Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf needs Poulter

• 22-02-2010 1:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭

big win yesterday
    I'd say the PGA were well happy with the weekend overall
    lucky for them that the plank casey messed up
    Poulter is slowly but surely positioning himself as the saviour of world golf
    charismatic, colourful and talented
    I am sure there is a major in him this year
    I also feel he is being groomed to fill the void left by tiger and the pga are doing everything they can to promote the bloke
    recent appearances on leno and letterman was perfectly crafted to multiply his appeal across the US

watch out for a battle between big phil (and/or anthony kim) and poulter during this season in one of the big four

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

Good man Conno, will you be breaking out the IP armbands for the season ahead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭ozymandias10

conno16 wrote: »
    big win yesterday

switched off when I read that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Where to begin...
    big win yesterday
    Yes indeed. Seems like he's been a nearly man to date.
    I'd say the PGA were well happy with the weekend overall
    I'm sure they were delighted there were 3 Europeans and a Colombian in the final 4.
    lucky for them that the plank casey messed up
    Why is he a plank, how did he mess up and why is it lucky for them that he (according to you) messed up?
    Bit much mate? You think golf is in its death throes because Tiger Woods isn't playing temporarily? Even if it was how is a boring player like Poulter going to be a saviour?
    charismatic, colourful and talented
    He is colourful. Charismatic? I don't agree - if you took away his 'colour' (i.e. dressed him like the others) he wouldn't be any more charismatic. Talented? Sure. But aren't they all?
    I am sure there is a major in him this year
    Put your money where your mouth is. The bookies don't seem to agree with you so there is a big chance for you to clean up.
    I also feel he is being groomed to fill the void left by tiger and the pga are doing everything they can to promote the bloke
    Oh yeah? Like what?
    recent appearances on leno and letterman was perfectly crafted to multiply his appeal across the US
    Were the PGA responsible for setting these up?
    watch out for a battle between big phil (and/or anthony kim) and poulter during this season in one of the big four
    Ok, thanks for the heads-up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

goodman conno its never the glass is half full or half empty with you. Its just whats in the glass;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

No way.
    He just got lucky and hacked his was to victory
    It was a shyte field.
    No tiger, No Phil.
    One win in the states means nothing.
    A load of flukey putts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

poulter played superbly all wkend in my opinion
    dominant in all his matches

he is precisely the type of player to lead golf out of the doldrums
    if the pga can manufacture a major win for poulter i feel he could really take charge of the sport

US open looks like a good bet right now
    just follow some US media to see how this bloke is being promoted - SI.com, CBS in particular
    hes got some serious firepower behind him right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

I think he's great for the game, I'm sure we can all put up with the odd silly comment. He spoke very professionally when interviewed after each round and his on course commentary is a nice insight.

Having only started watching golf in the past 6 months the interviews last week were a welcome relief compared to same in football and to a less extent rugby.

Cink's admission to a complete yardage miscalculation being the highlight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

if the pga can manufacture a major win for poulter i feel he could really take charge of the sport
    but surely then he wont be in charge. The pga would be and could decide whoever is their flavor of the month.
    Classic conno shear classic

Whyner wrote: »
    He spoke very professionally when interviewed after each round and his on course commentary is a nice insight.

Having only started watching golf in the past 6 months the interviews last week were a welcome relief compared to same in football and to a less extent rugby.

Back on a serious note, one thing I noticed was quite a definitive Poulter moment, was in the lunch break between the QF and SF, Sky interviewed each caddie. Presumably given the short break, they (rightly) didn't want to bother the players.

They only showed the Christian Donald (Casey's caddie/Luke's bro) interview, but when the rain stopped play, and they were stuck for something to show, they flung in the interview with Poulter's caddie.

The interview was about 30 seconds old before Poulter himself, obviously having noticed his bagman infront of the camera, entered stage right, diving in front of the camera with some useless question to the caddie like "did you change over the balls?"... all this while the interviewer/interviewee were mid conversation! Poulter, routing in his bag for some surely important item, turns to face the camera..."oh, hi there"... and proceeds to take over the interview. Brilliant!

scrubber72 wrote: »
    but surely then he wont be in charge. The pga would be and could decide whoever is their flavor of the month.
    Classic conno shear classic

think of it as a leg-up..
    poulter will win majors, no doubt
    but for golf, he needs to win at least one this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭jimjo

It was a shyte field.

Ah your having a laugh… it’s not April fool’s day already is it?!!

It was **** field was it? Granted Tiger & Phil weren’t there but I wouldn’t call the world’s top 64 (baring no.1 & no.3) competing a **** field.

Ah sure lets disregard Harrington’s two major wins in 2008 cause woods wasn’t in the field…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Miley Byrne

jimjo wrote: »

It was **** field was it? Granted Tiger & Phil weren’t there but I wouldn’t call the world’s top 64 (baring no.1 & no.3) competing a **** field.

Ah sure lets disregard Harrington’s two major wins in 2008 cause woods wasn’t in the field…

Think there might just have been a hint of irony in Sheet's post!!:rolleyes:

jimjo wrote: »

:P

yb28.jpg

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

but for golf, he needs to win at least one this year

Poulter winning does absolutely nothing for golf, the ratings plummeted when it turned out to be an all english final.

How anyone can think an arrogant, annoying, self promoting, english white guy winning anything is 'good for golf is beyond me.

From a business point of view Poulter winning was a disaster for the tournament, the sponsors, the broadcasters and golf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭gorfield

I think Ian fully deserved his win, im not a fan, but he outplayed all of his opponents despite being an unimpressive ball striker. This tells me he has the heart and self belief to win a major.
    He holes big putts under pressure- A vital tool when winning majors. I like him for augusta this year. Good on him last night, superb display.

copacetic wrote: »
    Poulter winning does absolutely nothing for golf.

How anyone can think an arrogant, annoying, self promoting, english white guy winning anything is 'good for golf is beyond me.

From a business point of view Poulter winning was a disaster for the tournament, the sponsors, the broadcasters and golf.

absolutely no logic or reasoning to any of the above

editing someones post in a direct quote is not considered normal behaviour conno. Especially going to
    the trouble of editing out a comma and inserting a full stop. The line you edited out:
    the ratings plummeted when it turned out to be an all english final.

is the key, all the rest follows. ( if you understand anything about the golf industry that is)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Squiggle

Poulter doesn't particularly excite me though I have nothing against him. I admire someone who turned pro while playing off 4 and getting as far as he has in the pro ranks. In general I find golf increasingly boring to watch tbh.

The line you edited out is the key, all the rest follows. ( if you understand anything about the golf industry that is)

apologies copa - ur dead right tho, the pga should have booted casey out in the semi for being too much of a plank
    the colombian bloke is far more colourful
    in fact, he could be an apprentice to IJP

back on topic though, it was not poulters fault the ratings were low
    pick it up with the casey marketing team
    the bloke is less interesting than pat kenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭BiffoGooner

the pga should have booted casey out in the semi for being too much of a plank

Oh dear.

Speaking of Pat Kenny.You're not the bloke that went mental at him live on air last year are you?Because you're obviously just as touched as that bloke.

apologies copa - ur dead right tho, the pga should have booted casey out in the semi for being too much of a plank
    the colombian bloke is far more colourful
    in fact, he could be an apprentice to IJP

back on topic though, it was not poulters fault the ratings were low
    pick it up with the casey marketing team

Really, surely the saviour of golf would bring in millions of viewers no matter who he was playing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

Really, surely the saviour of golf would bring in millions of viewers no matter who he was playing?

Though he grates on me I have to admit to a grudging respect for the guy. He's clearly not the most talented or exciting of players but he does know how to seal the deal.

I think he has a lot of followers of a young age, so if that brings more people to the game, all the better.

Their will never be another Tiger.

poulter is still a work-in-progress from the perspective of the pga
    he would admit that himself
    that is why they need to be a little creative re head-to-head battles on the final day of comps, in matchplay etc

Poulter needs to high profile duels with the following:
    1. big phil
    2. westwood
    3. kim
    4. harrington
    5. mcilroy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭stebed

I like the guy! I have been following him on twitter recently and he seems like a nice guy and his golf is really improving. Can he win a major? I think he can, probably a Masters or British open (due to length) and so what if he is the golfer people love to hate, do you think he would wear those clothes if he was bothered what the haters think?

Well done Poults!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

one stroke penalty !!........to all who replied to the trash talk

cvrfish.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

poulter played superbly all wkend in my opinion
    dominant in all his matches

he is precisely the type of player to lead golf out of the doldrums

US open looks like a good bet right now
    just follow some US media to see how this bloke is being promoted - SI.com, CBS in particular
    hes got some serious firepower behind him right now

Did you actually watch his match with Jaidee? You have to trolling...
    He could not have had a handier run to the final if he picked his own matches.

Poulter is a self obsessed gooner who will NOT win a major this year or any other for that matter.

Though he grates on me I have to admit to a grudging respect for the guy. He's clearly not the most talented or exciting of players but he does know how to seal the deal.

I think he has a lot of followers of a young age, so if that brings more people to the game, all the better.

Their will never be another Tiger.

I don't like him at all, but respect his efforts. However he is a nothing as far as bringing anything to table viewers wise in the big markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭mccutchie

Lads, let’s not get into a slagging match yet again. The topic here “Golf needs Poulter" is actually an interesting topic. As far as I'm concerned golf needs as many colorful characters as it can muster, and a guy like Poulter can only be good for the game from marketing - publicity perspective.
    I've never been a major fan, and sometimes his childish tantrums on coarse leave alot to be desired. This last 8 months though, Poulter has definitely become a better golfer and his short game as improved no end. Some of the shots he played around the green last night when under pressure to win his first tournament in the US were tiger-esque. I must admit it was the best i have seen Poulter play. If he plays like that at Augusta, he has a serious chance.
    I was very disappointed with Sergio’s attitude in the 3rd/4th place playoff.

mccutchie wrote: »
    Lads, let’s not get into a slagging match yet again. The topic here “Golf needs Poulter" is actually an interesting topic. As far as I'm concerned golf needs as many colorful characters as it can muster, and a guy like Poulter can only be good for the game from marketing - publicity perspective.
    I've never been a major fan, and sometimes his childish tantrums on coarse leave alot to be desired. This last 8 months though, Poulter has definitely become a better golfer and his short game as improved no end. Some of the shots he played around the green last night when under pressure to win his first tournament in the US were tiger-esque. I must admit it was the best i have seen Poulter play. If he plays like that at Augusta, he has a serious chance.
    I was very disappointed with Sergio’s attitude in the 3rd/4th place playoff.

Oh no you didnt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

I don't like him at all, but respect his efforts. However he is a nothing as far as bringing anything to table viewers wise in the big markets.

Only Tiger can do that. Mostly because of his background, race and success.

Actually, I'd suggest Ishikawa, Singh, Yang, Jaidee etc may be capable of bringing a lot of attention, just not in the US or Europe. Japan, Korea, Thailand, India and China, an increasingly significant market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭butter13222

No way.
    He just got lucky and hacked his was to victory
    It was a shyte field.
    No tiger, No Phil.
    One win in the states means nothing.
    A load of flukey putts.
    how do you fluke a tournement over 5 days please get a life , alot of people dont like poulter as a person but at least be big enough to give credit where it is due , so any tournement when tiger or phil arnt in are considered shyte bet if harrington won it you wouldnt be saying it was a shyte field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

how do you fluke a tournement over 5 days please get a life , alot of people dont like poulter as a person but at least be big enough to give credit where it is due , so any tournement when tiger or phil arnt in are considered shyte bet if harrington won it you wouldnt be saying it was a shyte field

The irony was lost on you......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Sheet will answer himself but I do believe that he was being sarcastic (unfortunately nobody has invented a font for sarcasm). Sheet was just "quoting" what the Poulter detractors might have said. Sometimes you've got to read other posts to get an understanding (I think he has been quite positive towards Poulter).......but an easy misunderstanding to make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

I think poulter's fantastic. If he plays to his potential, in a few years, it'll be just him and tiger.

Seriously, fair play to the lad, he's an eejit but we need colour in the sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭butter13222

stockdam wrote: »
    Sheet will answer himself but I do believe that he was being sarcastic (unfortunately nobody has invented a font for sarcasm). Sheet was just "quoting" what the Poulter detractors might have said. Sometimes you've got to read other posts to get an understanding (I think he has been quite positive towards Poulter).......but an easy misunderstanding to make.
    oops sorry about that i was just tierd of all the bad comments about poulter when he has proven to be a top class golfer.
    i would have to pic the one post that was being sarcastic lol

I love the way people say its was a bad final which the PGA didn’t want cause an American or more appropriately Tiger wasn’t in the final. If this whole ordeal tells me something it’s that they are over reliant on one person Tiger. Also regardless of who’s in the final the attendance was pitiful. Good blog here by Ian Carter.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/iaincarter/2010/02/poulte_into_the_big_time_at_en.html

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

On Twitter:
    "Do you think i should rock the pink pants tomorrow with Big Phil, im sure the crowd at 16 will have something to say... do i dare, hell yes"

He's the real deal ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

As i say he adds colour...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

Definitely should stick to the golf. His tweets and his column for one of the golf mags are cringe-inducing. He writes like Jedward talk, except less intelligently.

what has tiger ever written?
    or big phil.

granted harro has prob written a few accountancy manuals in his day but they dont really count

so Myksyk, whats your point

the conclusion of this thread is that clearly golf needs poulter
    and poulter is more than capable of responding to the challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭L.O.F.T

And his capable response is
    T95 Ian Poulter +1 first round, 10 shots off the lead.
    His consistency needs to improve for him to be recognised as a force to be reckoned with in world golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

L.O.F.T wrote: »
    His consistency needs to improve for him to be recognised as a force to be reckoned with in world golf.

Zingggggggggggg...lol

ah, the phoenix open...
    thats for b-list golfers
    watch lowry and darren clarke tear up the field

poulter has already pretty much said he's gonna keep himself tuned up for the majors. they are his focus now.

or big phil.

granted harro has prob written a few accountancy manuals in his day but they dont really count

The real conclusion of this thread is that you obviously need to adjust your meds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭Myksyk

or big phil.

Phil, Phil
    Tiger

That Ian is a very poor scribe.

I agree. Golf is so serious these days that it's always good to have someone to laugh at now and again.
    ah, the phoenix open...
    thats for b-list golfers
    watch lowry and darren clarke tear up the field

So you agree he's so inconsistent that he can't even figure in a field of b-list golfers.

Eh ... hoist ...own ...petard.

my point is that poulter has entered the top tier of world golfers
    he cant be assed with the likes of phoenix now, bigger fish to fry
    its not inconsistency, its arrogance

face up to it, poulter is carrying golf in a lot of respects right now
    if he was oirish, most of ye would be creamin ye'reselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭ozymandias10

if he was oirish, most of ye would be creamin ye'reselves

You are begining to talk like him now..well done..

L.O.F.T wrote: »

And he goes and shots a faultless 63, -8. After watching him yesterday must say I didn't think he had that in the locker. T9 at the moment some change from T95!

Twitter quote: Oh well 8 under today little shock to the system, could have been really low today, I will take it for sure, back in the hunt to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭nuts86

anyone see that sneaky signal he gave the crowd on 16 there??? i wonder what he'l be tweeting about after this round!!!:D
    Gas man