Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to convince the folks to let you go out

• 17-02-2010 11:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭

Any idea how I should convince my parents to let me go on nights out? I'm 16 but I'm 6"2 so I wouldn't mind going out in the not so distant future. My parents on the other hand.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Go out where?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

Ask them nicely? Idk? They're your parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭ItsAWindUp

As in nights out, down to a late bar or club. I should have been clearer about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Tell Mr and Mrs Fritzel or Mammy and daddy as you might call them, that if they dont let you out soon you will tell on them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

According to your personal circumstances, earn their trust.
    That also means you being with others that will calm them more - not worry them more!

ItsAWindUp wrote: »
    As in nights out, down to a late bar or club. I should have been clearer about that.

Oh, OK then, no there are enough places for young people to go drinking, I don't want ye in my fine drinking establishments and risking having my favourite bars fined or worse for having undesirable characters in there. (Undesireable being young people.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Your taking me back now OP! Fighting with the parents about been let out.
    In my experience the only way is too bring them with you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Any idea how I should convince my parents to let me go on nights out? I'm 16 but I'm 6"2 so I wouldn't mind going out in the not so distant future. My parents on the other hand.....

Well are you male or female?

Oh and don't look down on your parents..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

Allay their fears and anxieties by telling them details of what you intend to do.Providing you re heading out for a good clean lawabiding night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I found telling my parents the truth usually helped when I was your age.
    My parents were quite liberal and I was honest with them.
    I would tell them I was off to a club and they would say "be careful and don't do anything foolish". Next day they would ask how much I had to drink at which point I would embellish the truth.
    Tell them you are capable and responsible and won't abuse their trust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭dcmu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

You do what the rest of us had to do, grab your balls in your hand and tell them both to go **** themselves your going out with or without their blessing, don't forget to mention you need 20 euro or you'll be forced to go thieving to buy your honey some cola pop and taytos!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

Is this a wind up? I can't take you seriously OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Simply inform them that you're going down to the local head shop to get some of this highly-addictive-scourge-of-society-hash-substitute, as they look at you aghast, inform them that you are reallygoing to go out to the local pub, drink 15 pints, poison your liver and kidneys, get in a fight, puke and probably pis$ yourself, but all within the boundaries of the law and they will gladly let you out for some government sanctioned fun.

He is 16, it's illegal unless he is at home in the company of his parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭Junco Partner

my parents are fairly sound about it. since i turned 17 in november they let me out me mammy even suggested i get an id so i can head into town
    they dont mind me goin out as long as i don't start fightin or make a gob****e of meself i.e fallin asleep in the middle of the road as some of me mates have done.

so three cheers for irresponsible parenting hip hip hoooray hip hip hoooooray hip hip horaaaaaaaaaaaay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

You're way too short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Show them this thread and let us convince them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,691 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

He could always go buy some bath salts ; )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I'm 15, and I'm allowed to go to clubs, pubs, late bars etc.
    If only my friends had beards too...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Divorce your parents. Legally possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

I'm 16 but I'm 6"2 so I wouldn't mind going out in the not so distant future.

Wtf does your height have to do with anything?
    You're still just a child at the end of the day and should be tucked up in bed in your favourite spiderman jammies by now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

If you wait about two years and then ask them it may be possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Tell them they've got your age wrong... For fup sake your 6' 2''! Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Doc

How about you wait until your old enough to drink in pubs? You want us to tell you a way to persuade your parents to let you do something illegal? Being 6'2" is not the same as being 18 your parents shouldn’t be letting you go out drinking and clubbing at 16 you’re not old enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

tman wrote: »
    Wtf does your height have to do with anything?
    You're still just a child at the end of the day and should be tucked up in bed in your favourite spiderman jammies by now...
    Well considering he's only 6 inches tall, it's no wonder his parents won't let him out of the house. He'd be trampled to death in a pub or nightclub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Just tell them you're heading out with Snyper, everything should be fine from there.

Trust me;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

f0ggy92 wrote: »
    my parents are fairly sound about it. since i turned 17 in november they let me out me mammy even suggested i get an id so i can head into town
    they dont mind me goin out as long as i don't start fightin or make a gob****e of meself i.e fallin asleep in the middle of the road as some of me mates have done.

so three cheers for irresponsible parenting hip hip hoooray hip hip hoooooray hip hip horaaaaaaaaaaaay

lol fair play to mammy and daddy. In all seriousness, I think it's a different story to say that to a young lad than a young lassie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

You're 16 lad!

Never mind the pub, get a bag of cans and a fire log and go to the nearest lake/traintracks and enjoy your bushing years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Best thing to do is make sure you've got all your homework done on Friday and get them to sign it.. etc.. hide that porno mag. and then call ***THEM*** hypocrites esp if they smoke .. like 2 pacs a day or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

You're 16 lad!

Never mind the pub, get a bag of cans and a fire log and go to the nearest lake/traintracks and enjoy your bushing years!

ah now come on thats for the 14-15 year old age group. When you hit 16 you need to start moving out of the field and into the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Not many of them ask these days. I was fucking terror at your age, and a good foot shorter =P

still a terror mindjoo :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

I cant believe that your parents are depriving you of nights out in South Tipp.

Thats sooooooooooooooooo sound of them.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,838 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Get a part-time job, it's a lot easier to get freedom if you've your own money to spend and aren't mooching off them all the time.

Ah pants, there was me thinking I'd just socked it to the man. I stand corrected.

OP, get cans and head to your nearest field. How long have you been drinking that you already want to head to pubs and clubs? Enjoy these years, going on the knack is the best drinking of your life!

Ah pants, there was me thinking I'd just socked it to the man. I stand corrected.

There is something wrong with this post.

/User name inappropriate..

Or...

/Appropriate, it depends on how you look at it.

/Actually now I think about it revert to my actual post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Still trying to figure out why height has anything to do with it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Ah sure all you have to do is be older.

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Still trying to figure out why height has anything to do with it...

You can't see the wood for the trees.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

OP i see your location is "South Tipp". As a fellow South Tipp man I would advise not going out until you hit college and a big city, honestly theres nothing in Tipp.

There is something wrong with this post.

/User name inappropriate..

Or...

/Appropriate, it depends on how you look at it.

/Actually now I think about it revert to my actual post.

i feel like i shouldn't thank you but i don't know why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Maybe his parents are winding him up?
    Besides he is only 6 inches...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

I used to stay in a friends house pretty much every friday night for years. Well at least thats what I told my parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Staying in is fun. I'm watching curling on BBC 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Go out, get turned away from every pub/club around, end up knacker drinking.

Drinking in fields is much more fun at that age anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Tell them to give you one chance. Then don't turn into a drunken idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Sheepy99

just tell them youre stayin the night in a friends, and come home quietly and appear in your room the next morning and take it from there. thats what i'd do , then again what do i know im only 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Tell them you are going to start dating a black man if they dont let you.

That should scare the sh1t out of any South Tipperary parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

16 but I'm 6"2

So really, you're 25 then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Just go gattin'... and make sure to stuff your bag with something to replace the cans before you go home. I made the fatal mistake of forgetting this once when I was 16 - a scarf was all I had to replicate the bulge created by a bunch of cider cans... :o