Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Halifax pulling out of Ireland.

• 09-02-2010 3:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭

750 jobs! huge blow to the jobs market :(

Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

wtf!?
    who else does a debit visa cards ? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Yeah it was on thecards for a while but I think we're in the wrong forum!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

They're open on Saturdays you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Howard Browns goin down.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,922 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

So if theyre withdrawing all service from Ireland would I get away with not paying my CC bill ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭billbond4

hmm wonder what happens to the mortgage I have with them ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

The just write it off :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

The bank is to close 44 retail branches across the country and it’s also closing its call centre in Dundalk, Co. Louth.
    That's a lot of families affected.

Awh that would be a shame if they did that :D
    Throw it on the NAMA heap or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

billbond4 wrote: »

"Existing mortgage holders will be catered for."

... sweet, you get catering now, too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Poor Colm Meaney. It was the best thing he's done since Star Trek!

hmm tasty.

But on a serious note, I see that RTE website says that Halifax has 1600 employees in Ireland, thats a lot of people effected.

SV wrote: »
    wtf!?

Ulster Bank.. Love mine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Ulster Bank.. Love mine.
    What's this about a debit visa card?

But on a serious note, I see that RTE website says that Halifax has 1600 employees in Ireland, thats a lot of people effected.

They have updated the site now

Link

Well it's basically a laser card you can use anywhere that accepts Visa. ie. Online. Sounds handy, and could get me out of trouble with my credit card bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,264 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Thats a lot of jobs.

Shite......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭BluePlanet

Feck it i've a fixed term deposit with them.
    Just rang and they're not answering their phones.
    There's a message up about a staff meeting and phone lines will re-open tomorrow at 9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Ulster Bank.. Love mine.

Nice one.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

Ulster Bank.. Love mine.

Got mine in the post this morning actually :D

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    They have updated the site now

Link

linky no workee!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,264 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

BluePlanet wrote: »
    Feck it i've a fixed term deposit with them.
    Just rang and they're not answering their phones.
    There's a message up about a staff meeting and phone lines will re-open tomorrow at 9.

I'd say they're all in the pub.

We had our 'Staff Meeting' where we were told the same story (as in ye're all gettin shafted) and the whole site left and went to the pub

Can't say I blame them at all

Can't believe the "related Stories" Union welcomes Bank of Scotland review , someone's slipped up there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 ldee

HALIFAX PULLING OUT OF IRELAND
    750 jobs! huge blow to the jobs market :(

Link

op you're a dirty little monkey.....:D

That right there is why I love After Hours..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭Dean820

NothingMan wrote: »
    Well it's basically a laser card you can use anywhere that accepts Visa. ie. Online. Sounds handy, and could get me out of trouble with my credit card bill.

Do you get charged interest and stuff for buying things online? I have one but I'm afraid I'll be fleeced.

Dean820 wrote: »
    Do you get charged interest and stuff for buying things online? I have one but I'm afraid I'll be fleeced.

There's no line of credit so no interest.. I think you got pay extra when you use it abroad.

Someone told me all laser/atm cards in Ulster Bank are being changed to Visa Debit when re-issued so I don't think they can fleece us if it's being forced on us..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Major shame, though it's been on the cards for a while now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Hellrazer wrote: »
    So if theyre withdrawing all service from Ireland would I get away with not paying my CC bill ;)

No doubt one of their patella-drilling specialists will be contacting you shortly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭Communicationb

I have a loan with them which is up in October 2010 circa €5k left.....what happens now?

Will they write it off:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭PacManFan

SV wrote: »
    wtf!?
    Ulster Bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

Dunjohn wrote: »
    "Existing mortgage holders will be catered for."

... sweet, you get catering now, too?
    ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

ldee wrote: »
    HALIFAX PULLING OUT OF IRELAND

op you're a dirty little monkey.....:D

Thats exactly what I read as well.

Damn you ldee, I was on my way to make a funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Highly Salami

There's no line of credit so no interest..

you dont pay interest on credit cards if you pay on time and you have the advantage of paying on credit!

That's what I think of that "if". I was so responsoble when I first got the card, but they gave me a 4 grand limit!!!! I blame MBNA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,845 ✭✭✭Jet Black

I have a loan with them which is up in October 2010 circa €5k left.....what happens now?

Will they write it off:P

Nope. Wont get off that easy. Will more than likely be transfered to their business section. Its still staying open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Where's Anono when you need him?

I'm sure there's a joke concerning a Scot pulling out of an Irish bird there somewhere :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Halifactus interruptus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Pulling out - The best form of contraception. This message brought to Halifax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Whyno

This was coming for a while and is a major loss.Tougher times ahead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I actually went into one a couple of weeks ago to enquire about opening an a/c cos I'm sick of Bank of Ireland.

The girl working there looked genuinely shocked when she I told her what I wanted to do so I would definitely think they knew what was coming

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I actually went into one a couple of weeks ago to enquire about opening an a/c cos I'm sick of Bank of Ireland.

The girl working there looked genuinely shocked when she I told her what I wanted to do so I would definitely think they knew what was coming

Same here.
    Same reaction. The writing has been on the wall for a while to be honest.

Working news link: http://www.newstalk.ie/news/news-headlines/halifax-bosi-closing-retail-operation-750-jobs-lost/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Such a pitty, they are the only bank i had few problems with.
    Thier visa debit card was so very handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

ugh. Who to bank with now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I left BOI to go to Halifax months ago and found them excellent. I'm not going back. This sucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 BaelNaMblath

Tough times :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

super-rush wrote: »
    I left BOI to go to Halifax months ago and found them excellent. I'm not going back. This sucks.

Same a couple of years ago. Got sick of BOI charges.
    Also, Halifax open till 5pm each day and 1pm on Saturdays (better than most banks, but the bastards should be open normal retails hours.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Would they be cancelling credit cards now? Its a good thing i cleared mine. But if they were to cancel it who will pay the €40 government fee on the credit card? Me or them? I was going to cancel it anyway but il wait and see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I'm so glad I didn't move, sounds like a pain in the arse. But now what to do, still wanna leave BoI