Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

MfMan wrote: »
    That the Minors finished now?

yeah , they got a bye to the semi final of the munster championship , ironically the only spot in the draw that dose not offer a second chance to the loser , there is a back door system in place for the first round losers , and a second chance presented to the munster final runner up but nothing for the semi final

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

They're under 18s and they've probably being playing with their schools all year, I agree with the back door for senior but I'm fine with underage being given time off.

Also, I like having the minor mirroring the senior championship, having the minor matches as curtain raisers to senior games is brilliant, especially when it works out like '97, first team to win an All Ireland through the back door after all :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

If I was paranoid I would be saying that people are reading what we're saying here :)

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/clare-gaa-secure-pr-guru-to-help-with-image-31328578.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,365 ✭✭✭letowski

Disappointing result, but fair play to the lads for fighting back and giving Tipp a run for their money. In fairness Tipp were the better team, their play and movement up front was superior to ours.

Before I say this, I dont want to get the ball rolling again with management bashing, but Morrisey is gotta be thinking to himself that he got a good lot of that wrong tonight. I know this was our first outing but playing some players out of position just didn't work. Chaplin and McCarthy at wing back and forward has proved to be a crazy call back a few weeks and had to be switched during the game. McCarthy was our best back last year so he knows his quality, I've never seen Chaplin in the backs before (and I don't think I will). Calls like Colm Fitz at midfield and not starting the Kilmaley lads Padraig Mc (good last year) and Kennedy (2pts as sub) weren't good either.

WSH is right, it's all about developing players but I think at minor level we seem to short something. I understand we have not had the best team in the province but we need to get in the right coaching and get the secondary schools back competing. It shows with the other counties, they all seem to be playing with more confidence and accuracy in their play. We on the other hand shot a load of wides and didn't look at all cohesive. Just like last year with Waterford, it took us until the second half to actually get to the pitch of the game and believe we can win. I think we should look to refresh the minor management, maybe look to ring in a coach from another county.

Wrt prospects I think we have a good one in Shanagher at senior in the next few seasons. Strong, a good scorer and excellent in the air, traits the senior panel are desperately short of. I thought Aaron's brother Jack played well at midfield, I wasn't sure about him there at the start but he played well and like his brother he backs himself to get the score. McCarthy is a very good wing back and I thought Noonan was good tonight aswell. O'Shea at center forward is alot better than that, his style would be suitable to Davy's system if he were to get a chance to make the panel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

Would Galvin have had to be looked after for coming hone?

sasta le wrote: »
    Would Galvin have had to be looked after for coming hone?

Expenses would have been covered I'd imagine. Normally players flights & accommodation for playing in the states are covered by the host club in the States, coming home early would probably be covered by either Clonlara or Clare (most likely).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Gael85

Clareman wrote: »
    They have taken on a PR firm, same guy who runs the Clare Herald, so hopefully that'll sort out some of the bullsh!t that's going on.

Hopefully against Offaly they'll go out and just play 15 v 15 and show what they can do, no need for tricks or "game plans", just let them out to play hurling.

Who paying for that? is PR guy there just for hurlers?

Gael85 wrote: »
    Who paying for that? is PR guy there just for hurlers?

According to the article in the Indo he did it out of the goodness of his heart.

I find it very hard to believe that any business would do too much for free, even saying that the press release was done for free, the cross bar challenge had at least 3 cameras involved and I would assume a lot of editing, that would have been extremely costly if not time consuming, I assume that was billed, but we'll never know, no doubt it'll be put down as some kind of misc. expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

I've seen a few references to a crossbar challenge - what is this all about ? Some type of charity event or what ?

According to the article in the Indo he did it out of the goodness of his heart.

I find it very hard to believe that any business would do too much for free, even saying that the press release was done for free, the cross bar challenge had at least 3 cameras involved and I would assume a lot of editing, that would have been extremely costly if not time consuming, I assume that was billed, but we'll never know, no doubt it'll be put down as some kind of misc. expense.

Speaking to a couple of lads, apparently the "story" is that there will be an increase in video analysis costs this year as they got more "advanced" professionals this year, there isn't a specific PR costs but there will be extra video costs.

not surprised to hear of mark dunphy doing the pr stuff for free , from what i am aware of he wouldnt be alone in this department , from what i hear the likes of a syl o'connor joe garry and tommy gilfoyle are not being made millionaires either for the great work they have done through the years fr clare gaa,

they certainly never revived anything from the county board for the huge job of promoting football and hurling in the county especially around the 2010 to 2012 mark where the footballers were languishing in mid table in division 4 and the hurlers in division 2 and 3 of the national hurling league

mark is a guy i his mid 30s who like most of us is a mad gaa man and will probably do his PR business no world of harm and should look good on the CV down along the line , especially if the hurlers have another good year this year or maybe next

in relation to the video stuff , it would be a lie to say the footballers dont use the same level or maybe more then the hurlers , collins is a big man into the use of tapes and dvds , he has been using them for years with cratloe and like mark dunphy the lads that do most of the camera work dont get much for there efforts either think its jody o'connor that dose the camera work for the footballers

for anyone that did not see the other video of the tommy hegerty challange from last weeks training session in NUI galway , while it is all good craic it will back fire massively for fitz if things go wrong , although as said before it is good to see that he has mellowed some bit from previous years

A county team should not need a PR team. A hurling team, yes. But not a PR team. Obviously.

true but i think the rumor mill went so out of control that it affected team moral and performances , every 5mins was a story of players falling out with management or players fighting with each other so in fairness something had to be done

just on another note , what are peoples views on rory hickey as a refferee , i would never had him down as the best football ref in the county , he gets plenty of top gigs though , he done the all ireland club final a couple of years ago tonight he is doing the donegal v derry ulster semi final while he is not having a bad game tonight , is he good enough for that level or is there better in the county then him? i would have taught so

I'll remind you how TERRIBLE the interview after the Limerick was, if that's not someone in the need of PR help I don't know who is. Also, the way the discipline saga was handled took an awful lot to be desired. There is a massive need for good PR from Clare, but I would say that that should be part of the County Board's/Team Management's responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

true but i think the rumor mill went so out of control that it affected team moral and performances , every 5mins was a story of players falling out with management or players fighting with each other so in fairness something had to be done

just on another note , what are peoples views on rory hickey as a refferee , i would never had him down as the best football ref in the county , he gets plenty of top gigs though , he done the all ireland club final a couple of years ago tonight he is doing the donegal v derry ulster semi final while he is not having a bad game tonight , is he good enough for that level or is there better in the county then him? i would have taught so

Not answering your question exactly, for me Rory Hickey is the best hurling ref in the county. Uses good decision making and unlike some, isn't the centre of attention.
    If a player asks why a free has been awarded, he usually says so. Others just tell players to shut it or immediately move the ball up 13 yards.

Hidalgo wrote: »
    Not answering your question exactly, for me Rory Hickey is the best hurling ref in the county. Uses good decision making and unlike some, isn't the centre of attention.
    If a player asks why a free has been awarded, he usually says so. Others just tell players to shut it or immediately move the ball up 13 yards.

Yeah, he's a good ref and he's a great club man with Eire Óg, anytime I'm there he's there, not that I'm there often.

In relation to why he gets the big games, he's 35, from a non-impacting county and isn't really prone to big mistakes.

He's not a bad sparky either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Yeah, he's a good ref and he's a great club man with Eire Óg, anytime I'm there he's there, not that I'm there often.

In relation to why he gets the big games, he's 35, from a non-impacting county and isn't really prone to big mistakes.

He's not a bad sparky either.

