Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UCC major gig "campuspicnic" 27th march

• 21-02-2010 6:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭

Well they(UCC SU) said on facebook they would be having a major gig with international and local acts and it would appear that its actually going ahead.

So far:
    *To be held in the showgrounds
    *27th march-4500 tickets available
    *Max of 4 tickets per student
    *Line up to be announced on Red Fm within the next two days
    *€54 per ticket.

website
    www.campuspicnic.com

*Only UCC students can buy the tickets but can give away the extra ones then.

If the do indeed get the numerous international acts they are talking about this could actually be a very good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 TKT

Anyone have any ideas as to who the acts might be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

No provision for Graduates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Papa_Lazarou

hardybuck wrote: »
    No provision for Graduates?

Undergraduates,Post grads/masters and graduates can avail of the tickets. I think the website mentioned staff aswell. If you are a graduate you have to have ID and know what year you started and finished/graduated from UCC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Nova_era

That's a very interesting idea organisation wise. Originally I was shocked to see "capacity 4,500", but if you look at the student population, it's actually very likely that it could sell out.

I'll be looking forward to seeing who's announced, this could be really cool. :) I'd imagine that the standard of acts would be something along the lines of Trinity's "Trinity Ball", which always has one or two international acts.

I know everyone will say I'm being anti SU here etc, but like, come on!

They specifically said that the line-up would be announced at midday today on RedFM, so I tune in, and discover that no, today RedFM are just announcing the date when the line-up will be announced.

So already they're ****ing around!

Have they not got the first clue about organising a gig?? It'd be fair enough if there was 6 months to go until the show, but no, there's just over a month, and at this rate it'll be 3 weeks before the show when they actually announce the line-up. Hardly the most sensible move?

Nobody is going to buy a ticket without the line-up being announced, and students don't exactly have €54 to suddenly conjur up whenever the SU feel like announcing the line-up.

So either they hav'nt even got a full line-up confirmed, or else they're just messing around trying to create hype. Well they failed miserably with that if they were, I'm not putting aside €54 on the off chance that the SU get around the announcing the line-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭Eliot Rosewater

^ Especcially when the whole thing depends on the line-up. €54 is steep considering your not allowed bring in your own drink, you must arrive between 2 and 4, and you must be gone by 11. The only reason I'd go is if the line-up was particularly good. Its a great idea, but the pricing and the strictness are a bit much I think. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samf

Nova_era wrote: »
    I know everyone will say I'm being anti SU here etc, but like, come on!

They specifically said that the line-up would be announced at midday today on RedFM, so I tune in, and discover that no, today RedFM are just announcing the date when the line-up will be announced.

So already they're ****ing around!

Have they not got the first clue about organising a gig?? It'd be fair enough if there was 6 months to go until the show, but no, there's just over a month, and at this rate it'll be 3 weeks before the show when they actually announce the line-up. Hardly the most sensible move?

Nobody is going to buy a ticket without the line-up being announced, and students don't exactly have €54 to suddenly conjur up whenever the SU feel like announcing the line-up.

So either they hav'nt even got a full line-up confirmed, or else they're just messing around trying to create hype. Well they failed miserably with that if they were, I'm not putting aside €54 on the off chance that the SU get around the announcing the line-up.

At no point did we say that the line up would be announced on Red Fm today, we said details would be announced, line up will be announced next Monday March 1st as planned at 10am, we're bound by a contractual agreement with one of the headline acts to wait until this date, as has always been the case.

Also, we dont expect people to buy tickets without knowing the lineup, (unlike trinity and UCD) so tickets go on sale the day after this, on Tuesday March 2nd.

Also all those who have RSVP'd to the facebook event have recieved a line up teaser and further exclusive info.

samf wrote: »
    At no point did we say that the line up would be announced on Red Fm today, we said details would be announced, line up will be announced next Monday March 1st as planned at 10am, we're bound by a contractual agreement with one of the headline acts to wait until this date, as has always been the case.

Also, we dont expect people to buy tickets without knowing the lineup, (unlike trinity and UCD) so tickets go on sale the day after this, on Tuesday March 2nd.

Also all those who have RSVP'd to the facebook event have recieved a line up teaser and further exclusive info.

The website (which has now been edited) said that details of the line-up will be announced on Red FM "Within the next 2 days", and "on Tuesday at Midday". Nothing about Red FM announcing the date when the line-up would be announced.

And a headline act who don't want the line-up announced until 26 days before the show? What kind of amateurs are you working with? They'd want to be the Rolling Stones or something similar to justify that kind of carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Is there a bar or is it a sponsor drinks tent where you can only get €5 plastic 'pints' of Ken/Bud.

I assume ye've told the Gardai so ye wont have another Calvin Harris/Saw Doctors fiasco and there will be some sort of bus service in place for the event?

Its probably a long shot but will any tickets available online?

And a headline act who don't want the line-up announced until 26 days before the show? What kind of amateurs are you working with? They'd want to be the Rolling Stones or something similar to justify that kind of carry on.
    No, im not sure about your knowledge of concert promotions, but contractual agreements dont take place because a band is amateurish, or think theyre the Rolling stones, it takes place because theyre tied by a separate performance contract not to be able to announce and Irish performance before this weekend.
    Is there a bar or is it a sponsor drinks tent where you can only get €5 plastic 'pints' of Ken/Bud.

I assume ye've told the Gardai so ye wont have another Calvin Harris/Saw Doctors fiasco and there will be some sort of bus service in place for the event?

Its probably a long shot but will any tickets available online?
    Yes with beer/wine/spirits, Yes dont worry we wont make that mistake, and yes actually all tickets will be on sale online and available to ucc graduates too.

No, im not sure about your knowledge of concert promotions, but contractual agreements dont take place because a band is amateurish, or think theyre the Rolling stones, it takes place because theyre tied by a separate performance contract not to be able to announce and Irish performance before this weekend.

So does that tell us who your headliner is then? Someone who is also playing Oxegen? In which case it's going to be somebody who is a regular visiter to Ireland, as opposed to a major international touring act?

Contractual agreements don't take place because a band is amateurish, but the content of these agreements would certainly raise suspicion that one of the involved parties certainly is.

Do you not realise how absolutely ridiculous it is to try and organise a gig, a month away, charge €54 a ticket to a student population, and then not even announcing a single band until 3 weeks before the show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,948 ✭✭✭deisedude

So does that tell us who your headliner is then? Someone who is also playing Oxegen? In which case it's going to be somebody who is a regular visiter to Ireland, as opposed to a major international touring act?

You are arguing for the sake of arguing with this point even if some of your other points are valid. Kings of Leon regularly visit Ireland but they are still a huge international act. I could say the same with a multitutude of different bands

No offence Nova but could you stop making every thread in here into an anti-SU thread.

I understand your grievences with the SU but it just seems they all turn into arguements.

deisedude wrote: »
    You are arguing for the sake of arguing with this point even if some of your other points are valid. Kings of Leon regularly visit Ireland but they are still a huge international act. I could say the same with a multitutude of different bands

I'd hardly say that they are regular visiters to Ireland. I'm not a fan of Kings of Leon but they would probably be the best band that the organisers could possibly get, I doubt there's many other bands around at the moment that are as popular among students. If the SU do really pull a great act out of the hat then fairplay to them, but I can't help but feel it'll be someone who has visited Ireland to such an extent that their huge "international" status will have worn off to some extent. David Gray, I'm looking in your direction.
    No offence Nova but could you stop making every thread in here into an anti-SU thread.

I understand your grievences with the SU but it just seems they all turn into arguements.

I'm not being anti-SU, this whole Campus Picnic thing is really impressive, and is on a scale which really does take balls to organise. I'd love to see it do well as it's very adventurous, different, and seems to have some great organisation behind it, judging by the website.

However, this carry on with the line-up just screams lack of professionalism, and really does annoy me. If you're going to organise something on this scale, then have the foresight to ensure that you can cover your own backs and have a line-up + tickets in the public domain as early as possibly.

€54 is a lot of money for students (but I understand the high price, as that showgrounds site (or at least the Marquee) is extremely expensive to rent), and to try and fill a venue of nearly 5,000 capacity at this price is a hugh ask. If you want to maximise your chances of actually having a decent attendance, then it's essential to have some huge tag out in the open early on, as opposed to this "Ireland biggest student gig" tag that's being thrown around the place.

I know that Samf, to be fair to him, is under contractual agreements with one of their headliners. However, with a ticket price of €54, 4,500 seats to fill, and a multitude of other overheads, it is important that the organisers take every chance they can get to enhance sales, and don't allow their arms to be twisted by some "big" act. Unfortunatly, that would appear to be exactly what has happened here, and by the time the acts are announced, hype about the actual event itself is sure to have died down to an extent.

For once I'm actually taking my hat off to Samf and the SU, as I think that this is a fantastic idea, completely unexpected, and a really great and unique event, which I really hope does well and works. However I've got to say that I was pissed off when it was clearly stated that the line-up would be announced on Red FM on Tuesday, only to have this changed when the time came.

Once the line-up is announced I'll probably complain that it lacks diversity, and is full of your usual student gig bands such as Director, the Blizzards, Republic of Loose etc, but that's not an attack on the SU, that's just me giving out that Lady GaGa and Iron Maiden weren't also booked.

But yes, I'm not complaining about the SU, I fully take my hat off that this is a great idea. I'd just like to have seen a bit more planning as regards the benefits of announcing at least some of the line-up along with announcement of the gig, instead of having a gun held to the SU's head by some "international" band.

I'd hardly say that they are regular visiters to Ireland. I'm not a fan of Kings of Leon but they would probably be the best band that the organisers could possibly get, I doubt there's many other bands around at the moment that are as popular among students. If the SU do really pull a great act out of the hat then fairplay to them, but I can't help but feel it'll be someone who has visited Ireland to such an extent that their huge "international" status will have worn off to some extent. David Gray, I'm looking in your direction.

In fairness they played Oxegen the last three years and the O2 a few times to boot. Thats fairly regular in my book

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭tictac2580

I'm not being anti-SU, this whole Campus Picnic thing is really impressive, and is on a scale which really does take balls to organise. I'd love to see it do well as it's very adventurous, different, and seems to have some great organisation behind it, judging by the website.

However, this carry on with the line-up just screams lack of professionalism, and really does annoy me. If you're going to organise something on this scale, then have the foresight to ensure that you can cover your own backs and have a line-up + tickets in the public domain as early as possibly.

€54 is a lot of money for students (but I understand the high price, as that showgrounds site (or at least the Marquee) is extremely expensive to rent), and to try and fill a venue of nearly 5,000 capacity at this price is a hugh ask. If you want to maximise your chances of actually having a decent attendance, then it's essential to have some huge tag out in the open early on, as opposed to this "Ireland biggest student gig" tag that's being thrown around the place.

I know that Samf, to be fair to him, is under contractual agreements with one of their headliners. However, with a ticket price of €54, 4,500 seats to fill, and a multitude of other overheads, it is important that the organisers take every chance they can get to enhance sales, and don't allow their arms to be twisted by some "big" act. Unfortunatly, that would appear to be exactly what has happened here, and by the time the acts are announced, hype about the actual event itself is sure to have died down to an extent.

For once I'm actually taking my hat off to Samf and the SU, as I think that this is a fantastic idea, completely unexpected, and a really great and unique event, which I really hope does well and works. However I've got to say that I was pissed off when it was clearly stated that the line-up would be announced on Red FM on Tuesday, only to have this changed when the time came.

Once the line-up is announced I'll probably complain that it lacks diversity, and is full of your usual student gig bands such as Director, the Blizzards, Republic of Loose etc, but that's not an attack on the SU, that's just me giving out that Lady GaGa and Iron Maiden weren't also booked.

But yes, I'm not complaining about the SU, I fully take my hat off that this is a great idea. I'd just like to have seen a bit more planning as regards the benefits of announcing at least some of the line-up along with announcement of the gig, instead of having a gun held to the SU's head by some "international" band.

There is just no pleasing some people....who cares when the line up is announced, it shouldnt matter if its two days or two months before once you know before the tickets are on sale. We know the date, we know how much the ticket is...keep money aside...hear the line-up, like it, buy ticket, don't like it...spend money on something else....simple!

Exactly. And if you think we're been unprofessional at any stage then all I would ask is that you would bear with us, as its the first year something of this scale has ever been tried in UCC, so mistakes are inevitable, but we promise as always that we're trying our best and hopefully the event will sell well and run smoothly so that it can be built on next year and finally put UCC up with the big universities in Ireland when it comes to largescale university entertainment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭catiny

I wouldn't even think of spending that kind of money without knowing the line up!

any hints?!:)

Considering some full ball tickets are €45 each with no big bands whatsoever, paying €10 extra for a day long festival really isnt that expensive when you think about it that way!

And nope im afraid my lips are sealed :)

I'm just jealous cos I can't go. I really do think it's a great idea and hope it works, I just have to find fault in anything.

I'd actually love to go, but we've got a field trip the next day so I'll wanna be all awake etc for that, with my wallet intact.

Is it using the same site as the Marquee does during the summer? I wonder will CIT students try and get tickets through UCC students/try and gatecrash it.

I wonder will CIT students try and get tickets through UCC students

Id say not. As far as I know the Students Union will be organizing a créche for the day, so the CIT students will be able to go there.

A Creche? So now UCC are providing post-grad opportunities for CIT students?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

A little friendly, inter-college slagging is grand, but the CIT jokes are really getting old now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭DingosAteMyBaby

the line-up isnt as great as it was hyped up to be. I know for a fact me and my friends wont be splashing out the €55 for it. Im goona put that money towards my oxegen ticket id say.

Cant really see them selling out the 4500 tickets with that line-up and the prices as they are, they couldnt even sell tickets for a €15 Mundy gig in the Savoy sure!!

Yeah just saw the line-up there and to be honest it aint my cup of tea. Im sure some people like the bands that will be playing. Good luck to the organisers but i can see a struggle with selling 4,500 tickets or most tickets will be sold onto non-students.

The line up: The Noisettes, Iglu & Hartly, Tinchy Sryder, The Hoosiers, Example, The Coronas, Chicane, Fox Avenue and others to be announced apparently. http://www.campuspicnic.com/

Haven't heard of any of them except the Coronas, but then Im far from informed about music :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Byron85

The line up: The Noisettes, Iglu & Hartly, Tinchy Sryder, The Hoosiers, Example, The Coronas, Chicane, Fox Avenue and others to be announced apparently. http://www.campuspicnic.com/

Haven't heard of any of them except the Coronas, but then Im far from informed about music :)

The Noisettes are good actually but not worth the price of the tickets. Oh well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭Léan

The Noisettes are good actually but not worth the price of the tickets. Oh well.

Yeah The Noisettes would be the only band i'd rate out of that lineup. Pretty weak so far tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Yeah, I'd also say The Noisettes are the only band there I'd want to see.

Coronas and Tinchy Stryder both have a pretty big following though, so I'd imagine that'd draw a good few. And Chicane would appeal to anyone who loves dance music.

As for the rest.....big meh.

It aint Oxegen but it could be a laugh Corona's and Chicane are quite good imo. (Line-up could do with a hint of Saw Doctors)

The line-up is just under the quality of Cois Fharraige which is around €100 a ticket! I dont know why people are so appauled at the price for.

Most Students pay €45 (€50 in some case) to get a bus to the Rochestown, eat slop, drink piss (€5 pints of piss), dance to a covers band followed by a college DJ, thrown out at 2am by some oaf of a bouncer, sit on a puke covered bus to be dropped outside hillbillies!

Hope they get a fine day for it!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Iglu & Hartly: They'll play "In this city" and hopefully leave becasue the rest of their album is chronic!

Example, Chicane and Tinchy Stryder should put on a decent show and get the crowd going, The Noisettes are quality aswell so well worth the money imo

Well done to the SU for finally organising something worth talking about and while the hypes been building up over the weeks and slightly dying down now they're obviously not going to get it perfect - there'll always be mistakes made when doing something of this magnitude for the first time.

Hopefully the people/promisers of all and sundry running for next years SU will sit up and take notes on how to do something worthwhile for the students of UCC...although most of them will have it 2nd on their lists of things to do behind "Organise a 2nd R&G week" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Was expecting the likes of Dizzee Rascal, and a top electro act like Justice or Simian Mobile Disco, won't be going i'd say, the line up is alright but still wouldn't put it up there with the last few Trinity Balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Awful ****e, bar 'Example', who makes a passable impression of an MC.

I can't say I've heard of any of those bands, but I'm sure that there's plenty of fans around UCC. :)

It'll be interesting to see how ticket sales go tomorrow, hopefully this show is a success. Great to see something new for the calander. :)

Some big enough names but not my cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Tinchy Stryder, Noisettes and The Coronas could all put on a pretty good show, but I don't know if it's worth 54 quid for a ticket to see them. Hoosiers' songs all sound the same as far as I can tell, and Iglu and Hartly were never great. Haven't heard of the rest. It's not a stellar lineup, but it's pretty decent. Hopefully the "many more" can add a bit more to the whole thing.
    Fair play to the SU tho!

Campus Picnic has been canceled "due to unforseen circumstances " (i.e im asuming ticket sales were low)

epic fail!!

anyone with half a brain couldve seen this coming!!

DoubleFacePalm.jpg

planning.jpg

Fúck Sake!! Hard luck to the SU but you overextended yourselves maybe next time do a fúcking survey to see how many students you could attract to an event of this magnitude and how much they'd be willing to pay for tickets because it pains me to see this stuff going down like a lead balloon

Just for the record, im obviously disappointed to see this not going ahead, and just to set a few things straight:

The SU did not decide which acts would play at the event, the SU did not decide the venue and capacity for the gig, initially we worked hard to get it in the Quad however but this wasnt possible in the end, and the SU did not decide the ticket price.

People would probably say these were some of the factors behind the event failing. Also, the SU will not be liable for any loss for the event whatsoever.

However I would think this will have a big negative effect in the future of any largescale UCC entertainments, any music promoter will think twice before considering running something like this again, which is a real pity, but not much can be done about it.

Just for the record, im obviously disappointed to see this not going ahead, and just to set a few things straight:

The SU did not decide which acts would play at the event, the SU did not decide the venue and capacity for the gig, initially we worked hard to get it in the Quad however but this wasnt possible in the end, and the SU did not decide the ticket price.

People would probably say these were some of the factors behind the event failing. Also, the SU will not be liable for any loss for the event whatsoever.

However I would think this will have a big negative effect in the future of any largescale UCC entertainments, any music promoter will think twice before considering running something like this again, which is a real pity, but not much can be done about it.

it was a SU organised event wasnt it??:confused:

if the price, venue and artists were outta SU control maybe they shouldve taken step back and given it some serious thought before promising amazing line-ups and completely over-hyping the whole thing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

In Before Nova Era,

This was an enormous cock up, and you could see it comming a mile away!!

Yes it was still an SU promoted event, as much as the trinity ball or UCD ball is, but im fed up of being told we should have got x and y band to play, the promoters were the ones to take the hit if anything didnt go to plan so they were entitled to get the best line up they could and believe me they got best acts available to play that weekend.

Unfortunately it wasnt to be but at least we can say we tried. In fairness it was probably the wrong year to try this, as ticket sales for everything are down, people are much less willing to spend money, but fair play to the promoters for trying their best.

Fair dues to the SU for trying but at the same time - when was the last time the Trinity ball fell flat on its face?

I was optimistic about this at the start, it was good to see something fresh being tried, but there was always an underlying feeling that this was never going to get off the ground.

I've been a student in UCC for 5 years and never has there been any event to draw my attention - I doubt its for want of effort by the SU and funding probably plays a big factor but the social side of UCC is a farce and seeing this failing is disheartening.

Agreed. But on a side note, the Trinity ball made huge losses in its first few years running, its only because its such a well established event that it sells out every year. Its tough to try something new and have immediate success.

True - trial and error has gotten that event it's stature, it's disappointing that UCC couldn't even get to the stage to look back on it and see where it went arseways both financially and organisationally...fúck it anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

PaulieC wrote: »
    True - trial and error has gotten that event it's stature, it's disappointing that UCC couldn't even get to the stage to look back on it and see where it went arseways both financially and organisationally...fúck it anyway!

Maybe its a case of quit while your ahead? The days of losing money as an exceptable trial and error went with the noughties.

Since when are we ahead?? Events on UCC campus could make the college money imo, nothing makes a profit straight away anyway

You cant fault the SU for trying. But there were just too many loose ends. In a festival like this you're going to get many people who don't go for the music, rather for the "buzz". €54 was way above what this group would be willing to pay. Then the line-up was ... mediocre. Add to this the strictness of the event (none of your own booze; no entry before 4; have to be gone by 11). Too many uncertain variables. :)

Yet Im not sure all this talk of "a big **** up" is appropriate either. At the end of the day the SU took the initiative here. They could have easily made no attempt to create a big ents event. They went out of their way to try and do something cool. The fact that it failed just leaves us in the same situation as if they did nothing. The crime they may be guilty of is getting peoples hopes up; however I think the fact they were good enough to at least try outweighs this, imo.