Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny vs. Tipperary

• 19-02-2010 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭

Weak Tipp team out, KK to announce there one tonight.

What channel is this on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

setanta ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Setanta.

How is 9 of last years AI 15 a weak team?? No League debutants, half forward line and Webster would be my only real gripes with the team selected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

On Setanta Ireland, I can see Tipperary winning this game. It is the first time Kilkenny have played under floodlights.

i see the bookies are making tipp slight favourites for this game! I reckon kilkenny could be a good bet but i wonder if those odds will change if cody names a strong team tonight?? could be worth the risk backing them now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

benny dunne is out instead of woodlock WE ARE FOCKED!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Setanta.

How is 9 of last years AI 15 a weak team?? No League debutants, half forward line and Webster would be my only real gripes with the team selected.

Dunne, Webster, Moloney, Hennessey - its a weak team PS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

In fairness it's still a better team than most other counties will be able to field against Kilkenny this year. It's not as if Kilkenny will have the same starting XV as the AI final either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Bookies make Tipperary slight favourites @ 5-6, versus Kilkenny @ 11-10. Draw at 10-1 which isn't a crazy bet either.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I think Tipp will shade it, As far as I know Kilkenny are without the following:

Noel Hickey
    Derek Lyng,
    Mick Kavanagh
    Eoin Larkin
    All the Balyhale players (Shefflin, Fitzpatrick, TJ Reid, Michael Fennelly)

Add to this the fact that Kilkenny haven't yet played a single game with anything like a fulll strength team, the players who played in the Walsh cup were 3rd line players at best and won't even make the champioship panel

I'd like to think it will be a close run thing but i think Tipp will edge. I also think its a game they will be targetting as they were beaten by KK 3 times last year and will want to start 2010 with a victory against Kilkenny,.

Strong KK team imo.
    Kilkenny team:

P.J. Ryan, Canice Hickey, Brian Hogan, John Dalton, Tommy Walsh, Jackie Tyrell, J.J. Delaney, Willie Dwyer, P.J. Delaney, Richie Hogan, Michael Rice, Aidan Fogarty, Michael Grace, Martin Comerfrod, Richie Power.

Substitutes: David Herity, Richie O' Neill, James Ryall, John Tennyson, Damian Fogarty, Sean Cummins, Eoin McGrath, Paddy Hogan, John Mulhall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Orizio wrote: »
    Dunne, Webster, Moloney, Hennessey - its a weak team PS.

4/15 doesnt make it a weak team. Theres more than 4 usual starters for KK not starting, and you claim they have a strong team??

Benny Dunne can be handy if hes on form, please god he'll find that form this year. He might learn to control the auld temper too, wouldnt do him any harm

Yes, I think that Kilkenny team is much stronger then the Tipp one, particularly when you compare the KK center back line to the center forward line of Tipp.

We'll just have to wait and see what happens later i suppose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭sparkydee

I'm really looking forward to this. I think tipp will shade it. I disagree with the view it's a weak tipp team. The starting 15 mightn't be everyone's choice but I really think we can do it tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Ian_K

Kilkenny team:

P.J. Ryan, Canice Hickey, Brian Hogan, John Dalton, Tommy Walsh, Jackie Tyrell, J.J. Delaney, Willie Dwyer, P.J. Delaney, Richie Hogan, Michael Rice, Aidan Fogarty, Michael Grace, Martin Comerford, Richie Power.

Substitutes: David Herity, Richie O' Neill, James Ryall, John Tennyson, Damian Fogarty, Sean Cummins, Eoin McGrath, Paddy Hogan, John Mulhall.

If nothing else some mighty names out there for the cats!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

damn snow :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

damn snow :mad:

Wait a minute........ You love snow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,000 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Disappointing as it is to not be able to watch the game tonight, the correct decision was made.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

Wait a minute........ You love snow :D

I like it here, not in thurles cancelling the game!!! Don't have setanta anyway so i couldn't watch it even if it was on . . .

• Subscribers Posts: 16,663 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

KevIRL wrote: »
    Disappointing as it is to not be able to watch the game tonight, the correct decision was made.

was wondering what the feck was going on when cork v tipp is showing when I was expecting tipp v kilkenny, though I was going a bit nuts...

Well the Tipp team was ready to go out and play anyway, a lot of fans, including myself, left Thurles tonight feeling very ripped off.

The replay is Tuesday coming, apparantly, and its for free. So after we paid to get in and see nothing, and got no refund, any auld Joe Soap can wander in next tuesday. Feckin joke

just back from thurles myself and i gotta say that its a disgrace if this game goes ahead tuesday night after people paying in tonight. luckily enough il be able to make the game tuesday night if it is on but i can imagine theres going to be a hell of a lot of people who were there tonight but wont be able to make it tuesday evening!! €15 down the drain and i also think that price was a bit steep too:rolleyes:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

Gerard.C wrote: »
    Well the Tipp team was ready to go out and play anyway, a lot of fans, including myself, left Thurles tonight feeling very ripped off.

The replay is Tuesday coming, apparantly, and its for free. So after we paid to get in and see nothing, and got no refund, any auld Joe Soap can wander in next tuesday. Feckin joke

The Gaa did the same to dublin supporters after their game against Armagh in Crosmaglen was called off. They refused to refund supporters and replayed the game on a wednesday night at 6.30 when few could make it and admitted everyone for free.

How are they going to give refunds?

Apparantly if you queued up and gave someone your name, you then got to email the GAA and request a refund. Something should have been sorted out, they knew therer was going to be snow. Even if bthey handed out tickets on the way in, that would have done

The GAA don't give refunds for on reason, that been-ing you would have Students trying to get the full amount instead of what they payed. I disagree with the game been re-fixed for this Tuesday, there is a free weekend on 7 March, i think. Play it then.

Apparantly if you queued up and gave someone your name, you then got to email the GAA and request a refund. Something should have been sorted out, they knew therer was going to be snow. Even if bthey handed out tickets on the way in, that would have done
    You will not got a refund, you will be told go to the re-fixed game, with it beening free.

manutd wrote: »
    You will not got a refund, you will be told go to the re-fixed game, with it beening free.

What if I'm busy? Some people have things to be doing during the week

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Just back from Thurles, what a waste... What time is this on Tuesday, probably wont be able to make down from dublin.. :(

Why cant this be played on the weekend of march 6th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭HHH

Just home from Thurles too. Opted for cinema instead. Felt I got robbed twice in the one night! The whole ordeal was a bit of a joke to be honest. From our seats you could see togged out players ready to go out and play. I know the pitch must have been in bad condition but when we got back to the car at exactly 19:45, the snow had stopped. I’m going to make the trip back from limerick on Tuesday anyway because it should be a great game. Was there a bit of trouble too (possibly refund related)? When we were coming out a few Guards were running past us. The best part of the evening was when the intercom announced that a guy had left all of his windows down in his car!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Mullet wrote: »
    The Gaa did the same to dublin supporters after their game against Armagh in Crosmaglen was called off. They refused to refund supporters and replayed the game on a wednesday night at 6.30 when few could make it and admitted everyone for free.
    That match was replayed the following Sunday, Mullet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Look, it's always disappointing when you go to a game and it's called off. Disappointing for the players too, anyone that's played any sport will understand that. But the pitch was frozen and covered in snow, for football you might get away with it but for hurling you won't. It's dangerous, simple as that. The referee and officials made the right call in this instance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,082 ✭✭✭✭Spiritoftheseventies

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Look, it's always disappointing when you go to a game and it's called off. Disappointing for the players too, anyone that's played any sport will understand that. But the pitch was frozen and covered in snow, for football you might get away with it but for hurling you won't. It's dangerous, simple as that. The referee and officials made the right call in this instance.
    talk is it will be replayed Tuesday night. Tempted to go down. Could be a good opportunity for GAA to plug their national game.

HHH wrote: »
    Just home from Thurles too. Opted for cinema instead. Felt I got robbed twice in the one night! The whole ordeal was a bit of a joke to be honest. From our seats you could see togged out players ready to go out and play. I know the pitch must have been in bad condition but when we got back to the car at exactly 19:45, the snow had stopped. I’m going to make the trip back from limerick on Tuesday anyway because it should be a great game. Was there a bit of trouble too (possibly refund related)? When we were coming out a few Guards were running past us. The best part of the evening was when the intercom announced that a guy had left all of his windows down in his car!!!

didnt see any trouble of that sort but i did see some lad around (25 or 26 years of age id say) think he was a great lad throwing a snow ball at a guard directing traffic!! wasnt such a great lad when the guard held up the place giving him a good talking too:D

aidan24326 wrote: »

The pitch wasnt any more dangerous than it would be after a shower of rain, the players were ready to play and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭pajoguy

I hope the tipp lads didnt ate the hang sangwiches last night as they wil need to make more for tuesday...... Two sliced pans in a week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Confirmed via MunsterGAA's Twitter, 8pm in Thurles this Tuesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,285 ✭✭✭Deedsie

pajoguy wrote: »
    I hope the tipp lads didnt ate the hang sangwiches last night as they wil need to make more for tuesday...... Two sliced pans in a week!

Hilarious post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Daysha wrote: »
    Confirmed via MunsterGAA's Twitter, 8pm in Thurles this Tuesday.

free entry too, talk of 20,000 to 25,000 expected at it

On Setenta or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,712 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

On Setenta or not?

Just checked the listings, might be on Setanta Sports 1. Other channel showing CL football. Could be a chance for TG4 to nick in if not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭windowlicker

dont see it on the listings for setanta 1 or setanta ireland, dont see it on tg4 either.

anyone know if its gonna be shown anywhere?

edit: just saw on another board that someone rang them and its being shown on setanta ireland
    http://premierview.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=Tipp_&action=display&thread=17445

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Batmans dad

its on setanta ireland at 7 30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

Heard it's snowing again in Thurles - what are the chances the game will get called off again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Local radio just informed me that the game in ON... It won't be the most pleasant of nights but there'll be hurling....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Any streams for this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭fl&sh

mdwexford wrote: »
    Any streams for this??

bump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Called off.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

Has it been called off again?