Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork vs Kerry

• 08-02-2010 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭

Next Saturday, in Cork, at 7:30, will be there.

What are the chances of Kerry relegation once they've lost their first two league games? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Wow, you're not predicting a hammering for Cork?

Has your account been hax0red? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

smashey wrote: »
    Wow, you're not predicting a hammering for Cork?

Has your account been hax0red? :D

Haxored Smashey, haxored?

Although the teams haven't been put out yet, if both managers put out the same teams as they did over the weekend I'd fancy Cork by 1-2 points. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Cork could win this game by 10-15 points, but come september time...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

Orizio wrote: »
    Next Saturday, in Cork, at 7:30, will be there.

What are the chances of Kerry relegation once they've lost their first two league games? :confused:

Kerry was missing a load of players...Mark o Shea had his wedding on Saturday.

Saying that, whoever was on he pitch seemed as rusty as hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

ah it'll be typical league- hopefully the weather will stay clear at least. Not expecting a crowd- Cork did well to hold off Monaghan over the weekend. Fancy Kerry by three though. Don't think they'd like to lose two on the bounce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Although the teams haven't been put out yet, if both managers put out the same teams as they did over the weekend I'd fancy Cork by 1-2 points. ;)
    Kerry was missing a load of players...Mark o Shea had his wedding on Saturday.

Saying that, whoever was on he pitch seemed as rusty as hell.

I'd expect a similar enough line-up from Kerry for the Cork game as well.

Big worry for Kerry is that none of the backs had a good day at the office the last day apart from Killian Young. There really doesn't look to be massive depth when it comes to the backs.

It will probably be okay come the Championship but I'd have to favour Cork the next day especially since they scored 3-13 in the last game.

Big worry for Kerry is that none of the backs had a good day at the office the last day apart from Killian Young. There really doesn't look to be massive depth when it comes to the backs.

It will probably be okay come the Championship but I'd have to favour Cork the next day especially since they scored 3-13 in the last game.

Exactly my point. Clearly, Kerry haven't much work done by this time of the year.

One can only imagine what the likes of Colm O'Neill or Paul Kerrigan will do to poor young Reidy. Of course we have Spillane, who is worth half a dozen points to every opposition team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

I'd be expecting a cork victory, but I dont think that we'll go down.
    There are still plenty of winnable games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Pappy o' daniel

Youre very harsh on Spillane Orizio, undeserved i think.

To kerry posters: What kind of U21 team have ye this yr? Is David Moran still U21?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Not sure if Moran is, probably is I'd have to look it up, but won't last the year as Sts Kilda's are after him in a big way at the moment.

Barry John who picked up the goal against Dublin will be under 21 though as well as a lot of the minors that went to the all ireland final against roscommon and kildare and the semi against galway so they've a strong enough panel.

To kerry posters: What kind of U21 team have ye this yr? Is David Moran still U21?

On the U21s David Moran is overage.

Don't think there is that much belief in the U21s this year. John Kennedy (who was minor manager for a while) is the manager and he only reluctantly accepted it after a number of other candidates turned it down. Bit of a shame there wasn't more interest. There are some good players but I would have serious doubts about their collective ability as a team.
    I don't think there has been much in the way of training done yet (only the last few weeks) although I did hear something about a challenge match last week. Was a fair few likely starters missing due to club/college committments/injury apparently.

The two Barry Johns and James O'Donoghue who were all playing the last day against the Dubs are underage, so it could be a pretty strong full forward line. Things would be as strong further out the field.

I think Cork have a lot of last years panel and the same management so I would expect them to be among the top favourites for the All-Ireland this year.

Have you seen him play over the past two years? He's far far too slow for an inter-county wing/center back, and looks like a headless chicken most of the time. Neither Kieran O'Connor or Ger Spillane should be anywhere near the Cork panel, we have far superior footballers throughout the countries.

We'll walk the Under-21 All-Ireland this year - we have at least half of last year's panel plus Ciaran Sheehan.

Have you seen him play over the past two years? He's far far too slow for an inter-county wing/center back, and looks like a headless chicken most of the time. Neither Kieran O'Connor or Ger Spillane should be anywhere near the Cork panel, we have far superior footballers throughout the countries.

We'll walk the Under-21 All-Ireland this year - we have at least half of last year's panel plus Ciaran Sheehan.

He's a solid panel player, not good enough to start but good as backup.

We thought we'd walk it last year after beating kerry, Tipp almost beat us, Down should have beaten us.
    Theres plenty of U21 talent around especially in Ulster.

I agree on your point about O Connor and Spillane. O Connor gives far too many frees away.

just not good enough and like you say better footballers there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

Cork were lucky to get to the final if our lads hadn't panicked in the semi-final and starting kicking glorious wides, we would've been playing Down I feel.

That said, much like Dublin last Sunday, there'll be retribution exacted on Saturday night but let's be honest, it won't mean a thing come the summertime.

