Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budapest

• 17-02-2010 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭

Hi all

Im looking to go to Budapest in March, Iv never been before, I'll be going with my gf. Im looking for some info on things to see and do, is there much?
    and hotels, anyone recommend one?

Were undecided where to go, we've been to Berlin, Prague in the last 6 weeks and just want another little break away. So we thought Venice or Budapest, both totally different im sure.

If anyone has any info I would be grateful

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

budapest is a really beautiful city, if you are willing to do a bit of walking and climbing you will get to see the city at its best, in terms of a city break you cannot do much better than budapest

for me the architecture is stunning, around every corner is some gem, the highlights of course are the likes of the parliament building on the danube, gresham palace, fishermans bastion and St. Stephen's Basilica been amongst the most famous

a visit to budapest should include a trip up to the castle, margaret island, Gellért Hill and of course the termal baths (which i didn't have time to visit :()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭undo

+1 for the thermal baths. Actually, make that +10. I somehow managed to miss them on my first two trips to Budapest as well. But ever since I went to one of them on a later trip, I cannot imagine going to Budapest without visiting baths very evening. If it is still cold in March with snow and all, you will end up getting the best experience - snow outside, 40°C pools inside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭bills

check out liszt ferenc for restaurants.
    Visit heroes square & buda.
    Get a pass for underground- well worth it as you will use it loads.

If you have the time, head out to the Sculpture Park. This is where the Hungarians moved many of the more impressive Communist-era statues. It is a very weird place full of faded communist glamor. Well worth seeing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

bills wrote: »
    ... Get a pass for underground- well worth it as you will use it loads.

The same pass is good for the trams, which are even better because you can see things! Don't chance travelling without a pass, because inspection is heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Omega28

wow thanks for the info guys!

anyone recommend somewhere to stay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Danubius Hotel Gellért - Gellert Hotel Budapest

Stayed ^^^^ when I was there, very nice hotel for a reasonable price.. Close to city and fabulous spa's downstairs where massage therapy is also available. When I was there Michael Palin was staying there too, he was filming the Budapest leg of his TV show. So it's not a kip is what I'm saying! Great city. Architecture is amazing throughout. Enjoy.

Im thinkin here to myself, Would it be worth staying 2 nights in Budapest and perhaps driving up to Vienna? anyone ever do it?

I wouldn't attempt that now. You may not be doing justice to both cities if it's just a mini break and your rushing around to see stuff cos your on a timeline. Depends on how many days you have in total.

say 2 days in budapest then 2 days in Vienna?

For me that'd be cutting it fine, realistically with travel you wouldn't actually be getting 2 days and nights in either. I'd do 3 in Budapest and leave Vienna for another trip. There's plenty to see there too, I hear, I went there on a stag so saw very little. ;) Plus there's good deals travel wise with advance booking, time off work is the only thing.

I think ur right, I was just on a mad one:D

Regarding accomadation I was looking at this place http://www.queenscourt.hu/ anyone know anything about it?

Im lookin to spend up to about 90euro per night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭bogins

I also recommend the thermal baths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Dylanmc111 wrote: »
    I think ur right, I was just on a mad one:D

Regarding accomadation I was looking at this place http://www.queenscourt.hu/ anyone know anything about it?

Im lookin to spend up to about 90euro per night.

Are you interested because of the video? I don't think there is a guarantee of dozens of bikini-clad beauties. Perhaps it's as well that there isn't: your gf might not be pleased.

I can't comment on the place itself. It's in a location I consider good, just off what is known as the Grand Boulevard, a big thoroughfare that runs as a semi-circle through Pest, and quite close to Andrassy ut, which is Budapest's version of the Champs Elysees. It gets good ratings on tripadvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Hotel_Review-g274887-d617507-Reviews-Queen_s_Court_Hotel_Residence-Budapest.html and on venere: http://www.venere.com/hotels/budapest/hotel-queens-court/?ref=1276864&sd=19&sm=02&sy=2010&ed=21&em=02&ey=2010&rval=1&pval=1#information;swa20100219,20100221,1,1 (personally, I give more weight to venere ratings because of the way the collect them).

If I was going to Budapest again, I'd certainly consider it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭elsparko

just home from budapest actually. took the girlfriend over for valentines weekend.

we stayed in the intercontinental and got a great deal on it for 100 euro a night for a kingsize room overlooking the Danube, Chain Bridge and directly across the river from the Palace(which is lit up at night and looks absolutely amazing).

The city is gorgeous and very easy to find your way around, and a lot of things to check out, especially the palace, labrynth, margaret island, the bats, ice skating rink etc etc,

found the people in the city very helpful and friendly, and always more that accomodating when it came to the language barrier(if it ever proved a problem).

I would highly recommend going there.

elsparko wrote: »
    just home from budapest actually. took the girlfriend over for valentines weekend.

we stayed in the intercontinental and got a great deal on it for 100 euro a night for a kingsize room overlooking the Danube, Chain Bridge and directly across the river from the Palace(which is lit up at night and looks absolutely amazing).

The city is gorgeous and very easy to find your way around, and a lot of things to check out, especially the palace, labrynth, margaret island, the bats, ice skating rink etc etc,

found the people in the city very helpful and friendly, and always more that accomodating when it came to the language barrier(if it ever proved a problem).

Hi can I ask where u got that deal for 100 euro a night?

thanks for the info!

Are you interested because of the video? I don't think there is a guarantee of dozens of bikini-clad beauties. Perhaps it's as well that there isn't: your gf might not be pleased.

I can't comment on the place itself. It's in a location I consider good, just off what is known as the Grand Boulevard, a big thoroughfare that runs as a semi-circle through Pest, and quite close to Andrassy ut, which is Budapest's version of the Champs Elysees. It gets good ratings on tripadvisor: http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Hotel_Review-g274887-d617507-Reviews-Queen_s_Court_Hotel_Residence-Budapest.html and on venere: http://www.venere.com/hotels/budapest/hotel-queens-court/?ref=1276864&sd=19&sm=02&sy=2010&ed=21&em=02&ey=2010&rval=1&pval=1#information;swa20100219,20100221,1,1 (personally, I give more weight to venere ratings because of the way the collect them).

If I was going to Budapest again, I'd certainly consider it.

I was going to book cause it gets good ratings, there suites look very spacious and it isnt that expensive but If u can recommend anywhere else that would be great as I dont know Budapest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,128 ✭✭✭thorbarry

Check out this place. I stayed here last year, it cost €150 in total for a double room for 2 nights b&b

http://www.promenadehotelbudapest.com/
    http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g274887-d1071709-Reviews-Promenade_Hotel-Budapest.html

I found it pretty central to everything. The breakfast was good too :)

anyone ever stay in the Adina Apartment Hotel in Budapest? Is it a good location?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

haven't stayed there but its in a good location just north of the parliament, close to the metro (which is helpful too)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭elsparko

Hi can I ask where u got that deal for 100 euro a night?

thanks for the info!

got it on expedia.

Also check out the Gerbaud cake shop and cafe just around the corner form the Intercontinental

http://www.gerbeaud.hu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭maebee

elsparko wrote: »

Thanks for this post Elsparko. I'm going to Budapest in 2 weeks time, on a dental holiday and I intended to spend this week looking up things to do / places to see etc. We got 4 nights in the Danubius Flamenco for €191 for the 2 of us, with breakfast included. I thought this was a great bargain at €24 p.p.p.n. as it's a 4 star hotel. Has anybody else stayed there? Thanks.

maebee1 wrote: »
    Thanks for this post Elsparko. I'm going to Budapest in 2 weeks time, on a dental holiday and I intended to spend this week looking up things to do / places to see etc. We got 4 nights in the Danubius Flamenco for €191 for the 2 of us, with breakfast included. I thought this was a great bargain at €24 p.p.p.n. as it's a 4 star hotel. Has anybody else stayed there? Thanks.

Last few reviews of it on trip advisior have been mixed: http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Hotel_Review-g274887-d277006-Reviews-Danubius_Hotel_Flamenco_Budapest-Budapest.html

but for that price u cant go wrong

Last few reviews of it on trip advisior have been mixed: http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Hotel_Review-g274887-d277006-Reviews-Danubius_Hotel_Flamenco_Budapest-Budapest.html

but for that price u cant go wrong

Yikes. Thanks for that Dylan. The reviews are poor alright. I should have looked at Tripadvisor. I booked it from here: http://www.1800hotels.ie/budget-hotels-worldwide/Hungary/Budapest/hotels/Danubius-Flamenco?s_kwcid=TC%7C8493%7Cdanubius+flamenco+budapest+hotel%7C%7CS%7C%7C5240987239
    where it looked the bees knees. Oh well, we'll just have to spend more time in the bar !

Yikes. Thanks for that Dylan. The reviews are poor alright. I should have looked at Tripadvisor. I booked it from here: http://www.1800hotels.ie/budget-hotels-worldwide/Hungary/Budapest/hotels/Danubius-Flamenco?s_kwcid=TC%7C8493%7Cdanubius+flamenco+budapest+hotel%7C%7CS%7C%7C5240987239
    where it looked the bees knees. Oh well, we'll just have to spend more time in the bar !

I always book from 1800hotels, there really good value! In fairness, I think it looks amazing and I'm sure it isn't as bad as ppl are making it out on trip advisior!

Im going to Budapest on the 15th of next month, first time going, can't wait! I'll be looking for a similar hotel too but probably gonna go for the Intercontinetal Hotel, its a 5 star hotel, excellend location and for 230 euro for 3 nights its not bad! I had to stretch my budget a little :)

I always book from 1800hotels, there really good value! In fairness, I think it looks amazing and I'm sure it isn't as bad as ppl are making it out on trip advisior!

Im going to Budapest on the 15th of next month, first time going, can't wait! I'll be looking for a similar hotel too but probably gonna go for the Intercontinetal Hotel, its a 5 star hotel, excellend location and for 230 euro for 3 nights its not bad! I had to stretch my budget a little :)

You're going on March 15th? So are we. There til the 19th. Any idea where to go on Paddy's night?

haha thats gas! were staying til the 19th as well! Ugh I'v no idea about Paddy's night but I'm sure us Irish ppl can find somewhere, even if were out of our own native land:D

I'm not sure what the nightlife is like in Budapest to be honest with u, perhaps other ppl on here can help us there!

haha thats gas! were staying til the 19th as well! Ugh I'v no idea about Paddy's night but I'm sure us Irish ppl can find somewhere, even if were out of our own native land:D

I'm not sure what the nightlife is like in Budapest to be honest with u, perhaps other ppl on here can help us there!

I was just wondering if there's an Irish pub in the city. I'll go off and have a google now.

Happy days! Good Find!

I wanna see some green on the 17th! :D

Looks like they have the typical Irish Pub abroad prices:

Budweiser - 0,33 - 780.-Ft. Nearly €3 for a small bottle of Bud. Feck that.

thats expected I suppose! walk down the street and you'll find somewhere that sells it for half the price! I wonder if theres anything happening over there on the 17th?

I wonder if theres anything happening over there on the 17th?

I've emailed the Irish pub asking them that. Will let you know what they say. I know thatr March 15th is their "Paddy's Day".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭dario28

undo wrote: »
    +1 for the thermal baths. Actually, make that +10. I somehow managed to miss them on my first two trips to Budapest as well. But ever since I went to one of them on a later trip, I cannot imagine going to Budapest without visiting baths very evening. If it is still cold in March with snow and all, you will end up getting the best experience - snow outside, 40°C pools inside.

Whats the story with the Thermal baths , I heard some good and bad reviews on trip advisor , which one is good to go to for massages and a coupley type break away

Just back from Budapest, I'v been to alot of European cities now and I have to say this has been the worse, I certainly won't be recommend there.
    We didn't feel safe at all during our stay with the locals being very unfriendly. We had so many incidents when we there, its like they don't want tourists in their country.
    The place itself is nice, not much to do but its the ppl what make a place and the ppl here were just miserable and horrible. As soon as we got into the taxi when we arrived til the time we got a taxi to the airport on the way back, we were looking over our shoulders. We were genuinly afraid. 1, 2 nights is enough in my opinion if u were to go.

Maybe we just had a bad experience, but as I said the place is ok but its the ppl there that were just horrible.

Came home and we were drained, couldn't wait to be home, I actually missed Ireland lol

:mad:

Just back from Budapest, I'v been to alot of European cities now and I have to say this has been the worse, I certainly won't be recommend there.
    We didn't feel safe at all during our stay with the locals being very unfriendly. We had so many incidents when we there, its like they don't want tourists in their country.
    The place itself is nice, not much to do but its the ppl what make a place and the ppl here were just miserable and horrible. As soon as we got into the taxi when we arrived til the time we got a taxi to the airport on the way back, we were looking over our shoulders. We were genuinly afraid. 1, 2 nights is enough in my opinion if u were to go.

Maybe we just had a bad experience, but as I said the place is ok but its the ppl there that were just horrible.

Came home and we were drained, couldn't wait to be home, I actually missed Ireland lol

:mad:

Thats a nightmare

Is this the first time you have been to that part of Europe ? was your hotel in a dodegy area ? What incidents ?

No me and my gf have been around Europe a fair bit now, we always have an amazing time.

The hotel was in a great location, can't fault the hotel at all actually regarding facitilties and location etc

It was just the Hungarian ppl we found to be horrible. On the flight home we were talking to a lovely Irish lady who went over to get some dental work done and she said she found the ppl to be 'pure miserable', she was there yrs ago and she said its not what it use to be.

Regarding the incidents well there was so many. It wasn't a holiday we went on, well it didn't feel like it was anyway. Anyone else have similar experience?!

As I said maybe we just a bad experience with the ppl but were friendly ppl as it is and we were polite to them but we just got so sick about the way were being treated I just gave up on the ppl.

Regarding the incidents well there was so many. It wasn't a holiday we went on, well it didn't feel like it was anyway. Anyone else have similar experiences?

Name a few....We were in slovakia for new years and found the people to be slightly expression-less but never felt threathend , its just their way , like the way dumb yanks smile like idiots and say hello constantly !

In fairness communist europe wouldnt have been the most plesant place to grow up in

got a taxi from the airport to the hotel, the driver was going 120 in a 40 zone, waving in and out of lanes like a mad man, crazy driving.

Same day we went to Subway, trying to order some food, the person working there was slamming the equipment, fcuked the meat and salad on the bread, gave us the most horrible looks, if I wasnt so hungry we would of left.

On the underground we were fined 6000ft for not having our ticket stamped even though it was valid, the ticket inspector accused me of hitting her and was calling the police, I have'nt hit a fly in my life never mind a person so we just paid to avoid more hassle.

On paddys day we went to an Irish Bar, ordered some food, took 55 mins, I didnt bother to complain.
    It was fairly quiet, band came on at about 9pm, place got more busy, a few ppl standing, 2 guys and a few girls came in, stood beside our table which was a bench and small table, they kept pointing and banging their glasses on our table, we said nothing, so they kept doing, literally pointing and saying stuff in Hungarian and banging theirs glasses. I was getting really pised off but said nothing then one of the girls with the 2 guys said "move, thats our regular place to sit" .

We had other incidents as well with the ppl, constantly looking over our shoulders, feeling afraid someone was going to jump on u.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭totallytrees

got a taxi from the airport to the hotel, the driver was going 120 in a 40 zone, waving in and out of lanes like a mad man, crazy driving.

Same day we went to Subway, trying to order some food, the person working there was slamming the equipment, fcuked the meat and salad on the bread, gave us the most horrible looks, if I wasnt so hungry we would of left.

On the underground we were fined 6000ft for not having our ticket stamped even though it was valid, the ticket inspector accused me of hitting her and was calling the police, I have'nt hit a fly in my life never mind a person so we just paid to avoid more hassle.

On paddys day we went to an Irish Bar, ordered some food, took 55 mins, I didnt bother to complain.
    It was fairly quiet, band came on at about 9pm, place got more busy, a few ppl standing, 2 guys and a few girls came in, stood beside our table which was a bench and small table, they kept pointing and banging their glasses on our table, we said nothing, so they kept doing, literally pointing and saying stuff in Hungarian and banging theirs glasses. I was getting really pised off but said nothing then one of the girls with the 2 guys said "move, thats our regular place to sit" .

We had other incidents as well with the ppl, constantly looking over our shoulders, feeling afraid someone was going to jump on u.

Sorry to hear you had such bad experiences in Budapest. I was there last October and absolutely loved it, found it really cultural with loads to do. Myself and my boyfriend never felt threatened at all and we spent most evenings walking around the city late. The people definately do give off that eastern european vibe - I found their manner is quite different, and even things like them dressing a lot differently to us - I got a few too many stares on the train when we were heading out in the evening wearing a Topshop dress but I think its just cos they aren't big into 'fashion' and I was probably screaming tourist!

A big cultural difference that I loved was the fact that sitting in a pub at 12 at night, 50% of the people were drinking coffee, having little nibbles and having the craic with their friends, totally dressed down even in the popular bars. It was brilliant - really stood out to me that there should be more places to do it in Ireland without people looking at you like you've 10 heads and asking whats wrong with you :p

Sorry to hear you had such bad experiences in Budapest. I was there last October and absolutely loved it, found it really cultural with loads to do. Myself and my boyfriend never felt threatened at all and we spent most evenings walking around the city late. The people definately do give off that eastern european vibe - I found their manner is quite different, and even things like them dressing a lot differently to us - I got a few too many stares on the train when we were heading out in the evening wearing a Topshop dress but I think its just cos they aren't big into 'fashion' and I was probably screaming tourist!

A big cultural difference that I loved was the fact that sitting in a pub at 12 at night, 50% of the people were drinking coffee, having little nibbles and having the craic with their friends, totally dressed down even in the popular bars. It was brilliant - really stood out to me that there should be more places to do it in Ireland without people looking at you like you've 10 heads and asking whats wrong with you :p

We will be there this time next week - any recommendations ?

for pubs/restaurants/hotels?

pubs and restaurants please - booked the Corinthian 5 star action so really looking forward to that

I just looked that up, you're in a great location! Very central, only up the road from the House of Terror museum and near all the metro stops. Hotel looks gorgeous too!

I took a card for 1 restaurant we went during our visit so I wouldn't forget it and I couldn't recommend it more. Its called Eklektika - has a great cool vibe, nice friendly people, and cheap grub! For a mains you're talkin about €8 so its really cheap. We rang up that evening about 3 or 4 hours before dinner just to book a table for 2 althought im not sure how neccessary it was. I just found a bit on it from tripadvisor - http://www.tripadvisor.ie/Restaurant_Review-g274887-d850208-Reviews-Eklektika-Budapest.html

For bars, you've got to go to Szimpla Kert bar. It does get a good few tourists so its not majorly cheap but its packed full of city studenty people just out for a chat. Really cool vibe off this place as well, fairy lights everywhere, tattered old sofas in little alcoves etc.. Loved it. A must-see. Other bars we found just from walking around.

Just a tip as well, be careful in your hotel. We stayed in a 5 star Ramada Plaza and the bar in the hotel isnt actually owned by the hotel, its leased out. So they charge extra-ordinary prices for beer and wine. A 10cl glass of wine on the menu was €6.50 and at the end of our drinks when we got the bill, it was obvious they had been serving me 20cl glasses of wine(which looks like an average glass so I didnt tell!) basically I paid €13 PER GLASS!! Complaining to the hotel didnt help since they dont own it. Theres a few of these scams so just be careful :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 RIODEJ

is english widely spoken there guys?

RIODEJ wrote: »
    is english widely spoken there guys?

the people you need to speak english to (staff in restaurants,hotels,train stations) do speak english.

I got a few too many stares on the train when we were heading out in the evening wearing a Topshop dress but I think its just cos they aren't big into 'fashion' and I was probably screaming tourist!

Actually, the opposite is the case. People in Eastern Europe dress extremely well. And so they were to surprised to see someone demonstrating Irish "fashion".

Still, all you should get is stares. I am sorry to hear others had a bed a experience with Budapest. I love the place and will keep going back many times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 cairnrua

Well, it's hard to give out too much about places like here. Was there a few times recently. Definitely less touristy than Prague. But found no hassle on walking around. Architecture just great! People were fine, no different than many eastern cities. The famous "trick" of fining foreigners on subway - well had that too. Was at 8.30am on a Sunday going to Keletie. Bought so called " 24hr" ticket on saturday evening. Checked with security that night at gate of station and told - perfect for next morning. Next morning showed ticket at two check points and perfect. On getting off train - three before were stopped without tickets - let go when he saw me. Told invalid, and to pay 25Euro equivilent. Argued - no go. Seems if you buy 24hour ticket at 23.59 it's invalid at 00.00. Daft. Anyway after three months correspondence with tourist office and Rail network, got an apology, and vouchers for equivilent of 25Euro. Was the principle. DB rail seem to be working with rail network to update system.
    Overall, lovely place, lovely food, sound people generally, would recommend place, and would go again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 miseian

dario we're just back from Budapest and Vienna. was a great trip. stayed four days in Budapest and 1 in Vienna, plenty left to go back and see in both places. it's too bad to hear people had such a terrible time there. the people weren't overly friendly but found them helpful enough. went to a couple restaurants we loved, bohemia and ket szerecsen, both off andrassy ut. great food and atmosphere. i'm sure you'd get cheaper further away from touristy areas but it was worth it. go to the baths if you get a chance, definitely. we went to the szechenyi baths 3 times. bring your own towel! and the opera, head there as well. stephen's basillica was impressive, and free! overall a great place.

undo wrote: »
    Actually, the opposite is the case. People in Eastern Europe dress extremely well. And so they were to surprised to see someone demonstrating Irish "fashion".

Well that wasn't what happened in my case. If they were so fashion forward, I doubt they'd have got such a shock at a plain high st dress.

Tourists are always going to get stares and Budapest is no different, but definately not threatening.