Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

5 cricketers you love to hate?

• 03-02-2010 10:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭

I was reading the thread, Which are your favourite top 5 cricketer? And it got me thinking.
    During England's winter tour to South Africa th OH was sick to the back teeth listening to me complain about 2 players in particular.
    Every test at some point they were called fat f###in this and thats and cursed into the ground all series, can you guess who they are yet?:D
    Now i know i only hate them for doing well against England and if they were playing some other nation i'd quite happily watch their obvious talent, but deep down knowing they'll score a load of runs or take wickets just when you don't want them to!

Ok. heres my list at the minute.
    1. G. Smith
    2. J. Kallis (thats the 2 fat f###in this and thats out of the way)
    3. R. Ponting
    4. M Hayden
    5. D Vettori

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

How can anyone hate Vetori?:confused::confused:

Mine

Ponting...

Superb player, pity about the fact he is an obnoxious ****.
    Hayden
    Absolute twat.
    Ryder
    ****ed over Ireland and comes across as a lout. I do love the New Zealand team though.
    Hussey
    Smug obnoxious tool.
    M Clarke
    Total and utter tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

PeteEd wrote: »
    5. D Vettori

How can you hate Dan?
    Thats madness, he is friendly, fair playing and feckin hard working.
    And he looks like me.

1. Brendan McCullum.
    2. Harbajhan Singh.
    3. Sreesanth
    4. Andrew Symmonds
    5. Toss up between Brett Lee and Dale Steyn.

Steyn is a great player and all, but I hate how pissy he gets when he gets hit. You just got knocked for six mate, stop mouthing at the batsman and sort your bowling
    This reads a lot like that second top 5 i posted in the favourites thread.

Actually Mitch Johnson could have a fighting chance at 5 too.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

d'Oracle wrote: »
    How can you hate Dan?

Agree with you on Vettori, but how can you hate Brett? He is one of the more likeable Aussies in my book. I was at the ODI at Headingley in 2005, and he was fielding just in front of us. He had a great rapport with the fans, and seems to me to play the game with the right spirit - yes he can be hard (brutal actually) when he needs to be, but he always seems to be able to raise a smile at the end of the game, and get on with his opponents (or is my view tainted because I only really focus on him in the Ashes?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Rjd2 wrote: »
    How can anyone hate Vetori?:confused::confused:

Mine

Ponting...

Superb player, pity about the fact he is an obnoxious ****.
    Hayden
    Absolute twat.
    Ryder
    ****ed over Ireland and comes across as a lout. I do love the New Zealand team though.
    Hussey
    Smug obnoxious tool.
    M Clarke
    Total and utter tool.

so your not an Aussie fan then?

have you ever met any of these guys? you have some misconceptions there pal

1. James Anderson
    2. Graeme Swann
    3. Yuvraj Singh
    4. Kevin Pieterson
    5. Kevin Pieterson again cause he really is a wanker, on field and off

Beasty wrote: »
    Agree with you on Vettori, but how can you hate Brett? He is one of the more likeable Aussies in my book. I was at the ODI at Headingley in 2005, and he was fielding just in front of us. He had a great rapport with the fans, and seems to me to play the game with the right spirit - yes he can be hard (brutal actually) when he needs to be, but he always seems to be able to raise a smile at the end of the game, and get on with his opponents (or is my view tainted because I only really focus on him in the Ashes?)

+1 Brett Lee is an all round nice guy tbh, always smiling, he can give the stick but its generally light hearted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Dasbo

1. Sreesanth - A child
    2. Yuvraj Singh - Obnoxious
    3. Ricky Ponting - Doesn't come across as the friendliest of lads
    4. Harbajan Singh - Again, a child
    5. Jesse Ryder - as pointed out before, screwed Ireland over and has a sh**e attitude.

I have nothing against the Indians, they just happen to have 3 of the most annoying players.

kryogen wrote: »
    +1 Brett Lee is an all round nice guy tbh, always smiling, he can give the stick but its generally light hearted

Probably the aggro behaviour on the pitch. Just always struck me as a nobber. But I could be wrong.

I think Jimmy Anderson is great.
    He is known as being shy as a flower of the paddock.
    And I don't mind aggro from pace bowlers.

Maybe its Bretts hair I don't like.

In addition I would point out that this is not the "what cricket players are you related to/ meet in public/ know well enough in a personal capacity to judge them."

There is bound to be some misconception. As with any sports debate.
    The very concept of the thread is built on it.

Dasbo wrote: »
    4. Harbajan Singh - Again, a child

I wouldn't descibe Baji as a child.
    Just an utter wanker.

"You're out, mate. I just bowled you."

"**** you."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭TheDrog

Harbhajan Singh
    Ricky Ponting
    Andrew Symonds
    Michael Clarke
    Sreesanth

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Can't say I really hate many cricketers, although there have been a few "incidents" over the years which resulted in me having a "distaste" for some of their actions:

1. Hansie Cronje - for cheating just about everybody
    2. Inzamam-ul-Haq - for his behaviour at the 2006 Oval Test, and bringing the game down to one of its lowest levels (I know there were other parties involved, but I am focussing on the players here)
    3. Greg Chappell - for asking his brother Trevor to bowl the final ball of an ODI against NZ in 1981 underarm, thereby preventing the NZ batsman having a chance to score a winning 6
    4. Chris Lewis - for what he did off the pitch (currently serving 13 years for drug smuggling), and also for shaving his hair on a tour of the WI and wondering why he got sun-stroke!
    5. Barry Wood (showing my age again here) - for choosing Lancashire ahead of his county of birth

He is dead dude.
    Let it go.

kryogen wrote: »
    so your not an Aussie fan then?

have you ever met any of these guys? you have some misconceptions there pal

Langer struck me as a decent bloke and I liked his columns thats it really though.
    Mc Grath was another tosser as well. :)

How can you hate Dan?
    And he looks like me.

1. Brendan McCullum.
    2. Harbajhan Singh.
    3. Sreesanth
    4. Andrew Symmonds

Actually Mitch Johnson could have a fighting chance at 5 too.

Solid list but why Mc Cullum? Do you think he is a mere flat track bully or is it something else?:o

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,672 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Very hard to say I "hate" any cricketer, simply because I don't know them personally, and you can't actually judge their character without that.

Solid list but why Mc Cullum? Do you think he is a mere flat track bully or is it something else?:o

I saw a few interviews with him and he rankled me in a couple.
    I'm not sure he deserves to be top of the list, but its not really a ranking thing for me.
    Just a bit of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭thorpe

In no particular order (I had a few more but had to whittle it down to five).

Matt Hayden
    Yuvraj Singh
    Ricky Ponting
    Harbajan Singh
    Andrew Symmonds

If Shane Warne was still playing he too would be on this list

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 storybud1

mark waugh..not a patch on his bro..on or off the pitch
    john emburey..total snob
    not sure of his name..the current pakistan wicketkeeper (jesus that squealing voice)
    stuart clarke (that smirk)
    glenn mcgrath(bad bad loser) give it but he could never take it

I saw a few interviews with him and he rankled me in a couple.
    I'm not sure he deserves to be top of the list, but its not really a ranking thing for me.
    Just a bit of fun.

Fair enough I suppose the lads I out forward I don't hate personally but in a a game of gentleman those annoyed me the most. :D

storybud1 wrote: »
    not sure of his name..the current pakistan wicketkeeper (jesus that squealing voice)
    t

Kamran Akmal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Cremated

He is dead dude.
    Let it go.

Agreed, and after reading up about Hansie, I doubt he was the only one involved, it seems there was a lot swept under the carpet,

anyways can someone tell me how Ryder fecke'd us over?, all I know is that he played for us in 2007,

and my top 5 players to hate,

1. Stuart Broad, seems he likes to talk back to the umpires too much and likes to throw his toys out of the pram a lot,

2. Jonathan Trott, the length it takes him to get ready at the crease just annoys me, I'm sure others have their own way of doing this, I have noticed his though,

3. KP, the guy gets a lot of hype about him, and dont shoot me for saying this, but you could count on one hand the good games he has had when playing in the last couple of years, ( of the one's I have watched which is a lot of England games )...

4. Afridi and his general lack of manners on the pitch, and the '' Apple '' incident the other day, what was he thinking...

5. Malinga, Can I dislike a player because of his bowling action?, and he always seems very cocky to me...

Ireland were due to play Surrey that Summer in what would've been Ryder's 2nd game as overseas pro I think.

Ryder was supposed to meet up with the team that morning, but sent a text to Phil Simmons saying he missed his flight...then that was it, nothing else was heard from him. He was due to play against Sussex a few days later as well.

Needless to say he didn't play for Ireland again.

Ireland were due to play Surrey that Summer in what would've been Ryder's 2nd game as overseas pro I think.

Ryder was supposed to meet up with the team that morning, but sent a text to Phil Simmons saying he missed his flight...then that was it, nothing else was heard from him. He was due to play against Sussex a few days later as well.

Needless to say he didn't play for Ireland again.

Thanks for clearing that up,

not as good as Hansie was for us,

http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/1997/ENG_LOCAL/B+H/R01/IRELAND_MIDDX_B+H_28-29APR1997.html 94 N/Out, nice :)...

Cremated wrote: »
    Thanks for clearing that up,

not as good as Hansie was for us,

http://usa.cricinfo.com/db/ARCHIVE/1997/ENG_LOCAL/B+H/R01/IRELAND_MIDDX_B+H_28-29APR1997.html 94 N/Out, nice :)...

And 3/38.

Cremated wrote: »
    5. Malinga, Can I dislike a player because of his bowling action?, and he always seems very cocky to me...

You can dislike him for what ever reason.
    As long as you acknowledge that his action contravenes no rule in cricket.

Personally I love him, and all the mental Sri Lankans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Sandeman

I am a bit surprised to see Kevin Pietersen hasn't been mentioned much on this thread. I don't really have any dislike for any particular player but I do think that sometimes Pietersen attitude does cross that line between confident and cocky, and that makes him a less favourite of mine.

Sandeman wrote: »
    I am a bit surprised to see Kevin Pietersen hasn't been mentioned much on this thread. I don't really have any dislike for any particular player but I do think that sometimes Pietersen attitude does cross that line between confident and cocky, and that makes him a less favourite of mine.

To be honest I forgot about Pietersen. He's been a quiet boy since he lost/gave back the captaincy...both on and off the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭coldfire1x

Pietersen
    Afridi
    Ricky Ponting
    Harbajan Singh
    Stuart Broad

You can dislike him for what ever reason.
    As long as you acknowledge that his action contravenes no rule in cricket.

Personally I love him, and all the mental Sri Lankans.

I'm no Cricket expert, and from what I have read his action is completely legal, just I dont personally like it, I dont really know why it looks so bad to me,

is that okay? :),

he is very effective though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭PeteEd

Some good lists, i'm glad to see at least R Pontings name cropped up a few times
    Sandeman wrote: »
    To be honest I forgot about Pietersen. He's been a quiet boy since he lost/gave back the captaincy...both on and off the field.

Was also surprised KP didn't figure in more of the lists
    How can you hate Dan?

Well as i said my list was based purely on the players ability to score runs or take wickets just when you don't want them to, both of which he does regularly.
    TrueDub wrote: »
    Very hard to say I "hate" any cricketer, simply because I don't know them personally, and you can't actually judge their character without that.

The thread was called "love to hate", just a bit of fun!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

1 - Harbhajan Singh
    2 - Kevin Pietersen
    3 - Inzamam-ul-Haq
    4 - Shahid Afridi
    5 - Sreesanth

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Having watched Channel9's coverage of their last 2 Summers, I'd love to pick Mark Taylor, Ian Healy, Bill Lawrie, Tony Greig and Mark Nicholas, but alas...

1. Brad Haddin mainly for coming across as a ****, but also the time he got a player bowled after he collected the ball before the stumps and hit them.

2. Shane Watson

3. Stuart Broad

4. Kevin Pietersen

5. Glenn McGrath same reason as previously mentioned for him.

dfx- wrote: »
    Having watched Channel9's coverage of their last 2 Summers, I'd love to pick Mark Taylor, Ian Healy, Bill Lawrie, Tony Greig and Mark Nicholas, but alas...

1. Brad Haddin mainly for coming across as a ****, but also the time he got a player bowled after he collected the ball before the stumps and hit them.

Aye I recall, cheating against Neil "journeyman" Broom, not cool at all. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭Speak Now

Anyone who's ever listened to talksport would say Darren Gough :pac:

As Devils advocate, or the advocate for the devil, is it possible that this was a mistake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭death1234567

1. Kevin Pietersen
    2. Kevin Pietersen
    3. Kevin Pietersen
    4. Kevin Pietersen
    5. Kevin Pietersen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Iangolf

As a wicketkeeper, there is no way that you can be sure if the ball hit the stumps before your gloves or you have clipped the stumps, Its the umpires fault for not calling for the 3rd umpire.
    Can't say I really hate many cricketers, although there have been a few "incidents" over the years which resulted in me having a "distaste" for some of their actions:

You obviously know nothing about Hansie, Yes he cheated but as most people in cricket know, he was the fall guy for a lot of people. He was one of the nicest guys you could ever meet. He was fantastic when he was in ireland, gave up a huge amount of time to coach the youngsters, and helped ireland get their first win against county opposition in a competitive fixture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 shrimpsurs

1 Afridi
    2 Ponting
    3 Lee
    4 Yousef
    5 Andrew Hall

Iangolf wrote: »

You obviously know nothing about Hansie, Yes he cheated but as most people in cricket know, he was the fall guy for a lot of people. He was one of the nicest guys you could ever meet. He was fantastic when he was in ireland, gave up a huge amount of time to coach the youngsters, and helped ireland get their first win against county opposition in a competitive fixture.

If you re-read my post you will note I was refering to the relevant "incidents", and specifically stated I find it hard to hate the individuals

I am not saying there weren't others involved, but Cronje is the high profile individual whose actions have resulted in major questions over the whole integrity of the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭boksmashoffice

Some of the guys involved in Cricket don't know what that word integrity means. They are in it to make a quick buck. Cricket at the moment is all about the Money.

As is absolutely every sport and professional endeavour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

gotta be mr cricket.
    i get the impression even aussies hate him.
    defo steve waugh.
    q like ponting though.think hes ok

harpsman wrote: »
    gotta be mr cricket.
    i get the impression even aussies hate him.
    defo steve waugh.
    q like ponting though.think hes ok

na Hussey is very popular

You have made a friend by showing a bit of Ponting love though! coincidentally Hussey is Pontings favorite player :D

do you only hate Aussies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

i think its due to the fact that great teams in any sport tend to have alot of pugnacious characters who people love to hate.unfortunately nice guys do seem to finish second.funnily enough when they were losing the 05 ashes I started shouting for them.
    probably dont watch enough to hate any other players.obviously kp and smith seem bit arrogant.

KP is a total wanker, on the field and off!

he deffo deserves to be on every list here imo

Graeme Swann is on mine now actually, i dunno why, think its his action, and the sunglassess :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Think its my more of a dislike* than hate list but in particular order.

1. Harbhajan Singh. Cocky and obnoxious apart from when playing the Aussies and is as timid as a lamb.

2. Kevin Pietersen. Found out at the highest level, not a team player, image is everything and general tool.

3. Shahid Afridi. Cheats on a regular basis, and doesn't seem to worry about the outcome. Biting the ball ffs.

4. Chris Gayle. Whines about test cricket, whines about one day cricket. Just f*ck off and retire. They slagged off the 2nd 11 W.Indies team that got regularly beaten, don't see the 1st 11 doing much better against Zimbabwe.

5. Shane Watson. Total Arse, unsporting and deeply in love with himself. Facebook link

* Actually on reflection, there is a lot of hate there

Ahh Watto is a legend though! he has really worked hard and improved so much as a cricketer, he is from what i hear a pretty nice guy off the field also, i know he made a bit of a tool of himself in the incident with Gayle during the series but sure he is very passionate and was overcome with taking the big wicket :)

lolz they have facebook pages for everything now dont they

weirdos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

shaun-tait-smiles-with-his-finger.jpg

Actually here's a couple more of my less than favourite players, including one of the current Aussie squad trying to be more liked and less of a tosser.

Tait's not the worst of them, he's had some serious issues over the years so I don't like to slag him off to much. Johnson is an other Aussie that's a bit of a tool though. :pac:

Is that The Mc Cullum in the picture?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Iangolf wrote: »
    As a wicketkeeper, there is no way that you can be sure if the ball hit the stumps before your gloves or you have clipped the stumps, Its the umpires fault for not calling for the 3rd umpire.

Gloves in front of the stumps?

dooferoaks, one of the very few temptations to join facebook in that link :cool: