Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RAW 15/02 *Spoilers*

• 15-02-2010 2:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭

Tonight guest host is Jerry Springer

Source Digital Spy
    Considering the familiar scenes that play out on his long-running talkshow, it seems like a match made in heaven for Jerry Springer to try his hand at guest hosting Monday Night Raw. The entertainment mogul will join the likes of William Shatner and Mike Tyson as he takes control of tonight's Raw in Des Moines, IA. We caught up with him and WWE star Mike 'The Miz' Mizanin - who previously starred on MTV's The Real World: Back To New York and began his career on Friday Night Smackdown - to find out what we can expect from this evening's show.

Jerry, what made you want to host WWE?
    "I was drinking! Someone asked and I said, 'Yeah.' I was a fan of wrestling more so when I was a kid. I would always watch wrestling. I mean, I grew up in an era when you had all these old-time wrestlers. We would watch it and play it. I haven't seen that much recently, though obviously I know about it. I'm looking forward to doing it, though you know how opposed I am to fighting on television, so this is going to be a real stretch for me. The only difference between this and my show is that these guys have teeth!"

How do you think it will compare to hosting America's Got Talent?!
    "These are all professionally trained people, but other than that, you know, entertainment is entertainment whether you're an athlete or a singer, and I got to tell you, they're phenomenal athletes. But it's all the same, it's that you have your moment when you're on stage or in a ring or on a ball field. And it's that moment where you suddenly have to become really, really focused. It's interesting, when you talk to some of the football players for example who were on Dancing With The Stars, they get just as nervous, just as tense, just as, you know, in the moment before they go on. And it's just as rigorous. It's the same thing, it's the idea that an individual is putting himself or herself out before a crowd for a judgement."

Did you expect the public perception of you to change following Dancing With The Stars and America's Got Talent?
    "In hindsight I can see why people suddenly saw me in a different light. At the time I didn't realise it, but it dawned on me that it's really the first time - even though I've been on television for 30 years - that I was ever on television as myself. I'm always playing a role, but when you're on those shows there's no role to play you just have to be yourself. I think they suddenly realised, 'Well gee, maybe he's not a crazy person and just like a normal dad like everybody else.'"

Miz, how much do you credit reality TV for your success as a wrestler?
    "I would say if it wasn't for being on the Real World back in New York ten years ago I would have never become a professional wrestler. I'd probably be working at my dad's Mr Gyro and flipping burgers for the rest of my life. I credit a lot of it just from reality television just because it gave me the opportunity to have the feeling that I could follow any dream I wanted. And after actually trying out for the Real World and actually making it on there it made me realise that I really wanted to become my dream of a professional wrestler."

How do you think wrestling has changed over the years?
    The Miz: Right now we have guest hosts. Jerry Springer as guest host on Monday Night Raw - that I would have never told you would be happening ten years ago. It's fun. The ratings are up 12% since guest hosts have come on. WWE keeps growing and growing and growing, and it's incredible. So it's ever-changing. The superstars are changing, and by next year I plan on being the main event, the talk of the town and having more titles than just the United States title and the Unified Tag team titles."
    Jerry: "If I can add to that - the marketing of it is just genius. I mean, you've got these great guys, you know, such as The Miz, and they catch the imagination of young people. And the way they have marketed this and made it more mainstream it's just phenomenal from an entertainment and business point of view. It's a wonderful model for how to be successful."

What is the craziest injury you've ever received wrestling?
    Miz: "My first three months of wrestling on the independent league - that's why I always tell kids not to try this at home - I broke my ankle. I've had bruised ribs. I get concussions quite a bit. Luckily we have the greatest doctors in the world that are able to tell you if you can go next week or if you can't. But there are injuries all the time and there are doctors on-call. Anytime we bleed now a doctor is right out there to make sure that we stop bleeding because we are a PG - we are kid-friendly."

Why do you think so many fans attend and participate in WWE events?
    Jerry: "Well it's what a lot of sports does. Whatever the fight in you is, it's a way to get it out and there's no consequence to it. In other words it's not you going out there and fighting someone on the street and all that kind of stuff. Here all the aggression that you might normally have, all the testosterone that's going through, here is a way to, you know, hold up a sign or scream and yell and cheer your guys on.You can enjoy it vicariously and then, you know, go home and get on with your life and no one's been hurt and that kind of thing."

What would Jerry's wrestler name be?!
    The Miz: "The Springinator"
    Jerry: "Oh good for you Miz, that's great."
    The Miz: "Off the top of my head that's it."
    Jerry: "That is great, good thinking."

Monday Night Raw airs tonight at 9/8 c on USA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

hopefully the hitman is on again tonight ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Icky Thump

hopefully the hitman is on again tonight ;)
    yea hopefully they have disabled parking reserved for him:rolleyes:

on a seperate note did ye see how well Jimmy Hart looked last night. maybe he should fight vince in Brett's place:P

Icky Thump wrote: »
    yea hopefully they have disabled parking reserved for him:rolleyes:
    A little respect please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Gonna be interesting tonight. More of HBK & HHH splitting up, Mizshow(can't wait) and hopefully something from Bret.

A little respect please.

all im saying is his return is WAY over hyped and people are expecting way too much from him. he was beating up by a sound mixer last week after all. dont get me wrong loved the guy back in the 90's but now expecting him to fight............................. yea right he cant even take a slap to the face so i think a fight is a bit outta reach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Vince loves his patriotism eh? Girl's a good singer though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

Yeah the auld American anthem was a bit unexpected..

Raw sounds good so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

Hell yes. Batista tonight! Been loving that huge lump recently more than anyone else, even more than Mark Henry :eek:

This could be a very promising Raw. Just hope they don't make a mess of it.

3 great Raws in a row:eek::eek: surely not:cool:

Big Red vs The Viper.. nnnnniiiiccceeee

What a pop for Orton. That was sweet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Jaysus I didnt realise that Elimination Chamber is on Sky Box Office,thats 3 ppv's in a row when ya count in mania and the rumble,load of sh!te!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,600 ✭✭✭✭CMpunked

This is such an interesting raw ive come out of hibernation to see whats going on.
    Whats up everybody?

Love how Seamus still hasnt gotten a clean title defense yet.
    Hope bret doesn't end up getting bet up by the end of this promo... again.

dam that chick at the start is HOT for a 15 year old:rolleyes:

It's good Bret's on the show. I was concerned they were going to do some video link-up ****e.

Think theres only 5 PPVs that arent on box office..

Yeah orton is seriously over atm

Glad the guest GMs are taking a back seat these days

Did i just see Goldberg(I'm watching a stream)

Holy **** man:eek:

super-rush wrote: »
    Did i just see Goldberg(I'm watching a stream)

Apparently so. I didn't see it but others are saying it at another forum.

LMAO.

First post you make on the thread is making fun of someone who has medical history, then make remarks about an underage girl.
    Who are you, Tommy Tiernan?
    lol.

This whole build up with cena/bret and batista/mcmahon is coming together nicely.
    Buying mania for the blow off to this on its own!

Good to see bret get a decent pop

Great crowd so far. Usually equals great show no matter what happens.

Its great to see Bret more comfortable on the mic, seems to be gone back to '90s hitman' now.

Good stuff!

Crowd reaction very positive for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭bret69

Crowd are 100 times better tonight than the last 4 weeks put together

I'm confused.

Love how they're drawing this out, no instant gratifaction with this angle thank christ:)

maybe his limo will explode!

CMpunked wrote: »

Dude you jixed him:pac:

CMpunked wrote:

Close. ;)

Women drivers :mad:

Gail Kim is an idiot;

"Just keep talking!"

He caught his leg, not his head!
    She shouldnt be allowed improvise!

You could see the reversing lights on the car when he was talking to Cena. So where do we go from here?

That was cringeworthy at best.. Gail Kim should be fired for that tbh:pac:

Dude you jixed him:pac:
    Close. ;)

Tomorrow i will predict the lotto numbers.
    But by my success rate i will be 1-3 numbers off each one.
    :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

So this will be the reason for Bret not facing Vince at Mania offered to the WWE Universe, rather than saying the man simply can't wrestle?

johnn wrote: »
    So this will be the reason for Bret not facing Vince at Mania offered to the WWE Universe, rather than saying the man simply can't wrestle?

I really really hope not.

Yeah your on to something there man, pretty OTT way of doing it though..

This theme is the new greatest thing ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

...or Vince was somehow behind it.

However I do realise that "somehow" will be a tough one to show.

If thats it regarding Bret & Vince then its the biggest crock of grade A monkey crap ever.

Well its AWESOME :pac::pac::pac::pac:

Wait...
    Didn't bret already close the door?

Unless he went to get back out to call Cena back....

I see this whole thing is going to have some sort of "He cant do the sharpshooter/He cant have the sharpshooter applied" idea.

Anyway... piss break...

Jolt2007 wrote: »
    This theme is the new greatest thing ever!

AWWWESSSSSOMMEE:pac::pac:
    That a ****ing EPIC song lads

...or Vince was somehow behind it.

Thats the first thing i thought too.

*I'm hoping that Vince comes out next week and accepts Brets challenge of a match and goads him about being crippled until Mania, where Bret makes a miraculous comeback.

*Clutching at straws

It could be a way to nix the match idea and just have him in Cena's corner at Mania. Maybe a rehash of the Linda McMahon angle at WM17 as he rises out of a wheelchair to apply the Sharpshooter.

Didn't he say in his promo last week about how he remembered being in the wheelchair and not wanting to go back to it or maybe I'm imagining that bit...

Vince being behind it sounds wwwwaaaayyy too logical lads:eek::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭johnn

CMpunked wrote: »
    Thats the first thing i thought too.

Maybe, but id still say they will act as though prior to this Bret would have wanted to wrestle Vince, but now can't and has to take Cena's corner. Which is a decent enough outcome seeing as though it was doubtful he would be able to wrestle, and i'm sure non-internet fans and kids were wondering why they wouldnt do Vince vs. Bret when it seems the obvious thing to do! And it maintains Bret as a hero in their eyes

I wonder will Springer mention Stephanie and Macho Man:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

Well I'm fairly positive that it's not the end of Bret/Vince, otherwise having John Cena trying to pep talk him before he got into the car was needless.

I reckon somehow Vince or Batista will be behind it (personally I thought that if they wanted to forward the angle they could have had the woman get out of the car like she did, but then reveal Vince or Big Dave in the passenger side).

However as I said, trying to get them somehow behind a very specific set of circumstances like that will be tough.

Nobody is expecting a Hart/Hennig like match at Mania if they do have a fight, so a brawl of some sort would do. But would Hart trust McMahon (as a non-wrestler) to even brawl in a way safe to Bret?

I really think they need to expedite the feud in an obvious direction and build on that, because I don't know how many times I've assumed the feud was over or they weren't going further with it, and at this stage, it would be good to know they're building towards something.