Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flannery out for 6 weeks.

• 17-02-2010 1:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭

According to the BBC. Misses the rest of the 6N obviously, back just before the HEC QF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Bugger. He deserved it. But, well, bugger.

Best's as good as him, but Cronin's well behind those two.

He's pretty good though. Good opportunity for him.

6 weeks seems a tad lenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭louthandproud

"that the action had been reckless rather than deliberate and merited a mid-range sanction under IRB Regulation 17"

Lucky boy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭twinytwo

He's pretty good though. Good opportunity for him.

6 weeks seems a tad lenient.

not really 6 weeks and 3 international games for something that was stupid but not serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,546 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Bit unlucky but still should known better at time

nobody blame but himself.

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Got off lightly should be fined by irfu too might stop other players doing such mindless things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,679 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

Great, I was only worried about the HC anyway, The 6N's pffft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

twinytwo wrote: »
    not really 6 weeks and 3 international games for something that was stupid but not serious

Had he broken the guys leg would it have been serious? The final result shouldn't impact the act itself. The act was pretty damn serious, and nasty.

BTW, the act was thought out and deliberate. He had time to do it, wound up and moved forward and lashed out.
    This wasn't a reckless split second strike. He sized the guy up.

As for the ban, I predicted six weeks. I didn't want him to be banned even though I agree
    that it was worthy of a ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Feckin eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

How was it not serious ? He kicked the guy and injured him.

I think 6 weeks is a fair cop, with all due respect to J. Flannery who did indeed play well against France otherwise and is a player I admire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

Its a fair ban to be fair, don't think anyone can argue with it. Rory will come in and do a job, both fully fit theres very little between them. Its unrealistic to expect Best to play more than 60 mins against England, he must be told to give his all with his replacement, most likely Cronin, to come on then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Feckin eejit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Am i the only one that thinks Best isn't even related to Fla as a player??

I hope to God Cronin gets game time, he has absolutely wicked potential imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭death1234567

Fully deserved ban but he should be docked 6 weeks wages as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

walshb wrote: »
    Had he broken the guys leg would it have been serious? The final result shouldn't impact the act itself. The act was pretty damn serious, and nasty.

BTW, the act was thought out and deliberate. He had time to do it, wound up and moved forward and lashed out.

As for the ban, I predicted six weeks. I didn't want him to be banned even though I agree

Give Flannery a bit of credit, like the rest of the munster and leinster packs, he's too shrewd to deliberately commit an offence like that in wide open play in a televised game. There is no way it was going to be missed, so he wouldn't consciously try it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Seems perfectly reasonable, had hoped 4 weeks, feared 8 so 6 seems about right.

Jaysus some of the comments here you would swear he stamped on the guys head or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

John_Mc wrote: »
    Give Flannery a bit of credit, like the rest of the munster and leinster packs, he's too shrewd to deliberately commit an offence like that in wide open play in a televised game. There is no way it was going to be missed, so he wouldn't consciously try it.

The guy had the ball gathered in hand and from nowhere a kick a tinkers horse would have been proud of lifts him off the air.
    It was late nasty and very deliberate out of character but it still happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Anybody else here think it was an accident what he did? He premeditated kicking the ball and put the head down. But le bleu picked it up and ran to where the ball would have been, and met Flannery's foot/leg.
    I just think that Flannery had brutally slow reflexes to react to the situation.
    It was seriously reckless, and luckily the french fella only ended up with a dead leg, and I think that 6 weeks is about fair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Rookster

The idiot should have been banned for 12 months. That was a reckless thing to do on a rugby pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭W.B. Yeats

But he did do it in open play and was caught
    6 weeks is deserved
    I hope he takes his medicine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

I think he should have got the max of 12 weeks in that case. i don't know what to do in order to get maximum ban under the related rule 10.4 ....

the guy could have ended with a brocken leg. 6 weeks and a return for HC 1/4 looks all too convenient for me ....

let's forget about him during the 6 nations and get him back to business for what's important ...

I hear people moaning about the french player carrying playing in the Top14 after getting a Hcup ban ...

So is pulling down a maul,shoulder barging, not wrapping up in the tackle and pulling players out of rucks by wrapping your arm around their face/neck which happens more and more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,036 ✭✭✭murphym7

Could not have put it better myself - there is no way a player of his experience would be stupid enough to think that he would get away with something as blatant as that. Not saying he would not be up for some sneaky stuff, he definetly is. 6 weeks for being a clown is about right, there is no way Flannery went out to hobble the guy - a baddly timed kick with a bad (could have been worse) outcome. Just happy he didn't break his leg.

So is pulling down a maul,shoulder barging, not wrapping up in the tackle and pulling players out of rucks by wrapping your arm around their face/neck which happens more and more

I don't see why you are bringing in all this.

Simple: What Flannery did was bad, nasty and serious. He could have broken the mans leg, or worse, caught him square in the face and killed him. It was a full on kick in motion from a 16 stone Rugby player.

You can list many other instances of serious sh!t in Rugby, that's fine by me. I am just talking about what Flannery did on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭matt-dublin

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/rugby/2010/0217/1224264665256.html
    Jerry Flannery will miss the remainder of the Six Nations campaign after the Ireland and Munster hooker was banned for six weeks for kicking France’s Alexis Palisson during last Saturday’s defeat at Stade de France

Flannery had his case heard by a Six Nations disciplinary committee in Dublin today. Committee chairman Roger Morris, along with Mike Hamlin and John Doubleday, considered the evidence before deciding the incident had been “reckless rather than deliberate and merited a mid-range sanction under IRB Regulation 17”.

The 31-year-old is free to start playing again on Monday, March 29th with last game of the Six Nations to be played against Scotland at Croke Park on Saturday, March 20th.

In making their decision the committee “took into account the guilty plea by the player, who acknowledged at the outset that his action warranted a red card”. Flannery also showed remorse for the injury caused to the French winger.

As Flannery made the guilty plea, and the ban is at the lower end of the scale, it is unlikely he will appeal the ban, though he has that option.

The offence came under rule 10.4c (kicking) which is more serious than a tripping 10.4d (tripping) offence. A tripping offence carries a sanction ranging from two to seven weeks and a kicking offence a sanction of four to 12 plus weeks at the higher end.

Flannery’s ban means Ulster’s Rory Best is in line to take the number two jersey after recovering from neck surgery before the Six Nations.

As it stands Flannery will be available for Munster’s Heineken Cup quarter-final against Northampton at Thomond Park on Saturday, April 10th.

The IRFU said they will wait for the written review before considering any further action. "Following the decision of the Six Nations disciplinary committee today to suspend Ireland hooker Jerry Flannery for six weeks, the IRFU and Ireland team management will wait to review the written judgment before considering any further possible action," the brief statement read.

Knowing the rugby authorities, if Flannery appeals it might well be halved.

he wont appeal, he pleaded guilty

murphym7 wrote: »
    . 6 weeks for being a clown is about right, there is no way Flannery went out to hobble the guy - a baddly timed kick with a bad (could have been worse) outcome. Just happy he didn't break his leg.

He has serious psychomotric issues if you consider the time Palisson has been handling the ball and Flannery arrived to kick it ...

I think he had time to think about what would be the outcome of his act

he just did something foolish out of frustration when the whistle had already been blown ...

IF it could be proved that Jerry did not intend to make contact with the French player and actually was going for the ball, then I think a lifetime ban should have been imposed. How could anyone feel safe on a pitch if he really is that bad. Bottom line: Isn't it worse to think that he didn't mean to do it as opposed to meaning
    to do it, if you know what I mean.

IF it could be proved that Jerry did not intend to make contact with the French player and actually was going for the ball, then I think a lifetime ban should have been imposed. How could anyone feel safe on a pitch if he really is that bad. Bottom line: Isn't it worse to think that he didn't mean to do it as opposed to meaning
    to do it, if you know what I mean.

going a bit over the top now...

all the good excuses are coming. Flannery is just going to be a good fool in the story and he will play the Hcup 1/4 finale.

A bunch of friends having a tea party, that's all it was this morning... "let's get you out of the lights for the 6 nations and we'll get you on the pitch in thomond"

the guy should have got the max of 12 weeks or tell me what will it get to have it . I really wonder.

the guy has already a record for walking on Bonnaire head. It is not as if he was a one time caught little angel.

going a bit over the top now...

It was said in jest. I mean for his and others safety.....You get me?

not really if you look at the angle of it his injury could have been much worse than a dead leg.

BoarHunter wrote: »
    all the good excuses are coming. Flannery is just going to be a good fool in the story and he will play the Hcup 1/4 finale.

A bunch of friends having a tea party, that's all it was this morning... "let's get you out of the lights for the 6 nations and we'll get you on the pitch in thomond"

the guy should have got the max of 12 weeks or tell me what will it get to have it . I really wonder.

the guy has already a record for walking on Bonnaire head. It is not as if he was a one time caught little angel.

lets not even start on records of players....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Too many ott opinions here. He got his ban now can we move on. I'm sure he's beating himself up enough and will do for the next 4 weeks.

Jerry has come a long way in a fairly short length of time for an international hooker and I'd rate him as one of the best in the world.

Next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

Too many ott opinions here. He got his ban now can we move on. I'm sure he's beating himself up enough and will do for the next 4 weeks.

Jerry has come a long way in a fairly short length of time for an international hooker and I'd rate him as one of the best in the world.

Next.

Some completely OTT comments :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

IMO 6 weeks is slightly harsh, 4 weeks would have been fair.

TBF This whole citing process is ridiculous. If Healy wasn't already in the bin Flannery would have got a yellow (maybe red) and missed 10 minutes of the game and not 4 weeks but because the ref didnt have the balls to do the right thing in the game and put two irish players in the bin at the same time and that would have been the end of it.

The ref clearly knew what happened as the touch judge told him, i dont care if he said he taught it was a shoulder charge, thats just a cop out. If him or the touch judge couldnt see what happened on an open pitch with very little blocking their views, they shouldnt be reffing a 6N game.

Flannery misses 240 minutes of rugby instead of 10 or 55 depending if it was a red, because the ref didnt do the right thing.

I think people are over reacting to the incident, yes it was dangerous (more reckless than malicious) but nowhere near gouging, choking, punching, stamping. 4 weeks is fair in this current process but 12 weeks!! c'mon its rugby its a violent sport, there is so much worse possible out there to deserve the max ban of 12 weeks.

Fair play to Flannery owning up, he could have tried to lie but he owned up for his actions. I dont think Flannery is dirty player, it was just a rush of blood to the head in a high pressure game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

not really if you look at the angle of it his injury could have been much worse than a dead leg.

Could have...have landed on his head and broke his neck
    Could have...Flannery could have fallen on him and crushed his wind pipe after
    Could have...kicked him 10 feet into the air, then catch him and power slam him onto the ground where Flannery had the opportunity to punch him repeatedly in the head
    Could have...go on for ages, with could haves...

Every incident in rugby (or the world) could be made out to be way worse with could haves. i.e. Healy's incident which was more professional than dangerous could have horse collared the french player with the behind tackle and broken the player's spine.

You can only disipline for what happened, it is what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Sean Cronin is already a better player than Rory Best in my eyes. Besides he's such a different style of hooker than the other two. Cronin is in more of the Wood's mould than anything else. His try count is amazing as well.

Hazys wrote: »
    Could have...kicked him 10 feet into the air, then catch him and power slam him onto the ground where Flannery had the opportunity to punch him repeatedly in the head

that would have been excellent!

Hazys wrote: »
    IMO 6 weeks is slightly harsh, 4 weeks would have been fair.

TBF This whole citing process is ridiculous.

Flannery misses 240 minutes of rugby instead of 10 or 55 depending if it was a red, because the ref didnt do the right thing.

I think people are over reacting to the incident, yes it was dangerous (more reckless than malicious) but nowhere near gouging, choking, punching, stamping. 4 weeks is fair in this current process but 12 weeks!! c'mon its rugby its a violent sport, there is so much worse possible out there to deserve the max ban of 12 weeks.

Fair play to Flannery owning up, he could have tried to lie but he owned up for his actions. I dont think Flannery is dirty player, it was just a rush of blood to the head in a high pressure game.

He would have been cited anyway wether he get the red or not ...

what is it then if it is not near stamping or punching ? what can you do to desserve the 12 weeks then ? so if Rugby is a violent sport let's all starting to kick each other behind the ref's back .... it's only 6 weeks after all ...

And pleading guilty doesn't make your less guilty... you did what you did.

He injured a player, got him off for the match. Could have been a lot worst then this. Could have ended in a 6 months recovery.

Attoub got 70 weeks based on a dodgy picture and Ferris played on his match and was MOTM the following week ....

where is the balance here ?

and Flannery one of the best in the world is just a weak argument , i don't understand... he just proved he was not that clever.

really dissapointed in the commision and once again it is all set up to have him back for club matchs.....

He would have been cited anyway wether he get the red or not ...

what is it then if it is not near stamping or punching ? what can you do to desserve the 12 weeks then ? so if Rugby is a violent sport let's all starting to kick each other behind the ref's back .... it's only 6 weeks after all ...

And pleading guilty doesn't make your less guilty... you did what you did.

He injured a player, got him off for the match. Could have been a lot worst then this. Could have ended in a 6 months recovery.

Attoub got 70 weeks based on a dodgy picture and Ferris played on his match and was MOTM the following week ....

where is the balance here ?

and Flannery one of the best in the world is just a weak argument , i don't understand... he just proved he was not that clever.

really dissapointed in the commision and once again it is all set up to have him back for club matchs.....

More based on his finger being in far enough to touch ferris' brain, pleading not guilty and using the bs excuse of trying to get out of the ruck

there is a fair middle point between 6 weeks and 70 :rolleyes: if you don't look the colour of the Jersey.

_46913475_stephen_ferris_gouge466.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Was to be expected!

_46913475_stephen_ferris_gouge466.jpg

and he got what he desserved for it. Flannery has shown the world stupid, brutal, dangerous behaviour ( in my book as dangerous as what you can see on this picture - you can marry queen mum and justin timberlake on ONE picture ) and yet he get a mild ban ....

sounds different 70 weeks ..... 6 weeks ....

should have been the max penalty of 12 weeks :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Thank God he's back for Northampton game. Hopefully he can keep injury free for a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

in my book as dangerous as what you can see on this picture.

Sounds like one hilarious fookin book tbh, Ive heard it all now jaysus christ is the world gone mad.

I think Healy should get 3 months for the reckless way he pulled the French players jersey it was pre-meditated and clearly dangerous!!