Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your Career

• 21-02-2010 1:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭

Talk about your job. Is it a career? Did you need to study to enter the industry? Do you like what you do? Do you like the people you work with? What is your workplace like, any pluses/minuses there? Do you seek promotion, advancement? Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? Tell us all about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

I don't have a job:(

But hopefully I'm going to go back to college this year and do a bioscience degree and hopefully do a post grad in vet medicine.

I'm sure the worst thing about that job will be killing the animals and having surgerys go wrong, mainly telling the owners will be the worst (I hate it when people cry around me)

As for children, I don't plan on having any but if I did it would be child minders and such but my plan is to have pet cats and a hedgehog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

Define career? Someones job may not be your choice of career but might be theirs.

Im a hairdresser.

Yes you have to study the whole way through - even though people think its easy!

I love my job :D

I have two girls working with me - Get on great with both of them.

I work in a salon - only minus is very few holidays. Everything else is a plus :)

I cant see promotion because Im already the boss.

If by kids causing problems you mean my kids - yes they will but hopefully by the time Im having kids I will be established enough to have somebody there full time for me :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Walls wrote: »
    Talk about your job. Is it a career? Did you need to study to enter the industry? Do you like what you do? Do you like the people you work with? What is your workplace like, any pluses/minuses there? Do you seek promotion, advancement? Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? Tell us all about it.

Is my job a career? Sortof, I did have a Big Career Job but I hated it so much that I quit and went back down the ladder a bit to take a different direction - I feel if my job has a title that contains 'Global somethingsomething Director' then I am too far removed from the part of the job I like. So a couple of paycuts later, I'm back where I like.

There is a requirement for most jobs I have held to have a degree in two specific areas, I have neither, I just have lots of experience. Most places hired me on a hunch, or from my results in their specific entrance exams.

My workplace....er....is hell. They tried to make it nice for me - they put down carpet in my little corner (girls like carpet right? lets get her carpet! and cushions!') The nature of the business is reactionary, you can plan to a certain extent but there's lots of yelling, phonecalls, emails, yelling, sexist jokes and comments and yelling and big machines you could climb into. I'm the only female in the company, so it can be tough going at times, I wasn't very welcome at the start and the lads don't pull any punches so I was very aware that they didn't think I should be in the job. Now a few years on, they still think it but they're less vocal about it, and its gone from saying it straight to a few digs every day but it's mostly just for show at this stage. The only person I need to be worried about is my boss (and his boss) , and they seem happy enough.

There's no real advancement as such, my department is very specific and I'm the only person in the department, so it's all up to me. I'm either as high up the ladder as I can go, or as low down it as you can get, depending how you look at it :)

I don't see kids being a problem, I don't see myself having any. If I do, I doubt I'd be the stay at home type, I couldn't handle the pressure of it to be honest. I don't think I'd be able for it. My mum used to work, and she used to say she went to work for a break, and I think I'd be the same.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Is it a career? For me, no, to me, it's a dead end job - to the other 8 people I work with it's a career. There is no way for me to move up without going back to study full time for at least 3 years and even then if I'm to go back to where I work now there wouldn't be much scope to move up again without investment in even further study. I immensely dislike most people I work with, I'm not entirely happy with where I work and my job, I am over qualified for my job and as it's a dead end job it's not exactly where I want to be. The only move I can make to stay in the same place I work is a sideways move. I'm far too ambitious to stay in my job and I'm laden with offers for further study so I have plenty of options, it's just hard to take the risk to give up a job on decent money and take the risk to go back to college to study full time. Even though I'm in my early 20's it's still a really, really difficult decision to make. On the other hand, if I don't go back and do some sort of study I'll most likely be stuck in this crappy dead end job with 'superiors' who have no respect for me and people who bitch, moan and stab others in the back all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Contessa Raven

I'm currently studying for my top career choice. I'm in London doing my final year of Creative Sound Design. Most people haven't a clue what that means when I tell them but it's basically designing sounds for films (sound effects, music, atmospheres), animations, sound art and even music.

When I have my degree I have several options. I can go freelance and start my own sound design business, I can work in a film production company/post-production company, or I can go and work in a recording studio.

My ideal job is to be a Foley Artist which is the person who records all the sound effects which are added after filming. You can't just apply to be a Foley Artist. You have to advance to be one by proving your creative worth and ability to think quickly and work under immense pressure.

If I was to become a Foley Artist I would most likely be working in a very small team of me and one or two other people (the recordist and another FA.) So liking them will be rather important! :)

When I have kids I don't think they'll cause problems. I hope that by the time I have children that I'll have my own studio set up at home and therefore I can work at home.

CR

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Talk about your job. Is it a career? I'm a primary school teacher. So yes, it's a career

Did you need to study to enter the industry? 3 years in a college of education. My idea of hell.

Do you like what you do?
    It has it's ups and downs like any job. You can be your own boss, although you are answerable to a lot of parents. You alway have the same parents that never let up, and the ones that don't give a rat's ass and you wish they would.

No two days are the same. If you're creative you can immerse your class in that, and if you're scientific or mathematical you can foster that in the children. It brings immense satisfaction as well as immense frustration and I often feel as though there aren't enough hours in the day for all my plans! The infants are adorable but drive me up the walls at time. I'm proud of them and myself.

I also love that I get to work with children from all over the world and children from different socio economic backgrounds. That has opened my eyes up so much.

I hate that I never switch off "teacher mode". Seriously, and my pockets are always full of confiscated toys and stuff. I hate yard duty unless it's sunny! And my clothes get covered in paint every Thursday when we do art.

Do you like the people you work with? We are a really close knit staff, only a handful of us there and we're like a family. I'm usually supported in there and it's very laid back, the staff are hilarious.

What is your workplace like, any pluses/minuses there?
    It's kind of depressing. Building and yard need a facelift. I don't teach in a lovely suburban school where Yummy Mummies drop junior off in an SUV. I'm right in the middle of the inner city flats, graffitti, litter and have a lovely scenic view of carparks from my window. I won't work in disadvantaged schools forever because they are emotionally draining. A nice country Gaelscoil would be nice.

Do you seek promotion, advancement?
    No promotion or advancement available. Unless I wanna be a principal someday. I know I'll never be a millionaire. It might be nice to be a co-ordinator or facilitator that goes from school to school to help with curriculum planning and inservices in First Steps English or something.

Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? Well, the kids I teach certainly cause me problems! :D In the future, I'll be able to collect my children from school because I finish early in the day. Weekends always free, Christmas as a family, long summer holidays. Could even send my kids to the school I teach in someday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

I used to work in book publishing, and it was a career that I fell into after college. I left to go back to school and now I've got two degrees, although I don't really think they're good for much other than networking purposes.

Now I work at a magazine, but it's so small that there's no room for advancement. I love my colleagues, but tbh, I think my job is just a bunch of bs. I can't complain though -- we're treated really well and enjoy a lot of perks just because it's a small, family-run company. We've got an extremely casual work environment, lots of inappropriate jokes (in a good way), lots of time for boards, not a lot of office politics. Having children wouldn't cause problems at all, and a few people have more flexible work schedules in order to accommodate their particular family situation.

That being said, I'd go back to book publishing in a heartbeat; I thought I'd enjoy working at a magazine more, but turns out that I don't. Oh well, you live and learn, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 846 ✭✭✭stephenmarr

Talk about your job. Is it a career? Yes im a pest controller

Did you need to study to enter the industry? No i have ongoing courses

Do you like what you do? Yes it will open your eyes to all sorts of pests in places you wouldnt think have them

Do you like the people you work with? Im 99% of the time on my own so Yeah i like me

What is your workplace like, any pluses/minuses there? My main work place is a Ford Transit Connect its grand. Otherwise its all the premsis i enter for pest control

Do you seek promotion, advancement? Yes theres plenty of room for that.

Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I don't see my job as a career tbh; although I do enjoy most aspects of it. It's a fairly tough industry (advertising sales) and I'm not in it that long,which makes it harder for me to know if I'm in it for the long haul. I certainly see myself staying in it for the forseeable,at least a year like.

The money is very good (although I do have to work hard for it), and the people are lovely,for the most part. The management treat us very well, and it's unionised (even if you don't want to join,it's still a good sign that management at least talk to them!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

Is it a career? Well, I'm three months and 30,000 words off qualifying as a social worker, so yes it is/will be a career.

Did you need to study to enter the industry? Yes. First have relevant undergrad study (which I didn't so I had to change educational direction after my undergrad to get that box ticked). Then it was really hard to get on the course, and then the course itself is really hard, and includes 1000+ supervised placement. I did a two years FT masters which was hard on every aspect of my life, a real challenge, but I really wanted a 'career'.

Do you like what you do? Mostly, yes. I'm only going off my placement experiences, though, I hope that's okay! My PT work is in social care (disability)and I enjoy that.

Do you like the people you work with? It's varied from nurses, to medical staff, to psychiatry to art therapists and chaplains, which makes it always so varied.

Well, it has mainly been in medical settings so maybe a bit more formal than I was used to. But it's okay.

Do you seek promotion, advancement? Well i will eventually but will always continually professionally develop; hope to become a play therapist in time.

Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later?
    I imagine it will cause a disruption when they come along, but I hope I'll be lucky enough to work part time by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Talk about your job. Is it a career?
    I currently work in pensions management for the public service, therefore I reckon I am just above paedophiles in terms of public revulsion. It is most definitely not a career. I have a degree but its construction related therefore, no jobs. The public sector is one of the few employers here so I took a job when I was offered it. I dont mind my job at all but its not what I want to do for the rest of my life.

Did you need to study to enter the industry?
    No

Do you like what you do?
    I do like it. There is loads to learn. I am never bored and I like the people I work with. I just hate the revulsion I get for working in the public sector. Also the wages are dreadful I earned more when I was in college and working in retail.

Do you like the people you work with?
    Yes I do.

Workplace is grand. Very small office and people are nice. Pluses are that it is small, out of town office so its quiet, no traffic and loads of parking. Minuses are that the heating is terrible. It gets so cold in winter that we need to work in coats/scarves/gloves etc. We had no running water for 2 weeks when it was cold. Not to mention the place is riddled with mice.

No, because its not what I want to do. Anyway there isnt any room for advancement because of the embargo thats been in place for almost 3 years.

No. I dont want children.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Talk about your job. Is it a career? Well I work in a bank, *ducks to avoid being pelted with rotten fruit* I think it is a career, it's what I've wanted to do since I was little (yes, was a nerdy kid) but I think I'll need a few promotions in order to be able to live comfortably on my income. I'm currently at the bottom rung of the ladder :o

Did you need to study to enter the industry? You need to have gotten a certain grade in your Leaving Cert to enter, but unless you want to stay at the lowest rank, you do have to study. The QFA Diploma is a requirement if you're working in an advisory role, so if you don't have it, it's very unlikely you'll be able to move up through the levels.

Do you like what you do? I really love my job, I'm sure it's some people's idea of hell, but I find it all really interesting, and because I work in a branch, I get to meet loads of different people too. There's loads of 'regulars' who you'd have a chat and a bit of craic with, and there's also the slightly less pleasant customers, but they just give the day a bit of variety! The only aspect I'm not really keen on is there can be a lot of pressure for sales, but I suppose that's the nature of the beast. I'd ideally like to work in one of the compliance type areas in the future.

Do you like the people you work with? Absolutely! They're a really great bunch of people, a lot of my best friends are people I work with.

What is your workplace like, any pluses/minuses there? Generally it's pretty relaxed, we all get on great so it's almost like going to hang out with your friends for the day. If someone is having a bad day, everyone else rallies around and tries to make them feel better. The big plus is that I work with such a great group of people. Other plusses are that the branch is in a shopping centre, so there's plenty of parking; it's also near where I live so it's only about a 20 minute drive to get in and out. The minuses are that being a shopping centre there's loads of fast food outlets around it, so trying to go on a diet is made harder when there's temptation literally all around you! The other minus is the whole economic situation at the moment means that bankers are pretty much the scourge of society at the moment (even though the lowly cashiers in the branches have nothing to do with what happened) and you do get people who can be very very abusive. So far this year, I've been told that I personally caused the recession, that we're no better than rapists, been called a bitch, and a particularly lovely woman told me she hoped a raider would come in and shoot me in the face! (This was because I told her she'd have to wait 6 minutes if she wanted a €500 note because it was under timelock).

Do you seek promotion, advancement? I probably will apply for it when I've gotten my QFA.

Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? I wouldn't say they'd cause more 'problems' than in most other jobs, although there is certainly an element of 'glass ceiling' in my company. Most if not all of the very high ranking female members of staff do not have children. My main problem if I had kids would be what would work out most affordable- give up work and mind the children, work part time and pay for childcare part time, or work full time and pay for full time child care.

