Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pope Urges Priests To Get Familiar with Web 2.0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Thats the last thing we need...more pdf files on the internet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Alex_Jones

Hazys wrote: »

Funny that most people who abuse kids are married men, not priests. Should we ban them from having facebook accounts?

Alex_Jones wrote: »
    Funny that most people who abuse kids are married men, not priests. Should we ban them from having facebook accounts?

Wat? :rolleyes: Wat does this have to do with pdf files? I think u misunderstood my post. Adobe is struggling at the mo with all the traffic going to its site to download Adobe reader. More people on the internet means more trouble for Adobe.

http://www.infactah.com/uploaded_images/pdf-716986.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I find the Vatican youtube site to be very good. I'd say it's only a matter of time before you'll be able to stream in Mass from your local parish via your TV connected to the internet.

Why would I want to look at an empty room? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

Yes, we should ban everyone from facebook, ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,121 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Once they don't claim it was created by God, I don't really care

The internet just spontaneously exists? A cosmic accident like?

Oh dear...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

I find the Vatican youtube site to be very good. I'd say it's only a matter of time before you'll be able to stream in Mass from your local parish via your TV connected to the internet.

People still wont watch that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 donaloflynn

Hazys wrote:

LMAO That's PDF Documents, not Paedophiles! :rolleyes:

OutlawPete wrote: »
    The man behind the curtain doesn't argee :D

Genuine Pic

*That's me alright*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

OutlawPete wrote: »
    The man behind the curtain doesn't argee :D

Genuine Pic

This thread is famous.

That's ok too. The day we're all forced to have the same opinion will be a very sad day indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

Well played sir

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

TheZohan wrote: »
    That's ok too. The day we're all forced to have the same opinion will be a very sad day indeed.

"Forced"? .. no.

I would say more like.. "Persuaded to have the same opinion".

The Scientology way :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I suppose it is about time that they updated.

Priest chatback is getting a bit stale at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

That's because fewer people cover up for the married men.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    That's because fewer people cover up for the married men.

Yeah that's probably true.
    They don't have bishops and gardai on their side.
    Not to mention the links that the government and church have.

Fr Samuel Medley is ahead of the curve, along with many others (http://twitter.com/ExecutiveEditor/catholic-priests).

http://twitter.com/FrSamuelMedley

FrSammy.jpg

Don't think there are any Bishops on twitter yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

I didn't realise that some people were this wrapped up in their own little religious world until I read this. I knew it was bad,... but not THIS bad.

Dord wrote: »
    I didn't realise that some people were this wrapped up in their own little religious world until I read this. I knew it was bad,... but not THIS bad.

Whatever about internets just spontaneously existing, but people??? People like you and me? Heaven forbid!

What's your view on Evolution?

You mean the theory of evolution? (no need for a capital 'E' my friend).

Then again, perhaps you do indeed believe in Evolution. Whatever floats your boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭MaybeLogic

Then again, perhaps you do indeed believe in Evolution. Whatever floats your boat.

Exactly.
    People and their stupid theories.

What about the moon? What's your theory on that?

A man that lives in the sky and created the world in 6 days seems a lot more plausible of course.

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    A man that lives in the sky and created the world in 6 days seems a lot more plausible of course.

^^^ A man who doesn't know the difference between literal translation and literary translation of the Book of Genesis. And is ignorant on the Catholic Church's teaching on Creation.

You think that I sit around reading the bible or something?

What was your first clue?

What is the Catholic Churchs' teaching on creation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

"Listen lads, there's this thing called the internet. It's like aertel but much more sophisticated. I just have this hunch that it's really going to take off. I think this thing will be bloody massive. Look into it if is youse are not too busy alright?"

Now all I need is a time machine to take me back about 20 years and I'll be sorted.

Lets stay on topic here.
    Pope Urges Priests To Get Familiar with Web 2.0

is the topic.

We're not having another does god exist/is the church evil etc debate on this thread.

I'd say the Church will get ripped apart on the Web.
    There's so much info on here that (for the next generation,if not us) the consensus reality will torn from the hands of groups like the Catholic Church.
    Why rely on blind faith with so much information at your fingertips?

They should make an App for locating temptation, and give webinars on how to avoid those places

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Forest Master

There are far more married men than priests though, so of course there's more number-wise: your analogy is inherently flawed by bad statistics calculations. You should be comparing percentages of each, not quantities.

Have the figures to hand?

I think if you look at the OPs post history you will find the real reason for him posting this thread.

Now once again this thread is about Priests using new technology it is not about child abuse claims etc. we've had those threads and it's been done to death.

Last warning.

So....anyway...priests and the internet.

Now they can have access to a larger amount of kids.

For teaching them about religion and stuff...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Online confessions are soon to follow.

"Forgive me Father, for I have sinned"

"E-mail me 10 Hail Mary's & an Our Father".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

...but, but, Aertel is still around, now in internet form.

penguin88 wrote: »
    ...but, but, Aertel is still around, now in internet form.

Slightly off topic, but I feckin love teletext, has given me a wealth of useless news over the years.

It's made me the fountain of useless knowledge that I am today.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

can't wait for priests.ie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

pmcmahon wrote: »
    can't wait for priests.ie!

Oh no...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Old news. The last pope was urging priests to get familiar with Web 1.0 9 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

dodgy "web rings" are rubbing their hands at the prospect of thousands of new subscribers after this announcement id imagine

Helix wrote: »
    dodgy "web rings" are rubbing their hands at the prospect of thousands of new subscribers after this announcement id imagine

Anti-Catholic tripe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Anti-Catholic tripe.

itll do the russian economy good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭bluecatmorgana

badump tsush!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Can imagine them blogging. Could only imagine the information there message system..
    AFKP = Away from keyboard praying
    BRBR = Be right back ressurection
    GAD= Gardaí at door
    The possibilities are immense....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Damn thats funny!!