throws water balloons*

You know, now that I have had to chance to get some perspective on this, it seems rather unreasonable. First you get hit by water baloons, then you have to pay €50 under threat of being beaten by sticks. Not a good day for those involved.

TheeItcha wrote: »
    Wigan jerseys?

Nope, no jersies. We won it naked :D

You know, now that I have had to chance to get some perspective on this, it seems rather unreasonable. First you get hit by water baloons, then you have to pay €50 under threat of being beaten by sticks. Not a good day for those involved.

Someone's clearly TRYING to get himself banned. What do you think this is, some sort of discussion board where we allow people to have opinions? Pffffft!! *Tightens the shackles*

Roz is going mad with power! Time for a coup! We must end this reign of terror and oppression!

Who's with me????!!!!

Right behind you!!!

*hides*

irish_goat wrote: »

*hides*

Guerrilla warfare tactics, ingenius! She will never expect an ambush!

In other news, the SU have switched €3 drinks day from Monday to Thursday for Rag Week! Bastids!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

In other news, the SU have switched €3 drinks day from Monday to Thursday for Rag Week! Bastids!
    God dammit, I won't have any money left after the gathering, stupid twats :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

I have no idea why they did this!
    The only thing I can think of is to make more money or to try and stop everyone from getting into the trad RAG week psyche.

Who's going to the SU Monday morning? :D

There has never been €3 in the SU on the Monday of RAG Week, nothing's changed! It has always been the Thursday! :-)

Red_Niamh wrote: »
    There has never been €3 in the SU on the Monday of RAG Week, nothing's changed! It has always been the Thursday! :-)

We'll have less of your facts! :p

Ahh! Ok, I just haven't gotten the hang of this yet - rumour and conjecture only??!

Right so, I hear from a good source in the SU that they have resurrected Kurt Cobain and Micheal Jackson for The Gathering... obviously both playing different stages! :P

The Plebs play the Newtown Inn on Tuesday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Madworld

The Law Society will be doing an Iron Stomach Competition in the S.U. on Monday during the day

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=331878082250

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Madworld wrote: »
    The Law Society will be doing an Iron Stomach Competition in the S.U. on Monday during the day

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=331878082250
    Sour milk and dog food? Please. At least make it a challenge!!

The Plebs put on a good show and they will probably knock the pints down to E3 again.

I'll be on the water, but I'm seeing them at a 21st next weekend too woot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

I'm going to head over to the SU tomorrow evening prob...I'm super smashed so lack of €3 drinks may mean naggin in the bag! But ah the things you gotta do! Better not be bag checking all week! I'll give money to charity not for booze!
    i quite like the idea of attacking people with water balloons and sticks...but once I get to be the attacker not the attackee!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

kellief wrote: »
    I'm going to head over to the SU tomorrow evening prob...I'm super smashed so lack of €3 drinks may mean naggin in the bag! But ah the things you gotta do! Better not be bag checking all week! I'll give money to charity not for booze!
    i quite like the idea of attacking people with water balloons and sticks...but once I get to be the attacker not the attackee!!

They will be most definitely checking bags. They generally have a check point you have to go through where they check your student ID and then search your bag. You're not even allowed bottles of water let alone booze I think.

I'll be around O'Neills or Mantra tomorrow woot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,960 ✭✭✭allandanyways

*Dons Scrooge hat and prepares to be miserable for the whole week*

Too much work and not enough money/time to be getting arseholed all week. I actually don't think I'll even make it out in the evenings. Definately not looking forward to the usual first years falling about the place getting sick everywhere after drinking far too much vodski (that was not me getting "removed" from the SU in first year, I swear :cool:) and inevitable arsehole-ness of drunk people on campus. I never feel safe walking to the bus stop after dark during RAG week.

Anyway all you youngins (and oldies) have fun... if anybody's looking for me I'll be the miserable one trying to study and giving out about the state of the campus and the noise...

Ah A&A don't feel bad I'm only going out tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

They will be most definitely checking bags.

Where there's a will there's a way... ;)
    Yeah remember this last year, although all they ever seemed to check were bags! Not coats or pockets or anything. Can't wait for 11 tomorrow :D