Hickey is a very good ref. I'd prefer him to any other ref in Clare as he uses his head and is fair. As was said earlier he communicates with players, if the player is reasonable. Other go down the players throat if they look sideways.

he gets overlooked in the county though for most of the big games , michael talty and pat cosgrave usaly get the biger games ahead of him , talty will give a 13 meter free aginst you if someone from the crowed says anythig to him while cosgrave a few years ago i remember watching him literally work a team up the field with 5 or 6 soft frees to give a team a replay in a county semi final

gordon kelly's brother barry is no bad ref either , not sure if he is the man for the old recess lights in the sitting room but he is around rorys age group and a deacent ref , i would have had him ahead of hickey

he gets overlooked in the county though for most of the big games , michael talty and pat cosgrave usaly get the biger games ahead of him , talty will give a 13 meter free aginst you if someone from the crowed says anythig to him while cosgrave a few years ago i remember watching him literally work a team up the field with 5 or 6 soft frees to give a team a replay in a county semi final

gordon kelly's brother barry is no bad ref either , not sure if he is the man for the old recess lights in the sitting room but he is around rorys age group and a deacent ref , i would have had him ahead of hickey

You should try being a ref, it's extremely hard not to be annoyed by experts in the crowd.

There is a massive difference between being an inter County ref and a local ref, there's an awful commitment needed to be an inner County ref, not as much as a player but there is an awful lot needed

Figerty wrote: »
    Hickey is a very good ref. I'd prefer him to any other ref in Clare as he uses his head and is fair. As was said earlier he communicates with players, if the player is reasonable. Other go down the players throat if they look sideways.

http://youtu.be/ziz-eussuR8

first ref to use Hawkeye also !

You should try being a ref, it's extremely hard not to be annoyed by experts in the crowd.

There is a massive difference between being an inter County ref and a local ref, there's an awful commitment needed to be an inner County ref, not as much as a player but there is an awful lot needed

to be fair it is an impossible job and the gaa do very little to protect referees

the question i was initially asking was how come he is over looked so much in his own county , the more high profile club games usally go to someone else

and yeah he is a very good ref , last night was an example , the game between derry and donegal was played with the spirit of a gangland feud for most of the 70 minuets and on another day would have seen several cards and controversy i think the first card was dished out on the 63rd minuet which will show how much he let go

it would be no harm if the sunday game would be as quick to highlight good refereeing almost as much as they do the bad stuff

the question i was initially asking was how come he is over looked so much in his own county , the more high profile club games usally go to someone else

I don't know if he's overlooked, he has done both senior finals in recent memory, he can't be doing every match as other refs have to get a run as well.

Padraig Sutton is the top soccer ref in ireland Ireland and he lives in the same area as Rory, there must be something in the water around there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,975 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Is the hurling or football being shown on tv next week. Not living in Ireland so wont be able to go.

RTÉ is showing Cavan v Roscommon (Throw-in 5.00pm) and Sky is showing Wexford v Cork (Throw in 7.00) so it doesn't look like either game will be on TV

them two games probably be the best of each round , cork could be there for the taking away at wexford while the rosscommon v cavan game is now it would seem to be part of a trilogy of games played between both sides since underage , normally there is never any more then a point between the sides

its a while since offaly were a really competitive side, sky showed them twice last year and they were well beaten twice , we should win here , and our next game will most likely be televised

i dont know what kind of appitie there is for rte anyway to show longford again , there last two games tellivised have ended with trouncings , maybe if we get to the next round against maybe kildare again or against the winners of roscommon/cavan we might get a look in

It might be on Premier Sports or 1 of those channels that you can get off the Island of Ireland, it might even be shown on rte.ie, I don't think those games are announced until closer to the event. I'll be at it anyway so it doesn't affect me too greatly :)

I wonder what the attendence will be, could be looking at 10,000+

According to Wikipedia there were 7,500 in attendance in 2013 when there was a double header against Laois, I'd say there'll be a few more than that there on Saturday, I'd say 10k would be about the attendance.