Social care ...you have to have a degree/diploma in social care or nursing or Psychology.

i like it a lot its interesting and fulfilling in a way a lot of careers could never be...its also stressful and drawing at times..

the shift work and the fact that we are we work nights, weekends, and bank holidays ( iv worked Christmas day lots of time )...is see as a downside by some people..doesn't bother me thought.

i work with a great bunch of people its a small team and we have to work very closely together..

as for a family ...well you'd never manage if you didn't have a partner or a lot of support..because we work shift including nights ( so probably not suitable for a lone parent unless you know someone who can provide overnight care for you children )

i wouldn't realy be interested in promotion but they are promotional opportunities if you want them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭blondie7

i hate my job so much im actually starting to dread going into the office in the mornings, the work is so boring and repetitive i do the same thing 100 times a day, 5 days a week.

The people i work with are horrible to me they aren't talking to me this morning because i had a severe flu last week and took the week off. They all arrange work nights out and never invite me its horrible.

As for promotion not likely because you have to be a suck up to get anywhere in this job and that just ain't me.

I don't plan on having kids so that shouldn't be a problem.

So all in all i don't recommend people to join the civil service, its a horrible work environment.

Hopefully though ill get a place to study psychology in college and i wont have to worry about them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

I work in advertising, I have done for the past few years and current position is a step up from my previous roles. It isn't what I had in mind as a kid, but I do enjoy it and I do see it as a career as there's alot of scope for progression within my role.

Yes, I did a BA in Media. I wouldn't have got into my current position without it.

Do you like what you do?
    Most of the time I do, although lately it's been a bit stressful. It's a good place to work though and it's the right kind of environment for me - very relaxed with an open door policy. I could never work somewhere with a 'micro management' style, it would drive me nuts.

In a work atmosphere aye they're grand,everyone is sound enough in here, but I wouldn't see them as friends outside of work - we've very little in common.

It's pretty easy going, everyone chats away and there's generally a good buzz in the office. The only downside is that it's a pretty small office so if any one person is on a downer it tends to be catching!

Yes there's a lot of room for advancement within my role which is great.

It's not something I've ever taken into consideration to be honest.

I am a bit of a mix of IT administrator (one system that we use)/Secretary. It's not a career no. I have done the career thing, I was operations manager of a multi media development company and I decided I couldn't be arsed any more. So now I have a job.

No.

Do you like what you do?
    It's fine. I wouldn't be madly in love with my work or anything. I don't get much chance to be creative but I do love the job if that makes sense.

I LOVE the people I work with. I get on well with everyone here and they are just the nicest bunch of people.

Workplace is nice. There are perks. No minuses I don't think?

I'm sure there would be if I wanted it but I really don't. I want a nice 9-5 job that pays well and where I enjoy going in in the morning and by the time I get home I have forgotten all about it.

I have a daughter which is why I wanted a nice easy job. I would, without a doubt, leave my job tomorrow if I won the lotto to be a stay at home mum but not an option at present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭skywards

Talk about your job. Is it a career? I deal with race horses and recently off the track horses. Is it a career? Lord no. I'd like to get into web design instead at some point.
    Did you need to study to enter the industry? Not really, but you can't be completely ignorant either. Its more like 'Can you stay on this horse?' :pac:
    Do you like what you do? Generally.
    Do you like the people you work with? The ones that aren't lazy asshats and can do their friggen jobs, yes.
    What is your workplace like, any pluses/minuses there? Hmm.. Cold in teh winter, hot in the summer, its not at all uncommon to get injured, sometimes badly. I don't mind it per se, but its not a weekday 9-5 job either.
    Do you seek promotion, advancement? Yes, haha. If I play my cards right, I'll be soon employed by what will (soon) be one of the largest horse racing company's in the US. They're large and getting larger :eek:
    Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? Tell us all about it. I'm not a fan of children, and were I to ever have any, I'd probably get into a field less dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Talk about your job. Is it a career? My supervisor thinks my job is a career. I think know my job is a job, and I'm getting frustrated at spending my best climbing years stagnating.

Did you need to study to enter the industry? A monkey could do my job. I have studied, but what I've studied is completely irrelevant. My experience having worked for directory enquiries is of more benefit.

Do you like what you do? I like aspects of it - mainly any dealings with the public. I also severely dislike aspects of it. It's the same as any other job in that respect.

Do you like the people you work with? The people I work with are good people for the most part, but the place is so political and we're so micro-managed that there's constant friction.

What is your workplace like, any pluses/minuses there? The physical building is fine, apart from persistent water issues, but unless you look like you're under pressure it's almost considered that you're not working which I find terribly annoying.

Do you seek promotion, advancement? Advancement where I work is not a possibility.

Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? Tell us all about it Lots of the people I work with have children, and it does change things a bit, but effectively things remain the same. It definitely wouldn't effect any career advancement opportunities, as there are none. I'd like to think I'll change my career path if/when I have children, but I need to start having a career first. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Talk about your job. Is it a career? I am an evil public servant. I work in a public library as a library assistant. This is the lowest grade, grade 3. I'm not too sure if I would consider it a career. There are some I work with who have made it their career but for me, for now, it's a job.

Did you need to study to enter the industry? With the high competition for places during recruitment a degree is almost essential. Technically a decent Leaving Certificate is enough. I have a BA in English and History which stood to me in my interview. In order to become a Librarian you need to complete a minimum of a Higher Diploma in Information and Library Studies. UCD is currently the only place in the country offering the course and this is fulltime. As such, most people study via distance learning in universities such as Aberytswyth and Aberdeen. I'm currently undertaking the MSc in Aberystwyth as it is still recognised as holding the most weight internationally. Even when I gain my qualification I am not a librarian, I need to appointed to that position first.

Do you like what you do? I enjoy the job as there is a lot more to it than people think. If I had a euro for everytime I got asked "So do you just sit around reading all day?" I'd be a very wealthy lady. I ordering, receipting and dispatching books for the branches. I am currently part of the relief staff which means I am based in the Libraries Department of the County Council and I get sent out to all the different branches when needed. Its great experience and a good way to get to know everyone. I enjoy dealing with the public and, of course, being around books all day.

Do you like the people you work with? Yeah, there's nobody I would have an issue with. Nobody is in the job for the money because it's pathetic (I found a pay slip from 3 years ago where I was making €30 less than I am now. The levies/pay cuts have really hurt).

What is your workplace like, any pluses/minuses there? We have some old, creaky branches and some fabulous shiny new branches :)

Do you seek promotion, advancement? At the moment there is an embargo on recruitment and promotions. I can't see it changing anytime soon. I would like to go for promotion at some point, and hopefully being fully qualified will stand in my favour.

Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? I don't think kids will be a problem. The libraries are quite flexible in that regard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

My job is a Butcher.
    when i trained for the job it took 5 years to train.

I like the job,

but over the last 10 + years it has become easier to become a Butcher, as the training and the apprenticeship is easier than it was.

Meat is not cut or sold in the way it used to be, ok people say we have to move on. The traditional Butcher's are slowly dying out.

I work in Dublin city center in a very busy shop, there is 15 staff in the shop.

I still love the job, and especially meeting the people of Dublin city and County.

I have about 10 more years to go before retirement and then I intend to go on a long holiday.

Well thats about it, oh the wages are crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Talk about your job. Is it a career? I'm an illustrator/animator so yes it's a career. I've had jobs over the years to cover my living expenses but they were just jobs.

Yep did two college courses one in animation and one in illustration and hoping to go back for an MA in print soon. Also take lots of short courses to keep my puter and creative skills up to date.

Do you like what you do? I LOVE what I do. I want to be like Chuck Jones and draw and paint into my late 80's and beyond.

Do you like the people you work with? What is your workplace like, any pluses/minuses there? Do you seek promotion, advancement?

I work freelance so my workplace is mainly my own studio space where I can work in my PJ's if I wish. Head to comic shows and festival ever month or so which are always great, lots of effort and travel but you get to meet interesting people and always go for curry after the show :D I got to go Japan all expenses paid and draw comics there for two weeks in 2008 so my job rocks :) Do contract work at animation studios and they are always great places to work. Relaxed, good people, most have a pair of slippers they were around the studio. People are expected to do their work so no clock in or out or anything like that. Down side is it's super competitive and not for the thin skinned as your always having to put your work out there to be judged. Work is pretty much freelance or contract so you need to be good at looking for work, keeping track of money, doing your own taxes and be able to start your own projects to keep you sane when your between contracts. There isn't really advancement as such, your just always aiming to improve and grow as an artist.

Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? Tell us all about it.

No kids, can't stand them, never want them....nothing to do with career, have never wanted them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Talk about your job. Is it a career? I work in IT in a small company. It's not a career for me, but I don't see that as a negative thing. I could make it a career if I wanted by getting a position in a larger company, but I make great money, love my job and will do it as long as I can see that it's enjoyable and profitable.

Did you need to study to enter the industry? Nope, but I have 2 x masters in completely unrelated areas to what I'm working at and i suppose that I have considerable transferable skills - teamwork, organisational, software applications, reporting, etc. I adored what I did in college too, and keep it up as a hobby, but realised I didn't want to make a career of it. Wouldn't make enough money :pac:

Do you like what you do? I really enjoy it. If I woke in the morning and dreaded coming in I'd find something else.

Do you like the people you work with? The woman I work with is one of my best friends.

What is your workplace like, any pluses/minuses there? It's comfortable and close to where I live. 9-5 and weekends off. It's flexible enough that I'm not tied to my desk either. Can't really think of any negatives.

Do you seek promotion, advancement? There's nowhere to go promotion-wise in my role, but I am learning new stuff and do exams from time to time.

Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? I hate children, I'll never have them. I didn't pick my job because of that reason either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Talk about your job. Is it a career? I work on the production team of a TV programme, so I guess you'd call it a career. I work with a LOT of career-types who would sell their own mothers to climb up the ladder, and promotion happens fast and suddenly and most of the time, rather unexpectedly, for many.

Did you need to study to enter the industry? I did a BA in Journalism and got in via a lengthy placement, where I sacrificed sleep and any sort of a social life in the hope that I'd be kept on. I'm there more than two years now.

Do you like what you do? Yes. I've become a bit jaded, less enamoured by the 'glamorous' environment (ha!) and world-weary of the place if you catch me on a bad week, when overtime has been mounting and stress levels are through the roof. But I never get bored and often find myself in situations where I'll suddenly think, 'what is this? How did I get here? This is mad!' I've seen live TV at its best and worst!
    I get a lot of production control and it's indescribably rewarding to see the fruits of your hard-grafted labour take shape on a TV screen, after yet another 15 hour shift. As ever the aspiring writer, one of my favourite parts of the job is hearing the script I've written coming out of someone else's mouth in front of a TV camera. Also, I have an awesome showreel :)

Yeah, they're all pretty cool. It's a very informal work environment - casual dress code and there's a lot of banter every day. We go for breakfast together, have the odd night out. We're a team of almost exclusively girls (and 1 or 2 gay guys) so the tension does mount and b1tching is a daily reality, but I've been through all-girls schools and have two sisters, so I'm well able for it!

What is your workplace like, any pluses/minuses there? Pluses - I work in the centre of a busy, bustling newsroom and hear everything first. Minuses - I hear everything. Every murder, suicide, government scandal, economy report, car crash, political upheaval...it can get a little heavy, a little bit too much. I heard about the imminent death of someone very close to me, who happened to be a high profile figure, through a news meeting in the newsroom.
    A few more pluses - you get to meet, or at least catch a glimpse of, some well known faces. Novelty tends to wear off with this one, but sometimes someone will pass through some day who you idolised as a kid, or looked up to as a teenager, and you get another 'I can't believe I work here' moment.

Absolutely. My job has a short shelf life as it's so high stress and really unsustainable in the long term. Ultimately I want to be reporting at the newsdesk. But I also have plans to travel later this year. Ideally I'd combine the two.

Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? Yes, probably. Staff jobs are hard to come by in newspapers (which is where my ambition lies in the longterm) and freelancing is not something I'd be prepared to do as a mother. I do want to be a journalist, but my theory is, give it a go for a few years and if the lows outweigh the highs, change direction. Money is important to me and I won't have kids until I'm able to provide for them.

Something Woopsadaisydoodles said made me think...sorry if this is tangential to the thread!
    I would, without a doubt, leave my job tomorrow if I won the lotto to be a stay at home mum but not an option at present

How many would leave their job if they won adequate money in the lottery so as to make work unnecessary? If you thought you had worked hard enough in advancing your career would you give it up? Is it all just for money?

I know I couldn't just not show up in the morning! I wouldn't do that to my colleague or customers! But I would like to invest something in the business. Or maybe wind it up and do something else, working with the same people.

I'd be waaay too bored to stop working completely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Malari wrote: »

How many would leave their job if they won adequate money in the lottery so as to make work unnecessary? If you thought you had worked hard enough in advancing your career would you give it up? Is it all just for money?

I know I couldn't just not show up in the morning! I wouldn't do that to my colleague or customers! But I would like to invest something in the business. Or maybe wind it up and do something else, working with the same people.

I'd quit my job and open a book shop. I don't think I could ever be accused of being in my job for the money. If people knew what I earned I'd probably get laughed at :)

Also, if you had decided to stay at home to mind your children you probably wouldn't have time to be bored :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

I left a very well paid job to open my salon and now I earn pittance! I for one wouldnt give up work if I won the lotto!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

I hear ya! I think I would like to work part time eventually, even a four day week. But I would need some out of house stimulation! My mum is a stay at home mum and I crack up when I do her job for one or two days. Plus I have worked really hard to get to this position.

Chinafoot wrote: »
    I'd quit my job and open a book shop. I don't think I could ever be accused of being in my job for the money. If people knew what I earned I'd probably get laughed at :)

Also, if you had decided to stay at home to mind your children you probably wouldn't have time to be bored :P

Yeah I think I'd like something like that - a sandwich bar or coffee shop would be nice!

As for kids, yes, it's different if you are using financial freedom to stay home and mind them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Orla K

Something Woopsadaisydoodles said made me think...sorry if this is tangential to the thread!

I'd have to keep working, even if it was just part time, I know I'd make an awful housewife(even mother) if I tried, so housekeeper and childminder for me:)

I don't think I even like the idea of retiring.

At the moment I'm on the dole, bored out of my mind and I never want to be doing nothing again.

!

I wouldn't just "not show up in the morning"! For a start, I would be more subtle about winning the money. Secondly, as you said, I wouldn't do that to my colleagues, never ever burn your bridges.

I wouldn't invest in my business. I would open a coffee shop, a nice cafe like they had back when I was younger, that sell big pots of tea that little old ladies could afford. Big yummy brekkies that weren't sitting on bain marie all morning, and lovely rolls that tasted like your mammy made, It would be full every day because I would only sell fresh food at very reasonable prices. :) And I would work there in the morning, pay my staff well, keep them happy and have a good manager to run it in the afternoons. Yes, I have thought about it countless times :o

I would also get more involved in charity work. If I won enough money (the euromillions or the likes) I would set up a place for the homeless, somewhere that they could get fed and be treated with respect. And somewhere with excellent rehab facilities.

Oh, and I'd shop. Lots and lots of shopping :)

I would NEVER be bored!

Seems like the coffee shop style dream is quite prevalent!
    I would also get more involved in charity work. If I won enough money (the euromillions or the likes) I would set up a place for the homeless, somewhere that they could get fed and be treated with respect. And somewhere with excellent rehab facilities.

This is a lovely idea. I'd create a canteen type place where homeless people could get a free meal. I could combine my love of cooking with doing something really worthwhile and not have to worry about making a living. I couldn't make a career out of cooking in any other way - far too stressful!

Well if I win the lotto first I'll hire you and pay you well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

This is a lovely idea. I'd create a canteen type place where homeless people could get a free meal. I could combine my love of cooking with doing something really worthwhile and not have to worry about making a living.

I always liked the idea of running a big commune style place for the homeless to come for food, shelter, a bath, some counselling, some company... I'd love to set up a craft or workshop area, that they could use if they had creative talents and skills, maybe even supply instruments for them. Then we could sell items that they make online and have a little business going on, split the profits and use some to keep the program going. Could run computer courses and FÁS style training and that, help them get back on their feet.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

IS IT A CAREER? - Yes. I work in Fund Administration.

DID YOU NEED TO STUDY TO ENTER THE INDUSTRY?- Not as such. Had shedloads of relevant experience that I could apply hence them asking me if i'd consider a position here.

DO YOU LIKE WHAT YOU DO? Most days. Actually I do love my job but it's becoming increasingly functionalised which is taking me away from what I love best, liaising with clients.

