Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Free stuff from a vending machine with a lighter?

• 10-02-2010 9:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭

Couldn't think of a more eloquent way to word that...but a friend told me last night that apparently if you take the sparking bit of a lighter, the little black thing that comes out if you take it apart, and spark that beside a vending machine, whatever waves are created can make stuff come out of a vending machine. He said they tried it with cigarette machines across town, and it worked a good few times!

Anyone tried/heard of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

FACT!!!!

It works

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

and spark that beside a vending machine, whatever waves are created can make stuff come out of a vending machine

lmao, what are ye on about??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Couldn't you just light the lighter beside the vending machine without taking it apart :confused:

I don't know if that's true or not, but what I do know is that those black things are great for giving people a little electric shock with :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

this is teh shiz... I sparked it next to my laptop while surfing ebay last week and the very next day I got 6 wolf head t shirts delivered to my door, I just had a threesome last night and now all the girls turn their head at me when I walk by.
    I recommend people to do this!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭GalwayKiefer

Sounds like a definite wind up to be honest... Rocking the machines definitely works though! Forward to back not side to side. Be careful there's not a motion alarm installed. ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

GaNjaHaN wrote: »
    lmao, what are ye on about??

Never done physics no? I dunno if they're electromagnetic waves or sound waves or what, but apparently it does work...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Have you seen this in action? Because I find it a bit hard to believe

bluto63 wrote: »

Dude, get a TV licence, it's been on Ripleys. -.-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

were there any video cameras there when they told you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Does it work any better than a sledgehammer?

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Does it work any better than a sledgehammer?

Only with vending machines in Solsbury Hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

this is mad carck. id be terrified to try cos i dont want to get lifted, but i would be so tempted

bluto63 wrote: »

Havn't tried it myself. I'm not saying it's true, I don't know whether to believe it, but I'm definitely going to try it. Yer man said it only works half the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A chain tying the vending machine to the back of a car works much better than giving yourself a shock with one of those things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

is it random free stuff or do you get to programme what you want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Couldn't think of a more eloquent way to word that...but a friend told me last night that apparently if you take the sparking bit of a lighter, the little black thing that comes out if you take it apart, and spark that beside a vending machine, whatever waves are created can make stuff come out of a vending machine. He said they tried it with cigarette machines across town, and it worked a good few times!

Think about this, in order for this to be true someone would have had to wonder what would happen if you took apart a lighter, take just the sparking bit, put it beside a vending machine, and keep flicking it until something happened.

How likely do you think this is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

this is mad carck. id be terrified to try cos i dont want to get lifted, but i would be so tempted

Best to play safe, there's a lot of surveillance teams in the garda vending crimes unit at the moments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

It works!

Based on the same science as this:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64371330&postcount=1

Charco wrote: »
    Think about this, in order for this to be true someone would have had to wonder what would happen if you took apart a lighter, take just the sparking bit, put it beside a vending machine, and keep flicking it until something happened.

How likely do you think this is?

Well the guy who told me, and his friends, are all science geniuses, so it's more likely they realised it'ld work, or were told by one of their science mates that it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Fart wrote: »
    Only with vending machines in Solsbury Hill.

And only if I have the touch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Well the guy who told me, and his friends, are all science geniuses, so it's more likely they realised it'ld work, or were told by one of their science mates that it works.

Its more likely they were stoned and decided to have you on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

If they were real geniuses and it did work then they would keep it to themselves and make an absolute fortune, not allow it get spread on the internet where thousands of people will take advantage of it, thus eventually ruining their discovery as vending machine manufacturers will eventually cop on and alter their design.

So either your friends are stupid beyond belief in letting this secret slip or else they were just taking the p1ss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Stealing from a vending machine? Are you a 10-year old?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

I heard about this in school. That was about 15 years ago. I doubt it would work now, if it ever did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

i have done the trick where you get 2 drinks from a vending machine for the price of 1 but the novelty wears off after a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

m@cc@ wrote: »
    Stealing from a vending machine? Are you a 10-year old?

I imagine he's smarter than that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

GalKiefer wrote: »
    Sounds like a definite wind up to be honest... Rocking the machines definitely works though! Forward to back not side to side. Be careful there's not a motion alarm installed. ;):D

If you rock it front to back you risk it falling on you. A few people actually die from this every year. Giving it a few shoulders from the side (trying not to tilt it) might not be as instantly successful, but i get the impression it's far safer. Also you shouldn't be stealing tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Do you have to use a clipper lighter? They're the only ones that produce the right "waves"?

is it random free stuff or do you get to programme what you want?
    Yeah you program the machine using the waves from the lighter:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Overature

try a shot gun, they work pretty well. unless they have used bullet proof glass, than you ****ed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Paparazzo wrote: »
    Do you have to use a clipper lighter? They're the only ones that produce the right "waves"?

yeah cause you cant seem to take apart the bic lighters

Ive just tried :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭window_licker

racso1975 wrote: »
    i have done the trick where you get 2 drinks from a vending machine for the price of 1 but the novelty wears off after a while

enlighten me with this one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

you lick the glass on the machine and say hey baby ;) and it gives you anything you want :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

I know if you want to access the menu of a coke machine with the big half can buttons hit the 4th button, 2nd, 3rd then 1st. I have yet to find one I can do something decent with though. Most menus are locked but for how cold the machine is and how much money is in one!

If they haven't locked the machine you can test the change release and can release mechanism!

Oh press the coin return to leave the menu!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭seanbmc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LB1h4ha90mc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭ball

This sounds like an excuse to set the place on fire

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ql8wDngyDvw

Has to be one of these machines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Never done physics no? I dunno if they're electromagnetic waves or sound waves or what, but apparently it does work...
    This is an awesome comment, you must be joking?!?
    Never done physics no?
    You give this extremely condescending comment like you really know what you're talking about and then you come out with the most half arsed 'physics' explanation ever!
    I dunno if they're electromagnetic waves or sound waves or what, but apparently it does work...
    You sir are a genius, I can imagine Stephen Hawking coming out with this in his sensual, sexy voice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I've seen this work.

We used a crowbar.

Don't know why everyone doesn't do it to be honest.

This is an awesome comment, you must be joking?!?

Is it that hard to believe that electromagnetic waves created by sparking that part of a lighter can affect the mechanics of a vending machine? I'm going to try it today, if I can find a lighter. No harm in it anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Have you ever done physics??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

Is it that hard to believe that electromagnetic waves created by sparking that part of a lighter can affect the mechanics of a vending machine? I'm going to try it today, if I can find a lighter. No harm in it anyway.

I don't have a lighter.... can i just use my hand??

*waves*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Mylesie

Fart wrote: »
    this is teh shiz... I sparked it next to my laptop while surfing ebay last week and the very next day I got 6 wolf head t shirts delivered to my door, I just had a threesome last night and now all the girls turn their head at me when I walk by.
    I recommend people to do this!!!
    Sodit, you must be using a blue lighter - will :(I ever learn? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Think ill stay with shoving my arms up the machine and having a an oul root about.

Old ways are often the best.

I think homeopathy works for opening these as well.

You leave a key in a vial of water for a day and then after that a drop of that water on any lock will open it.

True story. A cousin of a neighbour's friend did it and he got, like, 5 free cans of coke and it cured his cancer too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

Is it that hard to believe that electromagnetic waves created by sparking that part of a lighter can affect the mechanics of a vending machine?

Yes......very.

Sounds like some sort of EMP weapon you're talking about, not a lighter spark.

Considering a wire inside the machine can operate unaffected by the active wires beside it, i really can't see a lighter spark from outside the machine having any effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Im sure if the owner of these machines came out and seen you, with your pants around your ankles, lovingly caressing the machine and licking it, The owner may just give you whatever you want from the machine so you will go away.

vinylmesh wrote: »
    Yes......very.

Sounds like some sort of EMP weapon you're talking about, not a lighter spark.

I saw a lighter once that projects a picture of a lady's bottom from the end of it so how come you can't believe that one would be able to remotely activate a vending machine in order to get free goods?

Oh yeah, I know why - cause it's a load of horsesh*t. That'd be it wouldn't it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,798 ✭✭✭karma_

Never seen this done with vending machines but I know something similar was used on arcade machines back a few years ago, no longer works though afaik. Basically all it was, was using the old stove lighters to fool the machine into thinking you had deposited a coin, it definitely worked though and this sounds a lot similar.

karma_ wrote: »
    Never seen this done with vending machines but I know something similar was used on arcade machines back a few years ago, no longer works though afaik. Basically all it was, was using the old stove lighters to fool the machine into thinking you had deposited a coin, it definitely worked though and this sounds a lot similar.

Used to do it on old arcade machines with a coin with a hole drilled in it and a bit of fishing line put through it. You could put it in and hit the credit button a few times to get extra games.

That was in the 80's though. I'd presume it wouldn't work now.