Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

R.I.P Phil Harris from the deadliest catch program.

• 10-02-2010 4:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭

Dont know about everyone else but i thought this chap was a legend of a man. hard as nail's and seemed like an all round decent guy.

''Philip Harries Died: Philip Harris Cornelia Marie: Deadliest Catch Captain Dies Updates – Phil Harris, whose adventures off of the Alaskan coast were shown on the show “Deadliest Catch”, has died at 53 from a massive stroke on Jan 29. The stroke occurred while his vessel, Cornelia Marie, was in port at St. Paul Island, Alaska. The captain was flown immediately to Anchorage for surgery but died last night due to complications.

“Deadliest Catch” depicts the crab fishing industry in the dangerous waters off Alaska and has been running for five seasons now. Captain Phil Harris’ vessel has been one of the few featured on every season. At 21, Harris took a fishing vessel out of Seattle, making him one of the youngest captains to take a vessel in the Bering Sea.Captain Harris became an immensely popular figure within the show due to his blunt personality, incredible work ethic, and unique sense of humor.

“It is with great sadness that we say goodbye to our dad – Captain Phil Harris,” his sons Jake and Josh Harris said in a statement posted on the Discovery Channel Web site. “Dad has always been a fighter and continued to be until the end. For us and the crew, he was someone who never backed down.”
    The reality show, which has filmed five seasons, has been one of the Discovery Channel’s most popular. Harris was a central figure for this drama featuring the ageless tale of man taking on the elements. It depicts the crab fishing industry in the dangerous waters off Alaska.

According to the ship’s Web site, Harris started working on fishing boats at age 7 and started work 10 years later on a crab boat. When Harris turned 21, he ran a fishing vessel out of Seattle, making him one of the youngest tocaptain a vessel in the Bering Sea.

When Harris suffered the stroke, the family said a friend, Derek Ray, had flown to St. Paul to take over the role of relief skipper for the rest of the opilio crab season. Harris’ fishing vessel was based in Seattle.''

http://www.showbizgossips.com/philip-harries-died-philip-harris-cornelia-marie-deadliest-catch-captain-dies-updates/6138

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Big fan of the show, wonder if his sons will continue, I would say probably so. R.I.P Phil Harris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭mark182

your right he was a great guy, wont be the same without him :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Damn, Phil was one of my fav Captains on Deadliest Catch, RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

What a shame. RIP Phil.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

:(

Oh man that sucks! He was definitely a fav on the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Shít, genuinely good guy.
    This is one of the few "Celeb" deaths I actually care about.
    R.I.P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

Aw Sh1t. He was class.
    He hadnt been well in fairness, since the earlier season when he was hospitalised,

RIP

Seeing as they were in port this was all probably filmed as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

philharriscatchcon_001.jpg

A lovely man. Great to watch....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

Not a shock TBH, he never looked well and smoked like a trooper. Wasn't there an episode where he had a medical scare and decided to clean up his life?

Sad to see him go, he was a character.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

RIP Phil.

I will never forget your rant when your son used your credit card to buy stuff. :)

djk1000 wrote: »
    Not a shock TBH, he never looked well and smoked like a trooper. Wasn't there an episode where he had a medical scare and decided to clean up his life?

Sure he used to go through cases of red bull! lol

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Phil had his head screwed on right.

Always liked watching the clips with himself and the Hansens more so.

The other skippers always tried to be so dramatic. Phil took it seriously but also had a light hearted approach.

- Drav!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

What a guy, its sad to hear he's gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

I remember the one where he noticed someone on a nearby vessel going overboard & he leapt into action & saved the guys life. Seemed like a very decent person all round. RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

My second fav captain after Sig Hansen. I'm shocked but not surprised. Very tragic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Confronting the Time Bandit brothers over the pots set across his path stands out as one of his best moments - if only for the fear they showed :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

RIP Phil, what a hero...
    "This is why lion's eat their young"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Never miss it, even the repeats but he will be missed, seemed like a great character. Hopefully his 2 boys will continue on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭wing52

R.I.P:(

Sympathies to all family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

That's a pity.. he was a great character

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

What a shame, I'm even watching Deadliest Catch on Discovery now, so this really sends a shiver down my spine. He seemed like a genuinely nice guy, one that you could just sit at the bar with and chat with for hours.

He will be missed :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

He came out with some great one liners. He'll be missed on deadliest catch, all the caffeine, nicotine and red bull while sitting for hours stressing & biting your nails over where to drop pots, deadly catch all right. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

djk1000 wrote: »

Yea, I remember that, the doctor gave him a fright about something. He had a growth or something I think?

Well RIP Phil, you will be missed, that's for sure... :(

Yea, I remember that, the doctor gave him a fright about something. He had a growth or something I think?

Well RIP Phil, you will be missed, that's for sure... :(
    He broke his rib when he fell during rough seas. When he went to the hospital they said he had a blood clot or something that had travelled up from his leg... I think. It was something along those lines anyway. He was lucky he didn't die then!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

RIP Phil, his work killed him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Morlar wrote:
    I remember the one where he noticed someone on a nearby vessel going overboard & he leapt into action & saved the guys life.

Was that not one of the Hillstrands?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

He was easily my favourite on that show. It's a fierce shock that he's gone.

IIRC, didn't he have a blood clot or something a year or two ago and he ended up in hospital?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Def a reminder of how much the job takes out of ye, i know a few fishermen and i wouldnt do there job for diamonds..

RIP PHIL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

IIRC, didn't he have a blood clot or something a year or two ago and he ended up in hospital?

Pulmonary embolism.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Genuinely cool guy

There's probably a whole generation of young lads who want to fish for Alaskan king crabs cos of him

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Michael B

RIP

Big fan of the show but he didn't take care of himself, it was a long time coming.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

He lived hard, worked hard and probably played hard.

RIP Phil Harris :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Lets not have any smart comments or jokes about the guy.

(we'll save those for when Gary Glitter kicks the bucket)

RIP deadliest catch guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Grim.

chap was a legend

R.I.P Phil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,075 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

TheZohan wrote: »
    Lets not have any smart comments or jokes about the guy.

(we'll save those for when Gary Glitter kicks the bucket)

RIP deadliest catch guy.

+ 1 on that.

Actually delighted to see nobody had so far cause I was ready to flame the sh!t out of anyone who had.

A genuine down to earth guy, loved his job, loved his family. No pretences with him. An absolute gent who will be genuinely missed by a lot of people well beyond his immediate circle.

As for Gary Glitter kicking it - looking forward to the "humour"

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

He raised those kids right too. It's a real shocker. Poor guy. As soon as the original health scare the guy looked very very unwell in any case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

What a ledge.

RIP :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

R.I.P very sad as he seemed to be making a good recovery going by the updates on the discovery website

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

What an awsome guy! One of my favourite shows on telly. :(

R.I.P. Phil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Adelante

Some of his quotes, I found on the Discovery Channel

Episode 222: Cashing In
    Phil of the Cornelia Marie: "Now you know why lions eat their young." (Phil commenting on the hand-coiling competition with son Jake.)

Episode 5: Bering Sea Salvation
    Phil of the Cornelia Marie: "You're not a man 'til you've pulled a tooth out with a pair of pliers."

Episode 2: Heading Out to Sea
    Phil of the Cornelia Marie: "This ain't a hamburger stand out here, y'know? This is the real deal and people really die."

Episode 219: On the Edge
    Phil of the Cornelia Marie: "You go through a couple marriages, smoke cigarettes like it's going out of style, your body aches from the time you get up to the time you go to bed, and you wake up in the middle of the night thinking about where you're going to put the next pot. Yeah, it's a great lifestyle."

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Really cool guy and will be sorely missed from the show.

Drank a create of Red Bull a week (maybe day) and smoked like a trooper, in one episode while he was worrying about bad weather coming in, he had one cig in his hand, another on the ashtray and was about to light another.:D

RIP, and i hope the sons take over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

A real old fashioned, hard drinking, hard smoking badass.

Came across as a really genuine guy on the show.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

efla wrote: »
    Confronting the Time Bandit brothers over the pots set across his path stands out as one of his best moments - if only for the fear they showed :)

you mean maverick right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

Phil was a real man, tought as nails but with a heart of gold. He died loving the thing he knew best.

Goodluck, Phil Rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

RIP, seemed like a cool guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

RIP Phil.

I thought he was one of the best on the show.

Hard but fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Seemed like he was good people..
    RIP.

I heard he gave his ex wives crabs..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

cian1500ww wrote: »
    RIP Phil, his work killed him...

Really? And he was such an example of healthy living ...

Anyhoo, seemed a decent bloke on the show.