Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Extended warranty on new Renaults

• 05-02-2010 12:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭

Warranty can be extended up to 5 years/unlimited mileage
    http://www.renault.ie/images/services/warranty/LeafletFinal.pdf

What other manufacturers offer extended warranties? How much do they cost?

The standard Kia 7 year warranty is limited to 150k kms and has some exclusions in the later years.

From the above document it seems that you can have a a 5 year/unlimited mileage warranty on a Megane for 449 quid. Because of the aggressive discounting of Renault, even with this extra cost the Megane should work out signficantly cheaper than certain competitors with miserable 2 year standard warranties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Yip, was told that last week just before it was announced, I think it costs something like €480.

edit. Must read full post before replying ! €449 it is.

I think it's something worth going for, the basic warranty is 3 years and how annoying would it be for something to go wrong in the 4th year and you didn't purchase the additional 2 years ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

5 years is very impressive, it makes Ford and especially the premium German makes look very stingy now; I presume Renault are not going to keep buying their way into the Irish market forever, their pricing here is very cheap compared to other countries in Europe and you'd have to wonder are they selling cars here at a loss?

I'm not complaining but I just don't think their pricing is sustainable in the long run.

I presume what they're hoping is that all these new buyers will stick with the brand assuming quality has improved(which I remain to be convinced on) when they want to change in 3 or 4 years time and put the prices up in line with rivals at that stage or probably sooner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

What are the conditions regarding the servicing of the car?

Is it main dealer servicing only etc??

Edit:

Just looked at the brochure, it quotes:
    Your vehicle must be serviced in accordance with the manufacturer’s recommendations

So can any good independent workshop do the servicing then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

BrianD3 wrote: »
    Warranty can be extended up to 5 years/unlimited mileage
    http://www.renault.ie/images/services/warranty/LeafletFinal.pdf

What other manufacturers offer extended warranties? How much do they cost?

The standard Kia 7 year warranty is limited to 150k kms and has some exclusions in the later years.

From the above document it seems that you can have a a 5 year/unlimited mileage warranty on a Megane for 449 quid. Because of the aggressive discounting of Renault, even with this extra cost the Megane should work out signficantly cheaper than certain competitors with miserable 2 year standard warranties.

Thanks for posting that Brian. I was talking to a Renault dealer last week who promised to e-mail me on the details. 1 week on and still nothing.

In case he might be reading this - WTF Huh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭jayotala

Renault are defo not selling cars at a loss. Maybe they're just not as greedy as most, or maybe they're a little more consumer friendly when it comes to sales values and the true value of their cars. This extended warranty is a great idea, I'd imagine they'll make a small profit from this but its not about it being a profit venture, its about selling cars and getting rid of their stock.

I did hear a rumour that Renault Europe were over and they are being pushed to do something to drive sales up. This will work for them and I say fair play. Anyone who doesn't take this offer up is crazy?

I'd like to know the in's and outs of the terms and conditions thou... Might have to take a small break from work to look into that.

R.O.R wrote: »
    Thanks for posting that Brian. I was talking to a Renault dealer last week who promised to e-mail me on the details. 1 week on and still nothing.

In case he might be reading this - WTF Huh?

You should name the dealer, I know that seems a bit much but I promise you that some form of manager if not the DP is on boards.ie and will see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

This will definetly convince all those people who were stung with Renaults very poorly made models from 2000-2004 (early mk2 lagunas & Meganes in particular).

5 years? most people keep a car for around 3 years and with a further 2 year warranty left it will really help the re-sale.

It will also cover its first NCT even if the owner is 6 months late getting it done with plenty of time left!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭gpjordanf1

I thought KIA's was a comprehensive 7 year warranty, what are the exclusions? Never heard this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

jayotala wrote: »
    You should name the dealer, I know that seems a bit much but I promise you that some form of manager if not the DP is on boards.ie and will see it.

We'll see if he finds this, as I know he reads boards.

If he grovels nicely he might get the orders for the Renault Vans I'll have to order this year. Think it's at least 6 or 7 Masters with no selling involved - wonder if any Renault dealer would be interested in that sort of business?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,514 ✭✭✭BrianD3

gpjordanf1 wrote: »
    I thought KIA's was a comprehensive 7 year warranty, what are the exclusions? Never heard this?
    The exclusions are less than I thought. Seems to be just audio and sat nav equipment, which are only covered for 3 years.
    KIA wrote:
    Yes, some items have a natural limited lifetime/durability and are therefore covered for less than 7 years. These are: Paintwork is covered for 5 years, Audio and navigation equipment for 3 years, Service replacement parts, accessories and batteries for 2 years, Normal ‘wear & tear’ on items such as tyres, brake pads and clutch linings, are excluded from cover.

jayotala wrote: »
    and getting rid of their stock.

That's the thing, they don't have any stock, everything at the moment, afaik, is delivered from the factory. We're waiting for a new Grand Megane which I thought would have had short lead time as I'd imagine most people would go for the hatchback or saloon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭McSpud

Seems like good value addition. If it is only valid with official Renault dealer it would mean revenue for Renault down the line. I wonder do car companies factor in future sales of parts with their new car prices?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Jip wrote: »
    That's the thing, they don't have any stock, everything at the moment, afaik, is delivered from the factory. We're waiting for a new Grand Megane which I thought would have had short lead time as I'd imagine most people would go for the hatchback or saloon.

There's a lot of change underway in Renault at the minute. According to a manager fairly high up in Renault Ireland, they seem to have fallen out with Dr Cullen over alot of things, including the storage yard in Rosslare. This means they have to use NVD to store stock, which means they're cutting stock to a minimum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Renault seem to be working hard to improve things alright, even their new website is a big step forward.

they don't have any stock,

They've plenty of stock on their hands, maybe not of every model. But they defo have enough cars to keep them going.

I wouldn't have thought so, most are factory order i would have thought. No dealer wants to risk sitting on stock again.

Trust me, every distributor has more stock than they want and Renault is no different, the manufacturers put huge pressure on distributors to order certain amounts of cars regardless of how things are in the motor trade. Most stock is stock left over from last year as all there orders for 2009 stock were based on 2007 and 2008 sales. I've seen the yards with the stock vehicles for the different brands.

but surely as most of renaults range is new there'll be no hangover from last year, plus they're hardly telling customers there's up to a 4 week or more wait for the craic risking the potential customer to seek a car elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

That's impressive. If you're going to buy a car to do a very high annual mileage in, it would bring Renault right up unto the shortlist of cars to choose from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

they're hardly telling customers there's up to a 4 week or more wait for the craic risking the potential customer to seek a car elsewhere.

Exactly, if the cars are in the country then they would be down to the dealer within 2 weeks at the very most. I would say that if there was a big stockpile of Renaults in the country at the start of the year then they are definitely all gone by now, they have basically doubled sales here this year.

Most people who are looking at buying a new car are more likely to go for a car that is in the country and can be delivered very quickly rather than wait for a factory order which can be up to 3 months away. If you want a factory order now it could be May before you'll get the car and at that stage you might as well wait another few months and get a car next year, which is fine if every car maker is in the same boat because no sale is lost; it's simply deferred till next year but if a car maker does happen to have cars in stock then some people may go for this and the brand you were originally going to go for has now lost a sale to a rival manufacturer as a result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

unkel wrote: »
    That's impressive. If you're going to buy a car to do a very high annual mileage in, it would bring Renault right up unto the shortlist of cars to choose from.
    It might be possible other marques that do not have a 5 year warranty do not need it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

JHMEG wrote: »
    It might be possible other marques that do not have a 5 year warranty do not need it.

Heh? Maybe I am taking you up wrong but if they didn't need it they sure as hell would offer it, it wouldn't cost them anything and the publicity would be great! You think VW only give 2 years because they think their cars are trouble free thereafter???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gitb1

Why wouldnt they need it?

If a company are so confident in their cars reliability then what have they to lose by giving a longer warranty?

Even for the most reliable car in the world, to up the warranty from 3 years limited mileage to 5 years unlimited mileage, €449 is a bargain if you do bigger than average mileage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Poly

Does it apply to commercials too?
    I had a nightmare before with a renault van, spent over 4k on the ba$tarding yoke before I got rid of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gitb1

I bought a put a deposit down on a megane coupe last week but havent signed or taken delivery yet. It's not too late to take this warranty is it?

Gitb1 wrote: »
    I bought a put a deposit down on a megane coupe last week but havent signed or taken delivery yet. It's not too late to take this warranty is it?
    According to the link in my first post, the extended warranty can be purchased if the car is less than 12 months old. So if someone has a Feb 09 Megane, presumably if they now pay 449 for a 5 year warranty, it'll be covered till Feb 2014?

In your case there will be no problem specifying an extended warranty when you're paying for the car.

Heh? Maybe I am taking you up wrong but if they didn't need it they sure as hell would offer it, it wouldn't cost them anything and the publicity would be great! You think VW only give 2 years because they think their cars are trouble free thereafter???
    I would wager that some marque's cars between 3 and 5 years old are very reliable and extremely unlikely to require the warranty. I never mentioned VW.

BTW, you are implying that by offering it Renault don't need it.

I wouldn't get overly excited about it really, car gives problems, they take in it, fine now, few more miles, more probs, in she goes again. Covered by warrenty or not its a savage pain in the hole. Instead of getting the Renault with an extended warrenty a Kia would be a better option. Fair play to Renault though, they make a wonderful diesel engine.

RoverJames wrote: »
    I wouldn't get overly excited about it really, car gives problems, they take in it, fine now, few more miles, more probs, in she goes again. Covered by warrenty or not its a savage pain in the hole. Instead of getting the Renault with an extended warrenty a Kia would be a better option. Fair play to Renault though, they make a wonderful diesel engine.
    My thoughts would be similar. I'd prefer a car that had a 3 year warranty and never gave any trouble to a car with a 10 year warranty that was unreliable.

At least I won't be the only one getting slaughtered in this thread so when all the folks "in the know" get stuck in :D

I wouldn't get overly excited about it really, car gives problems, they take in it, fine now, few more miles, more probs, in she goes again. Covered by warrenty or not its a savage pain in the hole.

I see where you're coming from, but you're taking things completely out of proportion. According to the latest reliability surveys, the least reliable car sold here has a breakdown once per year on average. That's hardly in and out of the garage now, is it?

The raison d'être of every company in the world is to make profits. And rightly so. No company is going to offer a warranty if they expect to make a loss on it.

On the other hand...
    I would wager that some marque's cars between 3 and 5 years old are very reliable and extremely unlikely to require the warranty.

Some marques might have the reputation of being reliable. If they were that reliable in real life, surely their marketing team would have ensured 5, 7 or 10 year full warranties to confirm the perception of reliability to the public? Either they are incompetent as a company (what is marketing, who needs a diesel engine or an automatic gearbox? :rolleyes:) or they do not live up to producing reliable cars at all, despite marketing their cars as the best built cars in the world :rolleyes:

It has to be said though - fair play to Kia for putting their money where their mouth is. And their tactic seems to have worked. Kia market share is rapidly expanding.

Some marques might have the reputation of being reliable. If they were that reliable in real life, surely their marketing team would have ensured 5, 7 or 10 year full warranties to confirm the perception of reliability to the public?
    I'm surprised you haven't noticed the difference between marques who don't rely on gimmicks to sell cars and those that do.

Ever notice some marques never have a 0% finance deal? Never have a 'free' servicing deal? Never do 'free' upgrades in spec?

As someone in a marketing in a very successful major manufacturer once said to me: we rely on the cars to sell themselves. Do you think you know more than he does?

I would wager that some marque's cars between 3 and 5 years old are very reliable and extremely unlikely to require the warranty.
    Agreed, reliable marques such as Fiat and Renault are unlikely to need the warranty. But no harm having it.

Now Honda on the other hand - according to Which? magazine and the ADAC stats based on actual breakdowns, Civic is one of the least reliable cars in its class for several years. And since about 2006, the Jazz is also well below average in its class in the ADAC stats.

Maybe Honda should offer a 10 year warranty? I see they've already extended their anti corrosion warranty from 6 to 12 years. Going by your logic that cars have long warranties because they need them, maybe Hondas are prone to rusting as well as breaking down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

As someone in a marketing in a very successful major manufacturer once said to me: we rely on the cars to sell themselves.

...and then we recall them before they kill their owners.

Usually.

I wasn't talking about any marque in particular, tho I googled 2009 most reliable cars and this was top of the list. I've long forgotten all my German so I don't understand a lot of the ADAC stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

Some marques might have the reputation of being reliable.

True, and with Renault, it isn't just a reputation, it is a fact.

The records from the German MOT/NCT show that Renault are junk.

Disappointing to see the lovely Alfa 159 4th from the bottom. I thought Fiat had sorted out the issues with quality.

T-Square wrote: »

So, how many breakdowns per year can the average Renault driver expect?

My fuss free Clios must have been pure luck, I should've bought lottery tickets instead.

"The Which? survey rates new cars on users happiness"

...and then pretends it's a reliability score, and then puts numbers like 99% or 76% out there, without saying what that number actually means.

It's well known that Mercedes buyers have a much lower tolerance for faults than Skoda buyers, which is why MB scores worse than Skoda in the likes of the JD Power survey despite being demonstrably more reliable.

T-Square wrote: »
    Funny that, the records from the German equivalent of the AA show that post 2005 Renaults are anything but junk. After dominating the statistics from 1981 to about 2003, the Japanese manufacturers have fallen behind in recent years.

Just because Renault offer a 5 year warrenty for €500 ish it doesn't mean the car will prove to be reliable, all is means is that Renault are conceding that many people reckon their cars are unreliable and are trying to use dirt cheap prices along with extended warranties to shift as many as possible. In a few years they will have loads of the out there and no other dealers will want them as trade ins so the owners will be "married" to the brand. Renaults have long been regarded in the trade as trouble, great for ingenuity but poor for build quality and reliability. So too Alfa, back when the 156 came out all the garages were telling folks that the reliability issues were sorted, within a few months of the 156s launch here the workshops were overflowing with them. I used to deal with a senior mechanic in a large dealership at the time, he reckoned the 156 was far worse than the 155. Also many mechanics will testify that Renault cars are not "fun" to work on, they are difficult to troubleshoot and are dogged by electrical problems. The brands who were known for supreme reliability are definitely not as good now due to whatever reason but they are still far ahead of Renault. The likes of Hyundai and Kia with their small car ranges are well up there in the reliability stakes with the Corolla, Civic etc from the 90s.

As I often say time will tell, I am quite confident that the current crop of new Renault models will prove to be quite troublesome in the long run and that many by the time they are 3 or 4 years old with average miles on the will be dogged with problems and hard to get rid of unless you intend trading in against another Renault. The sunroofs will be eratic, the rear indicators will come on when you brake, the electric windows will have a mind of their own, the central locking will work when it wants to etc etc etc.

Also their previous model Megane Coupe or Convertible, whatever it is (up to 2009) had numerous instances of the glass roof shattering for no apparent reason, not covered under the warrenty either, so I would have a right good read of their extended warrenty to see what does it cover. I would also encourage everyone thinking of buying a Renault to get written agreement from the dealer that a courtesy car will be supplied should the car be in for warrenty work.

I see where you're coming from, but you're taking things completely out of proportion. According to the latest reliability surveys, the least reliable car sold here has a breakdown once per year on average. That's hardly in and out of the garage now, is it?

Once a year is a disgrace, if I bought a new car and it broke down once a year I would be absolutely disgusted. That's a day a year late for work, pr1cking about with dealers trying to get the thing sorted. Since I gave back my company car Mondeo in 2006 (I hated that job and the car :)) which broke down twice both for "common faults" I have been driving what the Celtic Tiger folk would call heaps of you know what, barring a flat battery and running out of diesel (my fault obviously) I have had no breakdowns.

There's always one ! I find your name quite ironic considering what you're ranting about.

This is hillarious, people are so blinkered that they continue to moan about a car maker even after prices have been slashed, warranties improved drastically and reliability over several years proven by independent organisations.

But continue to believe the "pub talk" and "wise old men" from Da Trade. This reminds me of comments about Renault safety in this forum. Where's junkyard these days? I miss his bullsh1t. Did you know that Renault makes unsafe cars - because panelbeaters from Cork know more about car safety than the EuroNCAP, ANCAP, ADAC, TRL, TUV, IIHS and others :rolleyes:

It remains to be seen what effect long warranties will have on residual value. If the Irish car buying public manages to drop the bogger mentality of judging cars based on what their cousin's friend's brother had in 1975, then 2nd hand Renaults and Kias with several years of remaining warranty should be sought after. If they are not sought after, then intelligent buyers will get good value reliable cars with remaining warranty while the plebs fight over Jettas and Corollas.