DO YOU LIKE THE PEOPLE YOU WORK WITH? Yes. They're a fabulous bunch of people. We have great banter on a daily basis, the majority work hard and while we're all frantically busy we can still knock a bit of craic out of it as well. Some of them i've liked enough to have a snog with, which gives us something to natter about on a Monday morning. :D

WHAT IS YOUR WORKPLACE LIKE? ANY PLUSES/MINUSES THERE?
    It's a big shiny building, full of mod-cons, subsidised canteen with lovely food but it's in the arse end of nowhere. Journey to work now takes two buses, a serious pain in the face as I can't function in the morning without coffee.

DO YOU SEEK PROMOTION, ADVANCEMENT? Yes, i've already been promoted and am in the running for another one. They're dragging their heels on this one the past year because of the recession and some team mergers so i'm looking for another position elsewhere. However a conversation with an AVP last week urged me to stop looking because they have plans in store for me but sure we'll see how it all pans out.

DO KIDS CAUSE PROBLEMS, OR DO YOU EXPECT THEM TO FOR YOU LATER? Yes, they do to be perfectly honest. My hours can vary, I can sometimes be here until 8/9 o'clock at night and later. Some of the women here have children and doing this role can cause savage stress, if a NAV is wrong or deals need to be reversed before a NAV can be calculated then you just have to stay and do it. You can't depend on getting out on time, there is a certain amount of understanding amongst team members but people honestly do get pissed off because while some of us don't have children, we do still have lives.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

IS IT A CAREER? - Yes. I work as an IT Manager, and I've worked my way up from starting out in tech support.

DID YOU NEED TO STUDY TO ENTER THE INDUSTRY?- Not to enter but professional qualifications were essential for some of my previous roles.

DO YOU LIKE WHAT YOU DO? Most days. It's very varied, and quite challenging. Some days I leave work however and feel like throwing in the towel with frustration/anger/general hatred.

DO YOU LIKE THE PEOPLE YOU WORK WITH? For the most part, it's overwhelmingly male dominated on my teams, in the IT department and the company so there tends to be more direct confrontation than in a more female influenced environment, but once the guys get stuff off their chest, it's dealt with and things move on.

WHAT IS YOUR WORKPLACE LIKE? ANY PLUSES/MINUSES THERE?
    It's a fairly big complex with five seperate buildings, a combination of one old listed building, two huge prefabs and two dreary modern buildings without any of the benefits of modern buildings, I spend a lot of time moving between one building or another. The IT department support more than thirty locations in Ireland plus a few in the UK and the US so I've gotten to know some obscure places in Ireland :D

DO YOU SEEK PROMOTION, ADVANCEMENT? Yes, I've moved up a fair bit over the past few years, in different jobs and will move jobs for advancement. I cannot imagine I will be doing what I do now in five years time.

DO KIDS CAUSE PROBLEMS, OR DO YOU EXPECT THEM TO FOR YOU LATER? No I don't have any and have no interest in having them, the sort of job I have/will have in the future will always involve work outside of normal hours, this in itself has no bearing on my decision not to have children, I'm the oldest of ten and have plenty of nieces and nephews, and frankly am far too selfish to have children.

ETA: I'd not just up sticks and leave if I won the lotto, but I might change what I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

Current job no way in hell!! It's paying for me to earn enough money to study for my chosen career! Dramatherapist since you asked;)

Studying to be a drama teacher this year, then i've a two year MA course to do :)

Do you like what you do?
    Currently no, but it's dead easy and I can work my own hours

My OH and my best mate work in the company but not in the same area as me, which is nice. Other than that most of them are a bit headwrecking

Plus, i design my own hours and am the boss, minuses I am the boss
    As a dramatherapist, it's a hugely rewarding job and interesting, minuses is it can be hard and upsetting and i'll certainly never get rich from it.

Current job no, i've enough on my plate
    When I get qualified I'd love to get a job in a creative therapies practise

Do kids cause problems, or do you expect them to for you later? Tell us all about it.
    My OH and I have already decided I'll be the bread winner of the family, he'll stay at home with the kiddies hehe (also he's a muscian, staying at home is ideal for him!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

If I won enough to pay off the remainder of my college and car loans and had a little bit on the side I'd quit my job and go travelling in the morning. Not totally for the travelling.