Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Article: Tesco ban shoppers in pyjamas, or barefooted.

• 28-01-2010 1:37pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭

A Tesco store in Wales has banned shoppers in pyjamas or barefooted.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/wales/8484116.stm

Seems like a good policy that might be well advised to be rolled out in Clarehall etc :)
    A Tesco store has asked customers not to shop in their pyjamas or barefoot.

Notices have been put up in the chain's supermarket in St Mellons in Cardiff saying: "Footwear must be worn at all times and no nightwear is permitted."

A spokesman said Tesco did not have a strict dress code but it does not want people shopping in their nightwear in case it offends other customers.

He said he was not aware of any other Tesco stores having to put up similar signs.

The signs, placed at the entrance to the store, read: "To avoid causing offence or embarrassment to others we ask that our customers are appropriately dressed when visiting our store (footwear must be worn at all times and no nightwear is permitted)."

The spokesman said: "We're not a nightclub with a strict dress code, and jeans and trainers are of course more than welcome.

"We do, however, request that customers do not shop in their PJs or nightgowns.

"This is to avoid causing offence or embarrassment to others."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,692 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

And they call this a free society:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Fair play to them. Scummers :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

That rule's been in place in the Supervalu where I live for years, I don't see the fuss

Doesn't keep the scummers out, because apparently velour tracksuit bottoms count as clothes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

About time, they should do it here too. I seen a roughly 55-60 year old woman in the square, tallaght - in pyjamas, slippers and dressing qown - on christmas eve this year, wheeling a trolly full of shopping around, it's disgusting. Put some clothes on you lazy fecking knacker!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Fair play to them. Hopefully if more follow suite, people will start to realise that they look like total twats if they wear pyjamas outside of their homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

I am surprised that this is even a issue for one :D.

I can understand the barefoot ban on hygiene grounds, but I don't really get the pyjama one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭Dr. Baltar

I understand the barefoot ban... but ffs! a CUSTOMER should be allowed wear WHATEVER they want inside a shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Banning barefeet I can understand.

But I wouldn't be too hasty on the nightwear issue.
    Who is to say that a roaming pack of attractive blonde eastern European women aren't going to go shopping in their Agent Provocateur underwear.

They wouldn't be allowed in.
    And that'd just be wrong.

wes wrote: »
    I am surprised that this is even a issue for one :D.

I can understand the barefoot ban on hygiene grounds, but I don't really get the pyjama one.
    Going out in PJs suggests you don't wash/ you're wearing yesterday's undies (or none at all)
    Wazdakka wrote: »
    Who is to say that a roaming pack of attractive blonde eastern European women aren't going to go shopping in their Agent Provocateur underwear.

I am, it's always smelly knackers with giant hoopy earrings. Generally also pushing a buggy and shouting at their children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I've not seen any 'respectable' girl venture outside the door in her jammies yet. It seems to be a 'scroate' trend. I agree with Tesco wholeheartedly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

About time only a certain type of people wear the nightwear outside its like the when hoodies were banned inside some shopping centers
    Wearing nightwear out to go shopping is real scummy maybe then they might see that its not attractive and they look like idiots and stop doing it
    Its incredibly lazy not to get changed in the morning do they not shower?

phasers wrote: »
    I am, it's always smelly knackers with giant hoopy earrings. Generally also pushing a buggy and shouting at their children.

True :(

But I can dream damnit..

What if Johnny Depp was refused entry to your local supermarket because he was wearing nothing but very tight underwear, cowboy boots and was gently oiling himself...

You wouldn't be supporting the PJ ban then i bet.

True :(

But I can dream damnit..

What if Johnny Depp was refused entry to your local supermarket because he was wearing nothing but very tight underwear, cowboy boots and was gently oiling himself...

You wouldn't be supporting the PJ ban then i bet.
    If Johnny Depp was in my local Supervalu I'd worry that he was back on drugs and looking for a dealer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

im guessing the tesco in tallaght will be shutting due to lack of business then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

That rule's been in place in the Supervalu where I live for years, I don't see the fuss

You live in SuperValu? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

/ gets out of PJ's and in to a tuxedo to get weekly shop.

Seriously though, well done. There is nothing worse on my eyes then when people shop in there PJ's. Its fairly common sight to anybody in Cork, and in one of our bigger shopping centers to see people in there PJ's shopping.

jd007 wrote: »
    You live in SuperValu? :eek:
    Yeah it's great, I set up a fort between two shelves and come out at night for supplies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

Doesn't keep the scummers out, because apparently velour tracksuit bottoms count as clothes

Did anyone else just think of Zap Branigan when you read this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

No nightware?

What if I'm a security guard who weres a uniform while I work at night and I want to go down for some "lunch" ar 2 in the morning, am I not allowe din?

*Newsflash*

Tesco's in Limerick has just closed down due to lack of customers.

Mousey- wrote: »
    im guessing the tesco in tallaght will be shutting due to lack of business then
    rarnes1 wrote: »
    *Newsflash*

Tesco's in Limerick has just closed down due to lack of customers.

*another newsflash*

That joke wasn't even funny the first time

*another newsflash*

Me and Mousey think it's funny and that's all the matters.

*another newsflash*

Ooooohhhh..

Well who shít in your cornflakes this morning?
    :p

Ooooohhhh..

I had a bowl of Lucky Charms for breakfast

.. but now I have none left :(

I had a bowl of Lucky Charms for breakfast

.. but now I have none left :(

you should nip down to Tesco's for another box :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

What about people wrapped in duvets, they going to be banned too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Nidot

I hope this is actually true

It'll have all the jammers crowd ringing Joe Duffy complaining how its affecting their rights to shop.

I can hear it now ' Joe, I can't like live. Like I need me smokes from Tesco'

Good idea, I'll throw on my slippers and housecoat and nip down

see you all later!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I've never seen one of these people who walk around outside in pyjamas but I'm mighty curious. Has anyone got any photos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Actually there is one man who can go anywhere he pleases in his night attire. I don't know about you but I take comfort in that. It's good knowin' he's out there. The Dude. Takin' 'er easy for all us sinners. Shoosh. I sure hope he makes the finals. The Dude abides!
    http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_JvCk7h5S_4c/Rua_onwSeII/AAAAAAAAAQA/3tyGZoykgcc/s400/Dude.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

If only :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Say that when the person is 70 and comes in wearing the stuff! :eek:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

as long as dr. bollocko can roam the place stark naked with a scarf and socks on, then i'm perfectly ok with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Maybe we need an Irish version of this site - to Pic & Shame !

http://www.peopleofwalmart.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭diamondgirl

lol i think fair play to them, i think it looks terrible, to see women in there pjs, the tesco in tallaght, its amazing how many you see, whilst going up & down the esles, then you have to keep your eyes to yourself, forthe looks theses people throw you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Yes, complete with Qif facepalm in the background.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Biggins wrote: »
    Say that when the person is 70 and comes in wearing the stuff! :eek:

<_<

>_>

*fap fap fap*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

And they call this a free society:rolleyes:
    It is. Tesco are free to permit who is allowed to shop in their law (within the confines of discrimination laws).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,405 ✭✭✭gizmo

Dr. Baltar wrote: »
    I understand the barefoot ban... but ffs! a CUSTOMER should be allowed wear WHATEVER they want inside a shop.
    No they shouldn't, it's a private business and they can have whatever dress code they like.

This is also no different than the general rule found in most US stores (and I'm imagine over here too) "No shirt. No service." The only thing I feel sorry for with rules like this is the need to have them in the first place however the blame for that lies solely with retarded customers, not businesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭cyberhog

Anyone who has the time to be *offended* by something so trivial has too much time on their hands. :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

Getting a few toes rolled over by a trolley might encourage some people to wear shoes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

:D Everytime I hear/see the word velour I can hear Zap Branigan saying it in my head :P

cyberhog wrote: »
    Anyone who has the time to be *offended* by something so trivial has too much time on their hands. :rolleyes:
    Relax, you can still get your Dutch Gold in Tesco. Just have a wash and put on a tracksuit first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I've never seen one of these people who walk around outside in pyjamas but I'm mighty curious. Has anyone got any photos?

Here

And

http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#/group.php?v=wall&ref=search&gid=19750432584

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Yup :pac:
    :D Everytime I hear/see the word velour I can hear Zap Branigan saying it in my head :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

*another newsflash*

Ooooohhhh..

Tesco's did. Haven't you tasted their own-brand cornflakes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,579 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Actually, no. They just aren't allowed in wearing night wear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I blame The Dude for starting this retail trend. Only solution is to ban all movies. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Dunjohn

I had a customer come in in her pyjamas last November. I was a cashier in a bank at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭pretty-in-pink

Sitec wrote: »
    I'd imagine these women arnt to hygenic either. I'd be pretty freaked out getting a smell of Smoked Salmon in the booze department.

Thats just.........ugh I feel ill

I've seen PJ wearing girls, out shopping for PJ's,and discussing which ones to get for bed & which ones to get for wearing round town. I'm all for comfort. But maybe try some track legs love.

Go Tesco though. Sock it to the scummers!