But continue to believe the "pub talk" and "wise old men" from Da Trade. ................... then 2nd hand Renaults and Kias with several years of remaining warranty should be sought after. If they are not sought after, then intelligent buyers will get good value reliable cars with remaining warranty while the plebs fight over Jettas and Corollas.

So you reckon the new Renaults will prove reliable, time will tell. Any opinion of the glass shattering roofs on the last model Coupe thing ? Pure class that is, very confidence inspiring. You probably didn't hear about it, hasn't been mentioned in your local yet ;) I agree though, the Kia will prove reliable :) As I have mentioned in my earlier post.
    There's always one ! I find your name quite ironic considering what you're ranting about.

There is indeed always, one, the last Rover I picked up by the way was after HG failure twice in the last year, still leaking coolant after being fixed twice (presumably the same retard mechanic) with a new rad & water pump. Fixed for 50cents (2 new bolts for the inlet manifold) and has done 6000 miles for me in the last four months without missing a beat. Find me a 13 year old Renault that will do the same. Thank you.

I see you were considering a new Megane yourself recently, I do sincerely hope that you bought it ;)

Someone starts a thread about extended Renault warranties, anyone who doesn't claim this is brilliant, go buy one gets attacked over their opinion and in my case over the fact I may drive a Rover. How sofakingweetodded it that. As I have mentioned before many of the most vocal posters in the motors section of boards.ie know absolutely sweet FA about cars, car maintenance and what is a good buy.

Your last sentence sums you up in a nut shell.

If i had listened to people like you i'd never had years of trouble free motoring with the various fiats and skodas i've owned, sure haven't people like yourself been saying the same thing about those manufacturers forever. I am looking forward to my new megane alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,423 ✭✭✭pburns

So you reckon the new Renaults will prove reliable, time will tell. Any opinion of the glass shattering roofs on the last model Coupe thing ? Pure class that is, very confidence inspiring. You probably didn't hear about it, hasn't been mentioned in your local yet ;) I agree though, the Kia will prove reliable :) As I have mentioned in my earlier post.

There is indeed always, one, the last Rover I picked up by the way was after HG failure twice in the last year, still leaking coolant after being fixed twice (presumably the same retard mechanic) with a new rad & water pump. Fixed for 50cents (2 new bolts for the inlet manifold) and has done 6000 miles for me in the last four months without missing a beat. Find me a 13 year old Renault that will do the same. Thank you.

I see you were considering a new Megane yourself recently, I do sincerely hope that you bought it ;)

Someone starts a thread about extended Renault warranties, anyone who doesn't claim this is brilliant, go buy one gets attacked over their opinion and in my case over the fact I may drive a Rover. How sofakingweetodded it that. As I have mentioned before many of the most vocal posters in the motors section of boards.ie know absolutely sweet FA about cars, car maintenance and what is a good buy.

RoverJames, we've crossed swords before over the infamous K-series engine and it's appetite for head gaskets. I know all about the K-series, my father had a Mk1 400 back in the early 90s. Lovely car and v well speced for the era and the K-series was well ahead of it's time - over 100bhp from a 1.4 - that's good even today. Bugger all torque tho if I remember correctly.
    The HG did eventually let go in the most embarrasing way - car loaded with relatives on the way back from the hospital. It had over 120,000 miles up at the time. He still liked the car and almost bought another one (was trying to get a Honda-engined 400 or 600 though!)

That's over 15 years ago however and the game has moved on. I really don't understand your apparant fanatical devotion to a defunct car brand that made rather average cars that even the British stopped buying. You seem a bit self-satisfied and feisty which I find slightly scary. I'm sure it makes sense from a 'bangernomics' point of view but even with that in mind ther are surely better options about.

As for Renaults, well they have a looong way to come and from what I read in CAR mag recently are big time losing market-share in Europe. The timid styling of the new Laguna and Megane have not been a success. They need to pull out all the stops. I'd be giving it a few years before I believe the hype.

Is the extended warranty being provided by a private insurer by the name of Global Insurance Management Limited, and not Renault (or Renault Ireland) themselves?

no probs, i'm not fanaticilly devoted at all though, i have also had a merc, prelude and a celica recently. I only mentioned rover in this thread as someone commented on my username being ironic, i agree with your renault sentiment. By the way, compared to any modern 1.4 petrol the k is not bad at all regarding torque ! The 1.6 is much better though.