Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road Patrol NI

• 30-01-2010 5:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭

Documentary series following the daily duties of the officers of the PSNI Road Policing Unit, who have their patience tested by boy racers, drink drivers, bad language and bad behaviour on the roads. The officers deal with a disqualified driver with memory problems, and excessive speeders who risk a lot more than their licenses.

MONDAY, 1st FEBRUARY, 10.35pm BBC 1 NI.

Well, heres hoping Traffic Blues syndrome didn't spread across the border...:p

We might even see PSNI...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Bosco boy

Whats traffic blues syndrome???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Traffic Blues Syndrome =

-Extremely poor look on how police really work.
    -Ridiculous amount of editing by police management.
    -Police not functioning as they normally would due to cameras.
    -Over hyping everything, ie. "Next week on Traffic Blues, a driver is caught not wearing his seatbelt"
    -c.24 minutes of programme
    -Quite boring

/rant

BTW, Traffic Blues was a programme aired by RTÉ last summer following the work of Traffic Corps, it didn't go very well, as some posters will say, me included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭belfast stephen

i seen the ad on bbc1 on friday night looks a god programe let hope the in not like traffic blues and a bit more like road wars

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

looking forward to this show. series linked on sky+. thanks op :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

is this only on bbc1 ni
    Or will it be on the other variants as well ?

just watched the show and must say very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭barney 20v

just watched the show and must say very good

I agree totally. well made and looking at all the sunshine in the program cheered me up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

Great show - really enjoyed it as opposed to Traffic Blues. They all seem to have a pretty good sense of humor and do the job fairly professionally... some nifty gadgets too.

he is a link to the show

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00qn0m5

Edit-Only available in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Great show - really enjoyed it as opposed to Traffic Blues. They all seem to have a pretty good sense of humor and do the job fairly professionally... some nifty gadgets too.

There`s quite a strong message here for those prepared to engage in debating it,however it might equally provoke a thread lock so perhaps best left unsaid.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Just a reminder that its on again tonight, same bat time, same bat channel.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

donvito99 wrote: »
    Just a reminder that its on again tonight, same bat time, same bat channel.......
    Eh just remind us there what bat means... :rolleyes::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

bat = brilliant awesome time
    haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭one2one

"No guard it was a stone" - seriously, I've heard all sorts, but is he really that stupid? The car is in bits - its OBVIOUS a body has come in contact with that vehicle!!

another great epaside nice to see a sliver unmarked Vauxhall Omega on the show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

marked RangeRover looked well. NGA prob blew his load when he saw that!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

NGA prob blew his load when he saw that!!!

Actually did LOL at that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

marked RangeRover looked well. NGA prob blew his load when he saw that!!!

Some show lad!

That Range Rover is a dream!!!

one2one wrote: »
    "No guard it was a stone" - seriously, I've heard all sorts, but is he really that stupid? The car is in bits - its OBVIOUS a body has come in contact with that vehicle!!

I nearly died when i seen that fella, came accross him on phase 2 few years ago..

Eh just remind us there what bat means... :rolleyes::P

Did ya ever see the live action Batman shows from the 60s?! (Not that I was around then!)
    bat = brilliant awesome time
    haha

I like

Ye gotta say the show was pretty damn good. From a televisual point of view it flowed well, had all the interviews with the coppers on the street, and didn't have an annoying narrator butting in with advice or stupid comments every 30 seconds, unlike traffic blues.

The accents were funny as hell as well...

donvito99 wrote: »
    I like
    borat_not.jpg

:P, nah never heard of batman from the 60's full stop >>.<<:P

Good show last night though!! Next weeks is the last episode i think!

borat_not.jpg

:P, nah never heard of batman from the 60's full stop >>.<<:P

Good show last night though!! Next weeks is the last episode i think!

OT, but maybe this might ring a bell...

So in two episodes we have had some drink drivers, no insurance, no licence, and some speeders.

The only difference between that and Traffic Blues is the quality of the production.

Oh, and better equipment.

And better cars

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

And better looking officers...

zoolander_face.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

I thought the clip with the Dublin junkie was brilliant. Interesting to see the cooperation between the PSNI / Gardai too with all the information they were able to obtain relatively quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Foreign said....
    The only difference between that and Traffic Blues is the quality of the production.

Oh, and better equipment.

I`m not so sure that "only" quality equipment and production values can explain it away so easily.

There is,I feel,an attitudinal "thing" going on here also.
    It`s difficult,if not impossible to describe in black and white but once experienced,its never forgotten or misinterpreted again.

Traffic Blues just did`nt seem to be aimed at a discerning adult audience...let alone members of this august forum :)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Foreign said....

I`m not so sure that "only" quality equipment and production values can explain it away so easily.

There is,I feel,an attitudinal "thing" going on here also.
    It`s difficult,if not impossible to describe in black and white but once experienced,its never forgotten or misinterpreted again.

Traffic Blues just did`nt seem to be aimed at a discerning adult audience...let alone members of this august forum :)

Can you explain the attitudinal thing? Not sure what you mean.

I still think it was a good show just like I think Traffic Blues has potential to be a good show. UK TV have been doing shows like this for a long time so know how to do it correctly. Hopefully we will see another series of Traffic Blues where the production is improved.

foreign wrote: »
    Can you explain the attitudinal thing? Not sure what you mean.

I still think it was a good show just like I think Traffic Blues has potential to be a good show. UK TV have been doing shows like this for a long time so know how to do it correctly. Hopefully we will see another series of Traffic Blues where the production is improved.

And not just with TC, maybe the dag unit, yes dags, alpha sierra, water unit.....with little or no editing apart from the minor things...that would make a good show IMO...:)

the last in the series tonight bb1 10:35pm or 22:35

It's actually an alright show. Not over-produced, no dumbed down commentary, and hopefully it will be an eye opener to those who think Traffic is 100mph blue light runs day in, day out.

Well done lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

I think the main problem with Traffic Blues was that the general public, myself included in that, saw the gardai highlighted in that show as being too soft on some ridiculous road traffic offences. Two I can think of off hand was the woman trying to reverse down the slip road to avoid a checkpoint who had a pile of unrestrained kids in the car and the guy in the SUV type thing who while being followed ran a red light at a roundabout, when finally caught up with parked in the central reservation and then was let away relatively unscathed.

It was a bit of a PR disaster really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

I've never understood the concept of traffic lights on a roundabout ? Why build a roundabout in the first place ? Anyway, all that aside. I'd say quite often traffic police be it Garda or PSNI will deal with a whole range of offences. It's not because they're not first in the pecking order to go and lift a shoplifter that the only thing they do is write tickets and that's what's been highlighted nicely by the BBC show.