Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Glass collectors in nightclubs

• 22-02-2010 9:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭

I noticed some one posted a thread on toilet attendants and reminded me of the glass collectors on the floor of nigtclubs and bars had one inccident with a fellow who kept trying to take my half full pint off me. What do yo make of them any funny storys involving one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

I worked as one briefly as extra Christmas staff last year.

Horrible job, to be honest.. Drunken guys kept grabbing me by the waist of my jeans and pulling me back towards them while I had to try to make sure I didn't drop two full stacks of glasses. People bump into you all the time and shove you around and spill their drink down your shirt (sometimes on purpose), it's a complete nightmare when you're trying not to break anything and you're a slim 5'5". Nobody really has any respect for glass collectors. A couple times I saw empty glasses that I tried to take and people kept shouting at me and getting in my face for it because I didn't see the pint bottle of Bulmers beside them in the dark. If I saw it was empty, I would take it.. it's my job. And you're meant to be quick and unnoticeable and to not bother anyone and take any and all abuse you get.. which can be an awful lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

I used to be a glass collector - dirty disgusting job:(
    This was back in the time when smoking was allowed inside, nothing scummier than a pint that's been used as an ashtray. It was also required at the time for nite-clubs to give out free food. We had a big tray of chicken curry and rice. It wasn't touched for over a month (nobody ever wanted any!), it was the smell that eventually got our attention.
    Trying to walk through a packed club with stacks of glasses was fun as well - some ignorant cnuts trying to trip you up and push you around:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I worked as a glass collector in my first official payed job when I was in fifth year. Collecting glasses in a moderately large pub/nightclub was horrible.

Drunken idiots trying to knock the glasses out of your hands/tray was a constant annoyance. And then there was the people who thought it would be cool to trip you up. Twats. One night some prik headbutted me. Thankfully it was my last night there and so I punched him square in the nose. Him and his mates weren't laughing then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Jesus, Glass Collectors Anonymous in here or what? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Don't have an issue with glass collectors. Yeah, sometimes they try to take a glass with drink still in it, but you don't have to act the prick when they do. They have little to gain from taken the saliva-laden contents at the bottom of your glass. Plus if I want a table cleared, they're useful to have around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

I don't mind glass collectors, I try to help by gathering the glasses together so that they're ready for them by the time they come around ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

So it's not just bouncers being complained about anymore?

It's those supposedly Jumped up glass collecters? Fcuk off like, complaining about an absolute nothing now.

I kinda have to wonder at the OP, can't see a glass collector being motivated enough to take a half pint off someone as that would make their job more difficult in carrying. I smell a rat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

m@cc@ wrote: »
    I kinda have to wonder at the OP, can't see a glass collector being motivated enough to take a half pint off someone as that would make their job more difficult in carrying. I smell a rat.

what would I gain from lying think about it:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i like the glass collectors aka floor staff. i always thank them and gather the glasses for them, their job is $hitty enought without people being cnuts to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

liah wrote: »
    Nobody really has any respect for glass collectors.

I don't mean this in a bad way, but that sentence really made me laugh :)

lcrcboy wrote: »
    what would I gain from lying think about it:rolleyes:

So you could add creedence to your story, when really you were just being a c*** to the glass collector.

SoulTrader wrote: »
    I don't mean this in a bad way, but that sentence really made me laugh :)

actually pi$$ing myself here, hilarious! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

DONT ****ING EVER pick my glass up and try and take it away if there is so much as a drop of drink left in it, especially if its Guinness - that last bit where its a bit of the froth and a bit of the black stuff is delish, just because I've ordered another Guinness dont swipe the last one off the table. Jesus.

Glass collectors are morons.

So you could add creedence to your story, when really you were just being a c*** to the glass collector.

you know I could have and probally should have but I was interested in other peoples opinion

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

I started working as one when I was 15. Tough aul job when I look back at it. The worst part for me was the start of the night when there were feck all customers and ye had to walk around aimlessly so that ye looked busy. Sometimes ye got a good laugh, sometimes ye got stuck in the middle of a huge fight just as yer on the way back to the kitchen with arms full of glasses and bottles.

I hated carrying glasses that had aftershock in them -t'was a woeful sticky mess and the glass would try slip from yer fingers.

I also had to clean the toilets, clean up sick, sweep the carpets... all for £25 a night!

thebanana wrote: »
    DONT ****ING EVER pick my glass up and try and take it away if there is so much as a drop of drink left in it, especially if its Guinness - that last bit where its a bit of the froth and a bit of the black stuff is delish, just because I've ordered another Guinness dont swipe the last one off the table. Jesus.

Generic messages like that don't really work on an internet forum, maybe if you were at a glass collector convention, they might remember your face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Or you could just be a decent Human being and tell them "sorry mate, I'm gonna finish that"

Or how about this, DON'T Leave a drop in the glass. To call them a moron for your apparently moronic behaviour isn't very nice!

Generic messages like that don't really work on an internet forum, maybe if you were at a glass collector convention, they might remember your face.

Had you read the entire thread you would have seen there is glass collectors here.

while I do dislike the when I get a glass taken when I havent finished with it Im not going to argue that its not a tough job, those lads earn their money and probally deserve more

Or you could just be a decent Human being and tell them "sorry mate, I'm gonna finish that"

Or how about this, DON'T Leave a drop in the glass. To call them a moron for your apparently moronic behaviour isn't very nice!

