Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Super foods

• 29-01-2010 10:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭

hi lads,
    what foods would ye recommend to sustain long working hours? good for concentrate, energy etc?

maybe porridge in morn?

ta,
    jeo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

weetabix, you've seen the ads!!
    Find it works for me anyway, gets me through my cycle to college and about 4 lectures till lunch, i'd only have water till then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭digme

spuds,rice,oats,pasta,bananas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

Sugars = short term energy
    starches = long term energy

So, basically just load up on stuff from the bottom of the food pyramid to get you through the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭joecc

thanks alot, I'm perusing over the replies....

Is the food pyramid universally accepted, or approved by the WHO?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

joecc wrote: »
    thanks alot, I'm perusing over the replies....

Is the food pyramid universally accepted, or approved by the WHO?

If you want to look like the food pyramid eat like it. The pushed food pyramid is a shambles of grain industry propaganda.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

If you want to look like the food pyramid eat like it. The pushed food pyramid is a shambles of grain industry propaganda.

Truth. You only gotta look at who published it to realise how laughable it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

Hanley wrote: »
    Truth. You only gotta look at who published it to realise how laughable it is.
    agreed - the agricultural revolution has much to answer for!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Never a mention of saugages on the bugger. In my pyramid I'd have that milky cheesey section renovated, and leave more room for saugages.
    in 1991 ........ Pork dominates with 41 percent of global meat production

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Transform wrote: »
    agreed - the agricultural revolution has much to answer for!!

In fairness tho, without the agricultural revolution, the industrial revolution never woulda happened, so it's not all bad :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

Im kinda stealing this from one of transforms articles on his blog but i thought they were far more accurate than the traditional food pyramid

http://udoerasmus.com/pyramid/pyr_index.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

nuts
    they help stabilize blood sugar levels

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Ryan!

Walnuts from lidl, nothing better IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭Ryan!

Anything from lidl actually!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Ryan! wrote: »
    Walnuts from lidl, nothing better IMO

you can get sick of them after a while tho. only nut I cant get enough of are cashews.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

RASPBERRYS!

injured365 wrote: »
    Im kinda stealing this from one of transforms articles on his blog but i thought they were far more accurate than the traditional food pyramid

http://udoerasmus.com/pyramid/pyr_index.htm
    no worries and udo has been banging out great info you absolutely ages now

you can get sick of them after a while tho. only nut I cant get enough of are cashews.
    yes but cashew nuts contain feck all omega 3's where as walnuts are king of omega 3's (well flax seeds also!).

Overall a good balance of some carbs, protein and good fats is best to sustain energy - carbs alone are very often NOT a good idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭injured365

Transform wrote: »
    no worries and udo has been banging out great info you absolutely ages now

Off topic i know but....

Any opinion on the udos oil stuff??
    Is it just another way of marketing multi-vitamins with some fats thrown in or is it better than the average stuff??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭legend365

Oats are good for long-term release of energy...but bad for short term in my opinion.

I catch meself fallin asllep and hour later on the bus!

WTF!?

injured365 wrote: »
    Off topic i know but....

Any opinion on the udos oil stuff??
    Is it just another way of marketing multi-vitamins with some fats thrown in or is it better than the average stuff??
    the udos is good but the fats in it still need to be converted to epa and dha which are naturally there in a good fish oil supplement (e.g. carlsons) so i would just go straight for the fish oil or if you are a vegie or vegan then the udos is going to be the best choice.

udos is NOT a multi-vit its just a good fats source i would recommend a seperate multi-vit and check that -

- it does not contain iron
    - has plenty of vit D - 2,000IU ideally
    - sources of multivit are of good quality e.g. are they chelated, are they using cheap sources of minerals/vitamins etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

legend365 wrote: »
    Oats are good for long-term release of energy...but bad for short term in my opinion.

I catch meself fallin asllep and hour later on the bus!

WTF!?

Falling asleep and getting tired after eating carbs is a sign that your not very tolerant of them.