Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Age card

• 24-01-2010 1:40am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭

Yes I know there is numerous threads involving the age card.. but I'm slightly worried and have not yet found any hope :/

I applied for my age card almost 2 weeks ago and got a receipt from the garda station with a reference number which i can enter on the site.. But when I tried to enter the number it said the number is not recognised...?

The form said I should have my card within 3 weeks!

Can anybody enlighten me? [=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Danger781 wrote: »
    Yes I know there is numerous threads involving the age card.. but I'm slightly worried and have not yet found any hope :/

I applied for my age card almost 2 weeks ago and got a receipt from the garda station with a reference number which i can enter on the site.. But when I tried to enter the number it said the number is not recognised...?

The form said I should have my card within 3 weeks!

Can anybody enlighten me? [=
    Irish government websites are crap! Just wait the week and if you don't get it, then complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,692 ✭✭✭Danger781

jumpguy wrote: »
    Irish government websites are crap! Just wait the week and if you don't get it, then complain.

I wouldn't mind but I was kinda hoping to have it by next weekend.. Friends party so I was kinda hoping not to have to bring my passport..

Also I'm 8 years old in my passport so i dunno if I'd even get in with it XD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Danger781 wrote: »
    I wouldn't mind but I was kinda hoping to have it by next weekend.. Friends party so I was kinda hoping not to have to bring my passport..

Also I'm 8 years old in my passport so i dunno if I'd even get in with it XD
    Ahh I see. Well at the end of next week it'll be 3 weeks. All things going well, you should get it. You don't have a driver's license or anything you can carry?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭burgess1

I applied for mine on 2 December and it came in the post just after Christmas. The number on the card doesn't match the one that was on the receipt so I wasn't able to track it.

They really should accept the passport if it's still valid.

jumpguy wrote: »
    Ahh I see. Well at the end of next week it'll be 3 weeks. All things going well, you should get it. You don't have a driver's license or anything you can carry?

Never got around to applying for my provisional :P

Passport is the only option I have at the moment :( It got me served in a centra and in a restaurant..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭MoyVilla9

Well like if your 18 and your right birthday is on the passport what's the problem? I know it's shameful handing over a picture of yourself from when you're 8 but surely you haven't changed THAT much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭burgess1

I'm 9 in my passport photo and it's accepted everywhere.

MoyVilla9 wrote: »
    Well like if your 18 and your right birthday is on the passport what's the problem? I know it's shameful handing over a picture of yourself from when you're 8 but surely you haven't changed THAT much?

Actually no I haven't changed much.. I just have a bigger head now! XD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Gonna move this to C&H as it fits more in that forum.
    Hopefully you'll get it sometime during the week.

• Moderators Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭D4RK ONION

Good move KnifeWRENCH, quick thinking, gg etc...

I look like a convict in mine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭Daysha

Mine took the best part of 6 weeks to arrive, as did cards for many of my friends, so best bet is just forget about it and let it take its time. At least you still have some form of ID with you, regardless of how young you are in your passport. Just show them some sort of student ID card with it and you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

Mine took three months to get here. My local station only send them away in batches so they wait until they get a good few before they're sent off. It's ridiculous.

I also lost it about a month and a half later!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭zam

Yes it can take up to three months which is annoying but don't worry, I doubt it's lost! And you have a receipt. :)

It took 2 or 3 months for mine to come, although that was several years ago.

Also, I thought once you were under 18 passports only lasted 5 years, and not 10. It's unusual that you'd have a valid passport from such a young age for so long.

The passport thing was only introduced about 5/6 years ago. Before that children had the option of getting a 2/3 year passport or a ten year one. Many got the ten year one cause it worked out cheaper. A lot of my friends still have them, they're 13/14 in the pic and will have to keep them for the next 4 years unless they lose it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭phlegms

I should get around to getting one of those, sick of lugging my passport around everywhere when I go out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

The day I got my Age Card, I got my Oxegen ticket as well.

What a day that was...

The passport is well out of date.. Expired a few years ago :rolleyes:
    burgess1 wrote: »
    I applied for mine on 2 December and it came in the post just after Christmas. The number on the card doesn't match the one that was on the receipt so I wasn't able to track it.

They really should accept the passport if it's still valid.

Well thats very handy.. Giving you a number and not being able to track it :P
    Gonna move this to C&H as it fits more in that forum.
    Hopefully you'll get it sometime during the week.

Ah sorry my bad. Wasn't sure where to put it. :P

Have you not got a current passport? You're definitely not guaranteed of getting in using an expired passport.

Jay P wrote: »
    Have you not got a current passport? You're definitely not guaranteed of getting in using an expired passport.

Nope :( Which is why I'm annoyed at my garda ID not arriving sooner :eek:

Mr.S wrote: »
    Mine took about 2 weeks, and the Garda said it would take up to 2 months!

This was about a year and half ago though.

They're just telling you estimates, i went down to get a police cert for a working visa for the Summer, the guy said it would take 6 weeks. It came after a week :D

You're just extremely lucky then :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

You can use the reciept of the AgeCard as a form of ID along with either a passport or a driving license. That's what I'm doing at the moment, applied for mine on the 19th. Never had any hassle when you show the receipt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

I was told 2 weeks, 6 weeks later it arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Took mine about 3 weeks, have heard of it taking several months though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭cork*girl

my age card took a good 6weeks to come. Never bothered looking it up on the website even though I was doubtful that it would ever come seeming the Guard didnt know how to fill in the form and left boxes he was meant to sign, empty. It came eventually though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Extrasupervery

I filled out the form when I turned 18 but said **** that when I realised it was a tenner...

Can't wait til I get a new passport this year, bouncers are being assholes about 15 y/o me looking nothing like 19 y/o me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Arcade Panda

It took four months for my age card to come! I was getting into nightclubs with my birth-cert:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Im still waiting for mine four weeks after I applied for it. I was talking to the member of An Garda Siochana at the time and he said that it has to go to multiple places before it is sent out. Also with the bad weather there will probably be a back log of cards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 technoman

I'm waiting 8 weeks for mine as of Monday, starting to get a tad annoyed here because I really want it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Niall09

I got mine in 2 and a half weeks :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭lou91

Does anyone actually like their age card picture?
    It seems to be the only one that turns out worse than a passport.

Mine is grand actually :)

I hate mine. My eyes look really freaky...

Still no luck with checking the reference number on the site.. It's been 3 weeks already :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭BDR

Mine took about a month to come the last time..

then I lost it..have the form all filled out just need to make myself go to the station and get it stamped and signed and everything. Then the wait begins again.

If you look at the picture it's been reversed, I had the same picture in my student card and my id and the id was reversed.

Hope you get it soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭NufcNavan

Applied for my age card just over 2 weeks ago. Went onto the website, entered in the registration code, and it didn't recognise it. Starting to get a bit worried. I know it's probably asking too much to have received the card by now, but surely the form would have reached the processing centre at this stage???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

NufcNavan wrote: »
    Applied for my age card just over 2 weeks ago. Went onto the website, entered in the registration code, and it didn't recognise it. Starting to get a bit worried. I know it's probably asking too much to have received the card by now, but surely the form would have reached the processing centre at this stage???

Best go to the Garda station where you got it sorted and ask.

Yeah might do that tomorrow.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

NufcNavan wrote: »

I ordered my card 4 weeks ago. It arrived yesterday. My number wasn't recognised on the website either!

A side question: Is this card as good as a passport for getting into clubs / buying drink etc.? It would be a relief not to bring a passport with me all the time now - it makes me nervous as I might lose it!

I ordered my card 4 weeks ago. It arrived yesterday. My number wasn't recognised on the website either!

A side question: Is this card as good as a passport for getting into clubs / buying drink etc.? It would be a relief not to bring a passport with me all the time now - it makes me nervous as I might lose it!

Yup :)

How often did you check your code online?

Seemingly it is- I always just use my drivers license and never have any hassle so never bothered with the age card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭wayhey

I used to work in a bar/off-licence and we used to prefer them. Generally you look much more like you're supposed to in an Age Card, tends to be less fakes so you're more trusting of them. Passports tend to be passed around among young people and we do know it goes on :rolleyes:

Age Card > Passport. Plus if you lose it it's all good in the hood :) Although Oxegen will be so strange this year without drunkenly fishing my passport out of puddles near the Heineken bar... many times.... :)

Seemingly it is- I always just use my drivers license and never have any hassle so never bothered with the age card.

A lot of shops/clubs refuse drivers licenses, might be an idea to keep that in mind.

Fad wrote: »
    A lot of shops/clubs refuse drivers licenses, might be an idea to keep that in mind.

Apart from tesco, anywhere I attend has never refused me because of it! Its a pink license so that combined with looking ancient anyway has me sorted :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

I'm telling you lads, grow some facial hair. No-one asks for ID, absolutely no-one, not even the strictest of places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 527 ✭✭✭wayhey

Apart from tesco, anywhere I attend has never refused me because of it! Its a pink license so that combined with looking ancient anyway has me sorted :D

I think Fad's right though, knew of a lad that used to print them!! One night at a club the bouncers even took a licence off this one girl, refused her entry but sure she was adamant it was real. They called the guards- who said it was real. Yer one was really sound about it, probably locked, and just laughed it off but she got loads of VIP entry yokes... hahaha shaaaame of bouncers. Some amount of 5th Years got in that night I'd say after that..

Tesco are also asshatish about passports too >_<
    Pygmalion wrote: »
    I'm telling you lads, grow some facial hair. No-one asks for ID, absolutely no-one, not even the strictest of places.

First C&H meet up tbh.......you got in, but barely!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

First C&H meet up tbh.......you got in, but barely!

"Go on in, but next time bring a real ID".

Gotta <3 that guy.

Tesco are also asshatish about passports too >_<

Does not help I'm 8 years old in my current passport >.<