Not how Guinness works, you order a new pint of the stuff as your on the last quarter of your pint because Guinness takes a few minutes to pour, the last quarter in the glass keeps you going until your fresh pint arrives. Have turned around several times to find my glass swiped.

Thats my point, they are morons.

Had you read the entire thread you would have seen there is glass collectors here.

Unless they have superpowers that I don't know about, they won't see you in the flesh. You could be any ****er.

at first i thought you were being funny, but you are actually a moron :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Damien1989

Not how Guinness works, you order a new pint of the stuff as your on the last quarter of your pint because Guinness takes a few minutes to pour, the last quarter in the glass keeps you going until your fresh pint arrives. Have turned around several times to find my glass swiped.

Thats my point, they are morons.

So you just paint every glass collector with the same brush? Moronic!

at first i thought you were being funny, but you are actually a moron :rolleyes:

Hey thanks for the personal abuse.

These glass collectors, some of them are far too trigger happy when it comes to collecting, just dont take my gd drink off me.

I can see the strike now...

What do we want?

Better working conditions for glass collectors

just dont take my gd drink off me.

I'd say they're doing you a favour.

Hey thanks for the personal abuse.

These glass collectors, some of them are far too trigger happy when it comes to collecting, just dont take my gd drink off me.

If i was working in a bar and you were being a dick, i'd nab your drink eveytime your back was turned just to piss you off. Revenge.

Have some Respect for the glass collector and maybe you'll get to finish your pint in peace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I'd say they're doing you a favour.

Glass collectors collect empty glasses.

AA members take full pints away from you on sight.

He's probably just confusing the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ConmanTheKiller

You know whats really annoying, idiots ordering more drinks after they made their orders , thinking that they can screw with my float and leave me short at the end of the shift, backstards the lot of them.

o1s1n wrote: »
    AA members take full pints away from you on sight.

He he, reminds me of a great clip.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3338/3422688198_a348a459a4.jpg

Father Ted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Glass collectors are the scum of the earth. They should be drowned like dogs.

Damien1989 wrote: »
    Father Ted?

Yeah.:cool:

You obviously have very low criteria for defining scum.

*Only if they swipe your drink you mean?

Ah no **** it, lets kill em all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

thebanana,

Stop acting like a moron.

Don't pull the "personal abuse" crap with me. You called glass collectors morons. There are some in this thread. Either way it doesn't matter to me.

If I was going to class it as abuse, its a very mild form of abuse.

You were pushing a reaction from people. You got it.

Ah no **** it, lets kill em all!

If you could gather the brain cells.

Glass collectors have a horrible job. They deserve a lot of respect.

I urge the Government to make funds available for the construction of death camps to house these glass collectors, these pests.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I did this in a big nightclub..but it was posh enough...I had a great time tbh..but as people said it's not a nice job...I just knew most the people so had a good laugh with them..and got some good music and drinks in, if I didn't it would have been pretty horrible. people complain to you about the randomest things..and want you to get them drinks and w/e.
    Pink polo shirt was also not a plus.:P

Rabies wrote: »
    thebanana,

Stop acting like a moron.

Don't pull the "personal abuse" crap with me. You called glass collectors morons. There are some in this thread. Either way it doesn't matter to me.

If I was going to class it as abuse, its a very mild form of abuse.

You were pushing a reaction from people. You got it.

****ing rich, I got banned from here for suggesting someone was being a "toolbox" once.

Hey mod, your a moron.

Wait, I'll be banned for that, but the person who said it to me wont.

Watch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

cson wrote: »
    I can see the strike now...

What do we want?

Better working conditions for glass collectors

http://oceanfm.ie/news/2010/02/11/envy-staff-vote-in-favour-of-strike-action/

****ing rich, I got banned from here for suggesting someone was being a "toolbox" once.

Hey mod, your a moron.

Watch.

You just read what you wanted to there, didn't you? Anyhows, all the best.

Hey mod, your a moron.

Watch.

DONT DO IT!

NNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Hey mod, your a moron.

Watch.
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/banlist.php

Any minute now, folks.

You just read what you wanted to there, didn't you? Anyhows, all the best.

/yawn internet tough guy, go back to the youtube comments section.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hey mod, your a moron.

Watch.
    And you should be.
    Don't come back any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Hey mod, your a moron.

Watch.

Why would I do that?
    I already said its a mild form of abuse.

If I did ban you then you'd get what you want and will run to Feedback or the Help Desk.

I like playing with trolls.
    Go play with a dead fish.

Run along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Hey mod, your a moron.

Watch.

Banned for arguing with mod on-thread warning and trolling.

/yawn internet tough guy, go back to the youtube comments section.

What are you talking about? Come and say that to my face and I'll kick your arse.

Rabies wrote: »
    Why would I do that?
    I already said its a mild form of abuse.

If I did ban you then you'd get what you want and will run to Feedback or the Help Desk.

I like playing with trolls.
    Go play with a dead fish.

Run along.
    TheZohan wrote: »
    Banned for arguing with mod on-thread warning and trolling.

Teh powa conflickts.... :eek: