Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NO OIL IN ENGINE - AND I'VE BEEN DRIVING!!!

• 11-02-2010 3:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭

Can't believe this one myself! Bought a car yesterday from a main dealer and was assured it was serviced etc etc and it just past it's NCT so that's done for 2 years.

But looks like when they drained the oil they never replaced it and I've been driving! I just so happened to check all the levels of fluids while I had the bonnet up. When I pulled the dipstick out there was nothing on it so i whiped it and re-dipped I dunno how many times! I put a half litre in because I just happened to have some oil in the house.

When I took the dip stick out it was just at min mark and the oil on the stick was as black as ****e! I rang the dealer fuming and I'm waiting on them to ring me back. I must have put about 100 miles plus on it so far, some of them motorway mileage. What's the suspect of damage? Seeing as there was no oil in it and the fresh oil came out dirty straight away!

It's a 02 Impreza RX in case that makes a difference. I know they're soft engines as it is so I'm not a bit please with this little surprise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

My guess is they never touched the oil at all. If it had been drained then 1/2 litre wouldn't have shown at all on the dipstick. I hope you checked out the service history, if the oil was that low then i'd be thinking she's burning it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Anan1 wrote: »
    My guess is they never touched the oil at all. If it had been drained then 1/2 litre wouldn't have shown at all on the dipstick. I hope you checked out the service history, if the oil was that low then i'd be thinking she's burning it.
    Burning oil gives off a white-blue smoke from the exhaust doesn't it? AFAIK I don't think she's burning it. Yeh there's a partial service history with it and I done a full background check on it before buying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

As mentioned, it obviously had some Oil in it, just far below the recommendation. Whats the Oil capacity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I wouldnt be happy with the car. ok it wasnt empty as the 1/2 litre brought it onto the dipstick but it was dangerously low and certainly below where the manufcturers would allow you to use the car. THere may be damage done seeing as its quite possible that it has been driven around like that for months.
    It doesnt say much for the dealer who sold this if they couldnt even check the oil level never mind do a full service. I say teach then a lesson & give the car back

Bonito wrote: »
    Burning oil gives off a white-blue smoke from the exhaust doesn't it? AFAIK I don't think she's burning it. Yeh there's a partial service history with it and I done a full background check on it before buying.
    Sometimes, but i've seen cars burn quite a bit of oil with no visible smoke at all. What does partial SH mean? I'd never buy a car without a fully documented complete SH myself. That car has awd, doesn't it? Have you proof that the differential fluids were changed at the right times? I know someone who bought a Forester that hadn't had this done, they ended up with a €2k bill for a rebuilt front diff.

Matt Simis wrote: »
    As mentioned, it obviously had some Oil in it, just far below the recommendation. Whats the Oil capacity?
    AFAIK it's 4 - 4.5 litres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

It was probably running with about 3L then. Not good I say

Sometimes, but i've seen cars burn quite a bit of oil with no visible smoke at all. What does partial SH mean? I'd never buy a car without a fully documented complete SH myself. That car has awd, doesn't it? Have you proof that the differential fluids were changed at the right times? I know someone who bought a Forester that hadn't had this done, they ended up with a €2k bill for a rebuilt front diff.
    Partial meaning it has FSH up until it's last owner who done the servicing himself (dunno whether he's a qualified mechanic or not) But he says he serviced it every 12,000 km.

Yeh it's AWD and come to think of it the power doesn't kick in at the back end at the same rate as the front! I get a nice thump sometimes from the rear end receiving power.

My mechanic is having a look at it later so I'll be getting him to check everything for me!

Another quick Q. Timing belts get changed at 60K yes? Then is it every 30K after that or is it 60 again?

Partial meaning it has FSH up until it's last owner who done the servicing himself (dunno whether he's a qualified mechanic or not) But he says he serviced it every 12,000 km.

Yeh it's AWD and come to think of it the power doesn't kick in at the back end at the same rate as the front! I get a nice thump sometimes from the rear end receiving power.

My mechanic is having a look at it later so I'll be getting him to check everything for me!
    That sounds like a cooked centre diff to me. To be honest, i'd return that car now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

That is shocking.. id be with Anan1...

That sounds like a cooked centre diff to me. To be honest, i'd return that car now.
    Fúckin arseholes! I rang the garage and got put through to service centre and he said it was serviced and I said well there's no oil on the dip stick and he said he'd ring back in 5 mins. Which was an hour ago. Also he said don't start the car :rolleyes: No shít sherlock what about me driving it not knowing there sod all oil in it which is like feckin soy sauce anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

Correct me if I'm wrong, but it shouldn't kick in or out at all? should be permanent AWD, not like a Haldex kicking in/out?

I've accompanied people buying "serviced" cars that were blatantly not serviced. I would say it's common in the sub 10k market.

langdang wrote: »
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but it shouldn't kick in or out at all? should be permanent AWD, not like a Haldex kicking in/out?

I've accompanied people buying "serviced" cars that were blatantly not serviced. I would say it's common in the sub 10k market.
    I'm not too sure whether it's supposed to be constant or adaptive. I read something in the manual about FWD only at times so not too sure :confused:

langdang wrote: »
    Correct, i've had two Foresters and i've never felt any driveline shunt in either.

Foresters are built on the exact same chassis aren't they?

Yup, Foresters are basically jacked-up Impreza estates.

Ok and in your foreser do you feel a nice even output of power or is there a 40:60 ratio?

It'll only shunt in if I'm say doing a hill start or put my foot down. Other than that it's quite smoothe. Also the wheels are little off balance so should I ask him to sort that for me? (considering I don't give the car back of course pending whether it's damaged or not)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

The Subaru does have a viscous coupling like my yoke.

On my van the VC kicks in when there is a ca 6% differential in speed between the axles.

You do not feel it "kicking" in however as a well working VC is so quick that the transition is quite smooth.

You do however feel the effect of the other axle being driven as well ...but no kicking or thump or any other harshness

Ok and in your foreser do you feel a nice even output of power or is there a 40:60 ratio?

It'll only shunt in if I'm say doing a hill start or put my foot down. Other than that it's quite smoothe. Also the wheels are little off balance so should I ask him to sort that for me? (considering I don't give the car back of course pending whether it's damaged or not)
    I don't feel anything, ever - the car just goes. The way i'm thinking is that if you only got the car yesterday then they mightn't even have sent the VLC off - you'll never get a better time to give the car back. Did you trade anything in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Get rid now. You are in the perfect position.

Did you leave the engine cool for a period before you dipped for oil to allow it settle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Oil light ? Oil pressure gauge ? Did it light up/indicate, either ?

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Send it back. Sounds like a ticking timebomb.

I don't feel anything, ever - the car just goes. The way i'm thinking is that if you only got the car yesterday then they mightn't even have sent the VLC off - you'll never get a better time to give the car back. Did you trade anything in?

Yeh I traded in my pug!
    EPM wrote: »
    Get rid now. You are in the perfect position.

Did you leave the engine cool for a period before you dipped for oil to allow it settle?

yep engine was cold when I was checking.
    galwaytt wrote: »
    Oil light ? Oil pressure gauge ? Did it light up/indicate, either ?
    Nope no warning lightts on the dash whatsoever.

He rang me bak about 10 mins ago (took his fúckin time) apparently his mechanic "forgot" to change the oil and the filter and they're still sitting in on the workbench labeled for the Impreza and they're even charged on the docket.

I smell a rat so heads are going to roll when I get up to the dealer. He said drop it up tonight and it'll be done 1st thing in the morning. Just to cover my arse I'm going to ask him to extend the warranty. He had given me 6 months with it. There's no squeeks or knocks from it so big end bearing etc seem ok.

Anybody shed some light on the T-belt issue? Is it every 60K or is it 1st change 60 and then after that it's every 30K?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭spooky donkey

I dont supose you care to name this dealer so the rest of us can avoid him. Sounds real dodgy I would just give the car back extra waranty from a garage that forgets to put parts back aint worth squat.

If mods say it's ok for me to name and shame the dealer I have no problem in doing so.

If mods say it's ok for me to name and shame the deale I have no problem in doing so.
    I'd leave well enough alone, at least until you've sorted out your own issue to your satisfaction.:)

Well at the minute it looks like the mechanic just forgot to change the oil and I was blessed that I happened to check all my fluid levels. I'll give them benefit of the doubt for now but when I get it back if there's so much as a rattle they'll be getting the keys back.

Does anyone know what they actually look at in an NCT because my dad was saying he has no idea how the car passed if there was feck all oil in it and what little oil was in it was filthy. It failed the 1st time on exhaust emissions. I think I'll be doing my own filters and fluids from now on TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

What would have happened if the the engine expired during the nct, and they are not liable I'd say because you are supposed to have all fluids checked?:confused:.....................................................mmmmmmmm

jimmyw wrote: »
    What would have happened if the the engine expired during the nct, and they are not liable I'd say because you are supposed to have all fluids checked?:confused:.....................................................mmmmmmmm
    That's what I'm trying to find out. Will the NCT testers fail a car for there being little or no oil in it or for the oil needing a change?

I would'nt have thought so if the emmissions etc were ok, but the engine could have went bang during the test though.

jimmyw wrote: »
    I would'nt have thought so if the emmissions etc were ok, but the engine could have went bang during the test though.
    but emissions failed 1st time round so how the hell did they get it to pass 2nd time round? I've heard running one of those additives through and bringing the car to 5000 revs for a while cleans it through. So they throttled the bollox out of the car while it had feck all dirty oil in it!

I'd love to know how it passed emissions 2nd time round

I dont know:confused: something dodgy going on with that garage alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

That's what I'm trying to find out. Will the NCT testers fail a car for there being little or no oil in it or for the oil needing a change?

They only care if oil is leaking out of the engine. The NCT manual is on their website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭rebel.ranter

but emissions failed 1st time round so how the hell did they get it to pass 2nd time round?....
    I'd love to know how it passed emissions 2nd time round

€50 in the ashtray. I have heard that this allegedly can happen for non-safety issues.

I checked the spare wheel in the boot. The washer that secures the spare wheel isnt there and the spare wheel is free to jump around the bump when I hit pot holes or go over speed bumps. The car should have failed on this alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I checked the spare wheel in the boot. The washer that secures the spare wheel isnt there and the spare wheel is free to jump around the bump when I hit pot holes or go over speed bumps. The car should have failed on this alone.

I'd be concerned about the AWD issue as well. Don't be blinded by dealer helpfulness in this situation.

Confab wrote: »
    I'd be concerned about the AWD issue as well. Don't be blinded by dealer helpfulness in this situation.
    I'll see if the NCT manual has anything under 4wd cars and their diffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

If the last owner was doing their own servicing then they should have provided receipts to prove that they bought the parts at least. If this isn't provided and there is burnt black oil in the sump I'd be wary of when it was last serviced and with the other issues I'd nearly be tempted to get an independent engineers report done on it.

Del2005 wrote: »
    If the last owner was doing their own servicing then they should have provided receipts to prove that they bought the parts at least. If this isn't provided and there is burnt black oil in the sump I'd be wary of when it was last serviced and with the other issues I'd nearly be tempted to get an independent engineers report done on it.
    The mechanic I use knows his stuff. My dad grew up with him. He has a skyline with which he built it's engine from the ground up. He's also rebuilt a maserati engine, a punto GT and mazda rx7. He's taking the car sat to inspect everything and take it for a spin.

Thought I'd give you all an update. Engine was completely flushed clean and mechanic can't see any signs of damage. What happened, allegedly, was the service manager who's been a mechanic for 38 years started the service on my car. The new oil and filter were left on his workbench but he let the apprentice mechanic take over the service and finish it off. When the apprentice went to his own workbench there was no filter or oil there so as far as he knew the oil was already done in my car.

It seems like a genuine mistake and the sales rep and the service manager apologised to me and said it was just an utter cock up. To apologise to me the sales rep had the lads in the workshop fit a new radio and head unit, 4 brand new low profiles and new brake pads and he extended the warranty by 2 months, just incase.

So overall, cost of change considered my car has ;

4 new tyres, freshly serviced, new brakes, new bushings, 2 years NCT, a new radio and 8 months warranty. For €2,000 I don't think they could have possibly done anymore for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

No harm to get your mechanic to look at it just to rest assure...

They can't issue a Pass unless the emissions have actually passed, unless they roll over another car and test that.

malcox wrote: »
    No harm to get your mechanic to look at it just to rest assure...
    That'll be done too. If he gives an all clear then I've gotten a right bargain :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Thought I'd give you all an update. Engine was completely flushed clean and mechanic can't see any signs of damage. What happened, allegedly, was the service manager who's been a mechanic for 38 years started the service on my car. The new oil and filter were left on his workbench but he let the apprentice mechanic take over the service and finish it off. When the apprentice went to his own workbench there was no filter or oil there so as far as he knew the oil was already done in my car.

It seems like a genuine mistake and the sales rep and the service manager apologised to me and said it was just an utter cock up. To apologise to me the sales rep had the lads in the workshop fit a new radio and head unit, 4 brand new low profiles and new brake pads and he extended the warranty by 2 months, just incase.

4 new tyres, freshly serviced, new brakes, new bushings, 2 years NCT, a new radio and 8 months warranty. For €2,000 I don't think they could have possibly done anymore for me!

Well done. It does seem like it was a genuine mistake and they have gone out of their way to make up for it. Happy motoring.
    RoverJames wrote: »
    They can't issue a Pass unless the emissions have actually passed, unless they roll over another car and test that.

It all depends on how they use the probe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

But what about the AWD issue? Are you going to forget about that?

That'll be done too. If he gives an all clear then I've gotten a right bargain :D

If the engine has been damaged due to low oil levels it may well seem fine for thousands of miles, an inspection from a mechanic won't highlight any issues that may come to light in 10,000 miles or so. As the poster above says what about the transmission issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

For me, that wouldn't have been good enough. I'd have left the keys back and walked. There's a minimum oil level for a reason, no way would I hold onto that car. What use are tyres and a headunit when the car leaves you stranded on the side of the road with a massive repair bill?

Very true, you have no idea how long it was driven with the low oil level, the garage seem like total clown too. What kind of mechanic doesn't dip the oil and check the filter for tighness when finished "servicing" a car.