Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

30th birthday in Marbella! Let down by all my so called friends

• 11-02-2010 1:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭laura29

what di i do here i know i sound like a loser but ive a good crew of friends not my idea to go to marbella/puerto banus but 4 booked theri own tickets i booked 2 for me and EX bessie mate now wit all diff situations 2 very very hurt by it cant go im devastated , have my own and one other paid for ticket for 5 days in april fab apt fab complex and its now either go on my own or bring the girl who a wee bit mental !!! eh banged up abroad job , what wud u do ppl i really wanna go and wanna say fk em all but 1 person on HER own celebratin her 3oth aint soundin right , please help :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Might want to rewrite that without the txtspeak - it's tricky to follow.

As I understand it: your 30th, four freinds booked their tickets, you booked one for yourself and one for a friend and now four of them have cancelled for various reasons and it's just you and a girl you dont' really know very well, and you're pissed off.

For me, it would depend on the how genuine the reasons for cencelling were. Was there an emergency, financial problems, some last minute inter-girl hitch? If the resosn are genuine, there's not much you can do, just not take it personally. If it's a case of they just changed their mind, then you have every right to be pissed.

Personally, I'd still go and feck 'em. Your brirthday, don't let them spoil it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Hi Laura. We don't permit text speak on this forum (this is actually the case on most forums), so we'd appreciate it if you didn't continue to use it. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭laura29

habit sorry ! 2 friends were all up for it since nov now one cant go cause te hubbie isnt too happy , other cant get the time off which i know is bull s*it fact , new fella etc so thats them 2 other one i work wit and job wont give us both same time off even though were seperatete depts and alot of other friendly colleagues get it , any last ine bessie mate i paid for her flights as she always broke and cryin poverty then come payday she wanted to only give me half as her hair needed extensions haha god i feel so pissed off and ye im goin eiither way any handsome blokes wanna free ticket ;) or buzzzin gals who know how to enjoy themselves ticket paid for accom is not but got a gr8 deal on A FAB apt bar etc on premesis 3 pools etc for 300 all incl we all know ryanair dont fo refunds or fk all else but im outta here for my 30th just so so dissapointed in my mates especially the one ive carried for yrs aaaahhhhh fumin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭wasper

Are you sure you are 30 & not 13? First of all there is a recession on & people are genuinely short of cash to go on 30th birthday to Marbella. You expect your friend to go with you & disrespect her hubby's wishes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I can't understand either post :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

can you use english? and paragraphs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭alo1587

And full stops (.) sorry op,its just hard to read your posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 273 ✭✭anucksunamun

laura29 wrote: »
    habit sorry ! 2 friends were all up for it since nov now one cant go cause te hubbie isnt too happy , other cant get the time off which i know is bull s*it fact , new fella etc so thats them 2 other one i work wit and job wont give us both same time off even though were seperatete depts and alot of other friendly colleagues get it , any last ine bessie mate i paid for her flights as she always broke and cryin poverty then come payday she wanted to only give me half as her hair needed extensions haha god i feel so pissed off and ye im goin eiither way any handsome blokes wanna free ticket ;) or buzzzin gals who know how to enjoy themselves ticket paid for accom is not but got a gr8 deal on A FAB apt bar etc on premesis 3 pools etc for 300 all incl we all know ryanair dont fo refunds or fk all else but im outta here for my 30th just so so dissapointed in my mates especially the one ive carried for yrs aaaahhhhh fumin

Apparently her four friends have decided not to go on her birthday trip, ones husband has kicked up, ones says she cant get the time off (the OP is however dubious as to whether this is the truth), one works with the OP and cannot get time off at the same time, and the last one the OP bought her ticket but she has now decided her hair extensions were a more needed expense.

The Op is extremely annoyed and disappointed in her friends and it seems has come onto boards in search of people who will go on holidays with her.. under the proviso that they are 'a handsome bloke' or 'buzzzin girl' with the ticket paid for, accommodation will be 300 all inclusive.

• Personally, I think it's asking way too much for people to go abroad to celebrate a birthday. It annoys me when people do it for weddings, but just a birthday? It might be a cheap deal but there are still loads of costs associated with going abroad - accommodation, drinks, meals, summer clothes. Most people don't have a lot of cash to throw around at the moment - why not just have a meal or drinks at home? It is annoying that they said they'd come and then cancelled, but perhaps they found it just too much of a commitment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Is it possible they seen the program with Piers Morgan in Marbella a few weeks ago. My relatives are just back and it's really dear. For example, they had 2 sandwiches, 4 glasses of wine and 6 beers, €110. One evening they had four curries, a couple of beers and btl of wine, €250. I'm not surprised they have pulled out you couldn't really have picked a more expensive destination, and the way things are very few people have money to be throwing around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I think she booked after her friends said they were going. It was their suggestion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭skooterblue

Lets do a reality check here its 2010 not 2000. you are 30 not 20.
    you are 30 and have (or should have) a career or mortgages.
    Businesses are falling like flies, the economies have never been so unstable.
    Employer need people on the ground.
    Petra Pan has a lot of growing up to do.

I dealt with something similar when a friend wanted to have a stag in Ibiza for our best friend 2 years ago. It will only cost a few hundred was the reply. In the end of it all the pressure was too much and the wedding never happened. He had an nervous breakdown. It was ruling a lot of people out. I had responsibilities (double check the dictionary) to my employer and other financial responsibilities. I don't think its fair you putting that kind of pressure on your friends. If you want to act your shoe size I am happy that you have the social and financial means to do so. Dont expect the other lemmings to follow.

30 isnt the end of your freedom its you moving on to a more responsible age. Act like it, start with classes in proper English. Think of people other than yourself. I feel like I am talking to Paris Hilton who lives at home and never saw the other side of life, not responsible 30 year old. If you feel I am being harsh, check the calender. People are having their houses repossessed, business are going under. Things said in the heat of the moment in November mightn't seem like a good idea the 4th week of January. I wouldn't stop my girlfriend running off to Marbella or wherever but dont think I would be best pleased about it. I dont think the you are thinking about the financial, social and time strain you are placing on people.

Hey confusedmuch (should that be the title of the thread here lads? ;)) She mentioned its all inclusive.. i think that means food, and some drink all included and paid for, I could be wrong of course... but I think thats what it means.. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭OS119

its still €300 to spend a weekend with a 30 year old who thinks they are 12 and from 'da hood'...

it sounds flippant OP, but actually it isn't.

€300 all-in doesn't sound much in a pub in November, but in February, when Ireland is being compared to Greece - which could go bankrupt this month - and redundancies are still hitting peoples desks like confetti, €300 looks an awful lot like a big lump of mortgage, or a few months car insurance, or a months food.

save the €300 and treat yourself to a nightclass in English Language skills - you'll then find it much easier to get people to do what you want them to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Barracudaincork

you are 30 and have (or should have) a career or mortgages..

Says who?

I feel like I am talking to Paris Hilton who lives at home and never saw the other side of life, not responsible 30 year old. people.

Paris Hilton is not 30 for starters and no one said you had to talk to the Op either, you decided to post, no one made you.

OP, im sorry your birthday plans have gone belly up, but i think you may have to just grin and bare it, the reasons your friends are pulling out vary and all appear legit and although you have your doubts re one, your still not 100% sure. I can see why your hair extension friend has annoyed you, not just cause she is pulling out but becuase you had already paid for it and she had promised to pay you back, the issue here isnt the holiday, its the principal.

As for celebrating your brithday alone, yeah i can imagine it wouldnt be much fun, but that also depends on how much fun you want to have and how much fun you can have on your own. I have been to many cities etc on my own and had loads of fun, by just getting out there and meeting the locals etc, could you do the same?

OS119 wrote: »
    save the €300 and treat yourself to a nightclass in English Language skills - you'll then find it much easier to get people to do what you want them to.

How does english classes help someone get people to do what she wants them to do, are you assuming people who understand english are easily brainwashed?

The rest of your post made sense, and i agree €300 in Nov is different to €300 closer to the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

How does english classes help someone get people to do what she wants them to do, are you assuming people who understand english are easily brainwashed?
    That was clearly a joke about the poor readability of the OP's posts

I wanna make one point

A lot of people are slamming the OP for wanting to have her birthday abroad. First off, it's her birthday, she should be able to do what she wants for it.
    She never forced anyone to go. She asked, they agreed, then they cancelled.

This is a very common thing in Ireland, in regards to anything, from a trip to the cinema to a trip to the moon!

Lots of people will say yes at first, when they're really thinking no. And this is a loada BS, as they'll end up canceling last minute and ruining all plans.

Says who?

Says me, its hard to establish yourself after 26 in industry. yes there are a few exceptions to the rule but for the rest of us mortals its a struggle.

"Paris Hilton is not 30 for starters "
    you are right she is 28 and the op 29, with the experience of a tv series a a dodgy sex tape and a criminal conviction there aint a whole lot to show for it

Be mature go rent a house down in Kerry for the weekend. Something everyone can enjoy. I dont see why it has to be so complex in this day and age.

Says me, its hard to establish yourself after 26 in industry. yes there are a few exceptions to the rule but for the rest of us mortals its a struggle.

and you are?

The Kerry suggestion is a good one, but why the unhelpful comments attached? Could you not simply offer your suggestion?

I to be honest would not be able to tell you as much about Paris as you know, so i will take your word for all of that!

and you are?

I to be honest would not be able to tell you as much about Paris as you know, so i will take your word for all of that!

No I am not established due to a medical reason but I get up everyday and work at it. the issue is the OP should have a more responsible attitude.

As for Miss Hilton I had to wiki it.

OP, do you have family who you could bring? (since the tickets are nonrefundable)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭KnocKnocKnock

No I am not established due to a medical reason but I get up everyday and work at it. the issue is the OP should have a more responsible attitude.

Your condescension is really unhelpful to the OP. So she uses text speak which she admitted is a force of habit, you really think you can judge her circumstances based on this?!

How exactly do you know she isn't responsible? How do you know she isn't at the top of her game career wise? How do you know she doesn't have a mortgage?

Her problem is that her friends suggested going abroad, and booked their tickets. The OP then booked tickets for her and one of her friends. These friends then cancelled and although what they told the OP sounds justified, from looking at other evidence she questions this justification. One of her friends has even left her out of pocket as she "needed" to get hair extensions. I think the OP has a perfectly valid reason to be annoyed

No I am not established due to a medical reason but I get up everyday and work at it.

? I dont know what you are saying no to there, but good luck with your medical condition, a daily battle cant be an easy thing to face, I admire people with strength like you! Fair play to you!

the issue is the OP should have a more responsible attitude.

Responsible in your eyes, why do you not mention the fact her friends should of been as equally as responsible and not make commitments that they cant keep eg why didnt the lady who husband wont let her go, speak to her husband first etc etc The isnt the OP's fault, she has not been irresponsible. However i do feel the OP is possibly getting more upset over this than is required, if you look at the bigger picture in life etc

So you're big speal about the OP should establish herself yada yada yada, and then you come out and then say you're not established yourself, which has what to do with the OPs question I don't know. I'm sorry you've a "medical condition", but you're not established yourself, just because it's because your sick doesn't give you the right to judge other peoples careers/lifes etc. You don't know if you were 100% healthy you'd have a fantastic career, you can say you would but it's easy to say these things. Anyways going on a holiday with your girlfriends is nothing to do with her career, maturity life stage and 200% off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

OP you disbelieved everyones reasons for not going, but have you considered that maybe those are EXCUSES and the real reason is people don't WANT to go.

Its just too expensive and frankly I wish people celebrating 30th's and 40th's etc would just grow up and go to the pub for a few scoops or enjoy a night in a hotel with the other half and stop these cringeworthy excursions. It would just be a gang of women staggering around locked for days, spending money they don't have trying to recapture the glory days of youth.

Expecting your mates to be delighted at the prospect of spending the guts of a grand to hang around with a load of girls for days. Well, its not most peoples idea of a great holiday. Sorry.

OP you disbelieved everyones reasons for not going, but have you considered that maybe those are EXCUSES and the real reason is people don't WANT to go.

Its just too expensive and frankly I wish people celebrating 30th's and 40th's etc would just grow up and go to the pub for a few scoops or enjoy a night in a hotel with the other half and stop these cringeworthy excursions. It would just be a gang of women staggering around locked for days, spending money they don't have trying to recapture the glory days of youth.

Expecting your mates to be delighted at the prospect of spending the guts of a grand to hang around with a load of girls for days. Well, its not most peoples idea of a great holiday. Sorry.

Why would they suggest it and book their tickets if they didn't want to go? I don't really see what the rest of your post has to do with anything. Why is it relevant what you think about what 30 and and 40 year olds should do, or what you think of a certain holiday?

OP is there really no one else you could go with? even one other friend apart from the one you don't know well? Or family members?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,630 ✭✭✭The Recliner

MaxPower89 wrote: »
    alo1587 wrote: »
    And full stops (.) sorry op,its just hard to read your posts

The OP has been asked not to use text speak and has apologised for it, please don't bring it up again

if you have issues with a post please use the report post button
    Says who?

you are right she is 28 and the op 29, with the experience of a tv series a a dodgy sex tape and a criminal conviction there aint a whole lot to show for it

Be mature go rent a house down in Kerry for the weekend. Something everyone can enjoy. I dont see why it has to be so complex in this day and age.
    and you are?

The Kerry suggestion is a good one, but why the unhelpful comments attached? Could you not simply offer your suggestion?

Can we have less of the talk of Paris Hilton and more posts on topic to the OP, this is directed at everybody not just the quoted posts above, they have managed to get back to the topic after this but the thread as a whole has strayed a little

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Why would they suggest it and book their tickets if they didn't want to go? I don't really see what the rest of your post has to do with anything. Why is it relevant what you think about what 30 and and 40 year olds should do, or what you think of a certain holiday?

OP is there really no one else you could go with? even one other friend apart from the one you don't know well? Or family members?

This.

I'm not one for celebrating birthdays, particularly abroad, but the issue isnt that it was going to be a foreign holiday. The issue is that these people said they wanted to go and have now bailed on her. So all this "recession/mortgage/immature" crap is complete bullshít. They wanted to go and booked their tickets. Its fair enough for her to be annoyed that they've all dropped out.

OP, I'd definitely try to find other people to go with. Family or other friends. Alternatively could you sell the tickets on to try and get some of your money back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭ootbitb

Your condescension is really unhelpful to the OP. So she uses text speak which she admitted is a force of habit, you really think you can judge her circumstances based on this?!

How exactly do you know she isn't responsible? How do you know she isn't at the top of her game career wise? How do you know she doesn't have a mortgage?

Her problem is that her friends suggested going abroad, and booked their tickets. The OP then booked tickets for her and one of her friends. These friends then cancelled and although what they told the OP sounds justified, from looking at other evidence she questions this justification. One of her friends has even left her out of pocket as she "needed" to get hair extensions. I think the OP has a perfectly valid reason to be annoyed

thanks for posting that, my thoughts too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

Seems to me that everyone was dying to go, at least until they heard that O/P's tight "EX bessie mate" was going. Then they all backed out.

From what O/P has said about her "EX bessie mate", and her other friends not wanting to end up at the very least in a police cell for their holidays, I'm not surprised they cancelled. It wasn't going to be a holiday, more an ordeal.

Also, they could hardly say straight out to OP that they wern't going because they didn't want to go with her mean dangerous ex best friend.

Easier to make feeble excuses and stay out of trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

OP, don't take people here too harshly, especially with regard to the "english language lessons" :rolleyes:

In fairness though, people are saving their money these days and it is understandable if some of your friends don't feel like they have money to spare for a holiday. I say you should go with your friend and not tell anybody over there that its for your 30th birthday. Just go on a piss-up and have a laugh; you could end up having a more memorable time than if your other friends went??..cause in fairness, if yous are looking for fellas its not like you's wont get a ride?? thats what lads go on holidays for!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

OP, don't take people here too harshly, especially with regard to the "english language lessons" :rolleyes:

In fairness though, people are saving their money these days and it is understandable if some of your friends don't feel like they have money to spare for a holiday. I say you should go with your friend and not tell anybody over there that its for your 30th birthday. Just go on a piss-up and have a laugh; you could end up having a more memorable time than if your other friends went??..cause in fairness, if yous are looking for fellas its not like you's wont get a ride?? thats what lads go on holidays for!!

Probably best if you leave out the unhelpful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Why would they suggest it and book their tickets if they didn't want to go?

I thought only OP and the strange ex best friend were confirmed.....didn't get the bit about them suggesting it.

I don't really see what the rest of your post has to do with anything. Why is it relevant what you think about what 30 and and 40 year olds should do, or what you think of a certain holiday?

Earth to knockknockknock this is a forum, everyone is allowed an opinion, its for OP to decide what is relevant and what is not! End of announcement! The OP is having her 30th birthday and I was offering her some insight into why people might be reluctant. Thats the context.

Anyway, OP I know you are feeling really hurt and baffled as to why everyone is dropping out....feeling it personally. and I can understand that, being exited about your birthday, but these days people get Celebration fatigue with all these expensive foreign trips for Birthdays, Hens, Stags etc

Its impossible to keep up financially for people so thats a possibility but as others have since insightfully pointed out maybe its this rogue ex Best friend coming along that is putting people off. Especially if she is a freeloader.

If Im understanding it all correctly!

I think from the start you were never going to get much sympathy from the majority of the posters here, myself included.

It is a reality now that we are in a recession and a lot of people do not have money to throw around for weekends abroad for birthdays/hen parties etc. It doesn't reflect badly on you or how your friends value your friendship it's just that even people (well sensible people) who have jobs are saving for the eventuality that in the future they may be unemployed. It's one thing to agree theoretically to a weekend in Marbella months ago but things change. For example your friend whose husband is not happy about her going, maybe one or both of their jobs are in unstable areas and they might need to put money away for their future, in that case a weekend abroad for a 30th at an overall cost of say €700 (flights, accomodation and spending) might be a month's mortgage payment for them.

Look I'm sure it's nothing personal, just try and take a step back from it and maybe scale things back. Have a good night out near home, nice food/cocktails/karaoke whatever you are into. At the moment a lot of people are looking twice at the expense of their own family holidays abroad even, everyone is making cutbacks. Hope you have a good birthday either way.

I thought only OP and the strange ex best friend were confirmed.....didn't get the bit about them suggesting it.

Earth to knockknockknock this is a forum, everyone is allowed an opinion, its for OP to decide what is relevant and what is not! End of announcement! The OP is having her 30th birthday and I was offering her some insight into why people might be reluctant. Thats the context.

Anyway, OP I know you are feeling really hurt and baffled as to why everyone is dropping out....feeling it personally. and I can understand that, being exited about your birthday, but these days people get Celebration fatigue with all these expensive foreign trips for Birthdays, Hens, Stags etc

Its impossible to keep up financially for people so thats a possibility but as others have since insightfully pointed out maybe its this rogue ex Best friend coming along that is putting people off. Especially if she is a freeloader.

If Im understanding it all correctly!

Earth to Cheap Thrills! this is a forum where everyone can of course have an opinion, once it's relevant to helping the poster. I can't see how going off on a judgemental rant about what you think people should do, especially in a forum like PI is constructive.

OP if there is really no one to go away with, try and get back as much money as you can - if you've booked accommodation could you get some money back there? Whatever you do, make sure to get the rest of the money from that friend who owes you - maybe put it towards a nice spa weekend in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Any more off topic posting or discussing what people think this forum is for will result in an immediate 1 week ban.

Hi OP,

I had a very poor show at my 30th as well, though not for any one reasons. It just happened at a bad time of year.

Your friends have not been cool here. I once went on a holiday that I really didn't want to go because I'd foolishly and drunkenly agreed months before and I didn't want to let my mate down.
    I imagine they know they have let you down as well. I would have a word with each individually - not an angry word, just say 'you've left me in a bad position, why did you do that?' and watch them squirm. That should be enough.

So. Can you get any costs back?

How much will this fiasco cost you? Maybe ask them for 100 each so you can recoup some of the costs which they let you get into? You'll probably never see it, but its no harm asking, just to let them know that they have been irresponsible. But do not get aggressive with anyone about it!!

If there is no way out, then go to marbella with the mad friend and have an amazing time!!!

A 30th is like any other day, no big deal. Just make a point of enjoying it anyway. You're in your 30s now, its all about independence and resilience! Happy Birthday! xx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

OP, id just go with your mental friend,ive been to marbella a good few times and love it.You'll meet lots of friends by just going out ,hanging around the pool etc.Ive gone over there with 1 mate and 10 mates and always had a ball and each time we've always met upwith other gangs of lads/girls and had a great time.
    As for the reasons your mates dropped out who cares.If your mate is dropping out cos of a new boyfriend fcuk her.Also if a friend husband cant trust her then leave her to her relationship where she'l probably never be allowed out on her own .
    As for the cost ,puerto banus can be expensive but that depends on where you go.You can go out in marbella itself which is 1 euro ina bus and you can get cheap drinks for 2 euro a pint and a single vodke(a triple over here) for 3 euro.Even in PBanus there is always 2 for 1 drinks and happy hour so you can do it very cheap so dont mind previous posts about it costing an arm and a leg to go out cos that BS.You can do it as cheap or as expensive as you want

get a grip on liltle old self!! yourself , i was asking a question you CLEARLY should have rolled on by this one
    cheers !!!!!

wasper wrote: »
    Are you sure you are 30 & not 13? First of all there is a recession on & people are genuinely short of cash to go on 30th birthday to Marbella. You expect your friend to go with you & disrespect her hubby's wishes.

some people :mad::mad: unbelievable

MaxPower89 wrote: »

it seems has come onto boards in search of people who will go on holidays with her.. under the proviso that they are 'a handsome bloke' or 'buzzzin girl' with the ticket paid for, accommodation will be 300 all inclusive.[/QUOTE]

That was a joke !! some apparently hence pms did'nt think so .
    Im sorted now and the spare ticket i was left with was kindly given to another mate who is also in need of some major kid free and me time , both single parents now heading abroad
    Thasnks to all the NON -NEGETIVE nit pickers who advised me
    Much Obliged :)

Apparently her four friends have decided not to go on her birthday trip, ones husband has kicked up, ones says she cant get the time off (the OP is however dubious as to whether this is the truth), one works with the OP and cannot get time off at the same time, and the last one the OP bought her ticket but she has now decided her hair extensions were a more needed expense.

The Op is extremely annoyed and disappointed in her friends and it seems has come onto boards in search of people who will go on holidays with her.. under the proviso that they are 'a handsome bloke' or 'buzzzin girl' with the ticket paid for, accommodation will be 300 all inclusive.

Their idea not MINE im gettin crucified all over this thread for bein upset about something my god !!! THEIR IDEA not yet again mine ok

[quote=[Deleted User];64421711]Personally, I think it's asking way too much for people to go abroad to celebrate a birthday. It annoys me when people do it for weddings, but just a birthday? It might be a cheap deal but there are still loads of costs associated with going abroad - accommodation, drinks, meals, summer clothes. Most people don't have a lot of cash to throw around at the moment - why not just have a meal or drinks at home? It is annoying that they said they'd come and then cancelled, but perhaps they found it just too much of a commitment.[/QUOTE]
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

Id say grow up Skooter Blue but it sure sounds like your already there :D
    some of us like to forget the recession and as ive said several times the idea was put to me , woman of your age shoulnt be watching those vile sex tapes tut tut

oh and by the way i have a mortgage quite large a job and 2 young children just in case you were interested , which clearly you were

QUOTE=skooterblue;64423493]Says me, its hard to establish yourself after 26 in industry. yes there are a few exceptions to the rule but for the rest of us mortals its a struggle.

Be mature go rent a house down in Kerry for the weekend. Something everyone can enjoy. I dont see why it has to be so complex in this day and age.[/QUOTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭wasper

laura29 wrote: »
    get a grip on liltle old self!! yourself , i was asking a question you CLEARLY should have rolled on by this one
    cheers !!!!!
    Next time you post looking for a solution, maybe print what you want to hear. So we can wax your lyrics.
    I think you have should you lack of immaturity by your poor response.
    I am unsubscribing to this topic after this as I don't want to be communicating with a childish 30 year old.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Since the OP's issue is resolved and this thread has now just become about abuse, I'm closing it.

Try to remember that you are all expected to remain civil when posting on this forum.