Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

grown up's playing video games

• 22-02-2010 11:17am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭

Don't you think its a wee bit sad for over 25s to be playing video games i.e. wii xbox PS etc

Now i'm not talkin about the odd game at family gatherings thats fine, but playing them day in day out i mean get a life ffs

Cause there's this guy in his 30s at work that never stops talking about the xbox games he was playing the other night, he bores people to distraction about it, i told him maybe he should cut back and get some excercise instead but he took offence and bit the head off me:rolleyes:

what do you think.....

do you think its sad for over 25s to be playing video games regularly? 18 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    100% 18 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

philstar wrote: »
    get a life ffs

I think its his life to lead and not yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭gooch2k9

Two lads in my college course sit on the computers during class showing each other videos of games they have uploaded to youtube. I find that sad and I'm only 19.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Yeah, and that should be extended to corrupting television and film. Once they're gone it should be easy to get rid of the books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Fúck that. PS3 is great. Best part of all is online play. I love the idea that I've just reduced some 12 year old to tears after kicking ass at FIFA. Oh yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Videogames own :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

When I was your age .... blah de blah de blah.

Listen here kido. I'm 30 *sigh* and I still play games.

It was only last night I was in a bar playing Wii sports, giant jenga and drinking in a bar

When you get to my age you can drink, play old skool games and this virtual reality stuff you kids play today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Don't you think its a wee bit sad for over 25s to be playing video games i.e. wii xbox PS etc

Now i'm not talkin about the odd game at family gatherings thats fine, but playing them day in day out i mean get a life ffs

Cause there's this guy in his 30s at work that never stops talking about the xbox games he was playing the other night, he bores people to distraction about it, i told him maybe he should cut back and get some excercise instead but he took offence and bit the head off me:rolleyes:

what do you think.....

Maybe when you're watching TV/a movie he prefers to use his time playing games? I don't see what the big deal is. Unless of course he spends ALL his time sitting about playing them.

I'm in my early 30's and play games - not day in day out just sometimes. I don't think I'm sad at all. It's fun and an alternative to watching the idiot box some nights.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

No I don't. A lot of people of that age grew up with video games so why would they stop if they find it entertaining?

Do you give up television when you hit 26? Films? Why not? They're entertainment as well. You could even argue they're more passive forms too - video games force your engagement and, depending on the game, can also make good use of mental faculties, dexterity, etc. What's sad about that?

In fact a better question: Don't you think it's sad that people over 26 can't get to enjoy playing computer/console games without some snobby unwarranted criticism from others?

Rabies wrote: »
    When I was your age .... blah de blah de blah.

Listen here kido. I'm 30 *sigh* and I still play games.

It was only last night I was in a bar playing Wii sports, giant jenga and drinking in a bar

When you get to my age you can drink, play old skool games and this virtual reality stuff you kids play today
    I noticed in other countries they had guitar hero and other Wii games in allot of places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

A wee bit sad to play games? Not in the least, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

I'm 18 - No 360 no PS3.

Dad is 45 this year and bought himself a lovely Full HD 47" and a 360 last year. Sad? No. Far from it. Seeing as he has not played video games since pac man and the like and he whips most the teeny boppers asses online at C.O.D or Halo I think he's pretty fúckin' cool TBH.

Plus I can play Forza every now and then when he's not using it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

No. Video games are awesome. You're sad.

Preach.

Interesting that the 'yes' voters aren't commenting on why it's supposedly sad. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

What kind of person calls adults "grown ups" - LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i know quite a few over 25s that play video games on a regular basis,

and you know what they've got in common > no girlfriend

yep i think its sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Nothing wrong with it at all.

You can never be to old to play games. Just becasue you reach a certainage doesnt mean you have to stop playing a console/pc games.

IMO, its sad that people believe that its sad you play games over a certain age.

Wolflikeme wrote: »
    Interesting that the 'yes' voters aren't commenting on why it's supposedly sad. :rolleyes:
    BINGO! YAHTZEE! WE HAVE A WINNER!!!

/dam caps lock :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Menengroth™

you know this forum originated from people wishing to have somewhere to discuss a game right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,093 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

what do you think.....

If someone over 25 watched television every day would you consider that sad?

Playing games is a much more social thing than most people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

fryup wrote: »

yep i think its sad

i did:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

what do you think.....

