Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rag Week 2010

• 22-02-2010 2:24pm

MONDAY
    12PM Djs in the NubRa all day
    1PM Dunk the SU | Dunk Tank in the NuBar
    2PM Toy Races in NuBar
    8PM Poker Tournament in Old Bar
    8PM NuBar Drown Drama

TUESDAY
    12PM DJ in NuBar all day
    12...PM Inflatables outside
    1PM Kareoke NuBar
    4PM Hypnotist Old Bar
    DJ's in NuBar

WEDNESDAY

Raise And Give BALL aka Life-Wired Festival 2010

12 HOURS
    14 ACTS
    YOU

This is the BIGGEST event on Campus this year. A full day of music. This is what will happen!

There are two stages, the Venue and the Old Bar. Both will be running simultaneously and will have acts on all day. Each band will play for approximately 1hr and 20 minutes so you will have loads of time to experience your favorite acts.

Outside on the green there will be a marquee with a few acoustic sets brought to you by Phantom Fm, Who will be broadcasting live from the festival. Also Outside we have a Wii tent where you can play to your hearts content, and a merchandise stand where you can get the official gear for all the bands and also the Life-wired Festival T-shirt.There will also be a silent disco outside.

GET YOUR TICKETS TODAY!! IT PROMISES TO BE AN EVENT TO REMEMBER!!!

STUDENT TICKETS E25
    NON STUDENT E30

THURSDAY

6PM Blind Date with Style Soc in NuBar
    8PM Strictly Come Dancing
    Dance Soc teaches the SU how to dance!!!

So, what do ye think of it? Tbh, I have to say it's the least year that I have seen rag week advertised...but with the bar back at it's best, i'd say it will be a good one...
    Can't say that I am too excited about LifeWired though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 475 ✭✭manlad

Its a long line up but not a brilliant one bar a few acts. At the same time its raise and give week so maybe some of the money goes to charity I hope.

Its also Sligo's rag week this week as well so I think alot of people will head west as its usually a lot more popular.

Rag weeks as good as ya can make it urself. So llets hope it lives up to expectation and this ball is worth the 25 euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭carlowboy

12PM Djs in the NubRa all day
    I lolled :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

As a Masters student coming from another University, I can say that the first impressions are quite poor. I'd give it 2/10 on the banter scale. Having said that its a fine line between having an enjoyable week and multiple arrests in other colleges.

Hopefully it'll improve as the week goes on, but I'd be sceptical going on the year so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

hardybuck wrote: »
    As a Masters student coming from another University, I can say that the first impressions are quite poor. I'd give it 2/10 on the banter scale. Having said that its a fine line between having an enjoyable week and multiple arrests in other colleges.

Hopefully it'll improve as the week goes on, but I'd be sceptical going on the year so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

Dareday is taking place today at 4pm. It's a photo scavenger hunt. You're given a list of tasks to photograph. Teams consist of 2 players each and entry is €2 per person. Bring a camera or a cameraphone. Tasks range anywhere from do a good deed to swap clothes with someone of the opposite sex.

If you want to sign up head to the Hub and look for the Redbrick table. It's located right next to the NuBar.

Or you can adopt your very own red brick for €1. All proceeds from the game and this go to the Ragweek charities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

robby^5 wrote: »

What's so :rolleyes: about that? I'm not surprised Rag Week could leave such a poor impression on incoming students, especially when you would be able to compare to other places.

Daysha wrote: »
    What's so :rolleyes: about that? I'm not surprised Rag Week could leave such a poor impression on incoming students, especially when you would be able to compare to other places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

The inflateables today were great craic until it started to snow! Not too sure about those (very) amateur musicians in the hub though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

phasers wrote: »
    Not too sure about those (very) amateur musicians in the hub though...

why do they keep letting a bunch of plebs play there? no one wants to hear it.

Great argument, well done.
    phasers wrote: »
    The inflateables today were great craic until it started to snow! Not too sure about those (very) amateur musicians in the hub though...

Yeah those guys did my head in. I'm all for livening the place up around campus but there's a difference between good music and someone constantly banging on a drum for no reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Urizen

It was the 'Pick up a guitar' thing. You were bound to get randomers thinking they're the next Brian May mangling the poor defenceless instruments. At least the ones Music Soc sent were actually playing recognisable tunes, and some randomers turned out to be pretty good.

