Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would Jesus say the same as the Pope to the Bishops

• 16-02-2010 11:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭

Regarding the institutional child abuse and the Irish Bishops meeting with the Pope, just wondering if anyone thinks Jesus would have said the same thing to them that the Pope did? Or would he have been a bit more forthright?

Thieves in the Temple anyone!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Jesus more than likely couldn't speak English so I don't think it would have mattered

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

Jesus more than likely couldn't speak English so I don't think it would have mattered

The Holy Spirit is a great translator... he speaks in tongues. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Well if Jesus was real and was just like the bible says, I think he would be saying "Who the fcuk are ye to interpret me you cnuts, GTFO of here, I own this sh1t"

Then he would smite them, he would smite them good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

Jesus looked cool. He probably had the best beard in history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

I reckon not.

He'd probably just heal a few leppers to distract everyone from the fact that Catholicism is a disgusting organization.

I bet the pope wished he was a magician too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fair play to him I say.. even my mam is cursing him!

I bet countmeout.ie will be happy too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

If Jesus came back every Christian advocate of whatever denomination would collectively **** themselves.

Then they'd recrucify him. In his own name.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Don't start blaming Jesus for the Catholics. It's not his fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Don't start blaming Jesus for the Catholics. It's not his fault.
    Well. if he'd left clearer instructions, rather than letting some guys write a bible 50-80 years after he died....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

if jesus was alive today, he would probably be locked up in a mental ward for goin round tellin everyone he was the son of god.

that jesus, he so crazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

And in other news Jesus was fined in court today for providing Alcohol without a wine licence and paying the appropriate duty. The EPA also observed that there was no approved quality control process in the production method used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

snow ghost wrote: »
    Regarding the institutional child abuse and the Irish Bishops meeting with the Pope, just wondering if anyone thinks Jesus would have said the same thing to them that the Pope did? Or would he have been a bit more forthright?

Thieves in the Temple anyone!

Ask David Koresh what he'd say.

Oh wait....we killed him. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

If Jebus came back, my money is on confirmation that Scientology is the true religion and that catholics got it all wrong. Then he'd turn lots of water into lots of wine and there would be a huge party with Journeys "Don't stop believing" playing in the background.

Oh yeah, and every ****head that twisted religion to their own ends, from George Bush, to peado priests would be smited good!

djk1000 wrote: »
    If Jebus came back, my money is on confirmation that Scientology is the true religion and that catholics got it all wrong. Then he'd turn lots of water into lots of wine and there would be a huge party with Journeys "Don't stop believing" playing in the background.

Oh yeah, and every ****head that twisted religion to their own ends, from George Bush, to peado priests would be smited good!

OK, first flaw with this arguement, Scientology's leader is Xenu, nothing to do with Jesus at all.

Second, he would kick the ass of everyone who got rich on his name, starting with WBC and leaving only the Baptists alone....because their music rocks.

Thirdly, why am I discussing this? I don't even believe in a God, never mind saying Christ the son of God!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

OK, first flaw with this arguement, Scientology's leader is Xenu, nothing to do with Jesus at all.

Second, he would kick the ass of everyone who got rich on his name, starting with WBC and leaving only the Baptists alone....because their music rocks.

Thirdly, why am I discussing this? I don't even believe in a God, never mind saying Christ the son of God!

I thought it was Hubbard...?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

if jesus was alive today he would probably say ''whats this celibacy sh1t all about your male ffs stop raping kids and get yourselves a wife''!!!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

Wagon wrote: »
    Jesus looked cool. He probably had the best beard in history.

Soon after making that post, Wagon died from roundhouse kick related injuries.

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/56344/105391.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,789 ✭✭✭grizzly

It's an interesting question! I have thought hard on this, and I think many things have changed since he walked amongst us. Although some things are always the same – like cheese burgers and Rock n' Roll. He'd probably bang an old jukebox and say "ayyyyy".

Wait who are we talking about?

major bill wrote: »
    if jesus was alive today he would probably say ''whats this celibacy sh1t all about your male ffs stop raping kids and get yourselves a wife''!!!!.

The celebacy has nothing to do with devotion, it was brought in because Bishops sons and whatnot thought they had a right to be bishops because daddy was! IIRC It's about inheritance more than anything like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

So... What did the pope say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

The Holy Spirit is a great translator... he speaks in tongues. :p

What a hornball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Overheal wrote: »

That really wasn't what I expected :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭snow ghost

So... What did the pope say?

"For his part, the Holy Father observed that the sexual abuse of children and young people is not only a heinous crime, but also a grave sin which offends God and wounds the dignity of the human person created in his image. While realizing that the current painful situation will not be resolved quickly, he challenged the Bishops to address the problems of the past with determination and resolve, and to face the present crisis with honesty and courage. He also expressed the hope that the present meeting would help to unify the Bishops and enable them to speak with one voice in identifying concrete steps aimed at bringing healing to those who had been abused, encouraging a renewal of faith in Christ and restoring the Church’s spiritual and moral credibility.