Pretty miserable life you must lead concerning yourself with what other people do in their spare time?

Video games are one of the biggest entertainment industries on the planet, your average blockbuster game makes more money than most Hollywood movies these days, look at Modern Warfare 2, $310million during its first 24 hours on sale, and given that the average age of gamers is 18-35, there are an awful lot of people with "no lives" out there.

going by that logic, people who would rather read books or watch movies than exercise have "no lives"? and who's to say gamers dont exercise? I play plenty of games, always have done, and also swim and exercise regularly, the stereotype of the sad gamer with no girlfriend, living at home eating junk food and getting fatter by the day is ridiculous, I know plenty of people in their 30s and 40s who play games. But hey, cant beat a good generalisation now can you?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

yep i think its sad
    I know quite a few over 25s that don't play video games on a regular basis... and you know what they've got in common? No girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Sure there is times when I have played co-op games with the gf. Halo 3, Res Evil, she's a Resi fan, Gear of War. I'm nigh on 25 myself.

Ever see the ad for Uncharted 2, the girlfriend asking the boyfriend to come back to couch so she can watch the rest of the movie. Thought that was very well done.

Plus its a cheap night in. Grab a few beers, and set up an online session with your mates and have a laugh for the night.

Meh I'm a sibling of 6 kids. Clearly my Dad has no GF :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Maybe they're just crap at playing them and gave up?

Bit like myself. I don't think it's sad at all, but I was always getting hammered so packed it in many years ago. Never really got into games anyway, even when I was young with an Atari 800XL and Bruce Lee. The Buddy is 36 and has a playstation..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,251 ✭✭✭bullpost

I blame Ant and Dec :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

I am 29 and play computer games. I find it more sad that you made this thread.

This thread has inspired me to play some AvP before work.

Later all! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭junior_apollo

I play World of Warcraft which is arguably one of the most addictive games out there, im over 25 and I have a g/f. We bought a house together and I play games while she watches her soaps.

If thats what people want to do with their time then it should be their choice.

Admittedly I dont play it 24/7 ... more like 4-5 hours total a week.
    I go to gym/use home gym twice a week, watch dvds with herself every other night and we make dinner and still have good lives... dont see how playing games makes me sad though... happy if anything!...

I do accept that having a gf does limit my time on it though (It would be very easy to live on it if she wasnt around giving me an earfull!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Well one of those votes was mine... and accidental..
    I clicked the wrong option..

Nope.. Video games are a form of entertainment,
    It's just more interactive than watching TV or a movie and flasyier than reading a book.
    Why would there be anything wrong with it?

People seem to forget that if videogames have a reputation for being a kids pastime..
    The people who are over 25 now, are the people who gave them that reputation in the first place and have been playing games ever since.

We were there at the beginning, The C64's, The Atari 500's The Nes, Mario, Sonic, Doom, Wolfenstien, C&C. We were there when the grandaddies of most current games came out.

Our generation pretty much built the gaming industry..
    Why should we stop??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

If television wasn't so god damn gash I might not play games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

"Video" games eh? That's what my mum used to call my old Atari games. :D

Gaming is a mainstream pursuit now. As said already, most of the most fervent gamers I'm know IRL debunk the stereotype: having social lives and relationships.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

So OP when we reach 25 are we all supposed to stop living and wait for the grim reaper to come and get us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

No i don't, i think people who spend their time complaining about what others do in their spare time is sad.

/creates poll :pac:

I know plenty of people who play games regularly, all of them are in relationships too.

I play games instead of watching TV as i would prefer to be doing something that involves a bit of thinking, not just mindless staring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Wait.. isn't the DSi XL (old people edition) launching this week?

Shows you how mainstream the industry has become that it targets all age groups.

Dudess wrote: »
    I know quite a few over 25s that don't play video games on a regular basis... and you know what they've got in common? No girlfriend.
    :eek: Maybe we're been looking at this all wrong, maybe there's a girlfriend shortage behind all this. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Much to better to rot our minds with the idiot box eh OP?

Oh look, XFACTOR IS ON! WOOP WOOP!

OH LOOK CELEB BB!

DErp derp.

And I guess books are for nerds, games are for geeks, ffs, what is acceptable to your sensibilities op, reading OK magazine perhaps?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

If someone over 25 watched television every day would you consider that sad?

Playing games is a much more social thing than most people think.

social?? how the f&ck can it be social sitting on your fat arse staring at a screen with for hours unend

getting out and about playing sports getting excercise is social and healthy, staying indoors watching TV for hours is bad enough but.. playing video games jayus:rolleyes:

Korvanica wrote: »
    No i don't, i think people who spend their time complaining about what others do in their spare time is sad.

/creates poll :pac:

I know plenty of people who play games regularly, all of them are in relationships too.

I play games instead of watching TV as i would prefer to be doing something that involves a bit of thinking, not just mindless staring.
    Porn = Mindless staring AND movement of limb (fap, poke)

Better than video games? Debatable.

Sad if you do it over 25? I'll let you know in 8 years :pac:

social?? how the f&ck can it be social sitting on your fat arse staring at a screen with for hours unend

getting out and about playing sports getting excercise is social and healthy, staying indoors watching TV for hours is bad enough but.. playing video games jayus:rolleyes:

You play online with other people and talk to them, again with the ignorant generalisations, I play games, and I'm not fat, and also excercise regularly, one the flip side, i know people who "socialise" by going out every weekend getting pissed and sitting in pubs watching football, on their fat arses.

Long gone are the days of video games being simplistic things to keep kids occupied, video games these days are a legitimate artform, anyone who's played games like Ico, Bioshock, Mass Effect, Shadow of the Colossus can attest to this, and Nintendo have cornered the market in getting people to exercise more by using the Wii fit, will it replace going out swimming or jogging? no but its a handy alternative for people who dont get the time to go out and do these things, my sister lost almost a stone by using it, so again, keep your ignorant, ill informed opinions to yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

I'm 26 and play games.

I do think like almost everything in life that there is a limit. Obviously it's not good if the majority of your time was spent playing games, sitting in a darkened room.

I really like games, but I also like to do some hiking, running, gym work, read and watch TV/films.

My girlfriend isn't too bothered about it (see I have one! :D), my parents think I am like a grown-up child though but don't give out.

One thing I do agree with OP is when you said that the guy in question is always talking in work about his games. I know the majority in work don't play games, so I don't bore them talking about Mass Effect, COD and Bioshock etc.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭splashthecash

I'm 29 and have a wife and daughter...own a PS3 but recently have started using it as a DVD\BluRay player more than gaming console...not cos I've "grown up", just that I don't have the time anymore with a 4 week old baby.

Whenever I get the chance though, I enjoy playing FIFA, Uncharted, COD 2, etc..Gaming has become part and parcel of everyday life and should no longer carry the stigma of "children's videogames". It has become a more social activity since the emergence of online gaming and consoles like the Wii.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Wazdakka wrote: »
    We were there at the beginning, The C64's, The Atari 500's The Nes, Mario, Sonic, Doom, Wolfenstien, C&C. We were there when the grandaddies of most current games came out.

Please don't go there! My bloody phone has better graphics than my Atari did. I remember loading up a cassette and waiting a half an hour for it to load, only to get a fúcking error message and having to start all over again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

So OP when we reach 25 are we all supposed to stop living and wait for the grim reaper to come and get us.

No not die, but mature a bit > get into a relationship, broaden your social skills, get out and live a life instead of wasting your brain & life on stupid video games.

Video games are for kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

Dudess wrote: »

I know quite a fiew over 25s that play video games on a regular basis and you know what they've got in common? There married with kids.

I was nearly married this year and play some video games. I also have may other hobbies which involve socialising.

Like everything in life its all about balance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

The average age of video game players is something like 29

e: actually after googling it looks like it's ~35

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

what do you think.....

It says something about your maturity that you still refer to adults as 'grown up's' and refer to someone's life as 'sad'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

No not die, but mature a bit > get into a relationship, broaden your social skills, get out and live a life instead of wasting your brain & life on stupid video games.

Video games are for kids

OP is a troll.

We've been baited

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Video games are for kids

Have you read a single reply to this thread?

Frankly I look down my nose at your sort.

Hows Jordan and Pete doing these days by the way?

Video games are for kids

I'm in a long term relationship, as are the majority of my gameplaying friends, 2 are married and their wives play games as well, and how is doing something you love and enjoy "wasting your life"? whats the alternative? going to nightclubs and drinking yourself stupid? is that being "social"?