Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the justice system shows how f**ked up it is...

• 26-01-2010 6:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭

http://news.eircom.net/breakingnews/17200103/?view=Standard
    Justice Minister Dermot Ahern should be told about the lack of support for crime victims, a judge said today.
    Beyond the taking of an impact statement from a Garda, there was no help afforded to victims in many cases, the proceedings also heard.

Judge Leonard said the court would have little sympathy for the accused, who is due to start a training course, from which he will earn €100 a week. The youth, a first time offender, was remanded on continuing bail for sentencing in July.

Garda Mark O'Brien, of Howth station, had told the court that the 13-year-old victim had been crossing a road when the accused "struck him in the face." The boy received a punch to the nose and had to go to Temple Street Children's Hospital. Garda O'Brien also said that the teenage defendant "thought he was some lad he had a previous altercation with and after he realised his mistake, he went back to apologise."
    So... the scumbag gets a training course that pays €100 a week for punching someone in the nose, and the vivtim
    has had an operation and would have to undergo further surgery to his nose.

Judge Leonard said the victim had been "traumatised", "he does not go out now and suffers headaches" as a result of the attack.

Personally, I'd advocate violence against the scumbag. That, or dip him in chocolate and throw him to the priests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

the_syco wrote: »

So... the scumbag gets a training course that pays €100 a week for punching someone in the nose, and the vivtim
    My reading was the scumbag Accused would be paying out:

"As part of the six-month action plan, it has been agreed that the defendant, who was also accompanied to his case by his mother, would pay €1,500 in compensation, obey a nightly curfew, attend anger management counselling and not consume alcohol."

Cherrypick much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

actually, in Ireland the judiciary throw young offenders into jail a lot faster than their UK counterparts and the gardai bring more to court in the first place

have a look at the case last week of the two boys who tortured and sexually assaulted the other two boys and see how many cautions, civil obedience contracts and other ineffective sanctions they were given before they eventually got jail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

its best to get these young offenders/kids into some kind of education, sending them into a young offenders prison usually results in them becoming a 'career' criminal

We also sell a lot of handscraped hardwood floors here at the store: handscraped by the Prison System.

Gives them money when they get out. Makes it less likely they re-offend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

It's his first offence. By your logic pretty much everyone in Ireland is a scumbag having done something illegal at some point in their lives.

Remember Colm Meaney in that one movie? With Colin Farrel?

Yeah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

So... the scumbag gets a training course that pays €100 a week for punching someone in the nose

The article doesn't say that he is getting the €100 a week training course as a consequence of his actions. :mad:
    Judge Leonard said the court would have little sympathy for the accused, who is due to start a training course, from which he will earn €100 a week.

dvpower wrote: »
    The article doesn't say that he is getting the €100 a week training course as a consequence of his actions. :mad:
    Right: it could easily be read that the kid was about to start a training program on his own, before he decided to punch the young lad in the face. Nothing in the article says the court was putting him on a program that would pay out €100/wk. In Fact, in the same sentence it says the Court will take little sympathy on the 17-year old - stands to reason theres an implication he may now be ineligible for that course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

10 mins

&

a dark room

mmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

10 mins

&

a dark room

mmmmm

Father O Brien is that you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 johnlo

I wouldn't be suprised if the arch bishop was there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There's killers been sentenced to 6 years in this country and you draw attention to minor issue like this?

He got punched once in the face ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

not to mention the fact that we have to have "drug free" wings of prisons.

i personally feel that you have to give proper schooling and a training for a trade within the juvenile offenders system otherwise they'll just come out and fall into the same traps again.

its easy to say, "dark room" or other such stuff, but that makes you no better than the guy who punched the victim in this case. what will it teach him anyway? that to get something you punch someone. great lesson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

10 mins

&

a dark room

mmmmm
    Looking for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭T-Square

I suggest they get the "industrial schools" up and running again
    to deal with these scum.

Make sure they are run by priests too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 bolders

Maybe that's the way to deal with some of the problems ..

Russian police...

Makes You think twice b4 You'll come up with stupid idea of messing around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Personally, I'd advocate violence against the scumbag. That, or dip him in chocolate and throw him to the priests.

You should apply for a job in The Daily Mail.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

young offenders should be sent to workhouses ran by priests,prison's too good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

10 mins

&

a dark room

mmmmm

Photography...?:confused:

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Dark rooms? Lock 'em up with peado priests?

For f*cks sake lads - the guy.. a teenager, punched someone.. another teenager, in the face.. that's all?!!! Jesus H - a bit of perspective wouldn't go amiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

The OP reeks of lies by omission...

Isn't it fair enough the defendant seems to be taking reform? He's starting a training course, won't consume alcohol, etc?

For f*cks sake lads - the guy.. a teenager, punched someone.. another teenager, in the face.. that's all?!!! Jesus H - a bit of perspective wouldn't go amiss.

Today its punching someone in the nose.
    Tomorrow it's steeling grandma's wallet
    In a week time drug dealing
    In a month stabbing someone with a knife in the back

Sorry mate but in many cases that's how it starts .

Rudolph W. Giulian was right with his zero tolerance for crime rule

In his first term as mayor, Giuliani, in conjunction with New York City Police Department Commissioner Bill Bratton, adopted an aggressive enforcement-deterrent strategy based on James Q. Wilson's "Broken Windows" approach. This involved crackdowns on relatively minor offenses such as graffiti, turnstile jumping, marijuana possession, and aggressive "squeegeemen", on the theory that this would send a message that order would be maintained.

bolders wrote: »

Rudolph W. Giulian was right with his zero tolerance for crime rule

Ever consider a job writing for the tabloids or researching for TV3?

In his first term as mayor, Giuliani, in conjunction with New York City Police Department Commissioner Bill Bratton, adopted an aggressive enforcement-deterrent strategy based on James Q. Wilson's "Broken Windows" approach. This involved crackdowns on relatively minor offenses such as graffiti, turnstile jumping, marijuana possession, and aggressive "squeegeemen", on the theory that this would send a message that order would be maintained.[/I]

If you're going to quote from Wikipedia, you should at least aknowledge your references.

You might also do well, when in quoting articles to support your viewpoint, to also read the entire article, as it also says on the same page...

"A small nationwide drop in crime preceded Giuliani's election, and critics say that he may have been the beneficiary of a trend already in progress. Additional contributing factors to the overall decline in crime during the 1990s were federal funding of an additional 7,000 police officers and an overall improvement in the national economy. Changing demographics were a key factor contributing to crime rate reductions, which were similar across the country during this time.[53] Because the crime index is based on that of the FBI, which is self-reported by police departments, some have alleged that crimes were shifted into categories that the FBI doesn't collect.[54]"

Ever consider a job writing for the tabloids or researching for TV3?

No , not really . But it drives me crazy when I can't go to park with my GF because there is a bunch of ****in scumbags messing around .

They think that

Throwing bottels at poeple
    Drinking alcohol at 4Pm
    Shouting
    Destroying benches

is funny

Listen I'm not angel myself but that kind of behaviour is really annoying when after pulling 10 h shift You just wanna relax .

Yes I agree to it . But You have to admit that 16 years old doesn't just wake up one day and decides to commit a murder.
    It all starts with small things .

But it drives me crazy when I can't go to park with my GF

Is that a euphamism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

No , not really . But it drives me crazy when I can't go to park with my GF because there is a bunch of ****in scumbags messing around .

They think that

Throwing bottels at poeple
    Drinking alcohol at 4Pm
    Shouting
    Destroying benches

is funny

Listen I'm not angel myself but that kind of behaviour is really annoying when after pulling 10 h shift You just wanna relax .

Yes I agree to it . But You have to admit that 16 years old doesn't just wake up one day and decides to commit a murder.
    It all starts with small things .

"Yay! The snow has melted! We can go out again... I don't like the looka them teenagers..."
    - Abraham J "Grampa" Simpson

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Is that a euphamism?

You mean euphemism ?

No , it's not .

You mean euphemism ?

Cooeeey... someone can Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

It you think this is bad you should check out; http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055806591

Honestly what you're going on about is nothing compared to the depravity described in the article linked to the above thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Overheal wrote: »
    Cherrypick much?
    Yup. This is AH, afterall. If I were to post a serious post, it'd go into politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Cooeeey... someone can Google.

Do i need to say ye shouldnt have replied? Good word, you spelled it wrong..hate that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Fail thread...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

There's killers been sentenced to 6 years in this country and you draw attention to minor issue like this?

He got punched once in the face ffs!

That's the bit that jumps out at me. One bloody thump. If I'd been in court for every thump I'd hit people with or brought everyone who's hit me to court then I'm sure plenty on here would look at my record and brand me a "scumbag". FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

eh..dooooh... thats why i said only 10 mins

anniehoo wrote: »
    Do I need to say you shouldnt have replied? Good word, you spelled it wrong..hate that.

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

Overheal wrote: »
    Remember Colm Meaney in that one movie? With Colin Farrel?

Yeah.

You stay there and take your scolding.

amacachi wrote: »
    If I'd been in court for every thump I'd hit people with or brought everyone who's hit me to court then I'm sure plenty on here would look at my record and brand me a "scumbag". FFS.
    You punch them all in the face, breaking their nose in the process? Also, did you punch them all in the face for no reason at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

"Sure, now he's just a little boy, stealing little boys' toys. But soon he'll be a grown man, stealing stadiums and ... quarries."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

You punch them all in the face, breaking their nose in the process? Also, did you punch them all in the face for no reason at all?

In fairness to the guy - it's a scummy thing to do, but a case of mistaken identity. He thought they'd had a set-to earlier.

It's not cool to walk up and punch someone in the face, but a bit more understandable if that person has given you a few slaps recently himself.

Teenage shoplifter ordered to undertake first crime-diversion course
    A teenage shoplifter was today ordered by a judge to do sewing, cooking, take part in literacy classes and outdoor pursuits, including canoeing and trekking, for the next six months.
    Where do I sign up shoplift?