Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FEBRUARY Meet Up !!!

• 01-02-2010 9:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭

It is the first of Feb so it is time for the February thread!
    The plan for this month is to have two events - there is a combined poll for the two events:

1) Pool competition in the Mardyke (where food and alcohol is available). It's just a bit of fun so does not matter if you have not played before or think you are not very good , join in any way! Rules will come later. Thinking of having this next week if possible....

2) An evening meal, maybe in the last week of February? Please use the poll to vote for the type of food you like, we can use the results to determine what place we go to closer to the time.

Let the discussions commence (can a mod please unsticky the January thread and sticky this one instead? Thanks!)

What food do you like? Are you going to play pool? 61 votes

Indian
    0%
    Italian
    8%
    trotter_inc440Hzfoxyboxerkingtut30something2010 5 votes
    Pub Grub
    9%
    trotter_inc440Hzfastracoebkingtutnursemar88 6 votes
    Chinese
    11%
    mik_da_man440HzGERMAN ROCKSoebkingtutnursemar88YourSQL 7 votes
    Vegetarian Restaurant
    11%
    mik_da_manoebmiss_shadowkingtutnursemar88YourSQLAinu 7 votes
    Thai
    0%
    Chipper Food
    6%
    trotter_incmik_da_mandineelkingtut 4 votes
    Irish Restaurant
    6%
    dave1982GERMAN ROCKSoebSolidarity 4 votes
    You forgot a food type, I'll post and tell you what it is.
    8%
    GERMAN ROCKSkingtutnursemar88realtin8YourSQL 5 votes
    I'll eat anything / go anywhere!
    1%
    trotter_inc 1 vote
    I'm not interested in going for dinner.
    6%
    oebmiss_shadowGlico ManYourSQL 4 votes
    I'm interested in playing pool!
    9%
    Webmonkeycorkcompdineelsave_our_sockscolblimpReacherCreature 6 votes
    I am not interested in playing pool.
    19%
    Webmonkeyziedthmik_da_manfoxyboxersave_our_socksoebReacherCreaturerotinajkingtutArdennes1944nursemar88thekid9 12 votes
    Tagged:

Still in Galway unfortunately :(
    (meeting folks off the net :rolleyes:, weird or what)

(only joking folks :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,491 ✭✭✭kingtut

RoverJames wrote: »
    Still in Galway unfortunately :(
    (meeting folks off the net :rolleyes:, weird or what)

(only joking folks :D)

going by the 12 people (about half being newbies) who came bowling last time followed by an additional 3/4 at the pub afterwards yes, it is very very weird :D but fun! :P you should try it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

kingtut wrote: »
    It is the first of Feb so it is time for the February thread!
    The plan for this month is to have two events - there is a combined poll for the two events:

1) Pool competition in the Mardyke (where food and alcohol is available). It's just a bit of fun so does not matter if you have not played before or think you are not very good , join in any way! Rules will come later. Thinking of having this next week if possible....

2) An evening meal, maybe in the last week of February? Please use the poll to vote for the type of food you like, we can use the results to determine what place we go to closer to the time.

Let the discussions commence (can a mod please unsticky the January thread and sticky this one instead? Thanks!)

I'll do either (both) as long as the dates suit.

For the pool, can we play 9-ball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭trotter_inc

I'll eat anything / go anywhere!
    What about seafood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

pool sounds good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Pool is good. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭colblimp

Unfortunately, I wouldn't be into pool or dinner, I'm afraid. Pool - it bores the pants off me, I was a youth worker for 5 years and that's all I ever did! As for dinner, don't forget, some of us are still out of work so money's tight... :(

colblimp wrote: »
    don't forget, some of us are still out of work so money's tight... :(

and some of us were given our notices today :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

Unfortunately, I wouldn't be into pool or dinner, I'm afraid. Pool - it bores the pants off me, I was a youth worker for 5 years and that's all I ever did! As for dinner, don't forget, some of us are still out of work so money's tight... :(

is it possible to get a "beers" only option in the poll? Apologies in advance Kingtut, not trying to steer off course!

corkcomp wrote: »
    is it possible to get a "beers" only option in the poll? Apologies in advance Kingtut, not trying to steer off course!

The Mardyke has beer and pool, you don't have to play if you don't wish to, should have added an option to the poll though sorry. Can a mod add that option if there is one out there? Pretty pleaseeeeeeee

:( that's not good to hear.

That's absolutely terrible - I am so sorry. Mind you, you're young so should get another job with relative ease, shouldn't you?

feck sorry to hear that :( - Will you be able get another job? you were saying something before about a job somewhere else in the country.

That's absolutely terrible - I am so sorry. Mind you, you're young so should get another job with relative ease, shouldn't you?

Young?!!! I'm 26 :( thanks though :)

Age doesn't really come into it nowadays I reckon, it shouldn't do anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,114 ✭✭✭corkcomp

Age doesn't really come into it nowadays I reckon, it shouldn't do anyway.

nahh, not unless were talking 50's upwards... 26 is NOT old, if it is im screwed cos I left that behind two years ago!

Young?!!! I'm 26 :( thanks though :)

You're a mere child, compared to me lol! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nursemar88

count me in for whatever is decided...besides probably Indian food.. eugh!

and i did vote!!!

Vote vote vote!!

7 people interested in pool so far....Anyone else? Please vote if you have not already done so. Thanks :)

When is this btw. Forgive me if it's already mentioned!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭miss_shadow

one step at a time webby..one step at a time :D

I know haha :)

Webmonkey wrote: »
    When is this btw. Forgive me if it's already mentioned!

Some day next week, how does Thursday suit everyone?

That's why I asked :( - I'm in germany all next week unfort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 563 ✭✭✭save_our_socks

Next week wouldnt be the best idea being U.C.C RAG week......I plan to stay off the streets once it starts to get dark!

I'd imagine it bad alright next week. CIT's is week after though! Could be fairly messy these coming weeks.

God Im not going to be able to sleep fort the next 2 weeks can only imagine the drunken idiots that will be hanging outside my apartment.

I say we hold off until the RAG weeks are over, think it would be safer!

God Im not going to be able to sleep fort the next 2 weeks can only imagine the drunken idiots that will be hanging outside my apartment.

I say we hold off until the RAG weeks are over, think it would be safer!
    Drunken idiots like me :p

I've forgiven you!

haha thanks. So when's that post grad interview

Wednesday....flying out Tuesday, absolutely brickin' it! So thankfully lll miss 2 nights of RAG week madness!

Good luck with it!

Anyone else going to vote? It is a tie between chinese and pub grub at the moment....all are welcome!! What night suits people for dinner and for playing pool?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 realtin8

pool sounds great do ye post the date ye agree on here?

realtin8 wrote: »
    pool sounds great do ye post the date ye agree on here?

We certainly do, watch this space.

great looking forward to that!

For the people who said they were up for dinner:

Does Friday 19th or Saturday 20th suit you? Most events are on during the week but I thought dinner would be better suited to a weekend!

Edit - Increased dates by a week due to this weekend being Valentine's weekend, thanks RoverJames!

I could have been tempted for a Friday night grub session, bad weekend for it though, the big V and whatnot.

Good point, edited my post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭oeb

For the people who said they were up for dinner:

Does Friday 19th or Saturday 20th suit you? Most events are on during the week but I thought dinner would be better suited to a weekend!

Edit - Increased dates by a week due to this weekend being Valentine's weekend, thanks RoverJames!

Nope, a weekend will very rarely suit me (I go back to Kerry weekends to see my son)

Pub grub is still in the lead for dinner! What day suits people the best?

weds or thurs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,155 ✭✭✭lukin

realtin8 wrote: »
    weds or thurs?

I'd prefer a Friday but Thursday if that's not possible. Clancy's is always good for pub grub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭nursemar88

say i'd just bump this up! any further ideas of whats the plan??

is it happening this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

Well I'm interested cos I'm trying to set one up for CIT but that looks like its a dead duck so would be very much up for this. Missed the last one cos I didn't know it was on.

I'm up for anything and anywhere*

*within reason of course:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Hey there, any updates? Pool is fine with me (I suck at it, but still enjoy a game!)

Lets get this finalised! Starting with pool - does Wed 24th / Thu 25th suit people for pool?

9 people voted for pool:
    kingtut, mik_da_man, nursemar88, oeb, ReacherCreature, save_our_socks, stevefinn, Webmonkey, Ziedth.

Remember the Mardyke is a bar so even if you do not want to play pool please still come along for a few drinks, a lot of craic (the healthy kind!) and lots and lots of chat :)

Most popular choice for dinner was Pub Grub, I am thinking a Saturday would be nice for this. How does Saturday 20th / 27th suit people?

7 people picked pub grub:
    440Hz, GERMAN ROCKS, kingtut, mik_da_man, nursemar88, oeb, YourSQL

If the suggested dates do not suit please post with the ones that do!