Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brendan O'Connor Show

• 13-02-2010 10:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭

Just watching his show now. Hadn't seen it before. It's fairly lousy isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭Todd Gack

Yeah it's sh1te alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭el diablo

He's a terrible presenter. And he's a bit hard to understand with that strong bog accent. Bring back Miriam.

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 TheManHimself

you have to admit Michael Barrymore was TV gold...in a bad way

Barrymore was one of the cringiest things I've seen, he's clearly lost his marbles. It was actually sad. Still has to be the centre of attention. Let it go Michael.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Shayman

el diablo wrote: »
    He's a terrible presenter. And he's a bit hard to understand with that strong bog accent. Bring back Miriam.

Yeah. I wonder why she didn't get the gig. She's light years ahead of O'Connor. (And not too hard on the eye either....:o)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭flutegirl

Is there some reason where they're all dresed in dark colours tonight, not really bothering to watch but this caught my eye as I was flicking around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Now we know how to get rid of darcy, just put enda kenny in as taoiseach:D

That katherine lynch is some live wire, bloody mad she is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Just wanted to say that the show is terrible and I wouldn't waste my time watching it.

Was getting the GAA results on teletext earlier and Katherine Lynch was on...
    She's about as funny as aids.
    And they have to cater to her because she has a show on there.
    So much trash on RTE, it's unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭PeterIanStaker

ugh that man has his own show. disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 dorky dave

He is just about bearable on the apprentice...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Better than the Late Late............. in a syphilis is better than aids kinda way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

jimmyw wrote: »

I was hoping that Enda Kenny would step down as leader but if his continuation as leader and then Taoiseach means that we get rid of D'arcy then I will have to think again!biggrin.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭tipperaryboy

why was he given his own show.could it be any more terrible?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Christ.

Before I opened this thread I knew exactly what i was going to say.

All you people can do is bitch and moan. Everything irish is ****,...bla bla bla.

Get over it. It's better than a helluva lot of English and American crap on the telly. He's quick witted, and a better presenter than an alan carr or whoever else they have hosting stuff over there at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Koloman

Christ.

All you people can do is bitch and moan. Everything irish is ****,...bla bla bla.

Get over it. It's better than a helluva lot of English and American crap on the telly. He's quick witted, and a better presenter than an alan carr or whoever else they have hosting stuff over there at the moment.

You got in just ahead of me! It is an entertaining show and as the weeks go past then Brendan will become more relaxed in the role. As you say, he is very quick witted, a skill sadly lacking on today's TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

I'm not bashing it because it's Irish- I'm bashing it because boc is a fuking ejit and I honestly cannot understand how he has a column nevermind his own show.

You're the only one bringing up it being Irish ffs

Get over what?

I just happen to think it's not very entertaining which is the primary reason I watch television shows. Nothing to do with where they're from, incidentally I also think Alan Carr's show is sh1t but that's neither here nor there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Shaws

Most of the topics relate back to the recession, I know it's important, but give it a rest already. And he's makes some backed handed comments against women, tut tut Brendan :(

I don't think it's awful, but it's not great.....sorry! I do think BOC is WAY better than Gerry Ryan, I hate him - such a plonker.

On another note, didn't Ray look awful, what happened him, he used to be a little bit cute!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,089 ✭✭✭✭rovert

Christ.

It is the same people every week, it is gas

I'm not bashing it because it's Irish- I'm bashing it because boc is a fuking ejit and I honestly cannot understand how he has a column nevermind his own show.

You're the only one bringing up it being Irish ffs
    That's true, it's nothing to do with the show being Irish. :rolleyes: The presenter is a big oaf and is not at all "quick-witted". Each to their own, I suppose. I won't be watching again.

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Southsider1

I didn't criticise it because it's Irish but because it's CRAP! RTE and TV3 produce loads of good stuff but this show isn't one of them. He's not funny - though he thinks he is. The week he had Geldof's daughter on was embarrasing. He was leering her like some ould perv. I was cringing for him... and again last night. RTE are capable of a whole lot better. Why not someone else: Miriam O'Callaghan? Grainne Seoige? Can't think of any suitable male presenters off hand....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

And boards once again fails to shatter a single stereotype about the spiteful and critical nature of posters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

Christ.

Hi Brendan.

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Christ.

Not everything Irish is ****e, the news is quite good.

And The Panel used to be the best show on tv.

I think that people should be able to voice their opinions, we are paying for these awful, awful shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Seriously......... Alan Carr is the first name that came into your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭A Disgrace

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Not everything Irish is ****e, the news is quite good.

And The Panel used to be the best show on tv.

I think that people should be able to voice their opinions, we are paying for these awful, awful shows.

All of this depends on what you base these shows against? I'd much rather watch O'Connor interview a broken down Barrymore or a bitter Logan than Ross swooning over some Hollywood gimp or a non-descript British tabloid junkie.. The Saturday Night Show (the thread should be renamed btw, as it shows blatant ignorance from the OP) is ramshackle and a little all over the shop, but therein lies the charm. I'd punt for something like this rather than the blinding over-production and editing of nearly all of the UK or US entertainment shows.. I'd also punt that most of the dissenting voices on this forum are simply following the lead and cheering with the crowd, ie: they haven't watched it..

Does anyone actually think an interview with Peaches Geldof, Michael Barrymore et all is going to be anything other than what it was on Saturday Night Live?

Cut it some slack folks

That's true, it's nothing to do with the show being Irish. :rolleyes: The presenter is a big oaf and is not at all "quick-witted". Each to their own, I suppose. I won't be watching again.

Grand, so I expect this will be your final critique on the show?

A Disgrace wrote: »
    Grand, so I expect this will be your final critique on the show?
    No.

Orange pilled.

No.

Oh, but it's just that you said you won't be watching again?

I'd personally find it difficult to offer intelligent critisicm to a TV show that I wasn't watching!

Then again you said the same thing about Neil Delameres show, but went on to expertly analyse it nonetheless.

Look forward to your opinions next week, if you need to know what happened/who was on, PM me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

All of this depends on what you base these shows against? I'd much rather watch O'Connor interview a broken down Barrymore or a bitter Logan than Ross swooning over some Hollywood gimp or a non-descript British tabloid junkie.. The Saturday Night Show (the thread should be renamed btw, as it shows blatant ignorance from the OP) is ramshackle and a little all over the shop, but therein lies the charm. I'd punt for something like this rather than the blinding over-production and editing of nearly all of the UK or US entertainment shows.. I'd also punt that most of the dissenting voices on this forum are simply following the lead and cheering with the crowd, ie: they haven't watched it..

Does anyone actually think an interview with Peaches Geldof, Michael Barrymore et all is going to be anything other than what it was on Saturday Night Live?

Cut it some slack folks
    So you wouldn't change anything about it? You wouldn't get someone who was a more competent and entertaining presenter? You wouldn't get interesting guests? You wouldn't change the set-up to the show? You wouldn't change anything at all?

It's a sad state of affairs that you can't criticise something without being told that you apparently just hate everything Irish. The show is just bad. It can't be that hard to do better, but RTE seem to insist on pulling from it's small pool of canteen patrons and family members.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭BennyBlanko

a better presenter than an alan carr

No he's not.
    Alan Carr's funny, BOC is not, not even remotely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,612 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Christ.

everything in this is wrong

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Deise Tom

Shayman wrote: »
    Just watching his show now. Hadn't seen it before. It's fairly lousy isn't it?

Its a load of Rubbish. How can RTE justify putting this on. Why not give someone like Miriam O'Callaghan that slot.

jimmyw wrote: »

That katherine lynch is some live wire, bloody mad she is.

Its not only Ray that will leave the country if Enda becomes taoiseach.

Christ.

Might be better than some of the English and American shows but O'Connors is still Shyte.

Shaws wrote: »
    Most of the topics relate back to the recession, I know it's important, but give it a rest already. And he's makes some backed handed comments against women, tut tut Brendan :(

I don't think it's awful, but it's not great.....sorry! I do think BOC is WAY better than Gerry Ryan, I hate him - such a plonker.

On another note, didn't Ray look awful, what happened him, he used to be a little bit cute!

Gerry Ryan's shaddow is better than Gerry Ryan. He is full of himself. Dont know how he is allowed near any studio.

Can't think of any suitable male presenters off hand....

Apart from Ryan Tubrity, RTE dont have any.

Deise Tom wrote: »
    Its a load of Rubbish. How can RTE justify putting this on. Why not give someone like Miriam O'Callaghan that slot.

Because even if they did, you lot would still lay into it..

humanji wrote: »
    So you wouldn't change anything about it? You wouldn't get someone who was a more competent and entertaining presenter? You wouldn't get interesting guests? You wouldn't change the set-up to the show? You wouldn't change anything at all?

It's a sad state of affairs that you can't criticise something without being told that you apparently just hate everything Irish. The show is just bad. It can't be that hard to do better, but RTE seem to insist on pulling from it's small pool of canteen patrons and family members.

