Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I get to another mile stone tonight!..

• 20-02-2010 2:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭

My son turn's 18 tonight :D

We're going to the local for a pint, might have a chat about the burds. Talk shit about football, do the pub lotto!, introduce him to the other bar flies. Run through some pub etiquette - no religion or politics..

Then its party time!.

Anyway, I'm happy as a pig in poo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

No religion or politics? Sounds like a sh*t pub to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Oh man, that must be awesome. For you and the young lad. I wish your son a happy birthday, and the best of luck on what should be an amazing night out. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

What that guy said.

No religion or politics.. Nice rule..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

...or you could tell him now that our drinking culture is over-rated and that the local pub is invariably full of fat boring losers trying to get a couple of hours away from the nagging missus.

Either or.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Oh man, that must be awesome.

You know what, it is!.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Cool. I remember when I got to an age where I started goin for pints with the aul fella. T'was class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

bet ya feel old now. Happy birthday to your son. Get him pissed.

Agricola wrote: »
    Cool. I remember when I got to an age where I started goin for pints with the aul fella. T'was class.

Hey less of the "aul fella" malarky!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

That_Guy wrote: »
    No religion or politics? Sounds like a sh*t pub to be honest.

Standard Rules of the Bar, not always enforced unfortunately.

Good luck OP, I worked in our family bar from age 15 and had been drinking before I started there, the way my dad found out was seeing me taking a shot with a customer at 17 (and 9 months) he was shocked but we went out to the staff night out together the next week and both got plastered and this was how my mom found out while giving us the lift home. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

He'll be expecting a stripper-ho-gram by 9.45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

I'm not sure the proper thing to say Mak, congradulations seems a bit much, I suppose Good Squirt sounds about right! :)

No more fake ID's then? :P

Enjoy the night! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Ahem.. *nsfw*

Ah ya might as well ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭mark renton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Congrats Makikomi, to you for shooting on target that night and to your son who is now legal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

And the cat's in the cradle and the silver spoon, little boy blue and the man on the moon. When you comin' home son? I don't know when, but we'll get together then dad you know we'll have a good time then

*SNIFF SNIFF*

Only jokin'! Congrats OP! :)

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Ahem.. *nsfw*

Ah ya might as well ;)

Isn't the concept behind the traditional lapdance at a stag-party just a shorthand way of making the guest of honour say "goodbye to all this!" (now that you're getting married).

As such in this situation the OP should bring all the sons toys to the pub and smash them to pieces in front of him. He could also bring a calender and make the son wave goodbye to the months of June-August, cos he's never seeing them again either. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Wish my dad was like you! Fúcker didn't bother comin' out for a pint with me on my 18th! Actually he didn't even come to my party! Actually he STILL hasn't come out for a pint with me! Actually, FML!

/we live in the same house btw which makes it even worse :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Cool, hope you have a great night out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

We're going to the local for a pint, might have a chat about the burds. Talk shit about football, do the pub lotto!, introduce him to the other bar flies. Run through some pub etiquette - no religion or politics..

Then its party time!.

Have a good one !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

This my favorite song when I turned 18:

Fifty notes says Bonito posts a certain Bryan Adams track ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

might have a chat about the burds

At 18 ?? You asking him for some tips is that it ?:p:D

Just windin ya up. Congrats to ya both !:)

Snap Petey :D

Original didn't work so make do with the good Doctor K :pac:

80 'til I die me thinks :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

A mile stone for a grandparent: GP told them they had gall stones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Jeez....

Milestone...... all one word guys.

Enjoy the night.:D

Good on ye'
    It's all well and good until you tell him to do something and he says "F*** You! I'm 18"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

It's fuppin impressive to still have that good a relationship with your son at 18, wish i'd had the same all those years ago.

Fair play to you and enjoy the first of many;)

I'm 18"

You must be popular with the ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

Then its party time!.

Happy birthday to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,991 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

bonerm wrote: »
    You must be popular with the ladies.

fcukin' classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Turned 18 last year and had a great time hanging around with my dad, dad got cooler as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

You could have a bit of the craic by telling him that now he's 18 it's time he knows he was adopted. Then you can go on to make up all sorts of stuff about his drug addicted parents and their band of roving gypsy friends.

That's what I'd do; but don't drag it out for too long.

Remember the golden rule to teach him, not tonight because it's his birthday, but for in future.

Get your fcuking round in, don't dodge it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Congratulations on raising your son to adulthood OP. You must feel very proud.

Enjoy your first night out as adults together.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭The Saint

Fair play to both of you Mairt. Just remember, he's still young enough to be embarrassed by hid old man so pull down your pants, jump up and down and scream "he's my son" while pointing at him. Have a blast in the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

My parents weren't alive for my 18th. I know it's a trivial enough thing but having my first legal pint with the family was something i really wish i could have done. Enjoy Makikomi.

Another 7 years a n I'll be taking my son to the pub, hopefully they'll still be around then!

Anyway you know you're getting old when your youngest moves into an old folks home! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 AlistairOvereem

its a sad indictment of ireland today when a son reaching his eighteenth means his father has to bring him out and take him down the same sorry road he once took.

OP: tip for tonight, remind your young fella that the first aspect of the human personality to dissolve in alcohol is dignity, no doubt he'll already know that from watching you stagger through that door for the last eighteen years ;)

its a sad indictment of ireland today when a son reaching his eighteenth means his father has to bring him out and take him down the same sorry road he once took.

OP: tip for tonight, remind your young fella that the first aspect of the human personality to dissolve in alcohol is dignity, no doubt he'll already know that from watching you stagger through that door for the last eighteen years ;)

Eh, you know sweet fcuk all about the OP or alcohol it seems you judgemental ignorant person.

Go take your whining somewhere else fun killer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭DJ_U4EA

Eh, you know sweet fcuk all about the OP or alcohol it seems you judgemental ignorant person.

Go take your whining somewhere else fun killer.

MMMMMM.....nail on the mother****ing head I think!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Lighten up, tbh.

Tomorrow you can tell us all how it went, did you enjoy it! ;)

BWAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Having the craic, its snowing outside. Playing some game called 'beer pong'.

Showed the lads this reply and well the words expressed were fairly unparlimentary to say the least.

Ok, back to the diet coke and knitting :pac: later's....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

i posted a thread last year or the yer before some where about havin a pint with your "auld lad"... well i remember going for my first "official" pint with me dad when i turned eighteen.... believe me... that will stick in his head... now he's gonna go off and do his own things / as ye do/ but in a few years hell be lookin for ye to go for a pint with.! im now forty and me dad turns 72 this year and id have pints with him hands down any time over any of the eegits i know.. quality.!! but sure the feckin eejits after goin off it for lent... still.. i suppose ill meet up with him for pints on paddys day (the good old half way line)! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Teutorix

Then its party time!.

Congratulations on introducing your son to the stagnant hell that is average irish life.

Seriously people in this country just go to the pub every week and never do anything else with their lives. I know a plethora of young men that do nothing and basically have no life, they just spend there days in the same pubs talking to the same people and getting pissed.

Im 17, i dont drink and ive done more than alot of 30 year olds in my area.

Drinking in pubs =| my goal in life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Yore barred.

Congrats big fella, hope you have a ball. :)

Teutorix wrote: »
    Congratulations on introducing your son to the stagnant hell that is average irish life.

Seriously people in this country just go to the pub every week and never do anything else with their lives. I know a plethora of young men that do nothing and basically have no life, they just spend there days in the same pubs talking to the same people and getting pissed.

Im 17, i dont drink and ive done more than alot of 30 year olds in my area.

Drinking in pubs =| my goal in life.

Live life a little before you start giving advice on life.

To quote one of my drunkard idols, "I don't trust a bastard who doesn't drink, They're afraid of revealing their true selves."

Thank you Mr. Bogart.

Teutroix. you have lived nothing in life, I used to be teetotal until I was 17, adamant I would never drink, now I drink, and I haev to say, being drunk is glorious.

It makes other people more interesting, it makes me immune to criticism and I can counter all negative effects you can come up with.

Long-term effects on my liver? I don't plan to live past 50 anyway and I take way too many sober risks.

Makes me an assho*e? Nope, I am an assho*e anyway.

You seem to think everyone who drinks does so to get sh*tfaced and nothing more.

I do it because I love alcolhol, and it makes me warm and fuzzy inside!

Don't knock it til ya tried it.