Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Dance Forum night?

• 22-02-2010 01:22AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭

This literally just popped into my head...but it sounds like a vaguely good idea.

What would people think of setting up a a night, even once in a blue moon, where all the DJs are from this forum? It could be the equivalent of other forums' beers, and it would also give aspiring DJs from the forum to get possibly their first warm-up slot, and the bigger DJs/producers a welcome headliner.

Nothing big, just a venue of a couple hundred, a good night out, some good tunes, and a chance to put names to the mixes :D

It could be the equivalent of other forums' beers

I think I'd like to go to a Boards Beers nights. With a high powered rifle, lots of ammo and a room rented across the way from the venue but with a clear sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

I think I'd like to go to a Boards Beers nights. With a high powered rifle, lots of ammo and a room rented across the way from the venue but with a clear sight.

Bad day at the office?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Hahahahahaha...

It's kinda been done before Grimey. Some of the lads here did a gig related to Kitchen Sync radio in Kennedy's - loads of us turned up and 4 DJ's played - VinylJunkie, SteveDon etc - it was really good craic and good to meet so many people. Yeah we should do something again but its hard in a way to organise it and then get the numbers down, but I'm sure it is worth exploring further...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Good idea in theory but then you've got the question what genre of music do you play, as people like different types of genres so unless it's gonna be mixed...

jonnny68 wrote: »
    Good idea in theory but then you've got the question what genre of music do you play, as people like different types of genres so unless it's gonna be mixed...

I was thinking about that alright, I suppose we could do a few of them, put house, techno and minimal together, then drum 'n' bass and dubstep, and then oldskool and hard house maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Proved_very_successful_when_we_organized_it_last_time.

Im_continually_looking_into_the_radio_with_acman_trying_to_sort_it.

sorry for the _'s its a ubuntu problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

I was thinking about that alright, I suppose we could do a few of them, put house, techno and minimal together, then drum 'n' bass and dubstep, and then oldskool and hard house maybe?

I'm not sure there's anyone into Hard House on here!

Id definitely be into going if my preferred styles of dance were played

Funky/Soulful/Deep House;)

Well judging by the members mixes thread there seems to be a couple of hard house DJs, but maybe it'd be best just to stick to house and techno, most accessible to everyone really.

How long ago was the last one do you remember Colly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Well judging by the members mixes thread there seems to be a couple of hard house DJs, but maybe it'd be best just to stick to house and techno, most accessible to everyone really.

How long ago was the last one do you remember Colly?

At the very end of August.

Bad day at the office?

No no, but the thought of a Boards Beers night, or anything comparable, sets my teeth on edge! I know one poster who was forever banging on about 'beers nights' and he was a completely friendless fat c*** with a superiority complex who noone would ever want to meet. So it's kinda tainted my views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

would be savage alright.

jus bought my audio interface this week..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

Tyranny here - this sounds like fun! Count me in!

We could get about 4 DJs I'd say, and try and stick to house, get someone who's into deep house to start off, and finish off more techy maybe? Someone like Mr. Handsome could finish off. Still thinking out loud here.

Can anyone who was at the last one give a run down of how it was run?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

I'd be up for it anyways, count me in!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I'd love to start the night off with some Deep House if you need someone :)

Best start is to try to find a good venue. Probably somewhere small and intimate as if it's only going to be a group of us no point in having a big place if you can't fill it. However if we managed to get someone like Kid Handsome or maybe Hypertic to finish, having a well known name behind the night would be great - one of the main things with any night is getting the numbers.

I'm happy to give you a hand organising etc

If we did get Jeff to do a set, then Kid Handsome, Jevine, myself (I'd love to do a tech set before Jev maybe?), Colly and if we can fit in CM somewhere, that's a fairy solid line-up. We could start a bit early to fit in some more people too maybe?

Somewhere like Kennedy's would be perfect I'd say. I'd be happy to spearhead this with Colly if we want to go ahead with this? Seeing as we're all in completely different circles I'd say we'd be able to get a decent amount of people there.

Don't worry about me, get the biggest names you can to pull the biggest crowd possible - I'll see what I can do. If it goes well we can do it again some time. I'm sure a good few people from here will come, just encourage everybody to bring a few mates etc

Zascar wrote: »
    Don't worry about me, get the biggest names you can to pull the biggest crowd possible - I'll see what I can do. If it goes well we can do it again some time. I'm sure a good few people from here will come, just encourage everybody to bring a few mates etc

I might be able to get Lorcan Mak, if there was going to be a bit of money in it, he's about the biggest I'd know personally. Does anyone here know any of the guys in suitable venues? I've contacts in the Button Factory, but that'd be way too big.

We could get about 4 DJs I'd say, and try and stick to house, get someone who's into deep house to start off, and finish off more techy maybe? Someone like Mr. Handsome could finish off. Still thinking out loud here.

Ah screw that, there's way more diversity on here than that...

A night has to have more or less the same sound though, although I suppose we could finish with a d 'n' b set or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

get a venue with 2 small rooms. steve in charge of one and keep it all dnb/dubstep/stuff that isn't four to the floor related.

then put the rest on in the other room - deep house/tech-house/techno/uplifting piano house.

Yeah I organised the last one, basically we used it to promote the radio but also as a piss up for members on boards, It turned out to be a great night and all the DJ's where from boards, basically it was Enda Rochford starting the night then myself and Steve Donaldson to finish it off.

I got another guy off the radio Drewdo, to sort out the flyers and a friend to do lights and visuals.

I will be looking to do something similar in the coming months as we are in the middle of totally overhauling the radio station + website.

We booked Kennedy's I don't know how much it cost but we broke even on the night.

I would be able to help out with anything as ive recently been made a parasite to society ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

What happened your account? :confused:

No reason a night has to have the same sound right the way through, as long you keep building up the tempo and the energy it will be fine...

Jev/N wrote: »
    What happened your account? :confused:

Ah, it went down in the great boards hack and i had a different and long dead email address associated with it, and i couldn't for the life of me remember who on earth the last three people to PM me were, so I just signed up again.

Ten years I had that account...

*sniff*

jtsuited wrote: »
    get a venue with 2 small rooms. steve in charge of one and keep it all dnb/dubstep/stuff that isn't four to the floor related.

then put the rest on in the other room - deep house/tech-house/techno/uplifting piano house.

That's a great idea, didn't think of that. We'd be able to fit in more DJs too that way, and more DJs = more friends of DJs :)

What small venues have two rooms? Somewhere like the Good Bits maybe?

jtsuited wrote: »

Great idea. 2 rooms would be perfect.

Who do you think we could get to play uplifting piano house??

YES.

So it looks like:

Room 1
    Kid Handsome (was that a yes Jeff?)
    Jevine / myself
    Colly
    Copeyhagen?

Room 2
    Tyranny

Any more people up for doing a set? Especially for the second room. I'd happily do a dubstep set at the start of the night if we needed something in the other room.

Venues in Dublin with 2(+) rooms:
    Tripod - Way too big
    Crawdaddy - Probably too big
    The Good Bits
    Twisted Pepper - Probably hard to book
    The Academy - Too big

Any other suggestions?

Lol, looks like I'd better bring plenty of tunes

I could definitely get one VJ down for the night, and hopefully 2, one for both rooms, that'd help I think.

Lads do we really think we are going to have enough people to fill two rooms? Even the Good Bits - aka the cavern - will hold 100+ people - their other room is bigger again. Could we not have both styles on the night and stick to one venue?

From the crowd's point of view, 4 house sets and then a d 'n' b set would be a bit of a strange night. Although it could work, just might be a bit harder to sell. If we could find a venue with two small rooms, i.e. 60-80 people ish, that'd be perfect I'd say, but if not then maybe everything in one room might have to do.

In fairness, we're probably better off making it more of a "boards social event with decent tunes on a proper sound system" than trying to worry about how we sequence it all together...

Two room venues are think on the ground in Dublin too...

Well the other option would be to just do two separate nights - that way we have two different styles and two chances to meet up (no matter what the date some people are just not going to be able to make it - this way there are two chances) . We could even pick a very small venue like the Mezz in Twisted Pepper - would be good for about 40 people. How many do you think would actually come? I'll do a rollcall thread...

I'll do a rollcall thread...
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64700148
    Throw your name in that thread just so we can get an idea of numbers etc.

Also, what sort of dates are we thinking, and is it going to be a weekend or weeknight?

Well the other option would be to just do two separate nights - that way we have two different styles and two chances to meet up (no matter what the date some people are just not going to be able to make it - this way there are two chances) . We could even pick a very small venue like the Mezz in Twisted Pepper - would be good for about 40 people. How many do you think would actually come? I'll do a rollcall thread...

This sounds like the best option. If we had everything on one night, everyone'd only get a 40 minute slot or so, which is annoying for the DJ and anyone listening. What capacity does Kennedy's have?

No idea about dates, me (and any other college people) will have exams around April, so for me either quite soon, or in May would work best. I assume it'd be a weekend, more likely to work for everyone.

Just had an idea, seeing as there seems to be a want to have Ableton/Traktor user-group type things, it could be an idea to get to the place early, before it opens, and someone who's good with Traktor could show anyone who's interested, and the same with Ableton, and decks etc.

That's actually a great idea. Captain Random is an Ableton Expert, and plenty of us here know Traktor, we could do something interesting...

So Dates, is April really off the cards? May is a fair long time off, March might be too soon... Or if it was end of march could we get it all done in a month? Is start of April to near to exam time?

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Yeah I'd be keen to come along also and great idea re meeting early, would love to see some controllers/software in operation before I make my final purchase decision - if I do that is, had another few spins on the Technics over the last week or so and tempted to just start buying vinyl again :confused: :pac:

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Yeah I'd be keen to come along also and great idea re meeting early, would love to see some controllers/software in operation before I make my final purchase decision - if I do that is, had another few spins on the Technics over the last week or so and tempted to just start buying vinyl again :confused: :pac:
    Felix then just get Traktor scratch pro (and a Kontrol X1) and you can have the best of both worlds.That's for another thread anyways

Showing the lads the X1 in person'd be a lot easier than making a video, I tried to do one, but without a tripod or a fisheye lens it's a bit hard to make anything decent, and I'm sure I could show a few people a few things about Traktor too.

The end of March sometime could work alright, some time before Easter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

I'd throw my name in for the second room with steve if you's wanted, i play electro(not electro house muck), heres a mix and a tracklist.
    http://rapidshare.com/files/357474067/LyonsytronX_mix_2.mp3

TRACKLIST

1-VOLSOC " HERE COME VOLSOC " WORLD ELECTRIC
    2-ANTHONY ROTHER " SYNTHETIC " DATAPUNK
    3-TWOFOURTEEN " PLUGS " MIKROLUX
    4-THE ADVENT " HOUDINNI " DATAPUNK
    5-BYTECON " WORM INTRUDER " SATAMILE REC.
    6-BASS JUNKIE " IMAGES ON SCREEN " ELECTRIX REC.
    7-A1 PEOPLE " FROM DETROIT " SATAMILE REC.
    8-THE ADVENT " ENNERSTATE " ELECTRIX REC.
    9-BYTECON " TELE-REMOTE " SATAMILE REC.
    10-THE ADVENT " ELEKTRAFIX " KOMBINATION RESERCH
    11-BASS JUNKIE " SYSTEM PUNISHER " ELECTRIX REC.
    12-DOPPLEREFFEKT " PHORNO ACTRESS " INTERDIMENSIONAL TRANS.
    13-A1 PEOPLE " CRASH " SATAMILE REC.
    14-VOLSOC " CALZONI " WORLD ELECTRIC
    15-BASS JUNKIE " ELECTRONVOLT " ELECTRIX REC.
    16-DI´JITAL " 360 DEGREES" DIRECTBEAT / 430 WEST
    17- EXZAKT A.K.A. LARRY McCORMICK " SUB.SONIC BASE " SATAMILE REC.
    18-SILICON SCALLY A.K.A. CARL A. FINLOW " GIGAQUAD " DATAPUNK
    19-BYTECON " LAND OF THE DARK " SATAMILE REC.

Nice 1.

So are we gonna leave the d 'n' b / dubstep etc for a follow up night? Are you happy with that Tyranny? 5 DJs is grand I'd say, starting at 9 ish, everyone gets about a 40-1:30 set, depending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I've chucked my name in the roll call thread

lads check the end of this thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64797284 - Kid Handsome, Steve Donaldson and Hypertic are all playing on the same night - we could just arrange the meetup for then, get everyone along without having to organise anything ourselves, and have a guaranteed great night of music. What do you think?

27th of March in Wax

So are we gonna leave the d 'n' b / dubstep etc for a follow up night? Are you happy with that Tyranny? 5 DJs is grand I'd say, starting at 9 ish, everyone gets about a 40-1:30 set, depending.

Suits me :)

lads check the end of this thread: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64797284 - Kid Handsome, Steve Donaldson and Hypertic are all playing on the same night - we could just arrange the meetup for then, get everyone along without having to organise anything ourselves, and have a guaranteed great night of music. What do you think?

27th of March in Wax

That sounds good alright, and then maybe we could organise one ourselves in the summer when we have more time on our hands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 D_R_G_7

Dude,

i dunno if this is too late or not ... i could play an electro house / minimal tech set in room 2 for yah ?

25575_1103639449229_1774021546_202486_7871610_n.jpg
    Guys shall we try to get a crew to go to this, would be a great night!