He's a solid panel player, not good enough to start but good as backup.

We thought we'd walk it last year after beating kerry, Tipp almost beat us, Down should have beaten us.
    Theres plenty of U21 talent around especially in Ulster.

No they shouldn't have. I think you mean Dublin - and even then, one team made the big scores and one team didn't.

This is on in Pairc ui Rinn btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭tatoo

Cork did concede 3.12 though :eek: , to Monaghan :eek::eek: .

tatoo wrote: »
    Cork did concede 3.12 though :eek: , to Monaghan :eek::eek: .

Once again, Ger Spillane, center back.

Anyone actually going to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭manster

Heading down on Friday. Making a 'special' Valentine's weekend of it with herself on Friday night.

Down to business on Saturday - should be good with the rugby on first and then the derby. Any pubs that you recommend as we'll have to make a mad dash after the France match.

Reckon that Tadgh is one boy who's happy he's far away from the Parc Ui Rinn.

manster wrote: »
    Heading down on Friday. Making a 'special' Valentine's weekend of it with herself on Friday night.

Down to business on Saturday - should be good with the rugby on first and then the derby. Any pubs that you recommend as we'll have to make a mad dash after the France match.

Reckon that Tadgh is one boy who's happy he's far away from the Parc Ui Rinn.

There is a pub just below Pairc ui Rinn called 'The Venue' (or something like that), I presume that will have the game on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭MaxPower89

Id fancy Cork to get the win at home, Kerry were fairly poor last week.

Kieran O'Connor is nowhere near County standard, think most people kow that already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Anyone actually going to this?

Yep, I'm going and bring my 5 year old nephew to his first gaa game. :)

Its handy having plenty of games under lights this year. A grand way to spend a few hours on a saturday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

I'm heading as well but fear an allmighty backlash from the rebels

Very disappointed with some of the Kerry players last week Quirke, Corridan and Reidy were terrible.

Donaghy tried but some of the ball was hit and hope.

Lets hope theres an improvement on Saturday night.

yayamark wrote: »
    Very disappointed with some of the Kerry players last week Quirke, Corridan and Reidy were terrible.

On Corridan I haven't seen much of him but nothing I have seen convinces me he is good enough for inter-county standard. Given his age I doubt he's ever going to make the step up at this stage - would far prefer some younger player who might have the potential to be inter-county standard in a year or two when a lot of the current defence is gone to be given his spot. I reckon they would get a lot more benefit from playing in the league.

On Reidy while he had a poor enough game the last day I think the problem is that he isn't tight enought to be an inter-county corner back. I think he might have potential as a wing-back.

Personally wouldn't be too harsh on the likes of the established players like Donaghy and Quirke.

Don't hold out much hope for this weekend - will be heading to Croker to support Castlegregory and Spa instead.

yayamark wrote: »
    I'm heading as well but fear an allmighty backlash from the rebels

Ye were not that great up to August last year and look what happened.:)

As said I dont think this result will mean anything come August/September if they meet again.

No they shouldn't have. I think you mean Dublin - and even then, one team made the big scores and one team didn't.

No, Down were 2 points up in injury time and cork scored a goal.

My first thought was Cork would this easily but now I think Kerry pride would not allow 2 defeats in a week to their closest rivals.
    I expect a physical game, Cork will try and lay down a marker (ahem) for the new decade, show that they wont be bullied anymore.

Cork Team
    Paddy O'Shea - St. Vincent's
    Ray Carey - Clyda Rovers
    Michael Shields - St. Finbarr's
    Eoin Cadogan - Douglas
    Ger Spillane - Ballygarvan
    Paudie Kissane - Clyda Rovers
    Aidan Walsh - Kanturk
    Alan O'Connor - St. Colms
    Nicholas Murphy - Carrigaline
    Patrick Kelly - Ballincollig
    Pearse O'Neill - Aghada
    Paul O'Flynn - Ballyclough
    Daniel Goulding - Eire Og
    Donncha O'Connor - Ballydesmond
    Paul Kerrigan - Nemo Rangers

Kerry Team
    1) Brendan Kealy Kilcummin (2) Padraig Reidy Scartaglin (3) Tommy Griffin (Dingle) (4) Adrian O’Connell St Michael’s Foilmore (5) Paudge O’Connor (Legion) (6) Aidan O’Mahony (Rathmore) (7) Killian Young Renard (Captain) (8) Seamus Scanlon Currow (9) Micheál Quirke Kerins O’Rahillys (10) Paul Galvin Finugen (11) Declan O’Sullivan Piarsaigh na Dromada (12) Donnacha Walsh Cromane (13) Barry John Walsh Kerins O’Rahillys (14) Kieran Donaghy Austin Stacks (15) Paul O’Connor Kenmare

No, Down were 2 points up in injury time and cork scored a goal.

My first thought was Cork would this easily but now I think Kerry pride would not allow 2 defeats in a week to their closest rivals.
    I expect a physical game, Cork will try and lay down a marker (ahem) for the new decade, show that they wont be bullied anymore.

...and Cork were the better team for the majority of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭liogairmhordain

3 red cards already (2 cork, 1 kerry - galvin)
    (sides level after 24 mins)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Fergaloc

Allianz National Football League Cork Vs. Kerry

Venue : Pairc Ui Rinn

Kerry: B Kealy; P Reidy, T Griffin, A O'Connell; P O'Connor, A O'Mahony, K Young; S Scanlon, M Quirke; P Galvin, D O'Sullivan, D Walsh; B J Walsh, K Donaghy, P O'Connor.

Cork: P O'Shea; R Carey, M Shields, E Cadogan; G Spillane, P Kissane, A Walsh; A O'Connor, N Murphy; P Kelly, P O'Neill, P O'Flynn; D Goulding, D O'Connor, P Kerrigan.

who do ye think will win lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

3 red cards already (2 cork, 1 kerry - galvin)
    (sides level after 24 mins)

I'd say we can expect those red-cards to be challenged and rightly so from what I am hearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭liogairmhordain

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I'd say we can expect those red-cards to be challenged and rightly so from what I am hearing.

noel galvin got 2 yellows, the 2nd of which was for a foolish high tackle about a minute after he got the 1st one. can't have much argument

paul galvin and eoin cadogan pulled each other to the ground, hands in faces etc, very messy looking but maybe a yellow each would have sufficed. the ref was losing control a bit at that stage with scuffles breaking out all over the pitch.

its calmed down a lot since, current score kerry 0-9 cork 1-5, 25 mins to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭eigrod

Cork 1-12 Kerry 0-12 full time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Threads merged :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 david tra

come on kerry fuk cork ye spastics

david tra wrote: »

Eloquently put.

Decent game - Goulding MOTM, referee too fussy and strict, Spillane good at full-back, Cork were far more interested and far fitter. Liked the look of Kerry sub Barry John Keane, looked like a bit of a player.

Referee was indeed too fussy and the new rules helped him in that. What was the free count. Must have been in the forties or fifties?! Ah what you expect outta Deegan anyway!

Goulding certainly man of the match. And does Paddy Kelly get a nose bleed if he goes past the 45m line? He went walkies plenty of times back and forth but I know that the forwards probably weren't showing for him and forwards need to work on their shooting - Too many wides and balls falling short.

Couldn't see any of the red card incidents. Too far away but by all accounts Cadogen and Galvin deserved no more than yellow and Donaghy and Spillane* should have seen red for their fisticuffs.

*Edit: I just read it was Shields rather than Spillane in that incident but am still none the wiser as I was miles away in the stand.

AH well....a win is a win :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Liked the look of Kerry sub Barry John Keane, looked like a bit of a player.

My first cousin. Has been brilliant for Kerins O'Rahillys over the last year especially, delighted to hear he did well when he came on today.

keane2097 wrote: »
    My first cousin. Has been brilliant for Kerins O'Rahillys over the last year especially, delighted to hear he did well when he came on today.

Tell him to get a new haircut. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

david tra wrote: »

Banned. Regardless of how new you are to the forum, there's absolutely no need for that.

Carry on :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Red card was harsh on Galvin in fairness. Yellow would have been grand.

Couple of young lads for Kerry looked the part in the second half, the production line continues to roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Tell him to get a new haircut. ;)

Everytime I see him dude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭crebel81

He looks a good player alrite...took his scores well. Wasnt a classic battle by any means...WOULD LIKE TO SEE THE GALVIN CADOGAN INCIDENT AGAIN...GOULDING man of the match anyhow...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

I was told this evening that there was a report on the Cork radio station 103fm saying a Cork selector had accused Paul Galvin of eye gouging Eoin Cadogan? Only heard this about 2 hours ago,i wasn't listening to the radio today. If the accusation is true this surely means big trouble for Galvin. Eye gouging is 1 of the most despicable acts of thuggery which is normally associated with rugby and in my view is an act of cowardice. If Galvin is guilty of this he should get a lengthy ban,there is no place for this type of thing in GAA.

It was gouging of the mouth really, not sure if it was intentional.

dartbhoy wrote: »
    If Galvin is guilty of this he should get a lengthy ban,there is no place for this type of thing in GAA.

Depends on how much footage there is of the incident I suppose. The CCCC reviewed footage of last weeks incidents so they may possibly do the same with this incident.

Its below, around the 2 minute mark. You can see Cadogan started it, and eventually Galvin had his fingers all over Eoin's face, particularly his mouth. Donaghy acting the eejit as well, I hate when players do that crap.

http://www.youtube.com/user/KCAMKCIM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭shockframe

Looks like st paul is prone to a bit of eye gouging aswell.he could be in trouble over this one yet.