Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Post Draft PW Activities

• 07-02-2010 4:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭

The draft is great fun. However, interest will surely decline on this forum until the next one when it is done. We should use this time to discuss and plan other things that we can do and work out some sort of a calendar. Bit like the Rumble signifies the start of the year for wrestling fans, the draft can be like that for us.

I notice that the BWE is quite popular too but does anyone have any other innovative ideas that could be fun?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Voltwad wrote: »

I notice that the BWE is quite popular too but does anyone have any other innovative ideas that could be fun?

we badly need new writers atm

nothing wrong with the old ones just there arent enough of us so if anyone is interested in trying their hand at a show then let us know in the BWE discussion thread.

I do think that other ideas like the draft would be great but they are hard to come by tbh and yes it does generate some extra interest and disussion, it is actually a pity that we have it on during the road to Wrestlemania as that itself gathers extra interest in the forum and the draft could be used elsewhere. However this decision was taken to allow it to run smoothly as during summer, holidays etc caused big slow downs in rounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

we badly need new writers atm
    I'd be interested in doing some writing but I've no idea what it entails/rules/history etc?

I think the thing that makes the draft special is the fact that it only happens once a year, any more and it'd be ruined. I still think we could do with more fandom related activities like it though :)

I'd be interested in doing some writing but I've no idea what it entails/rules/history etc?

I think the thing that makes the draft special is the fact that it only happens once a year, any more and it'd be ruined. I still think we could do with more fandom related activities like it though :)

check out the BWE thread, state your interest, get given a show to book, read the last couple of BWE shows before posting yours as you will be following on from them stroyline wise and keep it to a similar structure (i.e up to 6 matches and x backstage segments etc).

could be good training for your draft roster actually

If anyone has any other thread ideas, by all means verbalise them here and see can you come up with something people would be interested in, because obviously as stated the more threads like the draft which really creates an interest and good disussion on PW the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

One idea I had today whilst researching potential picks for the Draft game was doing a Boards.ie Pro Wrestling Hall of Fame. We could have it coincide with the WWE Hall of Fame perhaps and have it be similar in style to the Wrestling Observer's one. Any potential candidate would need to secure something like 60 or 70% of votes in favour of induction.

Might be good, might not. I thought I'd throw it out there anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,391 ✭✭✭D2D

One idea I had today whilst researching potential picks for the Draft game was doing a Boards.ie Pro Wrestling Hall of Fame. We could have it coincide with the WWE Hall of Fame perhaps and have it be similar in style to the Wrestling Observer's one. Any potential candidate would need to secure something like 60 or 70% of votes in favour of induction.

Might be good, might not. I thought I'd throw it out there anyways.

Me likes. That's a pretty cool idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

I tried to do the decade awards but interest in that was pretty slack and I eventually kinda got fed up myself beacuse of that.

What about a boards.ie PW Hall of Fame?

Not sure how it'd work but basically we'd nominate someone once a week with a poll or something and if the wrestler in question got 75% or more yes votes in a poll they'd get in? Obviously the likes of Hogan and Austin would be a shoe in but there would be other more debateable ones like Benoit or Angle that'd set up interesting debate.

Edit:Jesus Christ MNG get out of my head I swear to God I hadn't seen your post.:o

I like that idea MNG.

add a certain amount of wrestlers every year and eventually we would have a great and argueably more respectable hall of fame than the WWE have

How about a Slammy Awards thing where we reward PW posters? Could be done in November/December.

Sort of like what C+H did with their "Jizzler" Awards?? That'd be pretty good.

We should have our own Mania weekend here - Friday: PW poster awards, Saturday: PW HoF, Sunday: Mania thread

I like that idea.

eww Jizzler...

That kind of thing though.

eww Jizzler...

That kind of thing though.

The teenage mind, eh??

I'm not 20 until April so I don't have to justify myself to anyone :)

How about in June we do a King of the Ring? We elect someone to be a quizmaster and have 8 contestants take part in a tournament with the winner crowned the Boards.ie KOTR? I'd be more than happy to run this although we'd need promises off people that they wouldn't cheat.

the Hall of fame idea would be simple enough id say, 2 threads:

1. A nominations thread where we all an nominate potential Hall of Fame wrestlers where obviously preference is given to nominating retired wrestlers os no matter how many Cena fans (just an example) there are there is no way he is going into a Hall of Fame yet.

2. the top 10 or 20 most nominated wrestlers are put into a second thread where we have a poll which you can vote for multiple people in. The top x (whatever number we decide we will induct each year) wrestlers voted for then become the inagural class of the Boards.iw wrestling hall of fame.

We can add a 3rd post to the locked hot links thread sticky also (or somewhere similar, the 2nd one was to add the TV listings ) so that the hall of fame can be always easily found.

I'm not 20 until April so I don't have to justify myself to anyone :)

How about in June we do a King of the Ring? We elect someone to be a quizmaster and have 8 contestants take part in a tournament with the winner crowned the Boards.ie KOTR? I'd be more than happy to run this although we'd need promises off people that they wouldn't cheat.

where you around for my ATH (Around The Horn) games?

if anyone wants to bring that back (dunno if it would be as popular as the last few got dwindling interest but it hasnt been done for a good while) then they have my permission to host it.

where you around for my ATH games?

if anyone wants to bring that back (dunno if it would be as popular as the last few got dwindling interest but it hasnt been done for a good while) then they have my permission to host it.
    Can't say that rings a bell man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,153 ✭✭✭Jolt2007

I was thinking before of maybe doing something months ago where we'd take a really old guy and watch a few matches, discuss them, were they overrated/underrated. Bit similar to the superstar of the week topics in a way but I never got around to it. Think now if we were going to go over older guys it'd be best done in an alternative draft only allowing guys pre 1970, or even the Hall of Fame idea. Just think it's be good to discover and discuss the legendary names that are becoming less remembered every year.

I don't think I'd be good at running something that in depth mate but fair play. Once the draft is over I'd be more than happy to launch the boards.ie KOTR

Jolt2007 wrote: »
    I was thinking before of maybe doing something months ago where we'd take a really old guy and watch a few matches, discuss them, were they overrated/underrated. Bit similar to the superstar of the week topics in a way but I never got around to it. Think now if we were going to go over older guys it'd be best done in an alternative draft only allowing guys pre 1970, or even the Hall of Fame idea. Just think it's be good to discover and discuss the legendary names that are becoming less remembered every year.

That's a great idea. There's a lot of guys from before the seventies that are unknown to the majority of fans. You could take a guy like say Pat O'Connor, link to a few of his matches and then we could discuss what we make of him.

It would definitely broaden people's knowledge of the past and perhaps introduce us to some guys we've never really appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭waltersobchak

All those ideas sound F'N great lads.. All of them would be awesome to do, and would keep the board exciting till the end of the year if they're all spread out nicely..:cool:

I would absolutely love this.

I tried similar with Japanese guys but it kinda died a little, if there was interest I'd start it up again.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055625687

flahavaj wrote: »
    I would absolutely love this.

I tried similar with Japanese guys but it kinda died a little, if there was interest I'd start it up again.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055625687

That was on my mind too, that if it was just a topic it would just sink pretty quickly, but wrapped up into something else like a draft or hall of fame discussion it might have more of a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

A rasslin podcast like the one Minto and the one who shall not be mentioned did. We could get well known people on teh interwebs like Alan4L on to. The other podcast was pretty good but not consistent (one every 3 months).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭Vince135792003

I think a podcast isn't a bad idea either. Programmes like talk shoe and blog talk radio have chat rooms too while the show is going on which would add to it too rather than just hearing a podcast done a few nights earlier. I would have some interest in it but to do it I would be more interested in interviewing people rather than running down shows.

Lots of good ideas here.

So far, we have:

- PW Hall of Fame
    - PW Poster Awards
    - King of the Ring tournament
    - ATH
    - Podcast part deux

Any more

The Podcast would only be good if everyone taking part was mangled drunk.

Drunken Gerard C would be heroic on such a podcast. "A bar of plain chocolate please bah.":pac:

And gimmick roaring "handball" in the background.:pac:

And Pingers lying in the corner demented mumbling about the greatness of Luger.:pac:

Drunken Gerard C would be heroic on such a podcast. "A bar of plain chocolate please bah.":pac:

And Pingers lying in the corner demented mumbling about the greatness of Luger.:pac:

That had me in stitches. I can imagine that now, Make. it. happen

I don't think I'd be good at running something that in depth mate but fair play. Once the draft is over I'd be more than happy to launch the boards.ie KOTR

Just readin' through the ATH posts/threads and, I must say, I love it. It'd be something I'm genually interested in. If the KOTR tourny is anything like that, I'm definetly in

It'd be more like a quiz in the early rounds and I was thinking about giving the semi final/final rounds different tasks. For example I give you two wrestlers and you book them in a match, descriptively describing how you'd see the match unfolding etc.

That'd be awesomly interesting:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

If I had recorded you the weekend of Macca goin on about Bryan Danielson when you were in the rats and stuck it online it would have been better than any podcast!

"Jaysus Ger.... he's some boy to wrestle idnt he though? I just hope he makes a few pound in wwe, he's breakin his ****in back in the indys, he could do with the bit a money" - Better than Meltzer himself could have put it.

I REALLY like the HOF idea, if it was done right it would be class. Have like a Puro rep (Flah), Tna rep (Machismo), Roh/DG (Gimmick)... etc... to nominate the people to be candidates and all that. Maybe 3 people a month - One wwe, one from pre-1970 and one other then or something. Write ups and yotube links would be very interesting, and would get wicked interest going in the forum, not that its not doing very well at the moment, but thats the kinda thing that people who dont normally post would probably post on.

Gerard.C wrote: »
    If I had recorded you the weekend of Macca goin on about Bryan Danielson when you were in the rats and stuck it online it would have been better than any podcast!

"Jaysus Ger.... he's some boy to wrestle idnt he though? I just hope he makes a few pound in wwe, he's breakin his ****in back in the indys, he could do with the bit a money" - Better than Meltzer himself could have put it.

I REALLY like the HOF idea, if it was done right it would be class. Have like a Puro rep (Flah), Tna rep (Machismo), Roh/DG (Gimmick)... etc... to nominate the people to be candidates and all that. Maybe 3 people a month - One wwe, one from pre-1970 and one other then or something. Write ups and yotube links would be very interesting, and would get wicked interest going in the forum, not that its not doing very well at the moment, but thats the kinda thing that people who dont normally post would probably post on.

Ahahahahaha, little or no recollection of this. "He could do with the money," - eloquence of the highest order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

I was thinking before of maybe doing something months ago where we'd take a really old guy and watch a few matches, discuss them, were they overrated/underrated.

Me likey.
    That's a great idea. There's a lot of guys from before the seventies that are unknown to the majority of fans. You could take a guy like say Pat O'Connor, link to a few of his matches and then we could discuss what we make of him.

It would definitely broaden people's knowledge of the past and perhaps introduce us to some guys we've never really appreciated.

Agreed, however, for this to work, you have to only put forth short matches, no longer than about 12 minutes, as otherwise (many) people will simply not watch. That in itself leads to difficulties as how can you judge someone off a short match?

Regarding a podcast - I do not know how they work, so doubt I have the neccessary equipment for me to participate.

The Hall Of Fame is a good idea. I would like for the criteria to be a bit more that "he was great on WWE for years though". Preferably a workrate HOF.

The poster HOF I am not sure I like the idea of. Could cause rifts.

I think BH should bring back ATH, but maybe do it in a tournament way like Round 1 - Me Vs Flah, Liz Vs Walter. One question, the better answer advances etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

some great ideas mentioned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭campo

kotr tournie and HOF would defo get my vote

gimmick wrote: »
    I think BH should bring back ATH, but maybe do it in a tournament way like Round 1 - Me Vs Flah, Liz Vs Walter. One question, the better answer advances etc

That sounds like a great spin on the idea.

I really want to play that ATH game.

So, we're definetly doing the Hall of Fame?

Do you know what might be fun aswell, to have say "a boards greatest matches of all time" say we each nominate what we think the greatest match ever was,and reasons for it.. ie, the build up, the fued, the match itself, and what went down in the weeks months after.. then when all the submissions are in its narrowed down top 10, to 5 then 3, and the final 3 are sticky'd as the boards greatest matches of all time with the discussions from the nominators aswell..

Yep, I can really see that going ahead

ill consider bringing back ATH in such a form (as i do think its a good idea) although should i do it it would not be for a while as currently im run off my feet busy and as of course because we are looking for post draft ideas to keep the place ticking over all year round. As i did say though i am willing to let someone else guest host ATH at any point.

I cant see any reason not to do the HOF, its a simple idea but one that could be really good and if done long term could look really good for the board.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

This is a fantastic idea. Adapting a book club format for wrestling. Genius

Also, would be in favour of the return of the podcast if it was shorter, had phone ins, and revolving guests

Would anyone be interested in hosting the Podcast, tbh i dont even know how to but recall from the one time i was asked to guest on it (never did) that it was fairly straight forward and that if you can skype you are prob just about able to join in the podcast.

The podcast would be awesome for sure.. especially if you guys had regular rotating guest's and callers..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I was thinking of this also similar to superstar of the week maybe match of the week but you idea sounds much better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

Something like this was tried before and it flopped badly. Kentonbomb's classic matches

Bubs101 wrote: »
    Something like this was tried before and it flopped badly. Kentonbomb's classic matches

Speaking of kentonbomb, I Found this on the PW Biki page

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59738023&postcount=981

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

How about a campaign to get kentonbomb back on boards?

I actually think something similar was tried, I know he was Pmd for sure in the hope that he gets email notification that he got a pm from here.
    Speaking of kentonbomb, I Found this on the PW Biki page

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=59738023&postcount=981

that just made me look back over some old posts and apart from me laughing about the fact that years ago i thanked Kentombomb for applying to be a mod (pure comedy value i assure you), I also stumbled across something that would fit in perfectly with the theme of this thread although i am stating right now i would not have the time to organise this.... The PW Fantasy League

How about a campaign to get rovert back?:pac: