Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[COMPETITION] Ladies, looking for romance? You could find it on this 4 Star weekend!

• 11-02-2010 11:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭

It's a little bit different to our usual competitions but if you're up for trying something new, would like a break away and once you spot the location, you may well be tempted to give this a go...

Premier%20Double%20Room%20Red%2C%20Hotel%20Westport%203.jpg

That's a suite in the Hotel Westport and thanks to DiscoverIreland.ie, we're offering two lucky single people the chance to

find love in the West of Ireland at the Hotel Westport Singles Weekend taking place from the 26 - 28 February in Westport, Co. Mayo.

So we're opening it up to all Gentlemen and Ladies on Boards.ie - we're happy to give it to one person who will go, or if you want the whole prize for yourself and a friend, you can say that too. It will be down to the quality of the entry!

The lucky people will each experience the full Singles Weekend Programme including a selection of speed dating, fun alternative blind date, interactive game show, and an outdoor activity (weather permitting) as well as

• two night’s accommodation with a complimentary upgrade to a Premier Room, full Irish breakfast each morning
    • light refreshments on Friday night and
    • dinner on Saturday night as part of the Singles group.

My000512.jpg

As well as boasting a fantastic night life with lively pubs and quality restaurants, Westport has lots of great activities on offer like; horse riding, surfing, shopping, hiking and boat trips - just to mention a few!

While staying in Westport you can take in one or more of the many natural attractions in the area such as Croagh Patrick, the stunning Clew Bay with its 365 islands, and a plethora of award-winning blue flag beaches.

Hotel Westport is secluded in 7 acres of beautiful woodland in the heritage town of Westport and includes the luxurious Ocean Spirit Spa.

Ireland is the perfect location for people looking for something that little bit different. For more information and great value accommodation, please log onto www.discoverireland.ie

So, how do you enter? Simply stick a post below detailing your most awful date. The one you look back on and shudder about.

(I don't mean the 11th of February 1996, now Ladies, ;)I mean the time you went out with someone hoping for the best and it turning out to be awful. )

The better the story, the higher your chance of winning - and we'll take the number of thanks each post gets into consideration.

Terms and conditions: This is open to all Boards.ie members who have 10 posts or more. Travel expenses to and from Westport are not included. We'll pick the winner and PM them on February 19. Just to clarify, you can either enter to go on your own or to bring a friend. Any questions to hello@boards.ie please and thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭Kila

Met someone online and went on a date with him. He was shorter than he said, and his picture was obviously from some time ago.

He turned out to be horribly boring, so I escaped to the loo for a quick pep talk with a friend over the phone. When I got back he asked if my phone call had been someone calling to rescue me - didn't quite have the heart to say yes!

Eventually, after much more awkward chatting, he asked if I wanted to move from the pub to a club or somewhere. I just couldn't do it, so I told him that I wasn't really feeling it, said goodbye, and left.

Awful experience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭MadgeBadge

I went on a first date to Croke park last year. He asked me if I liked sports, I said no, he then asked if I'd like to go to the Tyrone and Cork match, and I said yes. Because I'm a risk taker. :cool:

It was all ok, if a little awkward. He declined my offer of a drink. Because when we sat down, he had brought his own, a brown liquid, in a jar. I think it was cold tea. He also brough pasta salad, and an apple, which he ate without offering me any (not that I wanted any). So, a little unusual to say the least.

I soon realised I had no idea about football, or match etiquette. As he was from Cork I thought best to cheer for them, but Cork is only one sylable, so it's so hard to cheer for. So I cheered for Tyrone. He wasn't impressed.

We parted ways and never saw each other again, a mutual decision I feel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Fink Goddie

I once went on a date,
    It didnt go so great,
    He fell off his chair,
    He had ginger hair,
    And to be honest i fancied his mate! :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

The Gentlemen's competition is here , :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I'd enter but don't know which forum to post in as most of my bad dates would best be seen from the womens side. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭wild_cat

I've had many bad dates but this ones the cleanest.

This "date" happened to me when I was 18, I had been set up with this guy through a friend and had no idea of what he looked like bar him sending me a picture message of himself with his top off....

I should have known straight away.

Anyway we decided to go to the cinema and this is what happened.

I knew it was going to go all wrong from the minute we walked into the place. It was one of those old seated cinemas, with single and double seats.

We walk in anyway and at first it appears theres no single seats left, so he starts running down to the front to the first double seat he sees, I find two single seats together near the back so I have to walk down the front and retrieve him. As soon as we sit down he starts telling me about these hay fever tablets he has been taking. I will hear this story three or four more times over the course of the evening.

Then the film starts with out much bother until he produces a plastic bag full or different kinds of sweets, he manages to make such a loud rustling sound taking it out that the person infront of us turns around and tells him to shush.

He begins to "chaw" away on wine gums, so loud it can be heard for seats around, he didnt even offer me one. He also cackles loudly at every non funny part in the film. Inbetween the mass consumption of wine gums he keeps trying to lean into me, obviously looking for a kiss. My neck is getting strained from avoiding at this point and i'm nearly on the seat next to me. So I thought to myself, what am I going to do, I'm going to have to get out of here. So I lean in for what he thinks is going to be a kiss and say "Ive to leave at 10.45". I then nearly give myself whiplash retreating my face from him.

So I don't drive and had to wait for one of my parents to collect me, the film ends at 10.30 and we're standing outside the cinema, I tell him I'm good to wait on my own but he wont listen. So I'm standing there going "hurry to **** on mammy". I go and sit on a step and he starts the whole leaning in stuff again, I spring up and say "hey wanna see something interesting...." and I do a cart wheel (embarrasing but I really really didnt want to kiss him). He then starts telling me about his hayfever tablets again

He stands up again and goes to kiss me, I was smoking rollies at the time so I try and get tabacco on my lips to appear repulsive. He wipes it off me and I sit down again, he sits beside me and starts to scratch my initials into the wall.

This was getting to weird so I give him a peck on the lips, mutter something about my parents ang get up and walk off.... and he shouts after me....

"FROM WHAT I'VE HEARD, I SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN A LOT MORE OFF A GIRL LIKE YOU"

I just kept walking and stood in the pissing rain for 20 minutes waiting for bad at time keeping mother to collect me. That was my worst date ever.

Another date involved a guy crying half way through a dinner about his ex, but the poor fella was heart broken so I couldnt give out about him.

• Subscribers Posts: 5,766 ✭✭✭girl_friday

Worst date: Was newly single after a very long relationship and a guy I had chatted to a few times online asked if I was interested in doing something so to try and get back into dating I said yes... smile.gif

We met in Dublin (where I was living) on a Saturday afternoon and it turned out he had come up on the train from Mayo (or somewhere like that) using his free travel pass!! I can only assume he was on disability of some form to qualify for this. Not one to be put off at the first sign of something a bit odd we kept going with the date. rolleyes.gif

He proceeded to tell me that his last girlfriend had cheated on him and his sister had threatened to kill me if I hurt him and he had given her my mobile number in case she wanted to chat to me during the day!! eek.gif At this stage I was more than a bit wary. He then went on to tell me that the ex before that had committed suicide and he still missed her... And started to cry... At this stage I knew there wouldn't be a second date!!

The day continued with him paying for absolutely nothing as he said he was broke confused.gif but yet he kept suggesting things to do such as cinema or bowling (neither of which we did!)... In the end I told him I had to meet a friend as he had indicated that if I wanted him to spend the night he would have no problem with that despite my having been pretty clear that this was a once off meeting!! To add insult to injury he then asked to borrow money!! I waved him off to the train station without a backward glance but he kept texting me for about three months to try organise our second date!! I met a guy in the meantime so that was one way out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30,731 ✭✭✭✭princess-lala

I met a guy online - gorgeous looking great personality the whole package :)

We were due to meet at a pub at 8pm - I turned up at 7:50 (Im always early) so at 8:25 he strolls up to me "your late Im standing over there the last hour waiting on ya" I was so nice all along.

We went into the pub for dinner - he says "you can pay Im broke" I said ok.

Not easily put off we had dinner and then ordered drinks and all along I was paying, at 10 I tried to make my excuses but he was having none of it and dragged me into town to go to a club, all the while my wallet was dwindling.

At 12 I was so annoyed I just said Im off! Got home after 1 and he was sitting outside my house - Said he had no money for a taxi and wanted a quick shag :eek: So he randomly walked 5 miles to my house instead of going 1mile to his own house the other way!

Seven months on I still get a text every weekend :eek: Will I ever be free??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 brendasi

My Entry

I once met a guy on a blind date.

I perservered with him in the pub and then he took me to a local "lover's car park".

He obviously had a bad cold and no hankie.

We kissed a few times and then he had an uncotrolable sneezing fit.

The snots were all over his moustache and he ask me if I had a hankie (which I had not) and then he tried to kiss me.

His moustache was covered in snot and I was totally discusted and said I wanted to go home.

I wanted to throw up and tried to be polite.

Thankfully he left me home soon after this.

D
    x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 JoJo1404

I met this guy on an internet dating site and after a few weeks of chatting we decided it was about time that we hooked up and went on a date.

This guy was from Kerry, so hats off, he made the effort to come up to Dublin where he was going to stay with one of his friends, which happened to be close by to where I lived.

We met up in the local, where he had been there a while before me and had a few whiskeys...to calm the nerves!

I was a little bit shocked when I met him, he had said he was 6'1 and me being 6ft thought this was great, 6'1...yeah right! I was towering over him wearing flat shoes! His clothes had left little to the imagination and his so called 'recent picutre' must have been taken back in the day!

I thought I would give him the benifit of the doubt as he had made the effort to come to Dublin and we had gotten on well over the phone.

We had a few drinks before going to dinner.

Dinner was a complete disaster, between all the complaing he done about the food and the service, women in general being gold diggers and back stabbers, and all the problems in his life he managed to drink his way through two bottles of wine and get completely legless!

After dinner I hinted at him that I was tired and that I was going to head, he presuaded me to stay and go for another drink after making me feel guilty he had driven all this way and was expecting a long night out.

We went to the club and at the bar he proceeded to chat up another girl, One of my male friends happened to be in the club and came over to me, I told him that I was on a date which wasnt going to well. My date came over and started on my friend for trying to chat me up! Needless to say I said goodbye and left. He followed me out and apologised for being so drunk and that we would share a taxi as he wasnt too far from where I lived. I got out first and he got out after me expecting an invite in, I told him no and asked the taxi driver to take him to where he wanted to go.

My phone never stopped ringing that night, i evuntally turned it on silent as I was sick of him moaning.

I went to let the dogs out that morning only to find him alseep on one of the chairs in the back garden... he had forgotten where his friend had lived and his friends phone kept ringing out...like mine!

Needless to say it was more than awkard driving him around to find his friends house until he got hold of him and I dropped him off....

That should put you right off internet dating... It did for me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 brendasi

JoJo1404 wrote: »
    I met this guy on an internet dating site and after a few weeks of chatting we decided it was about time that we hooked up and went on a date.

Oh, you did make me laugh.

I hope you will eventually fine the man of your dreams (as I do).

LOL

D
    x

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

I met a guy in work and we became really great friends, after about 6 months we found that we were both single at the same time so we had a date- first one was fantastic- couple movies and a few sneeky kisses, sparks flying everywhere!
    Second date was another story!!
    We went out to the local for a few drinks. Now, first mistake- i thought i could drink at the same pace as him.
    We were hammering through pints when I excused myself to the bathroom. This is where i stop rememebering.

I am told:
    I was gone for 30minutes (i was sitting in the bathroom trying to get the room to stop spinning)
    I returned to the table and promptly fell off the chair
    He brought me outside where I threw up on his trousers.
    He walked me to the shop to buy food where I threw up more.
    He walked me home where I promptly fell asleep on my sofa.
    He woke me up to make me drink water while i cursed at him for it.
    I fell back asleep.
    He showed himself out.

I will never forget the sheepish call to him the next morning...

Our three year anniversary is on tuesday (happy ending in the end)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 JoJo1404

brendasi wrote: »
    JoJo1404 wrote: »

Oh, you did make me laugh.

I hope you will eventually fine the man of your dreams (as I do).

LOL

D
    x

Lol I'm sure you will... and no more mustaches... i think your story has def made me more aware :-p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

Bluetonic wrote: »

Haha :D

My "date" has sent four texts today saying happy Valentines day and so on :D also asking could he bring me for dinner :) I wrote back saying Im broke :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Dim

ok I'm going to be very honest about this. Two bad dates that come to mind, one being my fault, the other not!

The one that was my fault in my defense, I was VERY young and not really looking for a releationship!
    :rolleyes: We had met out the night before both in an intoxicated state and decided to meet up the next night for a date. I arrived glammed up to the nines and we sat talking for most of the evening. He asked me why I wore so much make up, I was nervous to begin with but this made me worse which encouraged me to start drinking faster and as I wanted to wear something revealing and tight I had ate very little during the day to appear slimer! needless to say I got hammered. We were getting on well and a few of his mates arrived in the pub. Whilst he was talking to one I leaned over to his other friend and whispered 'I think your friend is totally hot, I have serious plans for him tonight', or something to that affect. The guy I was on a date with did not take kindly to this at all as he thought I was flirting with his friend. Next thing I know we are all leaving the pub. Still in a drunk and giddy state I tried conviencing the guy I was on a date with to come to a strip club with me! He REALLY did not appreciate this and asked his friend to walk me to the taxi rank as he had had enough. I didn't mind because I had been asked out on a date the next night so I went home slept and went out again the next evening. That is the worst date I have ever been. shameful really.

The worst date for me was ...
    I'd met this guy at a computer show (shh I know), and we started emailing, we texted, phoned and emailed for about 6 months. He ended up moving to Dublin from the far side of the country and I decided to meet him because he was now in traveling distance. I had grown very fond of him and knew I was attracted to him because I had seen him in person. I arrived in Dublin and we met for drinks. He proceeded to tell me that he had a girlfriend (for 6 years I think it was) but that he didn't know if it was working out :confused:
    I was very dissapointed but I thought feck it I've come this far he obviously sees me as a mate I'll stay for the craic (it was this or head for the last train home and I thought may as well try to salvage what was left of my evening in Dublin). I rang my mate and asked could I stay in his gaf for the night. So back in the pub anyway this guy who I really thought could be neo started telling me in detail why his sex life wasn't working. I really was beginning to regret my decission of staying so I decided to make my way to my mates. The guy tried to convience me to stay at his :o stupid man. That night I ended up getting completely lost in Dublin and being threatened to have my phone robbed. I ended up sleeping on my mates couch and the next day doing what felt like the walk of shame for an hour long journey through Dublin, the train station, then home.
    I just remember Cold plays 'Clocks' playing at the station and me thinkin 'you stupid ejit'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭kathy2

I went on a blind date arranged by a friend.
    When I arrived the guy came in took one look at me and said I thought it was someone else:D you know maries other friend??
    Grand job so says I and exit stage left, just like that:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Last April I met this guy in the pub on the Wednesday before Good Friday, we had a couple of drinks and a bit of a laugh so I agreed to meet him the next day after work. Meanwhile a friend of mine had organised a post midnight party as all the pubs were closing that night at midnight which I was planning to go to. Anyway I had bought my drink and gave it to my mate who was going straight home in a taxi and skipped off to meet this guy at the pub. First off he had two other mates with him who were both off their head on what I found later was a mix of alcohol and xanax! He was a bit merry himself but he was able to communicate and was quite a charmer so I relaxed after a while and after a few drinks the others didn't seem so plastered. Time rolled on and before I knew it the pubs were closing and I was getting calls from my mates so I decided to head off.

I asked my date if he wanted to come along and he said yes so I ran off to bathroom to freshen up and when I came downstairs himself and his mates were all standing there ready to come. Against my better judgement I decided not to tell them that only the date could come and we all headed off to the party. It was fine at first but by the end of the night/early morning they had done the following;

1. One of the guys fell asleep on the couch and couldn't be moved. When the girl hosting the party got up the next day he had pissed himself ruining the couch and carpet underneath.
    2. The other friend managed to drink a litre bottle of Mint baileys in about 1 hour, sexually assaulted two of the girls at the party and vomited in the kitchen sink.
    3. My date was langered and I found out months later that he came on to a couple of other girls there and punched one of the other lads who was trying to calm the situation down.

By the time I had copped on what was going on I had already alienated most of my friends at the party so I decided to cut my losses and run. At the time I didn't know what my date had gotten up to so I left with him and ended up spending the whole weekend with him. The girl who hosted the party still doesn't talk to me and I only get asked to about a handful of things in the group now.

To top it all off I was still seeing this same guy in August!! Seriously I really deserve the chance to meet some nice guys or a big diagram telling me what one looks like!! Or maybe I am just a lost cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I for one don't wonder why I'm still single, not when I remember the awfulness of the dating scene! I'm submitting the below account on behalf of myself only. A weekend on my own in Westport sounds like about 30 kinds of awesome!

Ok so this is Dublin, about 8 years ago. Met a guy through work and agreed to go for a late-night coffee one night.

He told me that he had just split up from his girlfriend, but it was ok as 'they were always splitting up'

So we're sitting there chatting away, he orders a cup of tea. He then sez "Do you know how to tell if all the sugar is dissolved in your tea"?

"No" I sez, hoping for a laugh

"you listen" sez he, and proceeded to make me 'listen' to the different tones between addition of sugar to the tea and dissolution of sugar in said tea.

At this point I'm bored off my tree and start looking around.

I see a girl peering in the window CRYING

I remarked on her and yer man turned to look. As he did I caught sight of whoppers of love-bites on his neck . . . nice

Surprise, surprise the crying girl is his ex.

She's waiting for us as we leave the cafe (complete with love-bites of her own)

She and he get into argy bargy, crying, pleading the usual :rolleyes:

I start to walk away and he runs after me. I ~(nicely) say we should call it a night. He says "No, she needs to learn" we're over.

I said, when did ye break up? He said TODAY! I told her I wanted to go on a date with you!

I said cheers but no thanks and began to walk home.

Next thing I get hit in the face with a cheeseburger. Lassie had went to McDonalds and was now pelting ME with burgers.

I legged it all the way home and was telling my friend about the horror.

We hear a noise outside, go out but can't see anyone. Next morning there's a knock on the back door. We thought it was the landlord as no one else could get access to the back . . . or so we thought!

The guy had spent the night there to freak his ex out and now he wanted to come out the front door so she would see him. He was certain that she had staked the place out all night.

He was not impressed when my two burly housemates made him leave the way he came in. Over a roof and through a ditch :)

Now everytime I hear the sound of sugar dissolving in a cup of tea I think of that night (yeah right)!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 tenenbaum

omg wild cat thats hilarious! i can't believe you did a cartwheel, that must have been aweful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Angelface1

Where do I start:

Date 1: Blind date - met and started chatting. Well chatting might have been overstated. He chatted....so fast and with such an accent, I could hardly understand a word he said. I had to keep saying 'what', 'sorry' to everything he said. What I did get the jist of was the fact that he was still in faithful contact with his ex and called in regularly to have a cup of tea or dinner...even do a spot of babysitting for her from time to time. Hasten to add...I left in rather a quick hurry and didn't arrange a second date. The same guy text me a few days later to see if we would meet up again to which I said I didn't think it was a good idea....he responded by asking whether he should delete my number off his phone....errr...emm...YES

Date 2 : Another 'blind one' but maybe for another reason - seemed a nice enough guy but thoughout the date, he kept looking around making sure we weren't being watched. He then proceeded to tell me that he had never been in a relationship before and this would his first...... now having been married with two children...not exactly what I was looking for. Again, another non-starter.

Hence....I would love a weekend in Westport...third time lucky eh??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

Mud I think you deserve the trip. That is mind blowingly bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭georgem25

I met this guy 3 years ago. His brother was going out with one of my best friends. He asked for my number and after about 2 weeks of texts and calls I agreed to meet him. The night of the date arrived and he was late! After about half an hour I text him and he was in the wrong place! He finally arrived.

He is a farmer and he stank of cow****! The smelled just wafted over me! I wasn't expecting Brad Pitt but a shower and clean clothes would have been nice! I thought I was going to be sick! But he had travelled a long way so I tried to get over it. He was dressed like someone my dads age - tweed jacket with patches on the elbows and it was torn too. I quickly decided I was only going to have a main course - I couldn't sit through a 3 course meal, I didn't even want food because the smell was so bad. He insisted we had dessert and tea and coffee too. We had nothing in common. I tried really hard to find something we could chat about, I had to start each topic of conversation but time just dragged.

When we finally left, he walked me to my car and leaned forward to kiss me and the smell was over powering again even though we were now out in the "fresh" air. I leaned away and he misunderstood my discomfort and he said something I thought no one in my generation would ever say - "You don't want to do your courting in public - lets sit into your car" - I quickly made my excuses and left.

He text and rang a few times ever the next few weeks but I kept saying no. The next time I bumped into him, he knew exactly who I was but paused and called me by a different name - I wasn't going to sink to his level and chatted casually, he soon remembered my name and those of my friends and asked about everyone. He asked me out again but I resisted.

He was only in his 30's but dressed like a dad and talked like a granddad and smelt like cow****!! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

Set the scene. A Thursday evening last December. City Centre pub @ 7pm. I was running fifteen minutes late. Date ended at 7.49pm.

I broke the world record for the world's shortest date because:
    • He was socially inept
    • I think he may have had Aspergers
    • He kept scratching his balls
    • He got emotional when he said he never got past a third date with people - "what is WRONG with meeeeeeeeeee?"
    • He told me he may have a third date with a girl but she is away in Limerick a lot and will have to see how it goes, what did I think?
    • He kept ringing his hands asking why girls "don't do anything more than kiss" on dates
    • He asked me to tell him honestly why he never got past third dates
    • He "accused" me of flirting outrageously with my male work colleagues
    • He admitted to having a "happy ending" Thai massage in Sandyford as often as is possible, once a week because "it's needed"
    • His work is interfering with his personal life
    • He had a weird tic
    • AND AND AND he told me after fifteen minutes he had to shoot off

Had a pain in my face from holding in the laughs....:)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

mud wrote: »
    Next thing I get hit in the face with a cheeseburger. Lassie had went to McDonalds and was now pelting ME with burgers.
    this made me CRY with laughter. I thought i'd never heard anything as funny until.........
    georgem25 wrote: »
    I leaned away and he misunderstood my discomfort and he said something I thought no one in my generation would ever say - "You don't want to do your courting in public - lets sit into your car" - I quickly made my excuses and left.
    :pac: WTF?! :D

and finally this gem...
    Miss Fluff wrote: »
    [*]He admitted to having a "happy ending" Thai massage in Sandyford as often as is possible, once a week because "it's needed"

Christ on a bike! I've in hysterics laughing here. The days of the human race are totally numbered, how could you subject yourself to another date after one of these little doozies? Brilliant!

Mud, hats off to you lady. A cheeseburger in the face, classic! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

mud wrote: »

Did she at least take the gherkins off ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Darragh

Thanks so much for all the submissions! We've sent off our top 3 choices to DiscoverIreland.ie to pick a winner from and we hope to announce that tomorrow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭georgem25

Whos the lucky winner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

*bump*

Did anyone win this? :)

Forgive me if it's been announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Rezident

And the winner was . . . me.

Just want to say a Big Thank You to Darragh at Boards and to everyone at the Hotel Westport (especially Rhona, PJ and Eithne) and Discoverireland.ie for a fantastic weekend. Really good fun, I had a great time and would highly recommend it to anyone who’s single and on for a bit of fun. Great way to meet like-minded singletons and Westport is an ideal place for a weekend away.

The hotel was excellent and PJ was great craic, he had us all in stitches. I had heard before that speed dating could be hard work but the way PJ broke the ice for us really took the pressure off and actually made it all good fun. Fond memories.

Westport is a great spot, I’d never been there before but am already hoping to go back. Walshe (that bar from the Guinness ad with the TV set!), Matt Molloys, Cosie Joe’s and numerous other fine Guinness emporiums that I can’t remember the names of, were great fun, and then beating England was the icing on the cake. Wonderful weekend.

Many thanks to all, I’m still smiling from the weekend. :)

Thanks for the westport tips Rezident.
    I can't see your winning submission....do you you have a linky?

As you can see above, Rezident was the female winner of this competition, as chosen by Discover Ireland.

Thanks so much to everyone who shared their stories - some memorable, hilarious and quite awesome entries there. My thanks also to the TLL moderators who helped facilitate this.

Keep an eye out for other Discover Ireland competitions on Boards.ie - and thanks once again :)

Darragh

Darragh wrote: »
    As you can see above, Rezident was the female winner of this competition, as chosen by Discover Ireland.

Thanks so much to everyone who shared their stories - some memorable, hilarious and quite awesome entries there. My thanks also to the TLL moderators who helped facilitate this.

Keep an eye out for other Discover Ireland competitions on Boards.ie - and thanks once again :)

Darragh
    Rezident wrote: »
    [FONT=Calibri, sans-serif]I met a girl through a friend of a friend on a night out, kiss and a cuddle, all very nice, so we arranged a date. Not ideal preparation when my friend was going to Australia and having his leaving-do from 4 o’clock that day, so I went for a few and did arrive at the date merry but essentially fine, call it Dutch Courage.

After a couple of drinks she said she’d prefer another pint of cider to the cinema so we had a few more. She started talking to an Aussie backpacker type and started buying him drinks because he was skint (on our date!) as he hovered beside us, ignoring me and all my attempts to talk to him. Someone kept farting horrendously (it was SO Mr Backpacker) and we all had to sit there in the yellow sulpherous fog and pretend nothing had happened.

Then Mr Backpacker mysteriously had enough for a round but only enough for drinks for her and himself and no pint for me even though I'd bought him one. I returned from the toilet and he’d taken my seat so I was left standing while the pair of them chatted away and appeared to be having a great time, on our date (remember the date?).

So I went to the bar to get myself another drink before possibly leaving. My friend texted me to ask how the date was going. ‘DISASTER!’ I replied, 'worst date ever, she’s trying to score someone else on our date, I'm leaving'.

You know that feeling when you’re being watched? I looked over my shoulder to see my ‘date’ had finally dragged herself away from Mr Backpacker and was standing behind me at the bar, obviously reading the text I was typing. Amazingly, things actually got a bit better after that (she started talking to me instead) and she tried, she really did and there was even a kiss at the end but it was all just going through the motions. Even the kiss, the desperate attempt on both out parts to pretend that it was working only dragged out the excruciating awkwardness. At the end she actually asked about the night, I laughed and just blurted out that it was a disaster. We never met again. Still makes me cringe.
    [/FONT]

But Rezident posted in the mens thread....Found it btw. And her post would have people believe she is a guy. As opposed to a lesbian dating a bi woman.
    How exactly did you lot know she is a woman? If the judges didn't know her personally?

Also there are many better post's for the men's competition. Was it random selection that got that mod the win? /skeptical face

Darragh wrote: »

Darragh

No I'm the male one, sorry my bad, I posted in the wrong thread (I just did a search).

Moonbaby wrote: »
    But Rezident posted in the mens thread....Found it btw. And her post would have people believe she is a guy. As opposed to a lesbian dating a bi woman.
    How exactly did you lot know she is a woman? If the judges didn't know her personally?

Also there are many better post's for the men's competition. Was it random selection that got that mod the win? /skeptical face

No no I am definitely not a lesbian dating bi women! (it's not often I get to say that anymore). I have photos.

Of me I mean, not of lesbians dating bi . . . you know what I mean. Sorry I'll put it in the Gentleman's Club thread.

I presume I’m not supposed to be in here *has a quick look around* hey, they’ve got cushions in here! How come there are no cushions in the Genltmen’s Club...

Who is the female winner then? Did you met her Rezident?

Moonbaby wrote: »
    Who is the female winner then? Did you met her Rezident?

I was reading the thread from TGC the other day and I thought Onkle won there??? I could be wrong! :confused:

Hey, just seen the posts around this.

Firstly - my apologies. I did not check whether Rezident had posted in TGC or TLL - Discover Ireland picked the winners, not Dav or me - and when they did, I didn't check that it was a guy and a girl. Apologies - I should have, because it was my understanding that that is what they were going to do.

We had shortlisted posts from each thread and seperated them and sent them over and they came back with the winner. Again, I didn't check that the two winners were from either forum - I just assumed so. Sorry!

Please bear in mind we're still in the midst of reuniting members with thier accounts and this is why this slid under the table.

I learned a lot from running these competitions in particular - I think we'll leave them out of these forums from now on, unless they're nailed tightly shut and everyone agrees they're a good idea :)

Thanks for your time

Darragh

Ok so two men won then?? Why bother posting it in TLL if a woman isnt even going to win it?? :rolleyes: Very unfair IMO!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Serious thread fail.

Novella wrote: »
    Serious thread fail.

Totally :(

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Unfortunately it can happen with external competitions.

It'll be a learning process for the next one.

Thanks for the explanation Darragh.