The Holy Father also pointed to the more general crisis of faith affecting the Church and he linked that to the lack of respect for the human person and how the weakening of faith has been a significant contributing factor in the phenomenon of the sexual abuse of minors. He stressed the need for a deeper theological reflection on the whole issue, and called for an improved human, spiritual, academic and pastoral preparation both of candidates for the priesthood and religious life and of those already ordained and professed."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

The Pope wrote:
    how the weakening of faith has been a significant contributing factor in the phenomenon of the sexual abuse of minors

wtf?
    paedophile priests raped children because their faith was weak?
    That excuse is weak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I reckon God is gonna fnck those bastards up when they die.
    Jesus wrote:
    From Matt 18:1-6

At the same time came the disciples unto Jesus, saying, Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?
    And Jesus called a little child unto him, and set him in the midst of them,
    And said, Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and become
    as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven.
    Whosoever therefore shall humble himself as this little child, the same is greatest in the kingdom of heaven.
    And whoso shall receive one such little child in my name receiveth me.
    But whoso shall offend one of these little ones which believe in me, it were better for him that a millstone were hanged about his neck, and that he were drowned in the depth of the sea.
    Woe unto the world because of offences! for it must needs be that offences come; but woe to that man by whom the offence cometh!
    Wherefore if thy hand or thy foot offend thee, cut them off, and cast them from thee: it is better for thee to enter into life halt or maimed, rather than having two hands or two feet to be cast into everlasting fire.
    And if thine eye offend thee, pluck it out, and cast it from thee: it is better for thee to enter into life with one eye, rather than having two eyes to be cast into hell fire.
    Take heed that ye despise not one of these little ones; for I say unto you, That in heaven their angels do always behold the face of my Father which is in heaven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ShumanTheHuman

He wouldn't consider Lentil Pasta Letters, which I assume is some sort of fancy alphabetti spaghetti, to be an appropriate response that's for sure. Come on Il Papa, get real!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

"For his part, the Holy Father observed that....

Any actual direct quotes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

^^ Well I'm glad that's settled then. Jesus would be against the nonces and probably would have their hands and weiners cut off , and ears and eyes in the case of the cover-up crew.

I would suggest they leave them intact however and then that way would be guarenteed a one way trip to hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 kicom

The Catholic Church is undergoing a cleansing process. This involves both priests and the people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭3qsmavrod5twfe

He wasn't called Jesus "Magic" Christ for just his uncanny basketball skills.
    Well. if he'd left clearer instructions, rather than letting some guys write a bible 50-80 years after he died....

11th Commandment

"Thou shall not rape the kiddies"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Hagar wrote: »
    I reckon God is gonna fnck those bastards up when they die.

... meanwhile, his representatives on earth give them a free pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

If you're Catholic, you have no choice but to believe that he would have.

If you believe Jesus would have acted differently, you're not a Catholic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Sleepy wrote: »

I has a confused! Why is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Religious brainwashing at its best!

From my extensive reading of biblical texts (From what i try to block out from religion class) Jesus would have been royally pissed off by the behavior of the bishops. He would most likely have physically assaulted them there and then!

If you're Catholic, you have no choice but to believe that he would have. If you believe Jesus would have acted differently, you're not a Catholic.

What complete and utter nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

prinz wrote: »
    What complete and utter nonsense.

Yeah, papal infalibility is complete and utter nonsense.

Galvasean wrote: »
    Yeah, papal infalibility is complete and utter nonsense.

Being a smart man/woman, I suggest you'd have no problem doing a little bit of research into the areas in which infalllbility exists, the limitations and the manner in which it is exercised.

Note: Not every word the Pope says, on every topic is infallible.

..then again don't let little things like the facts get in the way..

EDIT: If you somehow decide anything the Pope said in relation to the Irish abuse falls into the category of Infallibility, please let me know.

Being a smart man/woman,

Thank you. I am man BTW (Sean).
    prinz wrote:
    I suggest you'd have no problem doing a little bit of research into the areas in which infalllbility exists, the limitations and the manner in which it is exercised.

Note: Not every word the Pope says, on every topic is infallible.

Isn't he supposed to be infallible on matters that relate to faith (as far as I can tell this is one)?

As per your edit:
    EDIT: If you somehow decide anything the Pope said in relation to the Irish abuse falls into the category of Infallibility, please let me know.

Am I incorrect (in my previou post)?

Galvasean wrote: »
    Am I incorrect (in my previou post)?

Only in matters pertaining to a doctine of the faith, not all matters of faith in general. There is also a specific wording which must be used and a process to be followed. The power of infallibility has been exercised only once in the last 100 years. It's a common urban myth that the Pope is infallible at all times etc. Pope Benedict himself has publicly stated that the Pope is not/can not be save for a very, very, very limited set of circumstances. See here..
    Papal infallibility is the dogma in Catholic theology that, by action of the Holy Spirit, the Pope is preserved from even the possibility of error[1] when he solemnly declares or promulgates to the universal Church a dogmatic teaching on faith or morals as being contained in divine revelation, or at least being intimately connected to divine revelation. It is also taught that the Holy Spirit works in the body of the Church, as sensus fidelium, to ensure that dogmatic teachings proclaimed to be infallible will be received by all Catholics. This dogma, however, does not state either that the Pope cannot commit sin in his own personal life or that he is necessarily free of error, even when speaking in his official capacity, outside the specific contexts in which the dogma applies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

The Passover of the Jews was near, and Jesus went up to Jerusalem. In the temple he found people selling cattle, sheep, and doves, and the money changers seated at their tables. Making a whip of cords, he drove all of them out of the temple, both the sheep and the cattle. He also poured out the coins of the money changers and overturned their tables. He told those who were selling the doves, "Take these things out of here! Stop making my Father's house a marketplace!"

If he'd a conniption like that because they were selling things in the church we can only imagine what he'd say to a paedophile priest.... I like to think it'd start out like this though.