Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving Unaccompanied

• 14-02-2010 11:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

First of all, your lucky you had displayed your L plates, it saved you a 1000 yoyo's.

If its your first offence you will not have to present yourself in court, you'll just have to pay the fine.

At the end of the day, you knew it was an offence, you could have saved yourself the hassle and obeyed the law!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

First of all, your lucky you had displayed your L plates, it saved you a 1000 yoyo's.

If its your first offence you will not have to present yourself in court, you'll just have to pay the fine.

At the end of the day, you knew it was an offence, you could have saved yourself the hassle and obeyed the law!!!
    whats the fine for driving unaccompanied, i know it can be upto 1000 but generally what fine is given

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

The €1000 fine is in my experience given by a judge not garda, fixed charge fines are usually between €60 and €80 but there are a few that can be more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,627 ✭✭✭Fol20

Wow your really unlucky,iv a provisional,been stopped loads of times with groups of lads in my car,and they just told me to not do it again and let me go..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Leo Demidov

and now they're going to track you via you're ip address and screw you to the letter of the law.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭da__flash

wexfjord wrote: »
    and now they're going to track you via you're ip address and screw you to the letter of the law.:rolleyes:

Big Brothers watching :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

driving with no driving licence = summons, thus a court appearance.

A provisional / permit is not a driving licence.

the penalty would be a fine and points.. But would require a court appearance

pa990 wrote: »
    the penalty would be a fine and points.. But would require a court appearance
    Is it not on the second offence that a court appearance is required? I have been away from this kinda thing for a while now!

if your having this confusion i think the best thing to do is just call into your local station and ask them where you stand or else ring them its the easiest thing to then your worries will be put to rest...

da__flash wrote: »
    if your having this confusion i think the best thing to do is just call into your local station and ask them where you stand or else ring them its the easiest thing to then your worries will be put to rest...
    Or wait for NGA to show his name..:P, Its been a while since iv bin out and about in contact with this kinda craic!!

ya thats the easiest thing to do and it will sort out your probelm straight away or else wait for NGA to pop in there later he can give good advice aswell...

i don't know of any ticket for no licence.. Pretty sure it's mandatory court appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

pa990 wrote: »
    i don't know of any ticket for no licence.. Pretty sure it's mandatory court appearance.

Ya its a mandatory court appearance. There is no FCPN for no licence.

You could possibly recieve summons for No driving licence, Failure to produce there and then at the scene and failure to produce within ten days at a station.

Produce your insurance and it may become your lucky day. You may have gotten a caution.....

Driving licence is covered under the general penalty, Section 102. Usual fines are small. For all three summons expect under €500. If you recieve summons, talk to a solicitor.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

We don't actually give legal advice in the forum, so the best thing to do is as advised: If you receive a summons, talk to a solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Pataman

Can I ask a slightly off topic question? I have both a motorbike and a car. I leave the licence(full licence for both) in the car. If I am stopped without the licence while on the bike, is it up to the guard whether he/she gives me points for not carrying it. The licence is just too big to fit in my wallet. would it suffice to show the guard a photocopy of the licence, and produce the original later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

Pataman wrote: »
    Can I ask a slightly off topic question? I have both a motorbike and a car. I leave the licence(full licence for both) in the car. If I am stopped without the licence while on the bike, is it up to the guard whether he/she gives me points for not carrying it. The licence is just too big to fit in my wallet. would it suffice to show the guard a photocopy of the licence, and produce the original later?

Firstly there are no points for no licence. Now....photocopying an official document is tech illegal. Wouldnt be advising that as it could get you into more trouble than you are in!!

Its up to you to have your licence with you when driving. Doesnt matter if you have two personal cars, a motorbike, a bus, a jeep, a HGV and a work vehicle....you are still obliged to carry it. Normally you will get 10 days to produce, however more and more T/C members are arresting on the roadside to verify your details in the station. Needless hassle for both.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 xsjado

if you get a court apperanace, dress smartly, turn up, face the judge, please guilty, they might see your admission, and its your first offence, with luck you might get a warning, or at most a small fine and maybe a couple of points, a lesson to be learned.

whats really annoying is watching all the other L plate drivers here in my town driving around all day long unaccompanied, even passing garda cars and not getting pulled, or the amount or people on mobile phones, dodgy lights, kids not belted up etc, the list goes on.... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

maybe a lot of those l plates ya see up are when 2 people are driving the car, for example i have a full licence but my girlfriend is learnin to drive and sometimes the l plates are left up,
    can someone confirm if its ok to have l plates up when i'm driving

quick question.

i am a full c licence holder and some of the lads in the station now are getting experience in the fire appliance by driving back from calls and incidents and also taking lesson with instructors locally.

does the full licence holder "accompanying" the learner driver have to sit in the front of the appliance or can they site in the back seats? same goes for a car i guess. do you have to sit in the front passenger seat when accompanying a learner driver?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

and what if you are a full licence holder being driven home from the pub by your provisional licence holding son or daughter?

given that you, the full licence holder may be over the drink-drive limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

lehanemore wrote: »
    and what if you are a full licence holder being driven home from the pub by your provisional licence holding son or daughter?

My belief is the accompanying driver is "in charge" and therefore can be charged with being "drunk in charge" and the driver with being "unaccompanied" by a capable person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭anneboleyn

guil wrote: »
    maybe a lot of those l plates ya see up are when 2 people are driving the car, for example i have a full licence but my girlfriend is learnin to drive and sometimes the l plates are left up,
    can someone confirm if its ok to have l plates up when i'm driving

No you should only display L plates if there is a learner in the car, but I've never heard of anyone being stopped for it.. although I guess it could make a guard think there was a provisional driver driving unaccompanied

indeed, but does the fully licenced driver have to sit in the front, riding shotgun when in a vehicle with learner drivers or can they be seated in the back of a vehicle? whats the law?

xsjado wrote: »
    quick question.

i am a full c licence holder and some of the lads in the station now are getting experience in the fire appliance by driving back from calls and incidents and also taking lesson with instructors locally.

does the full licence holder "accompanying" the learner driver have to sit in the front of the appliance or can they site in the back seats? same goes for a car i guess. do you have to sit in the front passenger seat when accompanying a learner driver?

thanks

I would say yes, you should be in the front. The appliance should also have "L" plates displayed. And most importantly, you will need to make sure the driver is insured. The service may not cover in the event of an accident if there is a learner driving. And that is not to mention any potential internal disciplinary that may follow.

lehanemore wrote: »

The fully licensed driver has to be in a position to take over the driving so no boozing.
    anneboleyn wrote: »
    No you should only display L plates if there is a learner in the car, but I've never heard of anyone being stopped for it.. although I guess it could make a guard think there was a provisional driver driving unaccompanied

You can display "L" plates even if there are five fully licensed drivers in the car. They have to be displayed once there is a person with a learners permit driving.
    xsjado wrote: »
    indeed, but does the fully licenced driver have to sit in the front, riding shotgun when in a vehicle with learner drivers or can they be seated in the back of a vehicle? whats the law?

The whole point of having a fully licensed driver is that they are giving you a lesson in driving. If the fully licensed driver is not in the front than it can be assumed that there is no lesson taking place. So I would imagine that the offence of driving unaccompanied would apply. Only guessing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Am I correct in saying that a Disqualified Driver cannot act as the supervisory driver for someone on a provisional ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Sorry we don't all live in perfect-perfect land like you..

Hard luck OP, I imagine it would be pretty hard to drive accompanied all the time, and if I was in your shoes I would have done the same thing, you're probably more careful than alot of the amnesty drivers on the roads anyway, your fine will probably be 60-120 euro, usually no more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Op I feel your pain. I've been let off on warnings before on similar grounds. It was very unfortunate that the gard in question was out to lay the book into you. I've seen L platers go through checkpoints unacompanied many times and simply nodded at by the gard.

If you do end up in court then as others said dress smart, admit fault and if you feel the need perhaps get a solicitor although unless he is saving you 300 or more then it's not worth it.

Best of luck on the driving test. Keep the letter with you at all times when driving if unaccompanied. It's not ideal nor legal but it most gards will be sound and give you the benefit of doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Don't agree it was unfortunate I'm afraid. OP knew the law, knew the risk and broke it. Unless it was within 6 months of applying for the LP, in which case I sympathise.

OP, out of curiosity how long have you had the learner's permit? Reason I ask is i disagree totally with the whole 6 month waiting period, FFS if you can drive a car and pass a test it shouldn't matter whether it takes a week or a year to learn how.
    delancey42 wrote: »
    Am I correct in saying that a Disqualified Driver cannot act as the supervisory driver for someone on a provisional ?

Yup. You also have to have held it for 2 years or more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭unattendedbag

The whole point of having a Driving licence is to prove that you have the skills and knowledge to drive on public roads in this country. A learner Permit gives you permission on certain restrictions to drive an MPV in a public place for the purpose of learning how to drive and improving your skills. Too many people these days are driving around on learner permits thinking they are actually driving licences because they can't be bothered to do their driving test or worse still, cant pass their test.

I know too many people using the learner permit to commute to work everyday on their own, or go on long weekend trips with friends across the country, because they think they suddenly know how to drive. While putting these people off the road may not be the right answer, I believe heavy penalties should be introduced to cut down on the chancers. I for one support the law on unaccompanied learner drivers being brought before courts. Until someone proces they can drive by passing a driving test then they shouldnt be putting the rest of us at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

The whole point of having a Driving licence is to prove that you have the skills and knowledge to drive on public roads in this country. A learner Permit gives you permission on certain restrictions to drive an MPV in a public place for the purpose of learning how to drive and improving your skills. Too many people these days are driving around on learner permits thinking they are actually driving licences because they can't be bothered to do their driving test or worse still, cant pass their test.

I know too many people using the learner permit to commute to work everyday on their own, or go on long weekend trips with friends across the country, because they think they suddenly know how to drive. While putting these people off the road may not be the right answer, I believe heavy penalties should be introduced to cut down on the chancers. I for one support the law on unaccompanied learner drivers being brought before courts. Until someone proces they can drive by passing a driving test then they shouldnt be putting the rest of us at risk.

That's a slight generalisation. It took me four goes to get my test to my shame and I stopped driving from when the loophole was closed and the laws tightened until I passed it three months later. I was a veritable angel during that time. As such seeing people plodding around without a care in the world on LP's angers me, but at the same time if they're willing to chance it I don;t really begrudge them.

I might add that of the aforementioned tests only two were fair. I failed one because an RSA idiot misinterpreted my intention, he admitted same himself. Why bother appealing when you still have to wait and retake? Bull****.