Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

one way system for kilkenny

• 31-01-2010 6:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭

kilkenny is going to get one way system soon in april i think, anyone think this will work, is traffic so bad we need one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭Lord ButterSlip

Do you have any plans/info on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭linny

no that was my next question for someone :), think i seen plans in kilkenny people few months ago tho, i'l have look on county and brough council web site's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭zootroid

I heard there were plans to make John street and Rose Inn street one way, that was it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭odin_ie

Throw High Street into that mix and you might be onto something. I think it is a great idea to be honest. The streets in Kilkenny are too narrow for the amount of traffic that is on them. A good example of a one way system is in Cork, where from the Court House on Washington street as far as UCC is one way heading West, and the Maradyke Walk from UCC to the Court House is one way heading East. A very good system that works well.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I saw the plans also, but I thought it was coming into effect when the new bridge from Wolfe Tone St. to Watergate and Vicar St. was done.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

if its planned properly, it'd be great, no more gridlock on rose inn street . . :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭JohnMc1

zootroid wrote: »
    I heard there were plans to make John street and Rose Inn street one way, that was it though

Great. More streets for them to drive the wrong way on then. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

Someone told me they had High st./John st etc one way beforehand and it worked really well.
    I can't remember when it was but a few years ago :confused:

It has to be worth a try, the gridlock in town can be mad sometimes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

It was YEARS ago - during a Fleadh festival I think. Yeah it worked well, but I think the council didn't put it in as a full time measure as they thought the cars would speed through the city...or something like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭linny

seen a plan for the one way system in the kilkenny people this week,
    going to be in place for 6th of april

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭fabbydabby

It does beg the question though, does this or does it not facilitate those losers with no friends/hobbies who spend their weekends doing laps of the town?

I think it actually makes life easier for them. Now that they have a designated catwalk to show off the gaudy, tasteless motoring monstrosities, they don't have to think about which roundabout to swing around for another run at High Street.

Additional:
    In case any of you lame-wads actually happen to be reading this, i would like to make you aware of the following:

1) No one thinks you're cool but your equally lame douchebag friends. Get a fking hobby.
    2) Putting cheap alloys and a loud exhaust on a sh!t car does not make it into a good car. It makes it a sh!t, loud car with cheap alloys on it.
    3) This also applies to plastic bodywork, bonnet scoops and ironing-board spoilers
    4) The people whose heads you turn as you rev your puny engines as you do laps of the town are actually looking at you with contempt, not admiration.
    5) 'Racing' other motorists over short distances and in straight lines does not impress them. It merely impresses upon them the utter crapness of the handling characteristics of your car.
    6) I am rather p!ssed off listening to your car when I am trying to sleep. I do hope you wrap your fking plastic-tin sh!t-heap Civic/ Glanza / Levin / (insert interchangable 15 year old piece of sh!t car) around a tree and fking kill yourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭bennyob

I hope your not serious on point 6. Fair enough if they annoy you but wishing them dead goes a bit far i think.

Yeah I was being melodramatic. Any injury which would prevent them from driving would suffice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I feel your pain fabbydabby. The cretins spent a considerable amount of time racing their sh!tboxes between the Waterford Road roundabout and Loughboy roundabout in the small hours of the morning >:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Disco Volante

Aww c'mon a little 206 done up to the nines with a park bench of a spolier and drill a few holes into the exhaust so it sounds like a monster tell me that doesn't arouse you a little? [/sarcasm]

I think Rose Inn St. as a one way system would be a good idea because if you are driving down there of a Saturday night you are liable to have a patron of Lanigans fall out infront of your beautiful Twin Cam. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 kenzolo

fabbydabby wrote: »
    It does beg the question though, does this or does it not facilitate those losers with no friends/hobbies who spend their weekends doing laps of the town?

I think it actually makes life easier for them. Now that they have a designated catwalk to show off the gaudy, tasteless motoring monstrosities, they don't have to think about which roundabout to swing around for another run at High Street.

Additional:
    In case any of you lame-wads actually happen to be reading this, i would like to make you aware of the following:

1) No one thinks you're cool but your equally lame douchebag friends. Get a fking hobby.
    2) Putting cheap alloys and a loud exhaust on a sh!t car does not make it into a good car. It makes it a sh!t, loud car with cheap alloys on it.
    3) This also applies to plastic bodywork, bonnet scoops and ironing-board spoilers
    4) The people whose heads you turn as you rev your puny engines as you do laps of the town are actually looking at you with contempt, not admiration.
    5) 'Racing' other motorists over short distances and in straight lines does not impress them. It merely impresses upon them the utter crapness of the handling characteristics of your car.
    6) I am rather p!ssed off listening to your car when I am trying to sleep. I do hope you wrap your fking plastic-tin sh!t-heap Civic/ Glanza / Levin / (insert interchangable 15 year old piece of sh!t car) around a tree and fking kill yourselves.

get a life u sweaty goth/emo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭wobbles

reminds me of that episode of southpark with the bikers trying to get attention.

Anyway back on topic, while they are at it, they may as well pedestrianise high street between certain hours. Would improve shopping in high street no end

OK. Will you show me how?

I don't have a car at the moment but I can buy a '92 Civic on buy and sell for 300 which should do the trick, and I think I can pick up a k&n induction kit cheap enough which would boost the shaft horsepower from 80PS to about 81PS.

I can get my mam's ironing board as well and tag that onto the back which should increase the downforce no end as I top out at 80MPH on the ring road and some gold spraypaint on the wheels would really give me the respect I deserve on high street.

Then I can hang out with you and all your ass farming mates in KFC carpark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

I'm glad a one way system will be tried, if it makes Kilkenny more pedestrian friendly, then great. We have, by Irish standards a good looking town and anything that ads to increased footfall is a bonus in these times. I doubt it will put anyone off coming to Kilkenny.

BTW, I took my driving test on the first day the one way system was last used. The driving tester didn't know about it and he was all confused when we joined the one way flow. He struggled to figure out instructions for me as to what route to take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Absolute Zero

I don't have a car at the moment but I can buy a '92 Civic on buy and sell for 300 which should do the trick, and I think I can pick up a k&n induction kit cheap enough which would boost the shaft horsepower from 80PS to about 81PS.

I can get my mam's ironing board as well and tag that onto the back which should increase the downforce no end as I top out at 80MPH on the ring road and some gold spraypaint on the wheels would really give me the respect I deserve on high street.

State of you , smart arse I hope you wrap your fat head around a tree, dickhead by the way get a hobby and get off boards.ie for a day will ya?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

normal_hammer%20time.jpg

Kilkenny is such a small city and with the new stretch on the not so ring road, it would make access and exiting easy. It would be good to get things moving quicker in town by taking down the lights on the parade and at Parliament St. I actually think most lights should be taken out of it anyway.

Additional:

This is the most splendid piece I have seen in a long time thank you for brightening up my day. Have you considered writing for a newspaper?
    kenzolo wrote: »

Ha
    State of you , smart arse I hope you wrap your fat head around a tree, dickhead by the way get a hobby and get off boards.ie for a day will ya?

Ha

Really though if they do introduce a one way system I bet the SpeedBump Fairy wont be too far behind, so anyone with "1 inch clearance, laaad!!!" will regret going fast anywhere in the city (as will the rest of us).

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Mod Note:

Lets keep on topic without the need to mix personal abuse and a relevant piece in the same post - its still a breach of the charter folks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭CyberWaste

Additional:

hahaha thats pretty funny, those boy racers are ****ing annoying. Cant go into town without seeing them everywhere with those loud pieces of **** theyre driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 kenzolo

you dont drive so you cant say **** mother****er.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

kenzolo infracted and banned. Probably couldn't see the mod warning just up the page a bit because of a touring car windscreen strip or too much tinting or peaked cap down over the eyes or something.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Licksy wrote: »
    kenzolo infracted and banned. Probably couldn't see the mod warning just up the page a bit because of a touring car windscreen strip or too much tinting or peaked cap down over the eyes or something.

Love the response :D

Anyway, a one way system, should be interesting to see how it goes

Is it really required? Save at 4PM when the schools are out, I can't see how it's justified. You can get through town in 10 mins max in even the worst traffic.

1 way systems are grand if you know where you're going, but a major pain in the rocks if you don't. I wouldn't say it will last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭bennyob

Its a pain if you ask me. Anyone that used to use fr hayden rd from castle rd to patrick st will now have to use nuncio rd. There will prob need to be a roundabout built at the junction of nuncio rd and waterford rd, it can be tricky to turn right there at the best of times.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Good point. I would imagine that a roundabout will be built there because isn't there supposed to be an Aldi there with an entrance off the Nuncio road too (assuming it goes ahead) which would only add to the volume?

It's not solely for the benefit of traffic flow, pedestrian access of the town has some serious bottlenecks. Hopefully the one way system will allow the widening of footpaths in John Street and Rose Inn Street, it's badly needed. The friendlier it is to families, the greater the incentive to leave the car at home.

Just so long as they don't put anymore random white lines bicycle lanes around the place, I'm happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭dueyfinster

I blame those for the reason it's so expensive for me to drive, why should I have to pay higher premiums for these idiots? Any mods to cars should jack the insurance up 150%!! I'd say there's less of these aholes around now, on the dole leeching having to sell the fiesta!! Good riddance. A few more years of those on the roads and I'd say the council would have to have tried speed bumps on the ring road :mad: :mad: :mad:

That said I have friends who own Levin and the Toyota not-a-yaris-or-whatever model and they drive properly - they don't tack on ironing boards :)

Back on topic Re: one way system, would it not be better to pedestrianise? Kilkenny is really a city to be walked, as a friend of mine says it's "length of O'Connell St" (the proper Dublin one :D ).

Looking forward to seeing this in action on Tuesday. Not sure if it will work well or not, but at least less cars through the city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Threadhead

Licksy wrote: »

Too good, too good. I thought fabbydabby's initial critique of boy racers was good, but this is a total burn.

And yes, if the new system can curb those idiots it'd be great. If someone was running down the street with a knife in his outstretched arm and 2 sub woofers on his back whilst trying to see who's looking at him, he'd still be a danger to those around him, it's no different for those poser clowns in their micro machines.

And I have to point out, fair play to the much maligned taxi drivers who have come out and said that they'll negotiate their fares with anyone going around town because of the difference in time it'll now take. There's less scrupulous drivers who'd use that as an excuse to milk cash from folk.

Here's hoping the new system works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭miece16

new system doesnt work as proved by today. what a failure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭caprilicious

What happened today that it didn't work? I didn't get near town today. I was really suprised when I seen they were using Kieran St. as the go through instead of the street the other side of Dunnes car park/down the side of the Court house.
    Kieran st. is so narrow and I'd imagine it'd make it unpleasant now to sit in one of the outdoor seating area's for the cafe's like Dore's with all the traffic going by so close :eek:

The engineer on the council that came up with this system should be fired and the educational institution that awarded him a degree, should be closed down. Pretty much mirrors what is going on in this country right now, if something is working o.k, they'll find some way of grinding it to a halt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭jiggajt

It was an awful disaster today! I was hoping it would work out and it still might but today was a sham. Very poorly thought out and controled. The people driving down Kieran st were doing so out of sheer frustration and werent supposed to do what they did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭frankie2shoes

i drove thru town at 940 and the one way system worked a treat.
    By 2pm, with higher traffic volumes and the gardai making their usual mess of directing traffic flow, the whole place was blocked up. maybe it'll still work when everyone gets a hang of it. Hope it does- rose inn street is far too narrow for two way traffic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Threadhead

I was out of town all day today but I heard that it was so disastrous that as of tomorrow, it's been changed back to normal.

I find that shocking but I remain absolutely factless, so can anyone in the know tell us what went so horribly wrong?

From what i saw it appeared the problem was down at Parliament Street. There just wasn't enough traffic been released at the lights. Once you got past there there was no problems towards Vicar street.
    I hope its not like that again tomorrow.

Just to be clear, can someone confirm if Keiran Street is part of the new flow or it was as suggested just used out of frustration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

I don't really see why this one way system was ever considered tbh.

To be fair rose inn st isn't that narrow, its just at the corner at xtra vision that is a bit of a squeeze for buses etc.

2 things I would like to see:

Sensors on the traffic lights in town, some of the timings are ridiculous.

Drivers bloody waking up and anticipating a green light.. I don't know how many times I've been waiting at the lights and some gaum at the front takes 15 seconds to get the car into gear and get moving once the lights have changed, only allowing about 3 cars through on that green, so annoying.

Come the busier days, Patrick St. should be interesting with JJ Kavanagh and Buggy's buses pulling up willy nilly to let passengers on and off. Why can't their be a dedicated bus stop for them that would keep them out of the town center? Surely they should be forced to use the bus parking area beside the Castle gates to collect people??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭patrickk

only way one way system will work is turn off lights at parade and at courthouse and would even go as far as turn off lights in irish town anytime lights were off due to malfunction in last year there were no accidents and no delays at all .Traffic lights off for good its only way it will work !!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

it was a sham,
    people thought they could escape it by going down kieran street or down behind dunnes only to find when the eventually got to junction they could only join back up with the traffic they just sat in for an hour,, round and round they went a vicious circle with no escape ,
    people would not wait to go down irish town due to traffic, so turned down kieran street,or went down behind dunnes,,both these junction should have allowed traffic to turn left and escape city by driving up that that lil part of john street and away then out on to dublin road or comer road,,but they did not allow left turns and feed all the traffic trying to escape back into the mix again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    there was only one way out! irish town,,,even Michael Scofield would have came unstuck :D
    what moron thought this up,and has he been fired yet rolleye0009.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭JoseJones

argosy2006 wrote: »
    what moron thought this up,and has he been fired yet

He's probably being promoted as we speak.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 underpantshead

any try it this morning? maybe it was just me but i just drove through high st at approx 8.45 and it may as well of been 5 in the morning, hardly a car in sight!! i was even early for work & thats rare! :D

I drove down John Street at 9.30, no problem. Actually it was good to see the cycle lanes being painted, should lessen the confusion.
    I haven't been near High street.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

patrickk wrote: »
    only way one way system will work is turn off lights at parade and at courthouse and would even go as far as turn off lights in irish town anytime lights were off due to malfunction in last year there were no accidents and no delays at all .Traffic lights off for good its only way it will work !!!

Cross posting your ill thought out idea, nice

You'd think your thread was enough as it were, anyway since you've ignored my question in the other thread lets try here....how to you expect cars to get out of the market cross if the traffic lights are off at the courthouse?