Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paying for skydives and holidays in the name of charity

• 22-02-2010 1:02pm

Skydives etc. and volunteering abroad are two things people often collect money for.. I fully support when engineers/builders and doctors/nurses go to poor places in Africa or Haiti but other than that, I don’t really think it’s right. If you want to do a skydive, save the few hundred euro yourself imo.
    Too much of the time, it’s a blatant “you pay for my fun” money collecting exercise and in these cases, I think people’s donations to charity could be better put to use.

At the moment, I’m working and saving to go to a country where I’ll hopefully teach English as a means to support myself if needed. I know a few people collecting money to go to the same country to “volunteer” but they have no skills that could help anything really. At least if they were going to Haiti, it’d be ok but this country has a massive tourism industry keeping it going.
    It's one of the most beautiful places in the world and I'm sure the conversation started with "where will we go this summer? and where will we get the money?".. not "will we do charity work? and where most needs our help?".

Makes me wonder why I’m trying to pay for the trip myself. What are peoples thoughts on this type of charity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

Well assuming that the charity gets what was promised, I dont see a problem.

In the case of a skydive etc, they get the money raised so everyone's a winner.
    In the case of getting paid to go on a trip, I think it depends on the people doing it.
    If I knew the person going over was committed to helping and making a difference I'd be all for it, if they just wanted to do it for the craic then I'd say they're cheating people out of their money and the charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

two of my frriends are volunteering this summer, they're trying to fundraise so they can go. i don't really see the problem with it. they are going over to try to help the best they can, in anyway. you don't need to be a nurse/teacher to help out.

and they're not like, omg, holidays! if they wanted a holiday, they'd go on one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

If you don't agree then dont sponsor them.

I'm not funnily enough.. What's that got to do with the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

I remember looking into it a while back and it was 350 for the skydive lessons and a skydive if you pay for it yourself, while it's 550 if you do it for charity. It says they expect you to pay the 350 yourself while you raise the other 200 for charity. So I assume that only 200 of the money you raise (or more if you raise over 550) goes to charity. I'd say that people will be turned off the idea of a skydive for charity if they realise they're supposed to cough up 350 of their own money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I wouldn't feel comfortable asking people to give me money so I can go off on a holiday in the name of charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

By that same logic you can lump in guys who always fancied getting a leg waxing but felt they needed to tack a charity to it to give the event some gravity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

I collected €4,500 for the National Council of the Blind by doing a Skydive. The money paid to the skydive company is minimal and the rest goes to charity. Whats wrong with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

These charity things need grunts though. It only takes one architect to design the house 1 or 2 skilled people to do the skilled labor and grunts to do all the **** work inbetween. I'm sure it's mostly a way of getting money more than anything, give a a young person a cause and they'll run after it doing all the hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭tootired

Totally disagree with the notion of sposoring someone so they can go on a "trek in Peru" for some Irish charity. Surely the money for flights, accommadation(which would be a lot of money) can be used for actual charity work and not for putting someones bum on a plane seat to go on a walking holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

A few in my company did the Keith Duffy Machu Pichu climb last year. I couldn't come around to donating to them.

When they came back after their week away, they were going on about how tough it was while having the times of their lives. This then confirmed why I didn't sponsor them. Try living on the streets of Dublin for a week and see how tough it is. Try climbing Crough Patrick in the depths of Winter and see how tough it is.

I put my tenner into the Irish Autism Action charity box instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

I done a skydive for charity a few years ago,it was 400,200 of which we had to pay ourselves,think we raised near 4000 between the four of us.We met people who felt the same as OP did so we just gave them the name and address of the charity if they wanted to donate something themselves if they didnt so be it,we couldnt force them and didnt want them to feel pressured.

I dont see the problem as long as the charity gets its cash really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

Skydives etc. and volunteering abroad are two things people often collect money for.. I fully support when engineers/builders and doctors/nurses go to poor places in Africa or Haiti but other than that, I don’t really think it’s right. If you want to do a skydive, save the few hundred euro yourself imo.
    Too much of the time, it’s a blatant “you pay for my fun” money collecting exercise and in these cases, I think people’s donations to charity could be better put to use.

At the moment, I’m working and saving to go to a country where I’ll hopefully teach English as a means to support myself if needed. I know a few people collecting money to go to the same country to “volunteer” but they have no skills that could help anything really. At least if they were going to Haiti, it’d be ok but this country has a massive tourism industry keeping it going.
    It's one of the most beautiful places in the world and I'm sure the conversation started with "where will we go this summer? and where will we get the money?".. not "will we do charity work? and where most needs our help?".

Makes me wonder why I’m trying to pay for the trip myself. What are peoples thoughts on this type of charity?

You do know that when you sponsor somebody to do a sky dive that they pay for the sky dive also? The money raised is what is supposed to go directly to the charity. Not to fund the dive itself. It's the same for sponsored cycles in Spain or wherever.

And i've never come across anybody collecting money to fund their volunteering. I've seen people collecting for a volunteering organization that they have paid money to partake in and the money they collect goes to the organization which should give the money raised to the cause. It's not to fund their flights, accommodation or spending money.

The skydive thing I dont mind, but I drew the line at a woman who was doing a "5k sponsored walk" around her home town and was asking for a fiver from us at work, i politely told her to **** off as I wasnt giving her money to take a stroll around town, fcuk sake I walk 5k around my area a few nights a week

tootired wrote: »
    Totally disagree with the notion of sposoring someone so they can go on a "trek in Peru" for some Irish charity. Surely the money for flights, accommadation(which would be a lot of money) can be used for actual charity work and not for putting someones bum on a plane seat to go on a walking holiday.

Have you ever asked yourself how much was raised that went directly to the charity from these type of trips? If it wasn't benificial for the charity they wouldn't be doing it. Unfortunately, people need an incentive to raise or donate money and thats what these trips etc offer. Without them finances would be well short of where they need them to be.

krudler wrote: »
    The skydive thing I dont mind, but I drew the line at a woman who was doing a "5k sponsored walk" around her home town and was asking for a fiver from us at work, i politely told her to **** off as I wasnt giving her money to take a stroll around town, fcuk sake I walk 5k around my area a few nights a week

5 kilometres????? sure you'd clock that up walking round the house.
    was she immensely fat or something? was it extra hard for her to do it?

5 kilometres????? sure you'd clock that up walking round the house.
    was she immensely fat or something? was it extra hard for her to do it?

nope, your average middle aged woman, 15k would be something, but 5? pfft

I collected €4,500 for the National Council of the Blind by doing a Skydive. The money paid to the skydive company is minimal and the rest goes to charity. Whats wrong with that?

That's fair enough, alot of money raised so well done. I guess I'm more aiming this at people who have no money but still want to go off around the world for the summer..

krudler wrote: »
    nope, your average middle aged woman, 15k would be something, but 5? pfft

i would have laughed at her, jesus, thats bad :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

I'm not funnily enough.. What's that got to do with the thread?

Oh Im sorry. What exactly were you asking?

I guess I'm more aiming this at people who have no money but still want to go off around the world for the summer..

I see where your coming from but why do people have to have money to volunteer abroad. A lot of money is raised for very good causes this way. As I said there needs to be an incentive to get people fundraising and there has to be an actual goal at the end. If someone just came up to you asking for money cause they were going to send it off to a charity you'd tell them to f*** off cause you could do that yourself. When you can see that there's a legitimate reason for asking for the money people are more inclinded to give it. IMO

Oh Im sorry. What exactly were you asking?

Your opinion on this type of charity work.

You do know that when you sponsor somebody to do a sky dive that they pay for the sky dive also? The money raised is what is supposed to go directly to the charity. Not to fund the dive itself. It's the same for sponsored cycles in Spain or wherever.

And i've never come across anybody collecting money to fund their volunteering. I've seen people collecting for a volunteering organization that they have paid money to partake in and the money they collect goes to the organization which should give the money raised to the cause. It's not to fund their flights, accommodation or spending money.

That's all fine and well but from knowing differant people who've done this type of thing, alot took some money of the top to pay for flights etc.
    Disagree with me if you like but I've seen it first hand.

That's all fine and well but from knowing differant people who've done this type of thing, alot took some money of the top to pay for flights etc.

Ah thats a different topic altogether. Maybe you should rename your title 'Stealing from Charity to pay for skydiving and holidays'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

Disagree with me if you like but I've seen it first hand.

That's them taking money off the top and is not what is supposed to be done. I wouldn't disagree with you about shít like that happening. I was more so talking about that i've never heard of an organization that offers free trips to Peru or offers free sky dives if you raise x amount of Euro. It's supposed to be you pay for the trip which is possibly subsidized a bit by some major sponsor and then you raise money separate from fees which should go directly to the charity beneficiaries.

Ah thats a different topic altogether. Maybe you should rename your title 'Stealing from Charity to pay for skydiving and holidays'.

Yea, I guess so actually..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

Signed up to do one of these charity skydives years ago. Had to pay the 250euro for the jump ourselves and then raise money for charity seperately. Don't see any problem with this but the whole charity cycle in Cambodia is something I wouldn't be keen to pay for.

In the end I never even got to do the jump and never got my money back for it either. Oh well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

What's getting me is this easy route of organising a charity gig to pay for a trip to Haiti. There's a few people organising these kind of nights that wouldn't be seen dead packing bags at a shopping centre to raise a few quid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

What's getting me is this easy route of organising a charity gig to pay for a trip to Haiti. There's a few people organising these kind of nights that wouldn't be seen dead packing bags at a shopping centre to raise a few quid.
    If it's any consolation if they think going to Haiti is going to be a holiday they're in for a rude awakening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭SugarHigh

I see where your coming from but why do people have to have money to volunteer abroad. A lot of money is raised for very good causes this way. As I said there needs to be an incentive to get people fundraising and there has to be an actual goal at the end. If someone just came up to you asking for money cause they were going to send it off to a charity you'd tell them to f*** off cause you could do that yourself. When you can see that there's a legitimate reason for asking for the money people are more inclinded to give it. IMO
    It's funny that you see skydiving as a legitimate reason instead of the charity's cause.

Do you really think people would tell you to **** off if it wasn't for the fact you were doing a sky dive?

I just can't imagine someone not wanting to donate to charity but then changing there mind because you are going to go skydiving. I'm guessing they're are only donating because they know and because they're are too embarrassed to say no.

If you collected all the money and then just gave it to charity without doing the sky-dive do you think people would say "what a waste of money helping the poor kids when a guy didn't even jump out of a plane" ?

I agree with you it does raise money but the reasons people do you fundraising is for selfish reasons yet they act like saints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

So all the extra cash is lost, just because you begrudge somebody a "free" skydive. Well it's not free, because those people have gone out and collected thousands of euro in aid of a charity. What exactly have you done for charity?

Do you? Why is that? Because John down the road doesn't get his skydive? That somehow benifits these organisations? There is a reason why these trips and skydives are there, it's because they work, they generate a lot of money for the said organisations.
    At the moment, I’m working and saving to go to a country where I’ll hopefully teach English as a means to support myself if needed.

Tefl course? Well done... :rolleyes: Do you think you are better than people collecting for skydives and the likes? I think the main problem lies in the opening part of the sentence above. You are working, and you are saving... It suggests to me that you are extremely jealous of anybody getting a "free" ride. They are probably putting in a hell of a lot more work than you are...
    I know a few people collecting money to go to the same country to “volunteer” but they have no skills that could help anything really.

Well fair play to them for wanting to help. Yet the people you know trying to help those in need, you put them down right away. Why not let them do what they want, why not let them do some good? Why do you have to make a balls of their attempt?
    At least if they were going to Haiti, it’d be ok but this country has a massive tourism industry keeping it going.

How is going to Haiti, "ok"? If anything, that is the last place an unskilled volunteer should go. If you are unskilled, you go to a more developed country, or maybe a country that has been effected less but still needs volunteers.

How sure are you? Were you there? Did they tell you this is how the conversation started? The smell of begrudgery off you would knock out an Ox. You cannot stand that they are getting a trip in the name of charity, just because they didn't pay for it out of their own pockets. What work will they do over there? 7 star hotels all the way? Limo's picking them up? First class plane tickets? I somehow doubt it.

Are you volunteering? No you are doing a TEFL course, pay your 500 quid and get a job at the end of it (80% of the time), if anything, your way is the lazy way. You are doing this course to get out of Ireland, to find some work. Do you care about volunteering at all? Well why not work for free to teach kids English in Honduras or something?
    That's fair enough, alot of money raised so well done. I guess I'm more aiming this at people who have no money but still want to go off around the world for the summer..

You can only do this if you are rich? Poor people should not be allowed to do fundraisers for these types of trips? If they raise the money to make a flight to the moon, then why begrudge them that?

SugarHigh wrote: »
    It's funny that you see skydiving as a legitimate reason instead of the charity's cause.

Do you really think people would tell you to **** off if it wasn't for the fact you were doing a sky dive?

I just can't imagine someone not wanting to donate to charity but then changing there mind because you are going to go skydiving. I'm guessing they're are only donating because they know and because they're are too embarrassed to say no.

If you collected all the money and then just gave it to charity without doing the sky-dive do you think people would say "what a waste of money helping the poor kids when a guy didn't even jump out of a plane" ?

I agree with you it does raise money but the reasons people do you fundraising is for selfish reasons yet they act like saints.

Who fcuking cares that some guy gets a skydive out of it for his efforts? He just raised a few THOUSAND euro for a worthy cause. He has already done more than most people on this island...

Why can people not understand that the skydive is the motivator, without it, less money would be raised. Who fcuking gives a shít really? Only the begrudgers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Who fcuking cares that some guy gets a skydive out of it for his efforts? He just raised a few THOUSAND euro for a worthy cause. He has already done more than most people on this island...

Why can people not understand that the skydive is the motivator, without it, less money would be raised. Who fcuking gives a shít really? Only the begrudgers...

exactly..here we go again with this crap thread again...
    ppl forget about all the preparation that goes into something like this...ie marathon's/skydives etc..
    of course those walks are a joke but at the end of the day the charities make money from people who do these events...not from fúcking tosspots pontificating about it on a forum who probably don't even donate to charity regardless.
    Ask any charity...which do they prefer? Some guy throwing them a few bob now and then or a regular collector who'll bring them in 3k+ a year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I once saw a brochure with words to the effect of 'if you can't afford it yourself, why not do it for charity?'. That sounds like someone advocating the use of raised money on the dive itself, and it's enough for me not to donate to these people.

I've also seen the timetable for a charity trip to Calcutta that involved very little in the way of charity work. It was more of a point and look at the poor people trip, the majority of the money raised by the students on the trip went on flights and much of the remainder on accommodation.

I know there are plenty of people who put in the effort, and that the origin of these things was for the person to do something that scares them to show how dedicated they are to the cause, but I think these days, in quite a few cases, it has more to do with 'experiences of a lifetime' and the feelgood factor of giving to charit (or the assuagence of guilt).

Don't confuse my criticism with a generalisation about all charities, or a criticism of the end results.

kowloon wrote: »
    I once saw a brochure with words to the effect of 'if you can't afford it yourself, why not do it for charity?'. That sounds like someone advocating the use of raised money on the dive itself, and it's enough for me not to donate to these people.

I've also seen the timetable for a charity trip to Calcutta that involved very little in the way of charity work. It was more of a point and look at the poor people trip, the majority of the money raised by the students on the trip went on flights and much of the remainder on accommodation.

I know there are plenty of people who put in the effort, and that the origin of these things was for the person to do something that scares them to show how dedicated they are to the cause, but I think these days, in quite a few cases, it has more to do with 'experiences of a lifetime' and the feelgood factor of giving to charit (or the assuagence of guilt).

Don't confuse my criticism with a generalisation about all charities, or a criticism of the end results.

What does it matter what one gets out of it? It's the end result that matters.

Jesus iamxaviar, quite the rant.

What does it matter what one gets out of it? It's the end result that matters.

Hence my last line about end results.

I wouldn't give €20 to someone knowing that they'll stop collecting the cash once they reach the minimum funds they need for their holiday though. Nor would I give to someone who plans to spend most of their week in India sightseeing. People regularly complain about charities being inefficient, the much talked about administration fee. I see this in much the same way.

Jesus iamxaviar, quite the rant.

Yea it was, no offence was meant by it either. I just don't like people being put down when they are trying to do some good, regardless of how they do it.
    kowloon wrote: »
    Hence my last line about end results.

I wouldn't give €20 to someone knowing that they'll stop collecting the cash once they reach the minimum funds they need for their holiday though. Nor would I give to someone who plans to spend most of their week in India sightseeing. People regularly complain about charities being inefficient, the much talked about administration fee. I see this in much the same way.

Well, I wouldn't give money to that person either. Even though it still helps. How can one tell that they have made a genuine effort though? I think there should be some clause that the person has to be seen to have made a genuine effort. Getting one card filled up for large sums of money may not be putting in a lot of effort, or stopping when they reach the treshold should not guarantee you a spot.

That's the problem, but there's always a trust issue. If I knew it was being done officially through a well organised charity I would certainly see it in a different light to someone who could just be looking to cover the costs of their trip/skydive or whatever.
    There's a distinction between someone doing something through the charity and someone raising money with a promise of giving to charity. Thae latter could well just stop when they've raised enough as the surplus doesn't benefit them and they lose incentive.
    I see nothing wrong with giving to kids doing 5k walks and the likes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭moonpurple

makes me want to puke, this yoke was proposing that her doirt niece and nephew might do a sky dive for a genuine charity situation,

this would have been a lark for some youngsters with the charity as a flag of convenience.. main expense = the sky dive..bull****t:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Agree with you 100%

Way too many freeloaders using 'Charity' to get themselves free holidays.

Fcuking thing is a growth industry.if you are feeling so charitable go to the nearest homeless centre and help out there.

load of cobblers, in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Well I think the point is that people aren't really sacrificing anything (other than their time :rolleyes:) rather they're getting something out of it. The end result matters yes but, the means could be a little less selflish (for want of a better word) is all.

moonpurple wrote: »
    makes me want to puke, this yoke was proposing that her doirt niece and nephew might do a sky dive for a genuine charity situation,

this would have been a lark for some youngsters with the charity as a flag of convenience.. main expense = the sky dive..bull****t:pac:
    Agree with you 100%

Way too many freeloaders using 'Charity' to get themselves free holidays.

Fcuking thing is a growth industry.if you are feeling so charitable go to the nearest homeless centre and help out there.

load of cobblers, in my opinion.

More begrudgers... What's the big problem exactly? Why do ye hate to see others getting on? What's the big deal in what it is they do, once they get the money to the charities?

Yea it was, no offence was meant by it either. I just don't like people being put down when they are trying to do some good, regardless of how they do it.
    More begrudgers... What's the big problem exactly? Why do ye hate to see others getting on? What's the big deal in what it is they do, once they get the money to the charities?

My only gripe with charity in general is that alot of the time, only a small amount reaches the people it is supposed to.. It's why I hate chuggers aswell. My donation paying their wages.

I see people taking advantage of these trips/skydives etc. and while money does reach charity eventually, the bit of the top for flights etc. is just another place where money gets wasted..

I liked the shave or dye campaign that just ended.. Not a penny wasted so I contributed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

if you are R E A L L Y I N T E R E S T E D

Go local and don't be thinking of yourself all the time.:cool:

if you are R E A L L Y I N T E R E S T E D

Go local and don't be thinking of yourself all the time.:cool:

I've never seen such narrow minded begrudgery as I have on this thread. Not everyone who takes part in one of these events does it for their own personal gain. I took part in the Skydive to give back to the NCBI for all the work they did with my Granddad who was blind. My neighbour has done the trek to Peru with Keith Duffy as his son is autistic.

A lot of time and effort goes into fundraising to take part in these events. If you don't want to take part and don't want to donate then don't but don't come on here condemning others for the work that they're doing for these charities!

SugarHigh wrote: »

Put your money where your mouth is then. I'm not doing any fundraising at the minute but if you give me money I'll donate it to charity for you. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I have to say all these 'flying to Africa/[insert destitute country here] to build houses charities fairly annoy me. Would the money spent on flights, accomodation, security etc. for the volunteers not be far better spent hiring some locals to do the labouring? You know, encouraging private enterprise etc.

Fair enough if you're a qualified plumber going out to teach others your trade whilst doing some houses but I don't think there's a need for an Irish person who's less able to deal with the climate than a local to go out and dig trenches / lay blocks etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,453 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

You do know that when you sponsor somebody to do a sky dive that they pay for the sky dive also?

Sorry if this has already been said, but just to clarify on this. When you do a sponsored skydive the fee for the club comes out of the money raised, then the rest goes to the charity. That is the reason why they have minimum amounts required before they accept you.

From Skydive.ie
    The Irish Parachute Club offer a reduced price for people who are fundraising, €260 per person. The minimum amount to be raised for the charity varies therefore please contact your chosen charity for more information. You will be required to being a receipt from the charity with you on the day of your jump stating that you have handed in the required amount. Once you have fundraised €260 call IPC administration and let us know that you would like to book a date. We will book a date for you that allows you to collect the remainder of your target and that suits your schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

As a rule I never donated to anyone who came to me with the learned off speil "... blah blah blah ... whateverthousand feet ... perfectly good airplane ... and I'm going to jump out of it" ... while they wait for the shocked look at the thought of someone jumping out of a plane.

People like that really grind my gears