Do you folks even realise that we are a small nation, living on a small island, with a national broadcaster with a small budget. These A-Listers as guests, that you all have a hard-on for, cost a lot of money. We also have a small pool of talent when it comes to presenting etc.. I think if you guys stop comparing Irish TV to UK TV (With a population of around 15 times that of Ireland) and the US (with a population of around 76 times that of Ireland) you might start appreciating that we box well above our weight when it comes to home produced TV.

The Saturday night show is entertaining, and that's it remit. Whatever about the guests, I find an interview with Jonny Logan more relevant to me than a Katie Price exclusive that you might get on J Ross.

I said it on another thread, no matter who you get to present, the majority of posters on this forum would be giving out. "A nation of begrudgers" is not just a cliche, it's also the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

Do you folks even realise that we are a small nation, living on a small island, with a national broadcaster with a small budget. These A-Listers as guests, that you all have a hard-on for, cost a lot of money. We also have a small pool of talent when it comes to presenting etc.. I think if you guys stop comparing Irish TV to UK TV (With a population of around 15 times that of Ireland) and the US (with a population of around 76 times that of Ireland) you might start appreciating that we box well above our weight when it comes to home produced TV.

The Saturday night show is entertaining, and that's it remit. Whatever about the guests, I find an interview with Jonny Logan more relevant to me than a Katie Price exclusive that you might get on J Ross.

I said it on another thread, no matter who you get to present, the majority of posters on this forum would be giving out. "A nation of begrudgers" is not just a cliche, it's also the truth.

...says the man who has a blog about slagging off Irish tv shows and celebrities.

The show is ****e and could easilly be a whole lot better. That's the gist of this thread and you and abouttobebanned have taken it as an assault on Irish television.

Incase you hadn't noticed this is a tv discussion forum. We can do better - and should strive to.

...says the man who has a blog about slagging off Irish tv shows and celebrities.

The show is ****e and could easilly be a whole lot better. That's the gist of this thread and you and abouttobebanned have taken it as an assault on Irish television.

Incase you hadn't noticed this is a tv discussion forum. We can do better - and should strive to.

Mainly TV3 tho, what would make it better, honestly, and within the roundabout budget of RTE?

nice one, franko.

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

In Ireland we obviously see American style TV as being the best since nearly all of the movies and tv shows we watch come from there.

I personally think RTE have some of the best shows on tv. However for shows that require large budgets we have channels like nat-geo, BBC and sky movies to keep us happy.

I have to agree with abouttobebanned that there are alot of people that see Irish television as crap just because it's Irish and doesn't conform to the style of tv they are used to looking at but I can just imagine a person standing up and trying to defend Brendan O'Connor as a good host for this show. :pac:

Lets be honest he's not the worst in the world though. He could always be that guy from nationwide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,106 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Deise Tom wrote: »
    Why not give someone like Miriam O'Callaghan that slot.

Because she is a rubbish presenter and cannot speak properly.
    O' Connors show has potential,he is unconventional,quick witted and original.
    The problem is his guests.
    They are dreadfully poor ,RTE canteen and z listers.
    I thought the Johnny Logan interview was very insightful into the petty ,vindictive and narrow minded attitude of RTE.
    Because he was appearing on O'Connors show ,The Late Late Show dropped him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

Because he was appearing on O'Connors show ,The Late Late Show dropped him.

Well they were hardly going to have him appear on two of their shows that are almost the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Ireland has an absolutely fantastic collection of actors, writers, musicians, etc. You don't have to get an A-List celebrity to put on an entertaining show. Getting the dregs of the RTE canteen who are constantly being put on these shows is just a joke.

It's funny how you think everyone who doesn't like this show must be comparing it with UK and US shows. It's you who are comparing Ireland to these places and saying "Ah well, we can't compete so why bother?".

You're right, Ireland is a nation of begrudgers. You're begrudging people who think that out own money should be spent on something of value. Ireland has done better in the past, so there's no excuse for the crap that is being presented as "entertainment"

Because even if they did, you lot would still lay into it..

Not me. Miriam is a good presenter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭transylman

Is this the same Brendan O'Connor that wrote this article in July 2007 advising people to buy houses?
    Tell you what, I think I know what I'd be doing if I had money, and if I wasn't already massively over-exposed to the property market by virtue of owning a reasonable home. I'd be buying property. In fact, I might do it anyway.

transylman wrote: »
    Is this the same Brendan O'Connor that wrote this article in July 2007 advising people to buy houses?
    Yep, the same one. Always talking up the property market in the Sindo was our Brendan even when it was looking to be in serious trouble. Fool. But he's not the only one. :rolleyes:

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭grrrrrrrrrr

cant stand this show or brendan!! he sounds constantly constipated!!

Johnny Logan is some man tho!! he can "hold me now" or whenever!!