Too loud at times though, someone started messing with the amps around 2 or 3, resounding through the whole building. And I mean WHOLE building, I was in the SU, 3 walls away.

The inflatables were fun, if cold. And the SU don't control the weather... Or DO they?

... :rolleyes:

check and mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Urizen wrote: »

The inflatables were fun, if cold. And the SU don't control the weather... Or DO they?
    :eek::eek:

I felt bad for the guys putting them away during the mini blizzard :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭mehfesto

Is there a timetable knocking about for when the bands are on? Some I wanna see-some notsomuch.

Anyway I've had my lolz...a legitimate answer would be that dont you think it's a little early to be judging rag week (KEYWORD: WEEK) a success/failure at 8pm on Day One? Which was before Day One even ended.

If you do then I have only one thing to say to you good sir and that is :rolleyes:

I'm a veteran of many a Rag, on many a campus. I genuinely don't think those who've only gone to college in Dulin fully appreciate what a proper Rag Week entails! Normally the first couple of days the place should be hopping. Now you'll notice I said first impressions were poor-and they certainly were. Until today, which in fairness was well organised, the bar was fairly quiet, people were only copping on that it was rag week, and there was feck all buzz off campus-but i fairness thats pretty normal here.

I've dozens of colleagues coming from other Universities natiowide, and we're all saying the same thing.

So you're basically complaining because Dublin colleges are civilised and place some emphasis on learning?

Bollocks, maybe we should all start marrying our cousins.

I'm a veteran of many a Rag, on many a campus. I genuinely don't think those who've only gone to college in Dulin fully appreciate what a proper Rag Week entails! Normally the first couple of days the place should be hopping. Now you'll notice I said first impressions were poor-and they certainly were. Until today, which in fairness was well organised, the bar was fairly quiet, people were only copping on that it was rag week, and there was feck all buzz off campus-but i fairness thats pretty normal here.

I've dozens of colleagues coming from other Universities natiowide, and we're all saying the same thing.

Honestly I have to admit I think you're idea of a rag week would be awful. It seems to me like you're expecting everyone to be in some sort of amped up alchohol induced frenzy just because it's rag week. There's plenty of events on, the bar doesnt need to be packed for people to be having fun elsewhere. (eg. GamesSoc had it's Rag Week event in Matt Weldons off-campus)

Fair enough, I like to have a drink too but imo it's better for the students if the craziness is mostly contained to the one big night of the rag ball or otherwise actually attending college to learn for the week would be unbearable.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Honestly I have to admit I think you're idea of a rag week would be awful. It seems to me like you're expecting everyone to be in some sort of amped up alchohol induced frenzy just because it's rag week. There's plenty of events on, the bar doesnt need to be packed for people to be having fun elsewhere. (eg. GamesSoc had it's Rag Week event in Matt Weldons off-campus)

Fair enough, I like to have a drink too but imo it's better for the students if the craziness is mostly contained to the one big night of the rag ball or otherwise actually attending college to learn for the week would be unbearable.

Careful now. Down with that sort of thing. For Gods sake your only young once. There will be plenty of tea parties to attend in a few years when you graduate.

So you're basically complaining because Dublin colleges are civilised and place some emphasis on learning?

Bollocks, maybe we should all start marrying our cousins.

You've never attended the Trinity Ball I take it?

Careful now. Down with that sort of thing. For Gods sake your only young once. There will be plenty of tea parties to attend in a few years when you graduate.

Tea Parties? I wouldnt be attending such events. I'm not a conservative nor a republican ;)

As I said I like a drink every now and then, but you can have fun in places other than a bar.
    monument wrote: »

hardybuck wrote:

You've never attended the Trinity Ball I take it?

Duuuurrrr?

As I said I like a drink every now and then, but you can have fun in places other than a bar.

Agreed, and I even agree with you that this whole emphasis on one night is good as well, but it's the lack of these "fun" events other than a bar that makes our Rag Week fall shorter than others imo. Take a look at UCCs timetable for their Rag Week a while ago and tell me that's not better than what we had organised this year.

http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/6550/a0final1.png

I know even back in Waterford IT they had much more events, both with and without alcohol, than what we got. And they were both lightyears ahead of this years in terms of advertising it as well.

like hanging out with game soc or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

Agreed, and I even agree with you that this whole emphasis on one night is good as well, but it's the lack of these "fun" events other than a bar that makes our Rag Week fall shorter than others imo. Take a look at UCCs timetable for their Rag Week a while ago and tell me that's not better than what we had organised this year.

http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/6550/a0final1.png

I know even back in Waterford IT they had much more events, both with and without alcohol, than what we got. And they were both lightyears ahead of this years in terms of advertising it as well.

If you look at that calendar you'll notice that a lot of the events appear to be run by societies, not the SU. Why not run some events next year if you feel that the college is lacking in RAGweek activities?

Attol wrote: »
    If you look at that calendar you'll notice that a lot of the events appear to be run by societies, not the SU. Why not run some events next year if you feel that the college is lacking in RAGweek activities?

This.

There were lots of society events that werent advertised by our SU (it seems that UCC's SU advertised society events as well as their own events) two I know of are JapSoc's attempt to make 1,000 origami cranes and the GamesSoc chairty game launch. I'm pretty sure most societies put on some sort of rag week event, maybe the SU should have a broader advertising campagin next year? Colloborate with clubs and socs a little more so that their events are well advertised and they can raise loads of money.

UCC has a larger student population than DCU so I wouldnt be suprised if they ran more events. But the amount of events doesnt say anything about the overall quality of the week itself. On paper any Rag Week will look like fun.

Yeah or doing two degrees at once or something :rolleyes:

But in the end if the scale of the banter in DCU is 2/10 I'd much prefer that to: http://sligoweekender.com/news/story/?trs=mhsnsnqlau&cat=news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭Arquinsiel

You've clearly never hung out with any gamers. Ever. At all. Please don't talk about things you have no idea about, it makes you look silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Hauk

I like tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

I know of are JapSoc's attempt to make 1,000 origami cranes and the

Is that what those guys in the street were doing? Why didn't they have a sign they just looked like 2 crazy people doing it for the laugh. Actually no they were sitting in front of a sign for a J1 so they looked like people from go4less or something.

Arquinsiel wrote: »
    You've clearly never hung out with any gamers.

There's a reason for that.

I'll go out on a limb and say that reason is "they can't stand you".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Blome

Indeed it's a highly controlled and restricted anti-campaign.

Only when the alcohol takes affect do things get freaky and the populace can release their tension.

Let's get over ourselves and enjoy

Raise and Give 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭public_enemy

What is RAG Week without E&S? :(

It's RAG week... but with 50% less fraud and 80% more lulz.

I have to commend GamesSoc for a pretty original RAG week idea...a good money spinner and a good way to market the soc...

Question: Why was there so many Style Soc Events?
    Question: Why was the rag ball 12 hours even though DCU student have full lectures for the week? (Moxegen was a great idea last year but this was too much this year...)
    Question: Which bear is best?
    Question: Where was the buzz around campus that was there last year? There wasn't even the speakers outside...

I propose starting a DCU Macra to sort this rag week shenanigans out...time to show the jackeens...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Question: Which bear is best?

Do you mean bar, or are you talking about actual bears :D
    [img]http://stuff.thechrisd.com/pics/Baby Bear Motivation.jpg[/img]
    Find him around campus Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays!

TheChrisD wrote: »
    Do you mean bar, or are you talking about actual bears :D

Find him around campus Mondays, Wednesdays and Thursdays!

False. Black Bear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 lollzypop

Pics of the Rag Ball / 'Life wired festival' up here...

http://www.oxygen.ie/scripts/xposed/gallery.php?g=155

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭Urizen

Actually, the SU bear was conspicuously absent this week...

Baby Bear I believe collided with my head at some point and ran for a committee position in Paranormal Society. Big week for him! He wins seven internets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Urizen wrote: »
    Baby Bear I believe collided with my head at some point and ran for a committee position in Paranormal Society.

And he very damn nearly won :P